Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hôtel Hexagone 2 stars

Plaine Saint-Martin, 66500 Prades, France

#7 of 8 hotels in Prades

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 303 hotel reviews

7.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.7

  • Comfort

    6.9

  • Location

    7.9

  • Facilities

    6.9

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 34

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    2.5
    Worst experience ever (by a long way)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rude abusive owner. In all the time I have been staying in hotels, I have never experienced such despicable behaviour. We information the owners that we would arrive by 22:10 (10 mins after the check in time) and were met by a barrage of abuse. Do NOT book!!!

    Nothing

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    7.9
    Decent place for an overnight stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room could have done with a coat of paint.

    Nice to have a separate bathroom and toilet. The room was a good size and it was quiet. Easy place to find just off the main road and an easy fifteen minute stroll to the centre of town.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    5.8
    The owner who attended us was very fluent Catalan-speaker
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is located at 15-25 min from the city center and from a commercial store zone. Not very romantic in any of the cases.

    The owner who attended us was very fluent Catalan-speaker

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    4.2
    Avoid at all costs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    After talking with the manager for 5 minutes in English, he decided he no longer spoke English and then charged us 12 Euros for the storage of our bicycles whilst taking delight in telling us that he normally doesn't charge a fee, but because we were English and disrespectful he was going to charge us. Rude and aggressive - this hotel is a shame on Booking.com. After experiencing this, then reading the google reviews, suddenly everything seemed to make sense!

    There was air con.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    6.7
    Good location; limited family room
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are not air conditioned - so in hot weather the room was sweltering. The bunks for the children were short and had very thin mattresses - only suitable for small children. Our 8 and 12 year olds were very uncomfortable.

    Easy to access, straight off a roundabout on a main road. Right next to a very good outdoor public swimming pool, open until 7pm. Staff friendly. Continental breakfast was fine.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    8.8
    Well located modern facility in walking distance to key attractions.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The in room coffee pot was broken.

    The property is well located in walking distance to the old citadel and along the river to the city. Parking is available at the property for a fee but if your lucky, free street parking is also available. The property is modern and comfortable. Designed around a secure central courtyard.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    7.9
    A good value, overnight touring hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We could find nothng to really complain about. It is a no-nonsense, budget hotel that does a good job.

    Good, easy to find location at the edge of town, the centre of which was a fifteen minute walk away. The staff were both friendly and helpful, the accommodation more than adequate.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2017

    8.3
    Owner keen to please and assure you of a pleasant stay.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Fairly priced for what you get.

    Propritetor owned . Keen to please and be helpful . Also a dog lover, The whole family appeared to say hello to the dog,. Well placed 6 minutes away from the start station of the Train Jaune. Happy memories of my two day stay.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    2.5
    Never Again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The receptionist was extremely rude, unhelpful & bad tempered. The rooms were in a very poor state. Our car which was parked there overnight had one of the tyres punctured by someone with a knife.

    Absolutely Nothing

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    9.6
    Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Convenient location. Met with our expectations. Friendly staff. We were happy and enjoyed it time. Good when traveling with your dog.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    8.3
    price-to-performance-ratio very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    fair price, close to city, free parking, breakfast is ok, patron is very helpful. A good place for motobikers passing by.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    8.3
    Inexpensive base for journeys into the hills
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No active dislikes

    I didn't have breakfast. The room was comfortable and quiet. The hotel was a fifteen minute walk from the bus station.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    9.2
    Explore Canigou
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of warm decor

    Location for Canigou

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    6.7
    Dog smell in the room
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dog smell in the room

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    7.1
    Budget stay. Close to city center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Quiet area. Walking distance from downtown.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2016

    10
    Best hotel and dinner of three weeks in Europe!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We feel this hotel and our dinner at the hotel were the best of our three weeks in Europe!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    8.8
    no good access to the internet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no good access to the internet

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2016

    8.3
    Catalan language is spoken so familiarly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We liked their friendly way to the participants in Universitat Catalana d' Estiu (UCE)

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    8.3
    Good hotel. Value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a little hot.

    Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    5.4
    unfrendley staff & unhelpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    one member of staff reception very unfriendly & unhelpful to several of us who stayed as a group

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    2.9
    Don t ever stay here!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The female receptionist was most un caringto our group especially after one car had been vandalised on site

    Leaving!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    5.4
    Friendly staff, quiet location, garage for bicycle
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Smelly basic room, 15-20 minute walk to city centre with grocery shop and restaurants, property would benefit from refurbishment and new paint to remove smell of smokers

    Friendly staff, quiet location, garage for bicycle

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2015

    7.9
    Friendly family run hotel, easily accessed from N116,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Friendly family run hotel, easily accessed from N116, parking at hotel or in public area opposite, easy walk (about ten minutes) to town centre, very good local food for evening meals, easy wifi.

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2015

    3.8
    Padres is a very nice town, but please look for a different...
    • Business trip
    • Group

    AC didn't work properly. Supposedly you can get a remote control from the reception, but that was not the case that night. It's also not free.... It was unbearably hot in the room! Could not sleep. Bed was rather soft. Hole in the wall in the bathroom. Breakfast ok.

    Padres is a very nice town, but please look for a different hotel.

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2015

    7.9
    I cannot judge the location as we walked from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It's a bit expensive if you ask me. Wi-Fi signal was pretty weak in our room (compared to reception) but I believe it varies over the facility.

    I cannot judge the location as we walked from Villefranche-de-Conflent by foot (never try this!) and set off early in the morning, bus station is about 15 mins away if you walk with normal speed. The room was clean and pretty and even had a bath. The guys at the reception waited for us even though we arrived around 10pm which is not typical for hotels in small villages.

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2016

    9.2
    Manager very welcoming and although facilities basic they...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Manager very welcoming and although facilities basic they were perfectly adequate.

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    7.1
    Very helpful reception and the room was fine
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Breakfast could have been better

    Very helpful reception and the room was fine

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    3.8
    Well it was cheap
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Back to the dark ages of French hotels

    Well it was cheap

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2015

    8.8
    Clean and appropriate with in the price range
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Clean and appropriate with in the price range

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2015

    10
    Very welcoming, excellent air conditioning.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very welcoming, excellent air conditioning.

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2015

    6.3
    Despite the heatwave the room was cool with efficient aircon.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Despite the heatwave the room was cool with efficient aircon. Good sound proofing.

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2015

    8.8
    Family-run hotel, daily cleaning, helpful staff, good value.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Wifi reception not great (true for area generally)

    Family-run hotel, daily cleaning, helpful staff, good value.

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2015

    9.6
    bon accueil malgré notre arrivée tardive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    manque du cereale, petit dej.

    bon accueil malgré notre arrivée tardive. Garage à velo. Diner du soir.

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2015

    7.1
    Location (walking distance to Prades centre) &...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Location (walking distance to Prades centre) & friendliness of owner

There are also 7 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 34

Guests also reviewed these properties: