Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Holiday Inn Express Paris-Canal De La Villette 3 stars

68, Quai De La Seine, 19th arr., 75019 Paris, France

#451 of 1,578 hotels in Paris

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1405 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    5.8
    Location was good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very very basic room, we were a couple but they gave us double bed room. Very small rooms,No facilities in the room, no fridge, no safe,not even a soup tray in the bathroom

    Location was good

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    6.7
    Lift did not work for three days
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were on fourth floor and lift did not work for three days . For the breakfast , we had to bring our tomatoes as it was not available , after being told at check in that as a vegetarian you will get tomatoes which you can have with bread.

    App 300 mtrs from metro , nice view of canal , good for a morning or evening stroll near hotel

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    8.3
    Clean room with nice breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There are two small elevators in the hotel however only one was operating during my visit. It was a bit hassle to wait and take the only one. I was staying for one night with parking. Daily parking is EUR 24 so I thought I would need to pay EUR 24 but they charged me for 2 day.

    Canal view room was nice. Staff was very friendly and they know what to do. So I did not have any issues with check-in and check-out. Location is fantastic if you have time to walk along the canal. Breakfast was great with variety choices.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    7.1
    It’s very good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s near the canal that even though seems pretty in pictures is not, it’s dirty and smelly (but the smell doesn’t get in the rooms). It is pretty far from the city center even though the metro is close it’s quiet a long ride.

    It’s very good value for money. The room was fairly big enough for two and clean. It’s 5 min from « Riquet » metro station. The breakfast was good. The parking facility is easy to use and as it’s not very inside the city, this is a good choice if you’re travelling by car.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    9.6
    Location, value for money, service. Great.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioning is a bit noisy. The scrambled egg was not real eggs but a commercially prepared mix. But that is my opinion- some people enjoy that.

    The staff were really helpful. They were friendly and did whatever’s was needed to be of service.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    6.7
    The hotel room s exactly how it’s on pictures, so I met my...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location as mentioned above so-so. The rooms are to small.

    The hotel room s exactly how it’s on pictures, so I met my expectations. Breakfast is fine. Rooms were clean, but small. This hotel is good to spend few nights while discovering Paris. The location is so-so, it’s far from downtown, but really close to metro station Requet, which is convinient.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    9.2
    -Great location, close to the metro station
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Maybe the carpets need a change, and it is good if they provide slippers in the rooms.

    -Great location, close to the metro station -Great view of the canal, which was vibrant in the afternoons and at nights. -Good restaurants in the area -Spacious rooms -Good breakfast -Polite staff Will defiantly stay here again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    7.1
    Had a great time seeing family and Paris will be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    carpet in bedroom was stained and extra hospitalities would have been nice. Extra care needed on cleaning.

    Overall it was a nice place to stay, the bathroom was spacious and beds comfy. Security and location perfect for us.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    10
    The Hotel is located in a nice neighbourhood, close to the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The Hotel is located in a nice neighbourhood, close to the buses and metro station. The rooms were clean, bed was comfortable, in the room you get an option to make yourself coffee and tea. The bathroom was big and spacious. And now the best part of the trip: THE BREAKFAST: OMFG it was so good, many options to try and the staff is all the time going around and making sure everything that is offered is topped up and that nothing is missing. I recommend this Hotel to all of you!!! Keep up the good work!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    7.1
    A good and comfortable hotel with an average breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast had no vegetarian options except bread! Eating a toast everyday was awful!

    I liked the location of the hotel. The canal is beautiful and the Riquet metro station is 3-4 mins walk.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    6.7
    Good stay and relaxed
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The water system is not balanced. On the same setting the water becomes to hot and too cold at times.

    The location and the breakfast. The staff is very co-operative and proactive

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    7.5
    Nice and modern hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One night there was a rock concert in a bar at first floor- we couldn’t sleep till 2:30am :(

    Not far from metro station in a peaceful place, cozy and spacious rooms, good breakfast

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    5.4
    Been robbed by the welcome desk employer when asked to order food.. they have a scam scheme
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Been robbed by the welcome desk employer with a tourist scam scheme . The hotel have one employer (40/50 years old with mustache) that have one scam scheme prepared with one burger/pizza company (Adiamo Pizza Original) just to still the tourist and for sure get some extra commission from this company. I arrived late around 11pm to the hotel and ask him where could we heat around, he sayed that everything was closed but we could order from one company he recommend. We order 2 burgers and 2 coca colas, the price for each burger was arround 10€ each( flyer price) but we didn't know how much was each coca cola, so we ask how much was the total price and he told us that would be not more that 25€ just after the call. When the delivery man come he had a bill of 45.60€... we ask why was this price and he directly show us one part of the flyer with super super small letters saying that after 9pm we need to pay 40% more because we order late... the welcome desk employer should advice us of this in advance since for sure this is not his first time ordering late food... We also ask him why he did that and he reply to us super rude saying that his job is not ordering food... so he sayed he didn't know about 40% more, but was clear that was a planned scheme. We was tierd from the trip and not knowing the neighbourhood with no other chance to eat... So please if you get there late and need food, be aware that they have this scam prepared... The hotel should control the partnerships and test their employers.... I have already worked on tourism industry and I know this companies share a commission with the employers by recommendation but not on scam way... super unprofessional.

    Room confort

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    10
    One of the most enjoyable stays I have ever had.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing I didn’t like about the hotel.

    The hotel was clean, beautifully decorated, great staff and was in a great area near transit and shops. The breakfast was good and beds were comfortable. I truly enjoyed my stay and if ever return to Paris I will stay here again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    7.9
    Close to subways,
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    They were a little stingy with breakfast and made a big deal about the extra guest for the night. Other than that they were nice. Room was not ready on time but no other issues

    nice staff

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    8.3
    Overall good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overall good. We stayed there for 5 nights. Although breakfast wasn't appreciable at all for us.. Too much sugar items, flour, too much cheese,etc.. The rooms was good in size and clean. Staff nice.. Our only complain is breakfast which was unhealthy and boring..

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    8.8
    Wonderful staffs very good place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing, I liked everything especially the staffs working there. They are all wonderful and will definitely go back

    The staffs working at the reception desk were wonderful especially the lady who checked us in and called a cab for us when we checked out on 26/11/17. The young man who went out his way to check for us where we could go out for our evening on Friday sorry did not ask for your names.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    10
    Great location, comfort and value with excellent staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No negatives at all

    Lovely room, very comfortable and clean. Staff spoke Good English and were happy to do so which was helpful as my French is so poor. Good breakfast, excellent location for Zenith but will definitely use again whatever the reason for my next visit to Paris.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    10
    Nice, clean & modern 3* hotel with kind staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    At least some vegetables for breakfast, please.

    Value for money hotel located in nice & convenient location easy to reach by metro. Breakfast good for 3* hotel in Paris. Kindly provided opportunity to leave bags prior & after check-in. Kind staff. Clean & comfy. Recommended stay!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    9.6
    Since we entered the hotel to check in, the front office...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Disability Access/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Since we entered the hotel to check in, the front office manager Perrick was at top of assistance. He helped and charming suggested things to do in Paris. Without any hesitation he helped us a good check in. Until farewell he was absolutely concerned about us on our stay. In all a memorable stay and thanks to Perrick.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    6.7
    Nice location, nice property, good base to explore the city, cheapish rates
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Disability Access/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some of the staff were a bit short. Others really nice. 23€ for a day in the carpark is quite a lot of money but .. it's Paris I suppose. The location is OK but avoid walking back to the hotel from place Stalingrad after dark if you don't want to be harrassed by beggars or drunks or drunken beggars along the canal. Best to walk along avenue Jean Jaurès and gradually find your way back to the canal before reaching the hotel. Again the hotel surroundings are absolutely safe.

    The actual building is really nice. The views you can get on the canal are nice too. And we did have a view on the canal from our room even though we'd opted for a cheap rate.(not a direct view but still) At night the hotel was quiet. The breakfast was good and copious (all you can eat). We used the carpark, practical. Access to different Metro lines is close and easy.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    10
    Great stay, smalll flaws.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Eggs were terrible. Business customers love a great quality breakfast. Making great eggs shouldn't be something to hard to do. Washroom ventilation is poor, so if you're sharing a room with someone....haha Toilet paper is rough.

    Coffee was great. Croissants are delightful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    7.1
    A lovely weekday get-away; aviod weekends - noisy!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel is unfortunately located above a restaurant (Belushi's) that on Friday and Saturday nights becomes a dance club with a dj (who is definitely a fan of Bass.) Our room was located directly above the club. We checked in Tuesday for the conference that was to begin Friday. We wish there had been transparency upon check-in in the form of a warning, such as; "Please be aware that your room on the main floor is situated directly above a weekend night club. It will be noisy for two nights. Do you wish to have this room, or the possibility of changing rooms on the weekend?) a warning would have been a fair way to let us make a choice befire finding out at 11:00 pm Friday night (before an early-morning presentation) that our room would be shaking and that we would hear and be a part of the festivities for many hours ahead. Arriving to our room at 11:00 pm with the intention of sleep only to be met by Belushi's best and bassiest dj cannot be assuaged simply by offering an alternative room (coupled with the unenviable late- night task of moving all of our carefully catalogued and organised presentation materials, printouts, slides, etc... which had been laid out and organised before leaving for dinner that evening.) An offer of a change of room should not have been offered at 11:00 pm that evening. This hotel knows fully well that our room is most affected by this night- club because of its location directly above not only the club, but also its outdoor terrace which is directly below the side window of this room. Why offer a change of room involving re-organising the carefully put-together conference materials, as well as re-packing and re-sorting all the clothes and personal items we had unpacked and set-up for a week- long stay? Who wants to do this before midnight the evening before presenting at an early-morning conference? When we arrived for breakfast the next morning, it turns out that we were not the only guests affected by this.

    All the gentlemen on staff were wonderfully helpful and attentive. The canal directly beside the hotel is a unique and interesting feature, and we loved morning and evening walks alongside it. It was very convenient to have the morning eggs, sausages, cheese, bread and coffee, and the main floor breakfast buffet was run efficiently. The bed was super comfortable, and our room had a supplementary space along the entrance corridor to store our luggage and allow for more space in our room. Our conference was held on the premises, and the ample breads, buns and coffee provided during the breaks were very much appreciated. There were many restaurant choices available along the 10-minute walk from Laumiere Metro, as well as a supermarket and drugstore. To have our conference on-site made this hotel the perfect and most convenient choice for this stay in Paris.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    9.2
    Loved the city,history and culture.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    More variety for breakfast would be excellent,mini bar would help within the room for medicine propose.

    The staff were very helpful and friendly.Rooms very clean and neat.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    8.3
    Generally excellent - if the staff at breakfast can contain their feelings
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very grumpy and unpleasant staff at breakfast one morning spoilt the start of the day. Hot food not provided for breakfast in August

    Location, connections, situation on the canal

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    7.1
    Good location
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Terrible pillows and parking charges have gone up to 23 euros per night which is excessive Unfortunately didn't have a river view just a few trees and the lift maintenance box

    Great location for my business trips and excellent local cafes

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    9.6
    overall is very good experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast is goo, but only when they served bacon and egg only in our first day then the rest you need to pay if you like the said food. the rest is ok.

    I love the view from my room its overlooking at the canal. Staff are all very accomodating and friendly. Will surely comeback and highly recommended

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    4.2
    The canal view
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff member I asked one of staff to have my breakfast 10 minutes before 7 am as I'm leaving He refused and told me that l didn't pay for the the breakfast in a very rude way

    The canal view

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    8.3
    The location is an interesting new part of Paris with a fine...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location is an interesting new part of Paris with a fine atmosphere. It's easy accessable in a car. The staff immediately had a problem with the shower fixed. Good atmosphere.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    10
    Three days of absolute leisure, with good food, accommodation and two thousand years of history
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing we disliked Everything was to our satisfaction, and any critism would seem to be small minded, considering the work that went into making our, and others stay, so enjoyable.

    Room was clean, beds were comfortable and shower was perfect. Reception staff spoke good English and were very helpful . There was a Metro station around the corner which enabled you to be in central Paris in 15 minutes The hotel is on the canal which is all ways busy with tourists and locals out enjoying themselves There are a number of cafes and restaurants locally which offer a variety of dishes, and are all fun to visit and sample the unique way of life that is so French . There was also a lovely complimentary breakfast which was a buffet style and covered every taste, from English to Continental . My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our 3 night stay, and the hotel and staff exceeded our expectations . Well done to the staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    9.6
    Worth the stay !!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing despite it being a little pricey :<

    The staff that attended to our check in was really thoughtful ! My mom was on the wheelchair unfortunately, however, he prepared a small stool for her to shower in the toilet. That was sweet :)

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    5.0
    Value hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Location is slightly away from the city. They didn't even give a complimentary water to drink.

    Good value hotel, Metro is very near (500 mtr). Good restaurants available and its in Canal side. Room is very clean.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    10
    Excellent Choice and Pleasant Stay at HExpress!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No gym!

    All of the front desk personnel were top notch professionals. They took time to answer all questions hotel related and non Hotel related. They did the small little things right that made this stay great!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    7.9
    great venue away from downtown Paris
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the location along the canal was nice and it was nice to get away from most of the tourist. The area seemed to be locate away from the touristy parts of Paris

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    7.9
    It was well located on the Quai de la Seine, with nice...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We didn't know about the omelettes until the last day!

    It was well located on the Quai de la Seine, with nice restaurants close by. Boats to rent on the Quay basin. The Hotel was good, clean and comfortable with helpful staff. The breakfast was included and for a small extra cost there were omelettes etc.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    8.8
    Great Value and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could be improved, there was no parking available but staff guided well for the other parking options nearby

    Staff was great, very clean, great views, close to the metro, full of bars nearby, nice location

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    9.2
    Great hotel in 'real Paris' location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great Paris location. Just normal life, rather than hordes of tourists. Great local eateries, people playing boules outside. View of canal from window. Good value too. This will be were I'm always going to stay.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    10
    Highly recommended for travelers on a budget.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Cannot fault anything.

    Clean, functional rooms with a delicious breakfast and the friendliest and most helpful staff. Really close to two metro stations and the area around the hotel is nice and has a very nice vibe in the evenings with people playing games and dining along the canal.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    9.6
    Very pleased
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Disability Access/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    Breakfast was good, very clean, staff friendly, near everything you need. 40 mins away from Eiffel Tower but I knew that anyway which is probably why it's so nice for such a good price.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    8.8
    Amazing large room with canal view from balcony
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Balcony - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Just a little point - they provide feather cushions on request - but they were already allocated when I arrived!

    - The view from the balcony - Size of the room - Good hairdryer - Kettle :-)

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    10
    A lovely place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing!

    We loved staying here. The room was lovely. We were on the 6th floor so we had a great view up the canal. Bed was very comfortable & roomy. Lots of space to spread out. My hubby was particularly taken by the fact that the door to the bathroom also doubled as the door to the toilet! It gave him ideas. Enjoyed our breakfast too. Love the French bread!! Would like to think we will return someday.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    8.8
    Great place, great breakfast, great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights

    This is directed more towards Booking.com than towards the hotel itself: There were some amenities I was expecting based on the posting on Booking.com, that I found out the hotel did not provide. For example, there is no airport shuttle. I was willing to pay a surcharge for this service, but they simply to not offer it. Also, there is no convenience store, or a safe in the room. Please update the listing for this hotel so that is is more accurate.

    I really enjoyed my stay here! The staff was informative and friendly. The facility was clean, the breakfast was delicious, and the hotel has a great view, as it was on a canal. Public transit was very close by; I only had to travel one block to get to the nearest metro station and bus stop. And the free WiFi was excellent! My plan was to learn at least a little bit of French before my trip but that didn't happen. So I was concerned that I would have problems communicating with the staff, but that was not the case. I would say about 90% of the employees speak English as well as French. And the few who did not speak English found another staff member to assist me.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    8.8
    good value in great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the mass-produced chain hotel nature of everything inside.

    location was terrific. near spacious, tree-lined canal with parisians going about their daily lives. great local cafes just across the road. quiet streets. great view of canal from room. easy walk, or metro, to anywhere else in paris. on the outside the hotel looks good too. hotel staff at reception were nice. not so friendly in buffet breakfast though.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    10
    Despite some problems a very good hotel with very clean and big rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise coming from the bar located right under hotel (at the weekend), room did not have enough lighting

    Big rooms, canal view, the attitude of staff, cleanness

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    7.1
    Nice place, very clean. Good value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Long metro rides to where we wanted to go in Paris. Didn't see any good restaurants that were very close to hotel.

    Coffee was good....a pretty good breakfast. Rooms clean. Staff at front desk were nice and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    7.5
    The location was good for the purpose of our visit - we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The location was good for the purpose of our visit - we needed to visit Parc de la Villette and Montmartre and the hotel was well situated to access both of these. It is close to metro line 7 so there is easy access to the centre of Paris.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    8.8
    Fever in Paris
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Could have used a refrigerator

    Good value for money. Nice location by the Canal. Clean and comfortable. I was sick with fever most of our stay so I had to stay in room all day and it felt nearly as good as at home, especially the bed was nice.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2017

    8.8
    Comfy and affordable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite a long ride to the main sightseeing attractions

    Friendly staff, great choice of food at breakfast (lots of pastry, cheeses and good coffee!) , comfortable bed. The room was clean and spacious, offering a pleasant view on the canals.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2017

    5.8
    Fine for a short visit.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lady at the reception was very rude during welcome. Rooms which are looking at internal garden feels like a prison, high windows no sun light. Make sure to book a room looking at the canal.

    Room is bigger than most of the hotels in Paris.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    9.6
    we loved it
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    great hotel! very spacious room! a view of the canal! close in walking distance to the Park La Villette. we were with two children and we were provided extra bed, which was very handy! excellent Breakfast - croissants, jams, sliced cheese, yogurt, muesli, bread, eggs, brie cheese, baguette, sausage, juices, tea, coffee. we loved it!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    8.8
    Excellent value for the money, we'll visit again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is super nice. I really liked the room - it was quiet, big and with enough space in it (which is amazing for Paris). The room was perfectly clean, the bathroom also. The bed was super confortable. We're super satisfied and we will surely visit again.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2017

    9.2
    Very nice hotel for the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very nice hotel for the price. Room was spacious. It's a short walk from the metro, and also to Le Zenith concert venue. Good selection of breakfast items. Staff were friendly.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2017

    10
    Once again we enjoyed an excellent stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Once again we enjoyed an excellent stay. Highly recommended! We've stayed here 4 times now. Great location close to metro station, bars and restaurants.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2017

    10
    Perfect hotel in a surprisingly amazing and lovely area of Paris
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    For a Business travel I would apreciate a breakfest starting at 6.30 instead of 7, but we were allowed to start breakfest even before 7.

    A very well situated Hotel in an area of very different People, interesting bars and Brasseries, reasonably priced compared to more touristy regions in paris, but still very well situated area where Paris People also Chose to live. The Hotel itself was very clean, I had a big room, nice view but still quiet, clean and comfortable. Big bathroom :-)

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    8.8
    Awesome place but get softer toilet paper.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Softer toilet paper is a must. It's the only thing that really need to change in my opinion. Very uncomfortable and I would even say abrasive. :(

    Great breakfast, great rooms, great staff. This is out first time in Paris and so far it's awesome. The price was right and I couldn't ask for more.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2017

    9.6
    Top!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was not that great, the eggs were cold and industrial.

    The service was superb. Parking facilty was good, the fact we could park our car An extra day while we only were at the hotel for one day. From the hotel, within 3 mins you're in the metro!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2017

    10
    An excellent stay at the Holiday Inn next to the Canal de la Villette and the Philharmonie de Paris!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Disability Access/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A ham toaste that was served to me wasn't warm enough.

    The staff in the hotel were very friendly and efficient. On the Friday 13th January I had a Concert to go to at the Philharmonie de Paris and a kind staff member at reception arranged with me and a couple to travel by taxi to the same Concert. Also Christopher at the bar was very nice and got to know me in English. In fact all the staff spoke good English and that made me more at home in the hotel. The location was very good and scenic with a nice canal running next to it making it good for walks.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2016

    9.6
    Great Hotel, Definitely Return!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    TV wasn't working in our room, but we are out most of the time, so it wasn't an issue for us.

    Great view from our room. Breakfast was great and restaurant provide coffee to go service Staff were very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2016

    9.2
    I strongly recommend this to my friends
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast need to change not same very day but whatever available it's good

    Nice place to stay easy access to all the main places and staff speak English , I enjoyed lot

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2016

    7.5
    Nice hotel nearby river canal | but improvements are possible!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - WIFI connections are not free of charge in your room. This does not belong to a hotel anno 2016. - Our bathroom was not clean enough: 1. Limescale on shower head. Unfortunately it was not possible in the weekend to get another shouwer head, although we especially asked at reception desk. Maintenance mechanic does not work in weekend. 2. Dust at certain areas in bathroom - Our room was stuffy and hot. In addition, airco is not active in October and November. Only hot air can be blown in room with installation.

    + Friendly staff + Room with a (canal) view + Breakfast + Different floors are only accessible with your room / key card (safe!) + Two metro lines in neighbourhood + Comfortable beds

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2016

    8.8
    Charming spot nearby the river canal!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Disability Access/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Slow and unstable WIFI connection.

    Really beautiful spot nearby the Canal, close to the 2 metro lines. Tasty breakfasts, fantastic restaurants around (one just by the hotel).

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2016

    9.6
    Rooms were very modern and even had 110v outlet in the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were very modern and even had 110v outlet in the bathroom that fit American plugs. Metro was very close 5 min walk and convenient to get to the main paris attractions.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2016

    5.0
    Few rooms like 117 shall not be offered for booking .... at least not on saturday nights?
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The fundamental expectation is to be able to sleep.... Very noisy till 4am due to a party in a part of the hotel building that "does not belong to the hotel" (dixit staff). Staff is aware of the issue and should not offer exposed rooms (like 117) for booking, even when these are the last available rooms, as this can ruin the reputation of the group.

    If you can avoid a room potentially exposed to a very noisy party, you would probably consider as a good value for money for Paris, especially if you need a parking place.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    8.3
    Very pleasant stay, very good staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The area at the southern end of the quay (about 500m from the hotel) could be intimidating to some, especially at night. It is however easily avoidable, so it didn't pose a problem.

    Friendly and pleasant staff, very well connected to the city! Room was comfortable and clean and breakfast very good.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    8.3
    Plesant Surprise Package
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Some distance from metro. 3 metro stations in the vicinity however all are approx 700 mtrs away more or less.

    Large room, Physical location in front of Canal, culturally vibrant yet peaceful. Very comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2016

    9.2
    This was my second stint at the property and was equally...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast options are just too limited!! You could possibly include a little more variety for vegetarian travellers!!

    This was my second stint at the property and was equally comfortable

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2016

    10
    Neighborhood Gem on Canal
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Free wifi, free buffet breakfast. Amazing staff willing to make French phone calls for you as well as help arrange online tickets to attractions. Great location right on the canal, close to restaurants and bars. Just two blocks from the Riquet metro station and many buses. Easy to get to and from airport via Gare du Nord which is only 6 stops away by bus 54.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2016

    7.5
    Clean, comfortable and convenient
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The atmosphere in the bar was a bit sterile and the service was patchy as the same people looking after the bar were manning the reception desk.

    Good location with a nice view of the canal from my room. Plenty of restaurants and places to buy food. Close to the Metro Station.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2016

    8.3
    Enjoyable stay in Paris
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to pay extra for hot food at breakfast. 11€ for 2 small beers is extortion. Hence no one uses the bar.

    Nice hotel, in great location. Rooms spacious, modern & very clean. Staff were friendly & helpful.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2016

    8.3
    A very relaxing stay in a good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very clean and comfortable. The location was good, not very far from the Metro train line. The breakfast which was included in the price was also tasty.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    7.5
    Nice value for money.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Quite basic breakfast. The area around is quite nice at day time, but at night not very pleasant.

    Nice comfortable hotel relatively close to the center.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    8.8
    Good quality budget hotel
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was good but very crowded

    Have stayed here before it's a great location for my business trips and the underground parking is a real bonus that I am happy to pay for. Extremely comfy beds for a budget hotel

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    8.3
    Good hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The safety deposit box would have been better placed in the room instead of at reception.

    The staff were so pleasant and couldn't do enough to help you.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2016

    7.9
    Location is fine for north of the centre, and a metro a few...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Balcony - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    I needed a toothbrush but they didn't have any toiletry packs left at reception. Breakfast was average compared to other hotels I have stayed in

    Location is fine for north of the centre, and a metro a few minutes walk away is handy. Room was clean, wifi was fine, bed was comfortable

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    5.8
    Very basic
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Neighbour felt unsafe. My friend got grabbed on the arm outside of the hotel by a male trying to take her bag. Need to take a metro to get into the city around 20min trip. Our flight was cancelled last minute, ask reception to help us get a train ticket- they weren't that helpful felt like they could of done more to assist us. Breakfast was average- crossiants, bread, ham, cheese and coffee.

    Staff were friendly. Hotel room was clean and comfortable. Two cafe/bar near by that looks busy but didn't go inside.

    Stayed in July 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Holiday Inn Express Paris-Canal De La Villette traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: