Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Holiday Inn Bordeaux Sud - Pessac 4 stars

10 Avenue Antoine Becquerel, 33600 Pessac, France

#7 of 14 hotels in Pessac

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 534 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    7.6

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 54

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    9.2
    A great place to recover energy from a long trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    we wanted to have a drink upon arrival. Bar was closed and no mini bar, which is not what I expected in a 4 star hotel

    It's a great location as in between stop for a car trip between Lisbon and Brussels. Bed was mega comfortable!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    7.9
    Overall a very pleasant stay and would definitely use this hotel again when visiting Bordeaux.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Breakfast menu expensive, bar service in the evening was slow especially if reception staff were busy. Also outside waste bins were not emptied for the duration of our stay.

    Location good with tram access to Bordeaux Centre and overall a very comfortable stay.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    6.7
    The air conditioning not working and we had been working the...
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The air conditioning not working and we had been working the heat, and had to sleep with the windows open, the hotel is next to a junction on the rocade and near other hotels, so lots of noise, not a good experience. The receptionist wasn't very concerned hen we told her and it made an overall unpleasant evening

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    8.8
    Good choice for an ovenight as part of a longer trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Restaurant service was relatively poor, although the food was good. For example, we were left waiting for the food for quite a while, without even the drinks being served, although the restaurant was almost empty. One had to poor the wine himself in the glass.

    The rooms are spacious enough and clean. Well insulated so no noise from outside. A fair hotel to stop by as part of a larger trip (location near the highway so quite convenient in this case).

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    6.9
    1) Room: little room isolated, there was a lot of noise in...
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    1) Room: little room isolated, there was a lot of noise in the neighboring room, child crying, television volume too loud, so on. It was not good to relax! 2) Breakfast: Service very poor / cost very high!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    5.4
    Good enough for one night after the soccer game
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The séjour taxes : we should not pay for it, we paid them twice. Indeed, the price displayed by Booking.com was 95 € = I paid 99 € when I showed up at the reception and was asked the morning we left an extra amount of 4 €. STUPID and anti-commercial

    The bed, comfortable and wide enough for two

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    8.3
    Nice hotel but should have given us a better located room
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Hotel was empty, but still they gave us a room right in front of the lifts. Also our room was right next to another room with a communicating door inbetween the two rooms, we had no privacy has we could clearly hear the other costumers talking during the night, we could not sleep well. Since the hotel was empty they could have put us in another room with more privacy and with no door inbetween.

    Great location for me, friendly staff. I really enjoyed the breakfast and the breakfast room full of windows and natural light.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    7.1
    It was a fair stay for one night. But I was expecting more from 4 stars. Maybe I was unlucky
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    - the pillows were small and hard - bathroom ceiling had mold and it feld like it was about to fall - room ceiling next to the bathroom was peeling off

    The king bed was very comfortable and the room spacious , big I could say for France

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    9.2
    Great staff,comfortable clean great location
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small sized window Extra bed getting wood pueces repeatedly getting detached even after changing it

    The staff were extremely helpful especially Estelle and Roberto Very clean,comfortable,great location close to buses and tram stations Good sized room Quiet area

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    9.6
    It was perfect for us.Excellent location near buses and tram line and the hospital Haut Leveque.
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The windows are very small.The extra bed kept on getting detached even after changing it.

    The room was very clean,the bed and pillows comfortable.The staff were very very friendly and helpful especially Estelle and Roberto.The location was perfect.The area was quiet.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    7.1
    Beware, NO EVENING MEALS AT WEEKENDS!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    An upmarket hotel with NO EVENING MEALS AVAILABLE ON WEEKENDS, was a BIG DISAPPOINTMENT. We were forced to eat in a close by hotel, where the meals were somewhat mediocre!

    Clean and tidy and well placed for the airport

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    7.1
    Terrible breakfast service on saturdaymorning
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast Saturday morning. We came at 09.00 and 96% of the tables dirty with the plates and coffecups from the last hours. Never seen this before. 2 lazy guys who took a cup of coffee and disappeared for 1/2 an hour to drink this. We where cleaning our table and also other quests. See pictures. Also buffet was a mess..

    Nice small holiday Inn Hotel

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    8.8
    The place to be if you plan to be near the airport and to travel around Bordeaux.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In general, no major complaints. Breakfast items were not replaced as easily. Lacking good fresh fruit. Scrambled eggs were too milky. That's all.

    Hotel located near the airport. Free parking available right next to the hotel door. Room was spacious and comfortable. Breakfast offered a variety of choices of cereal, bread, coffee, yogurt etc. Nice ambiance. Well located for refueling on the way downtown, easily accessible and cheap prices. If you plan to use it as a hub to visit other cities besides Bordeaux, as we did, it is the place to be.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    3.3
    basic overpriced business travel hotel not up to standard
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    see above

    No "Do not Disturb sign" in the room. Cleaning lady opened the door at 8 and then were very loud cleaning the other rooms, shouting and laughing. Went down for breakfast at 9h40 as it is served til 10, one coffee machine already opened for cleaning and the other only offering plain coffee and not cappuccino. Had to ask the only waiter around for coffee and he said that he would do it if we were nice .....! Hot breakfast dishes were cold and poor looking. Go there only to sleep and if you are very tired and fortunate.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    9.2
    Magnificent place to rest a night or a few nights in the middle of a road trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good breakfast buffet, very friendly staff, and more amenities than we expected (the mini bar was complimentary) it is not close to Bordeaux center, but it is a wonderful hotel nonetheless, and it is perfect for people who, like us, are only stopping at Bordeaux for a night and then continue their journey to somewhere else. Totally recommend this hotel. I will stay there every time I have to stop in the area.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    5.4
    Not 4 star
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No cold drinks, no food or drinks on weekends. Girl was very friendly make not so! Breakfast was great. Reported main kight in bedroom not working, never fixed (only had yo change a globe)

    Location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    10
    We love Holiday Inn Bordeaux Sud and will stay here next year when we return to Reggae Sun Ska.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Absolutely nothing. They make their guest feel at home.

    The Staff, the breakfast and the room was perfect! The staff, most importantly, were very helpful too. We stayed here to attend Reggae Sun Ska. On Saturday night, we caught the last tram back to the hotel unaware that the train dropped us off at a different location away from the hotel. Since it was the last train for the night, we had to find our way back to the hotel. I called the hotel and Yves answered. He helped us get back to the hotel. Because of Yves, we will stay again next year! :)

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    7.9
    Good value but no kettle etc looks like penny pinching - this is Ibis, NOT Ibis budget next door.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No kettle or tea and coffee in the room. You had to fetch / order from the bar at €2.50 a pop. We managed to nick cups out of a breakfast service machine that had been left out and got a dark look from the barman - it was quickly removed.

    Easy to find and just off the auto-route Air-con Good breakfast selection On-site restaurant ; actually a chain grill house but good quality and service (had seen reviews saying slow but we were looked after well albeit just as they opened for dinner). Well insulated - no traffic noise despite less than 100m to a dual carriage-way and roundabout. Good Value

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    2.9
    It is not a place I would go again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was not maintained well. Bathroom in the hotelroom was missing a doorknob. Restaurant had spiderwebs in the terrace access areas. When asked for a manager to inform about the negative issues, there was no manager on duty. There was also supposed to be a baby crib in the room but was not present.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    7.1
    I prefer the Holiday Inn in Munich....
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The facility is a bit old. No wall socket near the bed. It will take half an hour to go to city center by tram.

    The breakfast is good, and it's very fast to go to the airport by car. Wifi is good.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    10
    A nice relaxed stay during a long drive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing to report here

    A nice comfy relaxing hotel, very quiet yet near a busy road. good access and easy to find, The Hotel burger was one of the best we have had,will stay here again,

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    10
    Excellent for an overnight stay
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Sat nav had an issue with the booking.com address. We found it through the website

    Room service and food at the restaurant was excellent. Fast efficient service with helpful staff. The bed was very comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    10
    Excellent and Inviting
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower being in the bathtub - without a bathmat - made the surface very slippery

    The quality of the food in the restaurant was excellent

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    7.9
    The hotel refused to let me pay via Maestro, even though it...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel refused to let me pay via Maestro, even though it was technically possible

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    10
    Great for a night rest after a long car drive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Great for a night rest after a long car drive.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    9.2
    the best breakfast ever in France!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the best breakfast ever in France! good location by the highway

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    10
    Great Hotel and staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was excellent. Receptionist and bar staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    7.5
    hotel has everything you need for business travel; good facilities; very good wifi and easy to conne
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    hot food options could have been cooked better and more options with Eggs/Omelette would be good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    6.7
    Everything was as expected except the pillows, quite poor.
    • With a pet
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows

    Everything was as expected except the pillows, quite poor.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    3.3
    Da non ripetere
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff alla recption dilettante e ottuso.

    Assolutamente carente

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    6.7
    Good but not good enough
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room, rock hard bed

    Clean and tidy, friendly staff

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    10
    Great value fir money
    • With a pet
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Neighbouring guests made too much noise

    The room and bed was very nice had a lovely night stay Staff really friendly and helpful

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    9.6
    Really comfortable and friendly
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dogs allowed in restaurant. Food excellent. Staff excellent.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    10
    Everything was smooth.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was smooth.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    8.8
    Great
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Easy to find, good size room. Great shower. We stopped over for one night. But I wouldn’t hesitate to return for longer.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    7.1
    Good for a transit stop, but avoid weekends.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    On a weekend the Resturant and Bar are closed. We did know this, but it spoilt our stay

    Handy location for travelling to Spain

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    10
    will book again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Convenient location if you're crossing France on the highway. The staff at the restaurant during breakfast was very helpful and kind.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    7.5
    Comfortable bed with quiet rooms.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Expensive breakfast for 17 euro. I did not have it. I went to a cafe instead.

    Comfortable bed with quiet rooms.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    6.7
    Not bad
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The air conditioner did not work, in the toilet room were hairs from the previous guests.

    Parking, good breakfast and king size bed.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    8.8
    Accuril excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Accuril excellent

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    9.6
    Welcome good, car parking good , room good .Evening meal was excellent.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hot meal wasn't ,they forgot to switch on the heaters.

    Everything was good.Plenty of what ever you'd want.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2017

    4.2
    unjustified high price
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    To much expensive price for a night compared with the normal service provided

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    8.8
    locatiion and the bed was comfy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    breakfast was alright but not brilliant.

    locatiion and the bed was comfy

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    7.5
    A good central location for travel towards south
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Resturant opens late for dinner ??

    Comfortable room and ample facilities

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    7.1
    No fitness centre/gym available.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    No fitness centre/gym available.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2015

    10
    Easy to find from the motorway.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Easy to find from the motorway. Did not use the hotel restaurant, it was the week-end and there are several restaurants just a few minutes walk away. Bordeaux is easy to get to on local transport.

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    8.3
    The staff were polite and very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A bit far to the Bordeaux city centre you need to have a car otherwise not much to do or see in the surrounding area.

    The staff were polite and very helpful. Restaurant food was excellent.

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    10
    Everything about this Hotel, from Staff to location were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No restaurant facilities on the evening, but the fact that other facilities very close meant there was no real problem

    Everything about this Hotel, from Staff to location were first class for us

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    9.2
    Easy to find.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast was not great, dishes were not replenished regularly and choice was limited.

    Easy to find. easy check in, rooms well appointed and comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2015

    5.8
    Location if you are travelling up from down south.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    the reason I booked this hotel was of because of four factors location,pet friendly,restaurant and a bar. After a long drive from Spain to arrive at the hotel to be told the restaurant was not open nor the bar was to say the least disappointing. The member of staff on duty did say he would serve us a drink which was great,so I asked for a cold beer after my long drive only to be told the beer taps were not working. At this point we left the hotel walked across the road and had something to eat in a rival hotels restaurant and bar. real shame as I have to say the bar/restaurant area looked really relaxing. I would say disappointing. Room was great,but bed was the most uncomfortable I have ever slept in. Edwin a member of the team deserves a big thank you as he seemed to be the only one on duty and had to cope with everyone whether it was drinks or extra pillows.

    Location if you are travelling up from down south.

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2015

    10
    The location was excellent .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The location was excellent .The restaurant and bar staff were helpful and communicated well.

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2015

    7.5
    Hotel cleanliness
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel restaurant doesn't open in the evening if there are very few guests

    Hotel cleanliness

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2015

    7.9
    The rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The rooms. Friendly staff. Easy parking.

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2015

    7.5
    Ease of parking with van
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Ease of parking with van Easy to find

There are also 25 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 54

Guests also reviewed these properties: