Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

View vacation packages to

  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. France hotel reviews
  3. Languedoc-Roussillon hotel reviews
  4. Mende hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Hôtel Urbain V

Reviews of Hôtel Urbain V

9, Boulevard Théophile Roussel, 48000 Mende, France

#6 of 7 hotels in Mende

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 639 hotel reviews

7.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.5

  • Comfort

    7

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    6.6

  • Staff

    6.8

  • Value for money

    6.9

  • Free WiFi

    7.1

Verified guest reviews from real Bookers

Real Bookers. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 43

  • Reviewed: June 7, 2019

    7.5
    Served its purpose but will not go again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    All very utilitarian and lacking in character - reception staff not welcoming or enthusiastic. Restaurant several blocks away but okay when you got there.

    Easy to find, useful carpark

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: May 23, 2019

    6.7
    Convenient, spacious but rather tired accommodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bathroom only had shower over bath. Inadequate shelving in bathroom. Electric power points only available under shelving, not beside bed

    Large room. Convenient location.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: November 3, 2018

    7.1
    Convenient and clean - but not great value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Dated, a bit scruffy, no shower curtain so constant puddle on the bathroom floor, quite expensive for what it was. Didn’t go for the breakfast at €9 each - lots of amazing patisseries in town to try.

    Clean, convenient.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: September 10, 2018

    7.5
    Nice room and good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restaurant was closed. They did not accept our ANCV Vouchers because we booked through Booking.com.

    Nice room and good location. Breakfast was fine.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 10, 2018

    7.1
    Good, but non-english speaking staff
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff does not speak a word of English so communication can be a bit hard. Bring a printout of your booking reservation as they are not very keen on using the computer. The design of hotel is quite "retro" to use a flattering word.

    It is a very central location and easy to find. The rooms are spacious and have a large balcony. The windows have excelent blinds. The breakfast is simple but tasty, although only cold options are available.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 8, 2018

    9.6
    Nice, comfortable and good price.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi was fast and room very comfortable. We had a little problem with communication because hotel staff speaks only French but on the other side they were very helpful and finally explained me everything in international "body" language as well as help me to find my meeting locality in Mende. Thank you.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: August 23, 2018

    7.5
    Enjoyed the area, its beautiful and Mende. Would repeat the experience anytime.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Turned out we choose a couple of days when it was exceptionally hot across all of France. Had I known this I might have chosen a room with air-con and paid the extra but then when booking a number of months earlier I went for location, area and cost. Didn't consider the location as being that hot. My drop-off not the hotel's.

    Good continental breakfast. Easy location to evening eateries. Free parking.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: August 6, 2018

    5.0
    Ok hotel if not in summer l
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    In the summer, no air conditioning and next to a very loud road. Open window, too noisy to sleep. Close window, too hot to sleep. They charged kid's breakfast at adult rates.

    Ok hotel if not in summer l

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: June 16, 2018

    6.7
    Clean and central accommodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Small double bed. Mattress was not very comfortable. Dated decor!

    Central location and the staff gave us a secure place to store our bicycles which was appreciated. Both the bedroom and the bathroom were spacious. Very clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: May 29, 2018

    6.3
    Won’t be staying here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Dreadful reception from a very rude woman. I don’t normally write negative reviews as I don’t expect over effusive greetings from hotel staff and am generally fairly easy going. Check in states 2 pm, which is one of the reasons we chose it. When we arrived at 3 pm it was closed with a handwritten note and an unobtainable telephone number. A woman I thought must be the caretaker rolled up at 3.30, opened up the reception area, demanded to know if we wanted breakfast the next day and said we had to make the decision there and then. As we were being pressured to make a decision we said we would not have breakfast at which point she demanded payment immediately and virtually thumped the desk when I asked if I could do it after taking our bags to the room. I don’t think she was the caretaker either as she was on the reception the next morning! All I can say is the business must be thriving to treat customers with such contempt.

    Decent sized room with a large bath, clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 11, 2018

    7.1
    We had a good sleep.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No hot drink making facilities in the room. I don’t think we have ever experienced that before and it was a surprise, although not such a big deal as we were only staying one night. Bathroom was clean and adequate although a little tired and in need of upgrading.

    Lovely staff, convenient location in the centre of town. Great views from our room on the 4th floor. Very peaceful at night and a comfortable bed so a good sleep. WiFi was good. We did not have breakfast at the hotel so can’t comment on that. Staff insisted on us bringing our bikes inside the hotel for security, which was a bonus.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 5, 2018

    10
    The hotel has it's own ope air parking (free) and ...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel has it's own ope air parking (free) and underground parking (10 euro a day). The old city is jet across the street. Inetermarche is ne the hotek.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: April 25, 2018

    7.5
    Hotel cosy and quiet, good value for money.
    • Solo traveler
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There were no "do not disturb" hanger in the room for privacy. Also a mini-fridge & kettle would be a great addition to the room.

    The room was cosy, clean, spacious and really quiet.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: July 6, 2017

    6.7
    Ok hotel, but unpolite staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - The rude woman in the reception insisted us to empty other of our two rooms already before 9 am because "we did not have bought breakfast". Booking confirmation says check-out is at 11:30 am.

    - Location very central - Rather spacious budget room (without air conditioning) - Fast wifi - Free parking outside

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: June 28, 2017

    4.2
    Basic at best. Not a great experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    In a very busy location aggravated by roadworks which meant accessing the underground parking was a bit tricky. No air conditioning and opening the shutters and windows to compensate meant it was like sleeping at the side of a motorway on the road side of the building. Condition of the rooms was average at best. One of the staff working in the breakfast room had a serious personal hygiene problem. Wouldn't use the place again.

    The breakfast was pretty good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 23, 2019

    4.2
    Just location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Expensive for what it is

    Just location

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: September 26, 2018

    10
    It was an overnight stop, and we have no complaints.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It would have been welcome to have a cup of tea in the room.

    Plenty of choice for breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 20, 2018

    9.2
    Convient for the centre of Mende.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No WiFi.

    Clean basic room and good breakfast. Lift to 4th floor room was a bonus after a long day cycling.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 6, 2018

    6.7
    Ok.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The door barely opened due to getting jammed. It was very hard to get in and out of the room.

    Proximity to old town.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: August 19, 2018

    7.1
    The wellcoming was not very nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The wellcoming was not very nice

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 6, 2018

    5.8
    No air conditioning
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Too hot. No air conditioning. Boring breakfast

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: July 25, 2018

    7.1
    Ok place for one night stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Convient for centre

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: June 28, 2018

    7.1
    Suitable for overnight stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Could not find bar.suitable for

    Location and parking available.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 1, 2018

    9.6
    Nicely located and helpful friendly people,
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing all good....

    Nicely located and helpful friendly people,

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: April 2, 2018

    8.3
    Not elegant but very pleasingly functional.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Decor somewhat strange and faded. Cafeteria wasn’t open

    Lots of space. Excellent separate bathroom.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: October 22, 2017

    5.0
    Adequate but over- priced
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bathroom tired- taps loose etc

    View from room

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 11, 2017

    4.6
    Good location.
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Offhand reception. Leaking toilet. Not very comfortable bed.

    Good location. Easy walking distance to centre.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 2, 2017

    8.8
    Good centrally located hotel.
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Clean and comfortable. Helpful staff. Excellent breakfast. Stored our cycles safely. Well located.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: July 6, 2017

    7.1
    Centrally located and very comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The restaurant was closed for refurbishment so we had to find somewhere else to eat which proved difficult.

    Centrally located and very comfortable

    Stayed in July 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They're no longer included in the property's overall review score, but they might still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: May 22, 2016

    8.8
    Elderly couple manage this Hotel which is superbly located...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    There was a little bit of confusion at reception about our booking but this was sorted out even though the lady did not have good English. However her English is better than our French.

    Elderly couple manage this Hotel which is superbly located in Mende with good car parking facilities. Easy to find using G P S. Seemed quite busy with touring groups. A little bit in a time warp but nothing wrong with that. Would recommend.

  • Reviewed: May 13, 2016

    9.2
    An excellent package, will return in the future.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Would have been God to have the restaurant open at nights. No significant issues

    An excellent package, will return in the future. Delightful location. Restaurants nearby. Really enjoyed our stay, good parking and excellent wifi.

  • Reviewed: November 21, 2015

    8.3
    10 mins walk from station and town centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Reception and cafe were late opening in the morning.

    10 mins walk from station and town centre. Large comfortable rooms, breakfast extra but very good. (Ignore my previous review stating it is opposite the station)

  • Reviewed: September 28, 2015

    6.3
    Good views of the cathedral.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    My room was cold and impersonal and in dire need of a refurbishment, nothing at all like the photos on the website, which appear to have been taken some time ago. The advertised onsite cafe was closed.

    Good views of the cathedral. Friendly staff and the breakfast.

  • Reviewed: September 27, 2015

    10
    In a great location near restaurants and church.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    A kettle would have been handy.

    In a great location near restaurants and church. Easy parking for car and very polite and happy man behind the counter.Thanks for the stop over.

  • Reviewed: February 27, 2015

    4.6
    50€ La nuit = chambre et Sdb non chauffées l'ensemble...
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    50€ La nuit = chambre et Sdb non chauffées l'ensemble puant le tabac Nous fûmes forcé de rajouter 20€ Et miracle une chambre digne de son nom. ARNAQUE

  • Reviewed: May 24, 2016

    6.7
    secure parking, easy to walk to town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast staff not over pleasant, bathroom needs an upgrade.

    secure parking, easy to walk to town

  • Reviewed: May 23, 2016

    8.8
    The staff was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The matresses were not very comfortable.

    The staff was great. Good breakfast too. Close to the cathedral.

  • Reviewed: April 4, 2016

    5.4
    THE HOTEL WAS A BIT OLD AND SEEDY ALTHOUGH CLEAN
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    THE HOTEL WAS A BIT OLD AND SEEDY ALTHOUGH CLEAN

  • Reviewed: October 8, 2015

    10
    Luxurious but very affordable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Luxurious but very affordable. Loved swimming pool and sauna, particularly good for tired cyclists (as was the lift)

  • Reviewed: October 5, 2015

    7.5
    Very close to centre of Mende a lovely town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    None

    Very close to centre of Mende a lovely town. A nice friendly hotel with ample parking. Good breakfast and good value for money

  • Reviewed: October 5, 2015

    6.3
    Had a car park.
    • Group

    Very average 3 star hotel.

    Had a car park. Large rooms.

  • Reviewed: September 12, 2015

    7.1
    Close to the town centre, it's worth a look around.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Close to the town centre, it's worth a look around.

  • Reviewed: June 20, 2015

    7.5
    Central to old town and river.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hot water NOT hot. No restaurant, under renovations. Key-card did not work several times.

    Central to old town and river. Parking on sitebasic

There are also 9 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 43

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!

Guests also reviewed these properties: