Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Helvetia 2 stars

28 Bis Bd Diderot, 12th arr., 75012 Paris, France

#1139 of 1,578 hotels in Paris

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1220 hotel reviews

7.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.7

  • Comfort

    6.8

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    6.7

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7.2

  • Free WiFi

    6.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just did for over nighter before train

    Close to gate de Lyon as was required, not much to shout about for 1 night pass through. Clean and adequate. Welcoming but not tea/ coffee facilities as normal for Europe

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel was very dismal, tired and badly needed refurbishment. Wifi system was really bad you had to keep putting in your ID and password every time you used it.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    The elevator stopped between floors and opened unto a very narrow landing. If one had a suitcase, it was difficult to maneuver the landing. Two of us almost took a tumble!

    There was a balcony that you could walk out on with a birdseye view of the street below. The bathroom was roomy and clean. There was a metro station right outside the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was quite nice to see the good oldfashioned room setup, but the bed was tiny (though not uncomfortable). Extra blanket came in handy though.

    Only steps away from the Lyon station, easy to find and pleasant reception. The building is an old-style hotel/apartment, having an authentic Parisian feel to it. The ambience is OK, the room was minimally equipped but amenities sufficient. Good value for someone who just needs a crushpad near the central area and expects no more.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no hair dryer, no water kettle to heat water and only 1 place to plug something in (and one plug in, not the normal 2). The lift only stops half way between floors, with a winding old stair case that you must walk up to get to the room. I was worried about bed bugs and didn’t want to put my things down. It was awful. I’ve really only encountered something similar in a village in Turkey and there, at least, I felt safe. This was really something else. The night manager asked me if I was alone and tried to keep my key. I left even though I’d already paid and found somewhere else to be.

    Location near Gate de Lyon, but in a very seedy neighborhood with very sketchy night staff. I lived in Manhattan 10 years with no real issue, but this place was weird and very bad.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom was particularly small and we felt if the curved door had been hung the other way round it would have been greatly improved!

    Lovely French breakfast and nice quiet atmosphere.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room does not have a hairdryer.

    Room is clean, tidy, staff very kind. The elevator is very small, only two people can enter, and it stops between two floors (after which you step down to your floor), but this is the charm of the Parisian buildings. Metro station is right next to the hotel, which is a big plus. After leaving the room, we could leave luggage in the hotel for free as we had a flight late in the afternoon.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The spiral staircase and the elevator stop between floors (Be careful!) The wall didn't help at all. I could hear the snoring from the next room like that's person was in mine.

    Very helpful staff. Perfect location (the Gare de Lyon metro exit no.11 is right in front of the hotel door)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Bath
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We prepaid for this room in Feb but when we ckd out we were charged for the difference between what we paid and current exchange rate.

    Staff provided us with converters for our Iphones and computers. Really happy to have lift and it was easy to use and walk a few steps to either up or down to room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can be a bit noisy since it’s on the side of the road and our room was near a pub but it’s not too bad. We still managed to sleep well since we were too tired anyways.

    It’s a stones throw away from the metro and train stations! Would definitely come back.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The lift is very small and the room as well. Shower not too practical

    Good location with lots of restaurants cafes and supermarkets very near Metro and train station

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    My whole body was itching while in bed. I don't know if it was the cleaning powder they use or something else. Hoping it wasn't a bugs, as I had 1 huge bite on my arm after 2nd night. Could be anything though.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I could'nt answer the last question as I've never heard of "Genius Perks" before. We liked the pleasant nature of the staff despite our poor quality french. The views from the room were top quality......we were put in a corner bedroom on the fourth floor. The beds were nice and fairly firm.....justy right for a decent night's sleep.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed very uncomfortable, first floor landing had a strong cooking smell from the other restaurants Breakfast is not a self service, it is a long wait to be served we left or would have missed our train. very poor security as the keys are kept at reception , when we went out we handed the key to the lady receptionist when we returned the man just handed us the key did not check name. The lift only stops between floors so you have to use the small narrow spiral staircase

    Only the location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Elavator was so small. Room is a little big small. Comparing these conditions price could have been more cheaper.

    Location was great.near by Gare de Lyon just in 5 minutes walking distance. Owners were helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very welcoming staff. Comfortable albeit small room, with balcony. Ideally placed for arriving from CDG quite late and getting train fairly early the next morning from Gare d'Austerlitz.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Noise, old equipment. Paris is expensive, but honestly, for 80 euros a bit of effort could be made anyway. I had the feeling that nothing has been changed in the room since sixties.

    There was a bed to sleep on.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Complimentary toiletries would have been nice.

    Nothing fancy, but we were out all day and really just needed a place to rest and sleep. The lady that checked us in and out was really nice. She even let us leave our luggage for safe keeping after we checked out so we could enjoy our Paris visit luggage free.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    NotThe landing on the circular stair was a little unexpected

    The Woman on Reception could not have been more helpful and friendly. People always make the difference. I hope that the Hotel does NOT pay her a pittance. People like her make hospitality. Thank her.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Narrow steep few steps between the lift and the room level.

    Lovely room overlooking Blvd. Diderot but modern windows make it silent and full of light. Newly refurbished and very clean shower and bathroom. Owner and staff very kind and helpful. Wifi fast enough to work. Less than 5-minutes walk to Gare de Lyon and metro station in front of the hotel entrance. The area offers many restaurants, cafè and bistrot for lunch and dinner. We stayed twice in different years and we would return there again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom a little small

    Friendly staff gave good information on what to do on our visit to Paris Great location for our connection at Gare De Lyon Plenty cafe and bars in the area.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Steep stairs. Tiny lift. All part of the atmosphere though!

    Good basic Parisian hotel. Absolutely fantastic location if you're going through Gare de Lyon. Good selection of restaurants, etc in the immediate area. Great continental (well, what else!) Breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room had a weird perfume smell which I didn't like. My room was on the 6th floor but the elevator only went up to 4.5 floors so I had to carry a heavy suitcase up to the 6th floor. The wifi was unstable. Each person gets a key for the room but had to return it to reception before leaving the hotel. The price of the hotel was over priced compared to other places I have stayed at for the same quality in Paris.

    The washroom was big and clean. The hotel was 5 mins walking distance to Gare de Lyon so it was very convenience for a late train ride into Paris.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed cover was the old style, prefer the new type with the duvet which feels much more hygienic. I was not sure about the cover that went over the bed, it was marked, which the cleaning lady cleaned off with a spray bottle and a cloth when I pointed it out. Hmm, but they were all friendly and obliging.

    Quirky little hotel, right next to the train station entrance. Very, very small elevator that made us smile as we squeezed two of us into it. Staff were helpful. Time to update the bedding.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Also requested a ground floor room, and was also put on the 6th floor. Fortunately I could leave my suitcase in the lockup at reception for the duration of my stay.

    Good location within an easy walk to the train station.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    No tea in the room. Had to go downstairs for a bottle of water. Stepping out of the lift back up to the room was potentially hazardous as the pretty spiral staircase was only a narrow space in front.

    The night-manager was good, a real relief after travelling so far that day. He put up with our terrible french and was patient and efficient. I loved the light in that corner suite!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was extremely uncomfortable; we have bad backs still, after 4 days! The room was grubby; the bed cover stained, hotel very noisy due to the stairs being so close to all of the bedroom doors. You walk straight out of the lift onto the stairs - very dangerous!

    The hotel was within walking distance to both Gare de Lyon and G.d Austerlitz. There were restaurants very close by. Larger than average Paris bathroom which was clean.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    it's not fancy but fine for the price.

    Paris is very expensive - so at the price this was a good " cheap" option. The room was clean, basic but clean, with good bed and shower. Our room 101 was probably one of the nicer options-with views over a busy street ( always interesting just to look out) - yet VERY quiet if you closed the double glazed windows. Lotss of eating options and only a couple of minutes walk to the Gare de Lyons, right by the metro, perhaps 10mins to the Seine- great location. Staff all friendly and helpful - nice relaxed atmosphere.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    just lift so small so better you book room in the first floor , wifi speed isn't so good

    Location is just 3-5 minutes walking from train station ( Gare de lyon ) and directly front of the metro station , we took a taxi with a fixed price from airport 35 Euros as I believe if you are travelling with your partner so you would pay almost same for train tickets . Also there is some Halal restaurants just 1 minute walking from the hotel and Carrefour is just 5 minutes walking . I have to Thank Mr.Jorgen in the reception because we spent first night without internet till he came , he is soooooooooo nice man ( Speaks German , French and English ) so helpful and he just changed our stay ; Please send him my Regards . Also to be fair there is nice woman in the reception that tried her best to solve the internet issue in the first day . we also took the train from Gare de Lyon directly to Disneyland which was so convenient as it's so close to the hotel

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The lift was small - but they can't do much about that !!

    The staff were friendly and helpful. It's not 5 star luxury but considering some of the other reviews it was much better than I expected and at a cheap price. The bathroom was clean and in good order. It is very close to Gare de Lyon and there are two cafes either side for breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    tiny shower - awful!!! breakfast is primitive

    Friendly staff good location bathroom clean bed / pillow comfortable room size ok for the price

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wifi was not very stable. Kettle doesn't seem to be a necessity in French hotels...

    Great location in a lively neighbourhood. Friendly staff. I booked a single room for myself and kind of expected it to be compact - it was indeed small but functional.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Carpet in room looked dirty. Mosquitoes got in the room somehow even though doors and windows were closed.

    Location was convenient, just a few steps from metro. Staff were friendly. Very close to Gare the Lyon.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilet was a bit awkward to use being confined to a small space but it was a minor inconvenience.

    The friendly lady on reception and the proximity to Gare de Lyon as I had an early morning train to catch.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WIFI was mainly unusable, with no service most of the time. No toilet paper. Bathroom was tiny. If you are large, you will not be able to use the toilet. Some reception staff were rude, some were nice. No information at check-in regarding WIFI and desk hours. No air conditioner.

    Good location, reasonably safe area. Small working lift. Double glazed windows meant quiet sleep. Comfortable bed. Eating area downstairs. Great cleaning staff cleaned room every day. Plenty of restaurants and supermarkets across the road. Good public transport.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not as clean as a hotel but it is a great worth of the money.

    It's very convenient. there is a metro station right in front of the hotel and it's very close to Gare de Lyon

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very small. That was OK for our short stay, but would be difficult fir a longer one. The clerk who checked us in had no knowledge of the area and neglected to tell us about breakfast. There was no hairdryer.

    We chose it for the proximity to the Gare de Lyon and it was very convenient for a quick overnight. Breakfast was the traditional French hotel breakfast which we enjoy.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Quirky tiny elevator did not stop at any floor. The stops were between floors, necessitating lugging suitcases up or down a flight of tightly curved stairs. The staircase only had a handrail on the inside, not on the outside where one wanted to walk. The idea of an elevator is to eliminate using the stairs. I consider this a safety problem.

    Very close to Gare d' Lyon and easy to catch a train in the morning.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I'd have preferred it if breakfast was included and if I was a large person I might have found it difficult to get past the shower to the toilet but overall I have no complaints.

    I needed a place to stay one night within walking distance of Gare de Lyon and with late check-in times. Helvetia was perfect for my needs and as a bonus the man on reception when I checked in was extremely friendly and helpful. They were happy to store my bags for a few hours the next morning. The room was basic but clean and the TV and WiFi worked well. The location is perfect and I was pleased with my short stay.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bathroom was a wet room and it didn't drain well, in fact the entire floor was flooded after showering. It is a noisy area if the windows are open . If closed the double glazing is effective.

    It was a good location and the room was light and airy. It had obviously been recently updated and the bathroom was modern. The price seemed reasonable considering the location and time of year.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    NOTHING

    THE LADIES IN RECEPTION ARE WELCOMING AND MOST HELPFUL. I WATCHED SOME GUESTS GIVING THEM A DIFFICULT TIME BUT THEY STILL MAINTAINED THEIR DIGNITY. HOTEL JUST METRES FROM METRO ENTRANCE AND GARE DE LYON LONG DISTANCE TRAINS.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Poor WiFi connection - not the first time that people are complaining, according to the staff. The room is much too small for 2 people and too expensive (maybe that's the problem of Paris) and very noisy from outside traffic. Cannot recommend this Hotel

    Just the smiling staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Rooms are quite small but didn't spend much time in them.

    Very good location for those travelling around on city metro. Metro stop M1 yellow line 20m from the front door step to take you everywhere in Paris. Takes approx. 10-25min to reach the closest and furthest destinations. Elevator a tight squeeze yet reliable for you and a friend. Balcony off room was a nice option with big windows to let natural light and air in. Spacious bathroom. Good wifi.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No drinking water available when asked why was gI've reply that whats prolem wit tap water. No hair dryer. When asked said hotel hv only one and was provided and hv to collect ourselves from reception. Lift and stairs too dangerous for children.would not recommended

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The red bed cover looks old design and dusty. Both my partner n my skin felt itchy after a while. The room was quite small we had 2 big luggages and 1 small and we couldnt lay them out comfortably. There were also some steps to move our heavy luggages before reaching our room. The frontdesk was nice to offer luggage room on ground level but that was not an option for us as we needed clothes from our luggage.

    Very convenient location for 1 night stay before our scheduled morning train out to Switzerland. Great cafes at affordable price within walking distance. Good sized bathroom. Hot shower water.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There's no aircon, it so happens that the temperature during our visit is a bit cool.

    The staff are really friendly, they will entertain you and they can speak good English. Food and grocery is also a few steps away.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    For our purposes which was a stop over in Paris on our way to Sicily it covered all our needs at a reasonable price for Paris and was very good for connections between the Gare de Lyon and Paris Airports.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No

    6he best location to stay, very clos to Gare Lyon juat opposit. Very safe and comfoetable to go anywhere and very safe, Good staffs, friently , helpful, hispitality and you can deposit your baggaes for a few day if you go travelling around Paris.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Bath
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hotel's lift stops between floors. You always have to take few steps of dangerous stairs. I have some walking difficulties. Therefore I may not return to this hotel again

    Hotel's location is good as well as the value for money. Nothing special in this hotel. It is located at 50 m of the entrance of Subway line 1. And at close distance of bus stop coming from Airport Charles de Gaulle (No stop bus line 4)

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    By-product of being so well located, it was noisy outside. Not that much of a problem as we were only there one night

    Brilliantly convenient location. Very handy for station, metro and nearby shops and restaurants. Everything we needed was there. Seemed clean. Contrary to what someone else said, you could get BBC and CNN english speaking channels on the TV, Multitude of restaurants nearby. Everything from French, Turkish to Sushi. We went North African

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location to city AND ESPECIALLY to Gare de Lyon. Made leaving on the 6:30 AM train so easy! Be aware of the stair situation.YES they DO HAVE A LIFT. And YES, you will STILL HAVE TO USE stairs--which is all part of your European experience! Do not fret about it, as many places have NO LIFT whatsoever. Instead, be prepared to use 5-6 steps--directly outside of a TINY elevator--and ENJOY staying in a fine establishment with a great location.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    bathrooms did not have heating so it was really cold inside. I booked a triple room and it was pretty small and felt a bit crowded. But fair value for money.

    staff was friendly and easy access from metro

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very small lift which can not be accommodated two pax with baggage.and the lift stops between two floors thereby pax has to take big baggage over the stairs whether you go up or down .

    Front desk was really helpful and nice.Great location close to Metro and main railway.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staffs and location. Staffs keep helping all your problems. Talk to them if you got any problem. Location is perfect, you can reach to all Symbols of Paris in short time by walk or train.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We were supposed to stay 4 nights but due to an air traffic controller's strike in Athens we had to stay 8 and eventually catch up with our cruise ship. The front desk staff went so far above and beyond what could be expected to first help try to get us to Athens, and when that proved impossible, extended our rate for 4 nights & made the rest of our stay the best. It may not be the fanciest hotel in Paris but I guarantee the staff at the 5 Star hotels could learn from this hotel about TRUE Customer Service. The location was great, metro at the door. Le Bus to the Airport 1 block away. Again it was the staff that blew us away with their kindness and generosity. You will find none more caring anywhere. We will be forever in their debt and they will stay forever in our hearts.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 5 nights

    q`The location was great just a few steps away from a Metro entrance, with some cafes' located the same distance away, with anywhere in Paris you can find some cheap places to eat or some very expensive eateries, this hotel is ideally located for any culinary expeditions out. We found some of the cafes' facing the station to be very pleasant with the staff friendly and helpful. Staff at the hotel were mixed with some being more friendly and chatty than others, the staff were helpful when we asked any questions.The rooms were compact but adequate with on suite facilities all clean and all you really need if your out and about experiencing Paris. Not really the sort of hotel you would spend time in during the day, no real lounge area but some seating at reception. With the Metro so close and the Gare de Lyon about 100 yards away you are spoiled for choice when deciding where to go each day as everything is so accessible.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Furnishings very basic, but fine for a two-star hotel.

    I. Appreciate the location's convenience to the Gare de Lyon. Staff very pleasant and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Small rooms, extremely basic, thin walls - no sound proofing between rooms or with corridor

    Close to Gare De Lyon Station, since I had to use it for intercity trains

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room is small, and the restroom is so small with little standing spaces...No meat included in breakfast but only bread and drink.

    Good position and easy for traffic. People at reception are always helpful and warm-hearted.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room is very basic, the bathroom tiny but again, at this price point, not a surprise.

    Excellent location right next to Gare de Lyon. The room and bathroom were spotless clean. At this price level, you will be hard pressed to find something as good in Paris. Perfect for a one night stay with little time spent in the room or on a shoestring budget.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Each time we book we ask for a lower floor. Each time we are offered floor 4 or 5, when rooms are available on lower floors. We were offered a room on floor 1 after we rejected room on floor 5! The lift, but can't change it! No real English tv. no hairdryer. No room safe.

    Plastic cups. Soap. Wardrobe/cupboard with a few hangers. Extra pillows already in the room.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were there when the weather was rather hot. No fan in the room meant we had to have our windows open. The first night was very noisy as there was some sort of festival on the go. Second night was better. I would opt for a room with windows off the street in summer. Perfect location.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to keep the window closed because a busy street so would have like air conditioning.

    Loved the variety of breads and the fruit purée. Close proximity to the main line station. Free wi fi

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was too small and did not have air conditioning either. They could at least have electric fans available for use during the summer months but none was available/provided! Out of our 3 nights stay, we couldn't sleep for 2 nights because if the summer heat! :(

    The location was good as it was near the Metro trains

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    My room is located towards street with much sunshine and excellent air ventilation. Although there are not any air conditions equipped at room, but it takes advantage of good windows design and allow more fresh air flowing through. Room facilities are quite old-fashioned but clean enough. Excellent location and much easy access from Metro and Railway Station within minutes walk.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was very basic. I don't mind this at all, but I thought it was overpriced for what was provided. It was extremely hot when we stayed and there easy not even a fan in our room.

    Great location very short walk from Gare du Nord station. Friendly staff on reception.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The access to the stairs was precarious and the elevator the smallest I've ever seen!

    This hotel was in an extremely convenient area as many points of interest in walking distance and If to travel by train from Gare du Lyon. Although on the small side, the room was clean, comfortable and quiet. The breakfast was reasonable at 8€ per person.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Stuffy, smelly room - no air-conditioning and no fan. When asked for a fan, the hotel staff stated that there was not one fan in the whole hotel !! Be advised to BYO fan and earplugs to this hotel ! Had to open our windows to get some air and had to contend with loud traffic noise, vehicle exhaust fumes and loud noise from local bars up to about 2am!!

    Close to Gare de Lyon railway station.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could hear some hallway noise and banging doors. Staff was so very pleasant. Their boss should be proud that they all did a wonderful job!

    Great location so close to the metro and I have an I phone so I have the metro maps on my phone which do not need wifi to give you routes. That made our stay exceptional easy. Out room was just a room. Clean and large enough that we had space for our luggage but it was a little noises when people came back at night banging doors. The front desk offered to move us but it didn't last long abd who wants to move.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    Easy for Gare De Nord, had a 3 café bars next door.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very small.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is far below any normal standard of cleanliness or decency.

    The location was why I chose this.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Location (just in front of underground station exit), Quiet, Cost

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit faded old scary lift

    Close to gare du Lyon. Friendly staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old and tired.

    Very close to Gare de Lyon railway station.

    Stayed in April 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Helvetia traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: