Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of L'Hermitage Gantois, Autograph Collection 5 stars

224 rue Pierre Mauroy, 59000 Lille, France

#5 of 52 hotels in Lille

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1142 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    9.2
    Beautiful hotel in great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - The cleaner didn’t clean our toilet which was disappointing - No gym - The spa manicure and pedicure were apparently not very good and not the advertised length - the cheaper bistro style restaurant was poor quality

    - Stunning building full of history. The photos don’t do it justice. It even has an old chapel. - 5* service from staff at all times - Very comfy bed - Got upgraded as an apology for our fridge not working - white company toiletries - the more expensive hotel restaurant was excellent

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    10
    Beautiful Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel is a wonderful mixture of modern comfort and historical interest. Very, very slick, with attentive staff and extraordinarily comfy beds - what you would expect from a Marriott hotel. A memorable experience and our second time staying here.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    6.7
    Meh...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room service phone didn't work, the bedroom door did not close properly and our air con was not working properly either! This was during a heatwave and made our stay father uncomfortable. For the price we paid €200+ for one night I think we could have spent our money better elsewhere!!

    The location is cool, the staff are friendly and speak both English & French. The bar and lounge area is also very cool. Other than that.. i don't see what all the fuss is about.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    7.5
    A good stay was had with just a few little details that could have made it great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Privilege Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Brasserie was very pricey for its food and service was curt and busy. We literally had 2 very small pieces of old crusty bread in a table of 3 then when we asked for more they reluctantly gave us another 2 small pieces of bread. We got charged for 2 small scoop of ice cream at full price - apparently all prices are the same whether it’s a small portion or not. Although there was swimming facilities and spa treatment - it was designed for just a handful of people. There was only 1 changing room and only 1 shower head for showers. They had a lot of treatment rooms but a shame that they only thought of having 1 shower!

    Location location location ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ Front of house was really lovely, helpful and welcoming. Swimming pool and steam room was good. Garden area and relaxing area was very good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    9.2
    Luxurious and quirky, good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Courtyard view
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very warm, we couldn't see any AC.

    Lovely old style mixed with modern, beautiful room and friendly staff. We are at the little bistro attached to the hotel and it was really good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    10
    l’Hermitage Gantois is a simply faultless Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at all - it’s an exceptional hotel in a terrific location.

    The hotel is an excellent conversion of a historic building with two inner courtyard gardens that are my favourite places to relax of any hotel in Europe.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    9.6
    An interesting hotel with comfortable rooms . Easy access to centre of Lille.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very little , felt meal in evening although ok was a little overpriced,Our French guests were too polite to say anything

    Staff were helpful and fruendly

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    10
    I loved the fact that it had history.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would have liked a mirror in the room. It is nice if someone is using the bathroom to have a mirror elsewhere for putting on makeup or hair combing.

    I loved the fact that it had history. You could tour the old part but the rooms were new.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    10
    We have travelled the globe, but l'Hermitage is one of our favourite 5 top hotels in the world.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was nothing we did not like and as we are in "the hospitality vocation" ourselves we always look to see whether improvements can be applied. We just cannot fault l'Hermitage. Perfect! Perfect! An absolute gem!

    We genuinely love l'Hermitage as we stayed there 12 years ago and absolutely loved it then and it felt like "coming home" after all these years! There was a problem with the booking, but it was dealt with very professionally at the reception with a genuine smile.Room, bathroom etc.was perfect. To be highly recommended.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    8.8
    Beautiful building, pretty bedrooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff attitude in the Spa was very negative. Waiters in the bar area seemed more interested in talking with each other than looking after guests.

    Beautiful building, pretty bedrooms.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    9.2
    Amazing building from the xv century, with a museum inside...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I expected more choice at breakfast.

    Amazing building from the xv century, with a museum inside you could visit. Lovely patio and gardens. Cozy room warmly furnished and with super comfortable bed. Guy at reception walked us to our room with a little tour of the property included :-) was nice. Swimming pool is heated and was quiet and relaxing.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    9.2
    A wonderful place
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Courtyard view
    • Stayed 2 nights

    That I was at ground level just besides a lift so people talked loud when circulating... so a bit noisy.

    The hotel is great but the rooms may be located in noisy areas so need to check where is the room booked if you wish calm...

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    7.9
    Overall a good stay, interesting venue.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast service and choice was very disappointing. The buffet area was very cramped and became congested when more than 4 people were trying to get their breakfast. My husband ordered a mushroom and cheese omelette, as he is vegetarian. He waited more than 30 minutes for it to arrive and when we asked for it, it was obvious it had been forgotten. A member of staff then brought out two omelettes one for a gentleman who had waited so long for his he had to go before he could eat it. The other one was given to my husband. Unfortunately he was given the wrong omelette with bacon in it. Not good when you are veggie and take a bite of bacon by mistake!! When we complained were were given a refund for the cost of breakfast which was appreciated.

    The room, the spa and the building. It is a beautiful historical building which was fascinating to visit. It was really interesting to explore the different areas, such as the chapel. The shower and bathroom were excellent and it was great to have towelling robes to use to go down to the pool. The pool was lovely and large enough to do a reasonable length although not massive. Nice in built jacuzzi in the corner of the pool, well worth a try.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    5.8
    WiFi is horrible.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi is horrible. Not good for business travelers. The free WiFi is minimal. The paid WiFi isn’t much stronger and has setups that do not allow access to download from certain email servers.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    6.7
    A good hotel, spoilt by a very poor gourmet restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Privilege Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The Gourmet restaurant was terrible. The food was cold and following a complaint, the food was returned cold again. The Sommelier was useless with two different wines out of stock and we had to pour our own wine

    The beds were comfortable. The Piano Bar from 1900-2100 was very relaxing. The porterage and valet parking were excellent. The Brasserie is best food choice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    5.8
    I love the whole hotel and ambience, a little more care from the staff and refreshing of decor need
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The communal areas looking shabby I visited two years ago and it felt a different experience. The chairs look worn and the spa area has very few plastic chairs as opposed to loungers, not a very relaxing spa experience. We were disturbed by the cleaner walking into our room 4 times in an hour despite the do not disturb sign and the chain on the door! Not good when looking for a rare lie in! The brasserie next to the hotel didn’t have a huge choice of food and the quality wasn’t as good, nor the service!

    The bar area and snacks served with the drinks. Beds relatively comfortable and food at Gastronomique good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    5.0
    Nice hotel but visit spoiled by noise and food poisoning
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Unfortunately there is a very large construction site that is going on next door. It was pretty noisy during the week but fortunately not at the weekend. This is a major project and I suppose could be going on all year. While it's hard to be certain, I'm pretty sure that the steak tartare gave me food poisoning.

    The hotel is a creative use of a set of lovely old buildings and the artworks really make the place special.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    9.2
    The hotel is situated in an old, historic building and has...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Courtyard view
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bedroom was quite warm; we kept turning the air con/heating down and the maid kept turning it up! Buffet breakfast in the main restaurant was quite pricey we felt at 23Euros so we never tried it. Because of the "facilities" available at the hotel, it can be pretty busy, for example, there was a concert on in the old hall on the Sunday, and on the Monday there was some kind of business conference on. So, it's not all tourists. We couldn't get a table in the Estaminet attached to the hotel on the Saturday night which rather scuppered our plans, but the staff were helpful in suggesting an alternative place to eat.

    The hotel is situated in an old, historic building and has been sympathetically converted. The old chapel and hall are largely as they were. The main bar/lounge in the atrium is a really lovely relaxing space with a nice ambiance and we could quite happily spend time sitting there drinking a cocktail! We had a superior room overlooking one of the courtyards. It was nicely furnished with comfortable beds and a mass of pillows. The bathroom was quite dark, but had a very large bath with shower over. There was an extra door between the entrance and the sleeping area which made it very quiet. Complimentary water in the room was a nice touch, plus robes and slippers. There were USB ports in the lamps, handy for charging your phone. Hotel has a pool and steam room which is free for guests to use, and was pleasant for an hour. Great location for exploring Lille.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    9.6
    Luxury Hotel in historic building
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The coffee in the bar was expensive and too strong and bitter for our palate.

    I requested a room close to a lift as I have difficulty with stairs. We were given a premium room at no extra cost on 3rd floor close to the lift. That lift also allowed direct access to the Spa and Pool. The staff were fantastic - knowledgeable , friendly and helpful . I wanted to take the bed home - it was massive and so comfortable. Breakfast was a feast . Whist we were in a modern extension , the public areas and some bedrooms are in a wonderful historic building .

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    5.8
    The decoration is poor and bling bling Why the Marriott...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The decoration is poor and bling bling Why the Marriott hotels have so cheap looking design? ... they should go and have a look at the paradores hotels in Spain

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    10
    Comfortable, stylish, welcoming and highly recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    If I really had a niggle it would be that the shower was a bit slow to drain. But that is negligible compared to everything else there. It wouldn't stop me going back. By far the best place to stay in Lille.

    Super comfortable bed. Quiet room, lovely style. Fabulous harp player in the lounge on Sunday evening. Just wonderful. Great Spa. Friendly atmosphere. Very relaxing. The restaurant next door (part of the hotel I think) is great. We had the best meal in Lille there- PS- avoid Brasserie Andre in town- poor service and poor food.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    4.6
    Attractive building, nice staff, very poor facilities and not worth the cost.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The internet was down all the time we were there. This is totally unacceptable for a supposedly five star luxury hotel. The first room we were shown to was cold. We tried to turn up the heating but it was broken. They moved us to another room and this too was cold and they had to bring a heater to warm it up as the heating in this room was defective too. A finished food tray from a nearby room remained on the floor outside the room for over 16 hours before being removed. The taxi we booked with reception failed to arrive and reception were unable to get another so we had to walk with our cases to the station. Certainly not a five star experience.

    The room was reasonably spacious with two chairs and small table and king bed. The bathroom had a single basin and a large walk in shower but no bath. The toilet was in a separate room next to the bathroom and this worked well. The wardrobes were in the lobby area as you walked into the suite. There was a shortage of space to place clothes as there were no drawers and only two small shelves in the wardrobe taken up with a safe and a coffee making tray.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    9.2
    Perfect in every way
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Privilege Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Beautiful Hotel & Spa, thoroughly enjoyed our 3 night break - travelled with husband and son (over 18 years old) breakfast was plentiful and relaxed. Fabulous bar & lounge area with stunning public rooms displaying outstanding artwork. Anthony on reception was most helpful with places to visit & eat.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    6.7
    i think i would avoid it
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    difficult to switch bedside light stupid not to have the switch on the lamp

    breakfast over priced for the quality , cold eggs , cold bacon , cold sausages no wonder i was the only person. Evening meal in the smart restaurant , well the one carrot on my plate was cooked like my mother cooked 60 years ago , ruined , 3 2 square cm of pike and i think i remember the Turbot . And yes i have eaten in great restaurants this certainly was not one of them

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    8.3
    An excellent spa hotel just a short stroll from Vieux Lille.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Busy in the spa at the weekend. No sauna or jacuzzi. Many additional expenses. Slightly cramped bathroom.

    Beautiful hotel with history, character and charm. The staff were very friendly and the pool and steam room were new, clean and well-designed. The piano bar in the atrium was a wonderful place to enjoy a coffee or a night cap.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    9.5
    A very good hotel, making this a pleasant trip to Lille.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Found the artwork on display quite odd - not particuey aesthetically pleasing (heads if folks stuck on boards?!) but I guess that’s down to personal tastes and opinion!

    Very friendly staff, very nice room, a quiet hotel yet only a ten minute walk to the centre of town. Pool was lovely, bar area was very pleasant. L

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    10
    Absolutely fabulous!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is in a beautiful historic building, the staff is absolutely fantastic. There is an elegant and welcoming Caritas spa on premises for a perfect and relax stay.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    10
    Unforgettable!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Leaving the hotel!

    The staff were wonderful, from every department, reception, bar staff & the restaurant! Our room was spotless, bathroom & shower very clean. Restaurant was great, food was well prepared & Service was attentive. Breakfast was continental style, plenty of choice.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    5.4
    OK but left feeling underwhelmed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms are funky though the furnishings and fittings cheap and in dis-repair. The shower also had a poor fitting that sprayed freezing cold water horizontally as you attempt to adjust the water temperature.

    The location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    9.6
    Great hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A strange thing to charge to access the spa (and then have no control over it ie locks or staff there)

    Great hotel. Clever redesign of an old building with large rooms and friendly staff

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    9.2
    A very pleasant stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was at the end of a corridor over the working area of the hotel, laundry, kitchen etc and from 7am in the morning for about 2 hours, there was much noise and activity making it impossible to sleep after 7am. Alright if you have to get up for work. Will return next year, making sure Do not get same room

    Really nice hotel and very comfortable.A lot of facilities, some of which were extra to pay for. The restaurant and bar are excellent, if pricey.Room comfortable,spacious and well equipped. Almost perfect.!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    7.9
    The Spa was very nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar prices were extortionate. 22 euros for 2 standard beers. 8 Euro for a small coffee. A large beer at a bar outside of hotel was only 6 euros. The bar in hotel was virtually quiet at all times. With those prices I'm really not surprised

    The Spa was very nice

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    8.8
    Lille recommended for weekend stay, Hotel for good service and authentic atmosphere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The SPA area is not very big and there is only Turkish bathroom, no sauna. Also, rooms are not large enough, not a lot of space around the bad, but rather OK. Maybe a bit more variety of offered food for breakfast would be good idea...

    The Hotel is very interesting in terms of architecture and design. The location is excellent, walking distance from everything in Lille. The stuff was nice and helpful, we entered the room earlier upon request, breakfast was nice...

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    9.2
    Quirky and interesting! The hotel was previously a hospital and has been sympathetically rennovated
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was nothing it didn't like, it was a very quirky hotel, we ate in the adjoining bistro which was nice too. Parking maybe but we found somewhere close by.

    I loved the history surrounding the hotel, I hadn't appreciated that it was a former hospital and it had been sympathetically renovated. The spa pool was also lovely, we only found a steam room rather than a sauna but nevertheless this didn't detract from our enjoyment.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    9.2
    Lovely hotel. Can’t wait to return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was a little cramped and would be a problem with anyone who has mobility issues.

    The room was lovely and the hotel is beautiful. The breakfast was amazing.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    10
    Really excellent hotel in the centre of Lille which is lovely as it turns out.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room was small and the separate loo is a bit weird. That said, it was extremely comfortable and well appointed.

    Fantastic service, excellent breakfast. Highly recommended. Probably the best in Lille.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    9.2
    Comfortable stay in Lille
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    First time in Lille and the hotel is a short walk from the centre of town. The rooms were very clean rooms (as is the whole hotel). Beds (and linen) very comfortable - a really good night's sleep! Spa facility not as extensive as expected - fairly small steam room, but nice pool. Excellent breakfast! Dog friendly

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    9.2
    Lovely location and great for the Lille braderie weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room size was a bit small

    The breakfast was in the old church, which was lovely. Hotel was very nice architecturally but our room was a bit small. Loved the bathroom and it was really clean. Staff were excellent and very friendly.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    8.3
    Beautiful building.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I hate plastic mattress covers and prices were high e.g. Breakfast €23 extra per person.

    Beautiful building conversion of an old convent/hospice. Nice room and excellent spa. A fairly long walk into the centre but straight and easy.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    10
    Great Stay, Will be back soon!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Reception staff are very friendly and helpful. Loved the gothic vibe of the hotel and the bed was one of the most comfortable I have ever had the pleasure to sleep on. Location is great too, roughly ten minutes walk to the centre. Room was a great size with high ceilings and all the amenities you would expect. I Would highly recommend this hotel as its great value for money and is a unique choice.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    9.2
    It is a really beautiful hotel in a great town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is very expensive and a little bit outside the town centre in an area that is a bit scruffy. There is a site behind the hotel of 2 or 3 acres which has just been cleared and levelled for the building of a residential development. I imagine the hotel will be best avoided for 18 months or so once building starts.

    It is a really beautiful hotel in a great town.excellent rooms and breakfast and a good brasserie attached to the hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    9.6
    Absolute YES
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We booked 2 single beds from booking.com but that wasnt passed on.

    The hotel is like being in a museum. Its fantastic. Very peaceful, loved the hammam and pool which is free and included in room rates.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    8.3
    City break in Lille
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Courtyard view
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The towels were very small, the toilet roll poor quality and the Wi-Fi very poor. This didn't hinder our visit at all, they should just all be better in a 5* hotel.

    The bed was very comfortable, the (superior) room a great size, and the bathroom lovely. The bar is also a huge highlight and a great place to spend time. The staff were very friendly and helpful too.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    6.7
    Booking.com said that we were to have a supier room that overlooked a courtyard.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Courtyard view
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A pint of beer priced at €11 could have been cheaper in the hotel bar. There was no sauna in the spa, despite it saying that there was in the spa brochure. The cab from the station on the way there was €6.50. The hotel ordered a cab for us to return to the station and the non-metered cab that took us charged €15. Do not ask the hotel to get you a cab. Booking.com said that we were to have a 'superior' room that overlooked the courtyard. The room overlooked other walls of the hotel - see photos. The room was 'not' superior, just about the same size as a normal room.

    The comfort of the lounge area.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    10
    The valet parking is Euro 30 per night which is fine.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The valet parking is Euro 30 per night which is fine. But I was leaving at 2pm on Saturday and they wanted an extra Euro 15 as it was after noon which seemed steep.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    9.6
    This hotel was absolutely lovely, the room was great...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only bad part of the experience was that on the morning of checkout from 11am the cleaner came and hassled us to leave 3 times. Check out wasnt till 12am and we were getting ready to go. I think, though great value, the hotel isnt cheap and so there should be no expectation that you are going to leave early. i hope that by writing this review the hotel will address this and speak to the cleaner, because eveything else was perfect, and it ws a bit of a shame because all the other staff worked so hard to create a lovely atmosphere. If there is any concern about a guest check out time a call from reception just reminding you of when checkout is and when you think youll be leaving would be better. I think she just had an order she wanted to do the rooms and didnt want to deviate from that, so this may not be an issue if you are not on the first floor.

    This hotel was absolutely lovely, the room was great (everything from the bed to the toiletries) and the service was excellent. We had a great stay. Its 5-10 minute walk into town and 15 minutes to the eurostar. I definitely recommend!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    9.6
    Modern luxury in a historic setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing to fault.

    We loved the mix of historic building and modern extension. There were plenty of different areas to relax in and our room was extremely spacious.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    9.2
    Lille Stop Over On Long Drive......!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms are lovely but a little small and we accept that as part of this hotel due to the fact it is in a unique old building (was a hospital) and you cannot get round that I am afraid.

    Parking is directly outside the door until 9am which is perfect for us as we left at 0830 but may be a problem if staying longer, I really don't know. The breakfast is super here and don't forget to ask for a glass of champagne, my wife enjoys this little luxury when we stay here although frustratingly I cant as am driving....... :-) Had a Gin cocktail which was wonderful after a long drive and ferry crossing with late arrival in Lille. The hotel is an amazing place, full of history and culture and not like so many of the corporate places that we stay in, just the type of place my wife and I enjoy arriving at and as such we do use this hotel when in the area as our preferred option.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    9.6
    A great venue, for a long weekend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Courtyard view
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Height of the bath, made access to it bit difficult if you had mobility issues.

    Swimming pool, was really excellent with bathrobes and all towels included. Hotel room was very good as were the rooms facilities. Staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    8.3
    Paradise in Lille
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel itself was perfect and the only thing wrong, if being picky, was the fact that the toilet was literally on the other side of the room from the "rest" of the bathroom facilities. Also, right behind the hotel was what is hopefully a construction site, but appeared more to be just an empty, desolate, and unkept demolished place. So, not the best view.

    The place and staff was great. I was looking for a nice place to celebrate my wifes birthday weekend and L'Hermitage Gantois definitely lived up to expectations. After check-in, we were walked up to our room by a staff who also gave us some historical information and a short tour of the hotel. Upon arrival in the room, the staff had left some flowers, chocolates, and a card for my wifes birthday. Extremely tasteful and surprising as nothing was requested from the hotel. The room was great in terms of size, décor, and ambiance.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    7.9
    the room at the end of the corridor, with a very bad view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the room at the end of the corridor, with a very bad view. Very noisy in the morning, with deliveries starting very early. Would have appreciated to be given a different room, given the price paid

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    10
    Unique experience!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to improve!

    Location was excellent - only few minutes walk from the old town. Building itself was fascinating, full of character. Room was a generous size, beautifully decorated in character with the building & very comfortable. Lovely breakfast (extra.)Everything about the hotel was immaculate. Staff were all very helpful and friendly and obviously took a great pride in their hotel. Wouldn't fault it on anything. Very enjoyable weekend.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    9.6
    Fabulous unique hotel in quiet location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked everything.

    This is a fabulous hotel in a quiet location about five minutes walk to the main square. The hotel is a former convent hospital and retains much character through careful renovation and design. I like the peaceful gardens within the hotel courtyards and the relaxing bar.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    5.8
    A big deception in an overpromising and overpriced hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We booked a weekend at the hotel with the aim to make it a relaxing weekend in a high quality hotel - as it was advertised. The rate is very high for a city like Lille, so we were expecting amazing rooms and access to the spa facilities as advertised. The room was very small, with no view and with slightly old ammenities (the bathroom could use rennovating / renewing to stand up to the promise). Even if we did have access to the spa common facilities, both the swimming pool and the hammam are very tiny so they can only fit maximum 5-6 people if squeezed. It seems it was a week-end when more couples had the same idea as we did, because in the afternoon the spa's swimming pool and hammam were extremely full - with 12-14 people trying to use the facilities designed for 5-6 people, it was far from relaxing.

    Great location to visit Lille. Nice common spaces: the bar, the lobby.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    10
    A truly perfect weekend escape.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Courtyard view
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was really not good enough for a hotel of this quality - everything 'pre-made' and held in poor warmers. This was the only real disappointment.

    The staff were exceptionally helpful, the room really comfortable, the renovation was really clever, all the modern conveniences we needed and an amazing art collection, but respect paid to some of the historic parts of the property, and the location was just far enough away from the madness to give us some peace, but close enough to walk absolutely everywhere - we loved this hotel.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2017

    9.6
    well architectured luxury stop in the very center Lille
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    coffee quality in the rooms-instant sucks. the heater in the bathroom needs to be turned on seperately. no light in the shower area. roof windows too high. there is no nice view in the courtyard to be, you see glass roof only. heavy daily business people traffic in the lobby, never stops. even the hotel staff enters for work through the lobby. superior rooms are all different, some are much larger, some are not at all. i was unlucky in that way. because i stay alone they gave me the smaller one though i pay equal. that was not fair.

    location. the building itself. bellboy service. free parking. reception staff kind and helpful. they take you upstairs themselves. concierge support via reception also. good restaurant recommendations. nice bar area. plus tango show in the evenings. tapestries on the walls. plus artworks. very nicely decorated bedroom, wooden wall panels especially. chic bathroom. very nice smelling shampoo ang bath gel. free water-coffee-tea, full minibar.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2017

    8.8
    Great stay but some small annoyances
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Sauna was very small (sitting cabine), no place to relax outside of the sauna Shower water was constantly switching between boiling hot and very cold High prices at the bar

    Very nice hammam, friendly and helpfull staff, great bed, and very well located in centre.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    6.3
    more like a 4 star hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    very poor room and room appiances re. bed side tables, old hard flooring/carpet very poor internet almost like no internet old bath towels not matching the 5 star rating.... paid parking 30 euro p/day on the top of the hotel room price

    the swimming pool was lovely

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2017

    8.8
    great relaxing stay for a perfect weekend away from things
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the hammam/pool became a little crowded - at least around "rush hour" 5-7pm. but other than that, the place was great.

    exactly what we needed and expected, this was a place to relax and enjoy the good life. location is great between several interesting parts of the city, staff was great...

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2017

    7.1
    One of the waiters went out of his was to provide a complete...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Valet service left a mark on my bumper; poor communication by front desk staff was frustrating; spa was fully booked. The hotel uses its spa services as a selling feature, but neglected to mention that you should book in advance.

    One of the waiters went out of his was to provide a complete breakfast for us in the bar area on Monday morning after the buffet in the restaurant had closed. He was great. The front desk had not told us of the different breakfast hours during the week.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2017

    6.3
    Well decorated and interesting building.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Considering the price of the room the fact that nothing was included, including parking and the swimming was a massive disappointment. I though we may get charged extra for toilet paper!

    Well decorated and interesting building.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    9.6
    Overall a wonderful stay in a beautiful hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bathrooms very stylish but one has to be be a bit of a contortionist to operate the bath and show. Staff very kindly reallocated us to an alternative room when we raised this about the first one. The second was better but still somewhat awkward.

    Wonderful service and comfortable beds. Beautiful christmas decorations Fantastic new years eve party Great food in L'Etaminet

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2016

    9.2
    Top Lille hotel for a romantic birthday treat
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Opposite a residential block but sound proofing was very good.

    Very warm and professional reception staff. Room was excellent with the added value of the spa pool.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2016

    9.6
    Great for leisure weekend away for a group from work.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Costly bottled water!

    Friendly staff. Reasonably close walk to the city centre. Very nice swimming pool (not large, but very smart) and spa area. Comfortable beds (subjective I know) and very relaxing location. Great for a group.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2016

    9.2
    A great place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was not good or worth the money. In room iron is not good, although, they do provide an extra cost ironing service. Bottled water was 9 euros, far to expensive. Restaurant not open Sunday.

    It was immaculate. The staff were always on hand and willing to help. The spa is very good. The little gardens were lovely. The design of old and new works really well. Art work, tapestries and architecture are great. We didn't eat in the restaurant but the food did look good.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2016

    5.0
    Not a five-star hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This is not a five-star hotel as it is advertised. At first, they gave us a very low ceiling attic room . It was very small and uncomfortable! Then we got a room with a one-step entrance, not a good idea! Besides that, the hallway walls were painted in red. Not a good idea either! Finally, we were moved to another room but it was just above the loading area so we could constantly hear trucks, the unloading, ramp noise, etc. very early in the morning. The windows were not soundproof following 5-star hotels standards. For what they offer, it's pricey. It's not very close to the nicest area of Lille. You have to walk for about 15-20 minutes. The main train station is also a 15-minute walk.

    The decor is nice. The breakfast is OK but not as varied as most 5-star hotels.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2016

    7.5
    The bed was extra comfy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room was small, very dark with a very small window. The view was terrible, overlooking an apartment opposite to the street. No privacy with the blinds open. We had an issue with warm water changing to cold and back to warm.

    The bed was extra comfy.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2016

    9.2
    Our second stay here and we would hope to return again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was extremely expensive. Furniture in the bar area is showing signs of wear.

    Very large bed was excellent. Staff are efficient, friendly and very courteous. The atmosphere in the covered courtyard bar is very relaxing.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    10
    Amazing staff, amazing facility.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    breakfast buffet not so good but really, so what? the hotel is a miracle and the staff exceptionally professional and kind. Mata kimassssu!

    Amazing staff, amazing facility.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2018

    4.6
    The staff was rude,,,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was rude,,,

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    10
    Very memorable,celebrating a big birthday,perfect venue
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    More tea coffee available in the room

    Beds very comfortable,clean room,very comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    9.6
    Comfy, really friendly and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfy, really friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    10
    Excellent hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely lovely staff and the building has an old world charm while still being very functional and user friendly.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    10
    Loved it and have recommended it to friends
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food for dinner

    Everything

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    8.3
    The historic building and the great renovation work
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Privilege Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ridiculously pricey drinks at the bar

    The historic building and the great renovation work

    Stayed in August 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse L'Hermitage Gantois, Autograph Collection traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: