Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hôtel Henri IV Rive Gauche 3 stars

9 Rue Saint Jacques, 5th arr., 75005 Paris, France

#153 of 1,578 hotels in Paris

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1030 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    5.8
    Hotel is not as it presents itself on the internet.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The room I was given was awful. It looked nothing like the pictures on the internet. There wasn't even a bedspread on the bed. I brought my laptop with pictures of the rooms they advertised. I told the front desk that my room didn't look like the room on the internet. I was told "not all rooms look like those on the internet". I said that I would like one that looked like that on the internet. Then I was referred to as "the madame that is not happy with her room" and made to feel unreasonable. The room was MUCH smaller then made to appear on the internet. The next morning as eating breakfast, I spoke with two women who were disappointed because their room looked nothing like that on the internet and that they had also read the good reviews about the hotel and were really surprised. This is the first negative review I have ever written about a hotel but travelers should be aware and warned.

    I read really good reviews about this hotel and it was the reason that I booked it. The location was perfect.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    9.2
    The Location is excellent , is near by the Metro station...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The WIFI is too slow

    The Location is excellent , is near by the Metro station which you can go anywhere,The hotel is surrounded with a lot of restaurants and groceries

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    9.2
    Super! Can’t wait to visit again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were smaller than what we were use to. Found it hard to manuvuer around bags and bed.

    Amazing location. Close to great must sees and eats. Super helpful & friendly staff. Clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    10
    I would stay there again and recommend to friends.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Absolutely nice, even exceeded expectations. Perfect view from the windows, excellent location, cozy and nice room, perfect bathroom, helpful personnel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    9.2
    Fantastic location comfy bed
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This might be all the hotels but a kettle in our room for that morning cuppa would of been lovely .

    This hotel is right by the cathedral and steps away from the cutest little streets. Bars restaurants and great safe place to stay . The hotel was very clean. Pretty inside and quiet. Staff very helpful. Bed was very comfy bathroom was supplied with toiletries and a shower over the bath . Hot water . Will stay here again on our next visit.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    8.8
    Comp
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No tea and coffee making facilities - for us very important!

    Helpful staff, great location. Room small but comfortable and clean. Bathroom ok but needs a little updating

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    9.6
    Perfect hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe a little pricey, but we would book again and highly recommend!

    Perfect hotel! Very comfortable beds, good sized bathtub, great location, helpful staff!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    7.1
    Amazing location!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The plastic undersheets on the beds bunch up and were noisey to sleep. Bathroom needed a better cleaning job. We had a twin room which was quite tiny but that is probably common in Paris.

    Location was fantastic. Decor was very tasteful. Staff were nice.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    9.2
    Charming Hotel, Wonderful location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Our room was charming with a view over St Severin Church. The hotel came recommended by my sister and it exceeded my expectations. I loved the location of the hotel, so close to Notre Dame Cathedral. Hope to return.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    9.6
    May short-break
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We had two rooms of which one had windows to the street. This was really very noisy, however with the closed windows and very silent and good air-con it was okay. I only put this here for the people who do not like to sleep with air-con. Then it is better to request the room into the yard, that one was perfectly silent (no view though).

    Excelent location hotel. For Paris (and expecially for Latin quarter) very good size of the rooms. Also probably the most silent air-con we have ever had. The room is very efficiently equiped but still retaining some charm. Very clean as well. We have also enjoyed the breakfast, there were two kinds of joghurt, cornflakes, mini baguettes, croissants, pain de chocolate, toasts, ham, cheese, eggs, jams and honey on offer. Overall we were very happy with this hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    9.6
    I'd book here agin.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    It seems all of the hotels these days are using the all-in-one sheet/blanket on the beds. In this case the blanket was too hot and caused the unending cycle of hot and cold during the night when we threw off the covers to cool off. I seperate sheet would be nice.

    The location was awesome. Very close to lots of attractions, eateries, shopping and train stations. We were able to walk to most places if we wanted, but also easy to take the train system. The staff was very helping us arrange travel to the airport and informed us of a train issu due to a strike which saved us lots of potential problems. The grocery next door was a bonus too.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    9.2
    Day staff extremely helpful, tolerant of our hesitant French, fluent in English.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Continental Breakfast was sufficient and good quality, but unvarying. The room's desk had two USB charging outlets, but i could not make them work.

    Room was small but good closets, very good bathroom and tub/shower. Air conditioning worked well. Excellent location, quiet room on inner court. Church bells!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    9.6
    Quiet and Convenient
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms very small but it is Paris!

    Quiet, comfortable beds, hot water. Convenient and very close to two metro lines, Notre Dam, Sorbonne and Pantheon. Across the road from the Hop on Hop Off bus.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    9.6
    It was a nice stay, we wish we could stay in the room longer but the location is too good!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is no kettle, coffee/tea, and teacups. Our room has a window but only facing the small internal space of the building.

    The location is very good. Very clean room and spacious bathroom. Comfy bed; satellite channels are available. The reception staff were polite and nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    7.1
    Comfortable hotel. Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast choice was very limited and glad that I hadn't pre-booked breakfast because much nicer, cheaper and better options nearby. Noisy road with lots of traffic. Asked for a quiet room but perhaps shd have asked for a high floor. Air conditioning ineffective.

    Excellent central location meant very good transport links.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    10
    Absolutely perfect boutique hotel which breathes Paris 😍...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is overpriced and boring - it's a much better idea to start the day at one of oh so many cafes around (which we did after reading the reviews ;) )

    Absolutely perfect boutique hotel which breathes Paris 😍 location is THE best

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    9.2
    Clean and cute boutique property, in a great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My only issue was with booking.com, after I changed the form of payment and they failed to communicate the change to the hotel. It caused me distress simply because of accounting purposes, and put the front desk on the spot for an issue they did not cause. For this reason, I hesitate to use booking.com in the future.

    This little gem could not be in a more perfect location. One block from Notre Dame, around the corner from Shakespeare and Company. If the RER C and metro at the corner had not been closed from the ongoing flood cleanup efforts, we would have had an easier time getting to some places. The room was the perfect size for me, my husband, and our son, who loved his bed in its own space with privacy curtains. I was worried about his bed being by the door, but the hotel is so quiet, and our room had two doors — one to get into the small coat closet area, and the second into the room. It felt like entering a private home to be able to hang our coats and take off our shoes right away. The room was immaculately clean. Nice thick fluffy towels. Nice closets to put your things away. The check-in and check-out was smooth, aside from an issue that was not caused by the hotel. The staff pretty much knew your room number and name after one interaction, and barely had to mention our room number, as they would have the key in hand as soon as they saw us coming. One of the night clerks gave us a spot on dinner recommendation when we asked for a nice brasserie, and we all loved our meal so much! I wish I remembered his name to thank him again. We like this hotel, and would stay here again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    8.8
    Would stay there again in a heartbeat!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room might be considered small for some standards but it fit our needs and the bathroom was very spacious.

    The property was perfect. I requested a room on a high floor but we were pleasantly surprised with a room on a high floor WITH a view of the Cathedral across the street AND the Eiffel Tower. It was so lovely. Even though the room was facing the street, the windows were terrific and kept the room completely silent. The location can't be beat - it is a little touristy right around the hotel but 2-3 blocks away is one of the best Metro stops and a ton of shops and restaurants. The hotel as a whole was comfortable and very clean. The room and bed were also comfortable and clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    10
    Comfortable, value hotel in great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Better wifi, but what can you do in these old stone buildings? Perhaps a coffee maker in the room?

    Our last and only night in Paris after touring the Loire and Burgundy--great value for the money and, in terms of stars, I would call this 3+ for sure. Lovely lobby, staff, and though the room was small, it was well-appointed and we had everything we needed. Great rain shower, which was unexpected. Huge bottle of sparkling mineral water in room. Great location--just a down the street from the Petit Pont and, of course, the Notre Dame, if that is your agenda. We left too early to have breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    7.5
    The staff was helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The photos on the web site and booking.com did not represent the hotel exactly. The room was much older than we expected. Some parts of the hotel was renovated- but other parts were not. For example rugs, the bath tub and the doors were quite old. Our expectation was much higher.

    The staff was helpful. And it was easy to check in.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    9.6
    Lovely hotel - very comfy, helpful staff and great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing that could be improved upon would be to have a kettle in the room.

    Lovely hotel - very comfy, helpful staff and great location. Definitely recommend!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    8.3
    Enjoyed out stay at this small but lovely hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Enjoyed out stay at this small but lovely hotel. Rooms were spotlessly clean and was the small reception area. Beds were comfy and good range of toiletries in the bathroom. The location was excellent, just a minute from Notre Dame. Would definitely recommend.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    9.6
    Great stay. Wonderful location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Toilet was quite small, but rather normal for Paris hotels.

    The bed was comfortable. Location was great. Close to good restaurants and tourist attractions. Closest metro/RER station was under construction, but Cluny/La Sorbonne station was also quite close.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    9.2
    The proximity to the Seine, sights, restaurants and shopping made it the perfect base.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The location was fantastic! So many famous places are within walking distance. There are a multitude of restaurants, shops and sights nearby. Everywhere you go there is something to see, and some place to take a break and relax.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    8.8
    A great hotel at a value price for Paris.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed had a plastic under sheet which made it very warm to sleep in, even during this very cold weather. It is unusual to find this and not something I have come across in other hotels.

    The hotel is very comfortable and in an excellent area for seeing the many wonderful areas of Paris. If you don't want to travel far at night, there is a plethora of good restaurants and bars. I highly recommend this hotel and will surely visit again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    9.2
    Perfect place to stay for tourists to Paris
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had to leave too soon!

    Funky small hotel just steps from Norte Dame Cathedral, Cluny, and Shakespeare and Company. The staff was exceedingly helpful. Our room was “French idiosyncratic,” comfortable, spacious, clean.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    9.6
    A perfect base for couples to explore Paris.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a complaint but probably not the best hotel with children. The rooms are snug. Great for an older couple like us.

    Perfect location for tourists - only one block from the petit pont and Notre Dame. Literally over the road from the Latin quarter and on one side overlooking a great church.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    8.8
    Great hotel for the price. Central/easy location. Staff is very nice and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 11 nights

    Pillows were a little too firm.

    It was very clean and nicely decorated. The staff was very nice and helpful. Room service was very economical and came quickly. Nice to have an elevator. Our room had a fantastic view.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    9.2
    Perfect match for my needs on this trip.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room 504 is tiny and the single bed is a bit cramped. It's a great room for adventurous travelers but may not be a good match for a business traveler accustomed to the spacious, sleek perfection of other European hotels.

    Superb Rive Gauche location a short walk from the St. Michel metro station with direct service to CDG and easy walking distance to a variety of great restaurants and wine bars in St. Germain. Surprise bonus: room 504 has a small, private, rooftop patio!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    8.8
    Very enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We asked for high floor in advance but we had to "fight" for it when we got to the hotel, there was no coffee maker in the room (one is needed in rainy days), and the breakfast was over priced (We told it will be 10 and it was 13 Euro, not a "disaster" but "not nice")

    Excellent location, very comfortable bed, pleasant and clean linen, friendly staff, view from the high floors

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    9.6
    Perfect location and in a hundred years building, we stay at...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Water of shower is a bit small.

    Perfect location and in a hundred years building, we stay at top floor with a perfect view to see Tour Eiffel. Right in the center of Paris. Helpful staff. Big room compare to other hotel in Paris. Nice decoration.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    10
    Awesome location and generous size for Paris
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The property is 2 minutes from the Cathedral and Seine, set amidst restaurants and with easy access to the underground. Short walk down the Seine to the Louvre. It's 2 stops from Garde du Nord. The room was much bigger than I was expecting in Paris and really comfortable.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    10
    Hospitality takes effort, thanks for making that effort
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I am not looking for in room dining , just a great croissant and excellent coffee. Perhaps those two could be improved given the plethora of patisseries close by......But actually every traveller wants to venture out to explore the food culture and the arts of La Cite du Luminere.

    i enjoyed the hotel . It is simplicity and old world charm with modern convieniences. Respectful of guests and helpful in every way. Made effort to assure comfortability with grace. I enjoyed a room with a unique view of Church of St Severin and experienced a pleasant stay. I will hopefully return.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    10
    Perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!!!!

    Reception staff were amazing! Friendly,helpful and professional. Room was beautiful with a fab view over the church...just what I asked for! Beds comfy and modern bathroom. You couldn't here any street noise. Location was fabulous!Just round the corner from Notre Dame and many little restaurants and cafés within easy walking distance. Perfect boutique Paris hotel for me and my daughter.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    9.2
    Hotel Henri IV is a quaint, elegant hotel just a few steps...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast was somewhat disappointing, with very limited choice, but what it lacked in variety and quantity, it made up in quality, since everything was pretty good.

    Hotel Henri IV is a quaint, elegant hotel just a few steps from Notre Dame and Saint-Germain. The staff is friendly and efficient, rooms are clean and relatively spacious. Definitely recommended.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    7.5
    nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    we booked the hotel room for 3 person family, but the bed is too small for a family wiyh 3 petsons including a child. we had to ask the hotel to set up a second sigle bed, which is good.

    The taxi service booked through the hoyl is great. The car is clean and the driver is professional.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    8.3
    good stay in the heart of Paris
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The room is not spacious. The heater is not strong.

    The location is very good, close to subway stations, restaurants and shops. We stayed in a room for three people. The room is small, not easy to maneuver around if travel with big suitcases, while the restroom is big.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    9.2
    Classic French hotel
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The roof panels in the bathroom need to be fixed. They were blown away and fall into the bathtub twice during the stay.

    Classic hotel with beautiful interior design.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    8.3
    The room is compact and has a mini fridge.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Probably the room is a little bit small.

    The room is compact and has a mini fridge. I heard that many in Paris don’t offer a mini bar, so that’s good. Staff are all friendly and very helpful.They replied my email on how to reach the hotel by public transport in advance. Location is very good. Walkable to Notre Dame and near metro and bus station. Lots of restaurants and a few super markets nearby. In all, we had god stay.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    7.5
    The room was clean and the bed was comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast area is a small eating area and therefore we had to constantly ask for things.

    The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. The breakfast was ok.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    8.8
    good hotel near St Michel Notre Dame station.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was pretty cold when i arrived, window in room was left open. The heating in the room was not working properly, not sure if they actually had it there. Breakfast was so so, no croissants only one option of pastries, very limited selection of food, not for vegetarians. There was no tea-coffee nor water in room, but could be a choice to consider.

    I liked the room layout and especially the bathroom, location also very good. Rooms were clean and tidy.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    9.6
    Very comfortable smaller hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very comfortable smaller hotel. Excellent for a 3 star hotel. A little gem down a side street on the left bank away from all the bustle yet only a couple of minutes walk from the metro and Notre Dame.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    7.5
    Definitely paying for the location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Small rooms... probably typical for a location like this. It's Paris, so who wants to stay in their hotel room anyway. I would not recommend the breakfast based on our experience. Plenty of little restaurants where you can go instead.

    Definitely paying for the location. Very close to Notre Dame where you can easily access taxis, RER, bus tours, etc. Good selection of cafes and restaurants all within a short walk.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    8.8
    Fantastic!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room a little small for the money but the view of the church Saint-Sevein and Eiffel Tower lit up at night more than made up for the smaller room!

    Excellent view from room and location! Very easy to access in public transport from Gare Du Nord if travelling to Paris Eurostar. Right in the midst of the Latin quarter with excellent sights, restaurants and bars on the door step!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    10
    Excellent plane to stay in Paris!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I reserved for 2 adults and 1 child. Booking.com did not tell the hotel that our child was coming so they had to pull in a roll away bed.

    Location. Location. Location.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    7.9
    A good place to consider
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Place smell a bit musty downstaris. Could be due to renovations going on.

    The location is quite convenient. Convenience shop next door. Food down the street.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    8.3
    Good location for tourism.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room had cigarette smell. The double bed was not so big, I had a small kid and it was too tight ( for 2 it's ok).

    Excelent location, very close to metro and Notre Dame. Internet was good, even torrents worked. Shower very good. Staff is helpfull. At night, the region around is great for eating, tons of options.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    8.8
    The location and the view.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is being redecorated so reception is a bit of a mess. Also there is no bar and nowhere to sit quietly and have tea or coffee. There is no tea coffee making facility in the rooms and there is no wine in the minibar. I have stayed here before and i love it but these things really need to be addressed. They need to move with the times.

    The location and the view. Th online check in

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    8.3
    The hotel was in an excellent location to explore areas...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The repair work in Reception was a surprise but didn't really affect our stay.

    The hotel was in an excellent location to explore areas around the Isle de la Cite. Staff were friendly and helpful. The room and beds were comfortable and room facilities were good. Staff were especially helpful when an unforeseen issue arose over the original dates booked which needed altering - a big 'thank you' for their understanding and helpfulness.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    10
    Great Location, good price, great room view!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Location is superb, 2 blocks away from Notre-Dame de Paris, staff is very nice and helpfull, the hotel has that "old hotel touch" that is amazing, and we could see the Eiffel tower from our room.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    10
    Lovely hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just breakfast could be better

    Everything was really great. The hotel has their French atmosphere with nice details in interior, started from elegant and very kind lady. We stayed in a room on last floor with amazing view. Location is also good: 15 min by metro from Gare du Nord and in a walking distance to historical points and bar area

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    8.8
    The reception staff were really nice and the room was very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was quite a bit of noise cleaning on the last day before we checked out and one of the lights in the room did not work. A guy knocked on our door before check out to see if we were in even though we had a do not disturb sign on the door.

    The reception staff were really nice and the room was very comfortable and the location near the metro and close to the Latin Quarter and La Marais was superb.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    10
    Perfect location! will stay here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    This location was perfect!! Very close to transportation options. Perfect option for exploring Paris as it was in the middle of the historic district. Very comfortable bed and the size of the room was larger than we expected. The staff was especially helpful with information of the area.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    9.6
    Favourite hotel, close to everything!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Would be nice to have a kettle in the room.

    Third time staying here, so one of our favourites. Great location as it is close to everything. Hotel is clean and well maintained. Staff is always pleasant and helpful. Breakfast is available, but we usually just go for a traditional breakfast of expresso and pain chocolat.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    8.8
    nice
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's close to the Metro station which is convenient to transfer to everywhere you want to go. Room is big enough and clean. It'll be perfect if the room charges including breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    8.3
    Great location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed and pillows were hard. I was given a room overlooking the street. The view was nice but the soundproofing was not adequate. The room is very dull and basic, no frills hotel. A bit depressing if I can be honest.

    Great location. Fast Wifi. Good price for Paris. Bathtub was a plus. Nice aircon.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    9.2
    Absolutely LOVED looking out our window with French balcony at St. Severin across the street - would
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Skimpy on soap, shampoo, etc (not refilled daily, had to ask for more). Corkscrew in room was broken - front desk couldn’t supply another - we had to but another at insane price, HATED the tub/shower combo because the design allows water to spray all over the bathroom.

    Excellent location, small, but very nice room, beautiful view from room.One half block from Notre Dame and right in middle of Latin Quarter.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    9.2
    Excellent staff, great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing really.

    Excellent staff, great location. Rooms small but still excellent value for Paris. Had a great view of St Severin and a view to the top section of the Eiffel Tower from our room. Would definitely book this hotel again when in Paris.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    8.8
    Perfect Parisian Pit-stop
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel is situated in a great location; 2 mins from the Notre Dame cathedral and within easy walking distance to most attractions in Paris. Staff are friendly and courteous, rooms clean and spacious, facilities all in good working order. Did not opt for the breakfast as cheaper alternatives within a few minutes walk of the hotel, as well as some very nice restaurants, bars and brassieres.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    8.3
    I would stay again, as the room was comfortable, clean & a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't have breakfast at the hotel due to the price 13€. Wasn't value for money for what was supplied.

    Good size room compared to others I have stayed in Paris.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    9.6
    A gem in a fabulous location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is small and therefore the attention of the staff is personal. We were served by the same lady at breakfast each day. The reception staff recognised us welcomed us and had our key ready. They asked us how our day had gone and gave us information about things to see and do. I would return .

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    6.7
    Great location but lousy beds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were uncomfortable and the mattrrsses were covered with plastic. The beds are too short for anyone over six feet tall, and the pillows were too hard.

    The location was great and the room in the rear was quiet.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    10
    We had short but enjoyable stay, in a great location. Looking forward to our next visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We could not fault the hotel

    Friendly and helpful staff. The room had a good view of the Severan church with the tower in the distance. A great location in the Latin district. A comfortable bed with good quality sheets

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    8.8
    cozy room with great view close to notre dame
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very nice small room, cozy hotel and helpful staff. They speak English very well. Wifi works fast. Great location close to Notre Dame and we had nice view. The room is very well isolated, we were surprised how loud it was outside when we opened the window because we barely heard anything with the window closed. We checked out in the morning but we could leave our luggage at the hotel until we had to catch our train in the evening. I stayed here with my friend and we would definitely come back.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    9.6
    Great location in the heart of Paris!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A gem of a hotel, just down the street from Notre Dame Cathedral. Amazing view of gothic St Séverin church across the street. Conveniently, the hotel is just half a block from the St Michel/Notre Dame Metro & RER stop - making it super easy to arrive/depart with luggage from CDG Airport (via RER B) or any number of train stations.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    10
    A wonderful hotel at the very heart of Paris.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A wonderful hotel at the very heart of Paris. The neighborhood is pretty cool, plenty of restaurants and bars. The views from the room are amazing, specially at sunset (for the rooms facing the street).

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    9.2
    This is a classic Parisian boutique hotel on Rive Gauche...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It wasn't their fault, but at the time we were there the City of Paris was doing work on the Metro system so there were barriers and temporary fencing along the street and sidewalk that took away a bit of the charm of the neighborhood. My assumption is that by the time anyone reads this the work will be completed and the barriers gone.

    This is a classic Parisian boutique hotel on Rive Gauche just across from the Ile de la Cite. It did not boast a ton of amenities but those it had were very attractive and nicely presented. The staff was what really made the difference. They spoke English well and quickly caught on to our travel interests and style, and were very good at anticipating needs or making recommendations whether it was decision to cab or walk, buy tickets in advance or on-site. It also had great access to the many shops and cafes in that area so we were never at a loss for options whether it was an early morning omelet, late afternoon aperol, or evening meal.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    9.6
    Very nice place in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location, Rooms and public spaces were clean. Beds were good. Staff was friendly and spoke english well. Easy walking distance to two metro lines. Easy connection to airport train and train station metros.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    9.2
    Will definitely choose to stay at this hotel again - relaxing and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hotel with historic charm in perfect location for visiting Notre Dame Cathedral. Quiet, tastefully decorated room at the back of the hotel with a very comfortable bed. Staff are pleasant and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    9.6
    Comfortable, elegant and the location couldn't be better
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only grouch was the wifi - fine for checking in for flights, surfing news etc but not strong enough to download or stream TV or movies. Then again, if you come to the heart of Paris and want to watch downloaded movies... *gallic shrug*

    The last time I stayed here was 35 years ago when I was a student and the place was, well, a few steps down from 'bohemian'! I was amazed at the job someone has done - it's luxurious, super-comfortable and has retained and restored many of the original dazzling features - I remember all those years ago looking at the magnificent fireplace in reception and thinking it would end up in some architecture-salvage yard somewhere. To see it restored in its splendour was lovely. Leaning out of our window looking at the wonderful St Severin church opposite, and watching the comings and goings on the Rue St Jaques was magical. Notre Dame is five minutes walk away, and the ancient Latin Quarter streets are as fascinating as ever - great little restaurants, bookshops, junk shops. When we stayed the temperature was a very muggy 28 degrees, but the aircon was superb. I apologise if this is beginning to sound as if I own the place - I wish I did - but I can truthfully recommend the Henri IV 100%. We got a very good deal, in peak season, so look out for those.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    8.3
    Loved it and would stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff not super knowledgeable about the area, didn't replenish soaps, minor issues with bathroom, immediate neighborhood very touristy (but still awesome location overall)

    Amazing location, friendly staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    7.9
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast, very basic, nothing warm. It is much better to have a breakfast in one of the cafes located close to the hotel.

    Great location. Very close to the cathedral, only few steps. Nice area with a lot of restaurants and cafes nearby. The hotel is clean, staff helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    9.6
    The location is perfect to visit the old city Arr # 5, and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    The location is perfect to visit the old city Arr # 5, and the rest of Paris is in walking distance. By the way we walked 52 miles visiting all of the major sites. You are just a block form Notre Dame, the Seine, and a Roman rune. Nightly entertainment and at lest 50 restaurants are just blocks from your front door. Eat with the locals. This was my fourth visit to Paris and this was the best.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    10
    lovely pleasant hotel around the corner from Norte dame
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Great hotel, and I would stay here again without hesitation, I really enjoyed the location too. It was within walking distance to 3 metro stops. Notre dame is so close, one block away. We arrived early, just to leave our bags and our room was ready so they brought us up to it. Our room had a view of the Eiffel Tower. Check in and check out was easy. We didn't eat breakfast there so I don't have a review on that.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    9.2
    The hotel had emailed us for all check in detail so on...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    nothing

    The hotel had emailed us for all check in detail so on arrival check in was smooth and super quick, its in a great location for latin quarter the room was a good size for paris very peaceful and with a comfy bed.

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hôtel Henri IV Rive Gauche traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: