Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Home Sweet Home

Villa Romaine - 6 rue Cleberg, 5th arr., 69005 Lyon, France

#17 of 33 B&Bs and inns in Lyon

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 138 B&B reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    9.5

  • Value for money

    8.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 23

  • Reviewed: May 31, 2018

    9.2
    A charming B&B with an exceptional hostess.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was a bit small but very comfortable.

    Situated within walking distance of the basilica and the Roman theatre, perfect location! The hostess was incredible, very interesting and charming, she made us feel at home and entertained us with stories of her travels. Breakfast was delicious, consisting of homemade breads, jams, fruit, etc.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: January 4, 2018

    6.7
    The availability of Chantal about everything like specially...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room too small because to open the door I have to close my suitcase.

    The availability of Chantal about everything like specially offer the dinner of the last day of the pasta year. Moreover the breakfast was enough

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: November 29, 2017

    9.6
    The host, which was also the owner of the house, was very...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The host, which was also the owner of the house, was very friendly and helpfull, .. she also spoke some english to some other guests, .. which is not easy to find in France! The breakfast was great, .. she made the bread by herself, because in the neigbourhood there is no supermarket no nothing, ... but it tasted amazing good, ... thanks again!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 21, 2017

    9.6
    Very nice surprise.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There are few services/shops on the Fourvière hill, for most of your needs you will have to go down to old town.

    Very cozy and particular location, on the top of the hill and with its own charm. Close to the Gallo-Roman museum and Notre-Dame de Fourvière. The house is a small and lovely micro-cosmos with many objects from Africa and elsewhere. The host is a very interesting and friendly lady.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: September 29, 2017

    9.2
    We stayed in the hotel for two nights and liked the place...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only thing that from our point of view could be improved - addition of the cheese and sausages to the breakfast.

    We stayed in the hotel for two nights and liked the place and the owner very much.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: August 18, 2017

    10
    Wonderfull place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    This is a great place to relax and explore the sights of the city! The apartments were clean and cozy! The hostess was very kind, nice and hospitable !! Breakfast was delicious! We really enjoyed resting here and chatting with a nice hostess! Thank you for a wonderful vacation !!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: June 19, 2017

    9.2
    Cozy place/Quiet place/Delicious breakfast/Kind
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hill (At first, I had no idead about the funicular. So I get there by walk.)

    Cozy place/Quiet place/Delicious breakfast/Kind Beautiful scenery(It's close to the cathedral and I could see the view of Lyon along the river.)

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: May 30, 2017

    8.3
    Cosy place. The host makes you feel like a guest and not like just one of many tourists.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Only one set of towels for 4 days

    - Friendly host - More of a bed 'n breakfast. You really do feel like a guest and not just one of the many tourists - Bathroom was private but not in the room itself which is a plus in my opinion - Very close to the city center (you can go down & up through the rose garden which is close by. Nice scenery but going up can be a bit exhausting. The funiculaire (some kind of metro) is very close as well so you can use that to get to the city center.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: October 12, 2018

    8.3
    Great B&B in Lyon
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Could have been a bit cleaner, particularly the bathroom

    Great location very close to the cable car Great host Free parking on the road nearby

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: October 2, 2018

    10
    We like all
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We like all

    We like all

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: July 7, 2017

    8.8
    Mrs. Menut was a very kind host and she was very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Mrs. Menut was a very kind host and she was very helpful. The villa offers everything you need.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: April 4, 2017

    8.3
    The location and the hospitality of the staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location and the hospitality of the staff

    Stayed in March 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They're no longer included in the property's overall review score, but they might still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: May 15, 2016

    5.4
    Very nice housekeeper and her dog.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not good location and i think too big price for this little room and poor breakfast.

    Very nice housekeeper and her dog. Basilica Notre Dame de Fourvieux is near this home, so in evening you can see a beautiful Lyon.

  • Reviewed: March 29, 2016

    9.2
    This B & B was a pleasant surprise - we didn't...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It would have been good if there were a better way to let the hostess know that we had arrived so that we could access the property. There is no intercom on the gate, so we had to make an expensive international phone call to let her know we had arrived in order to gain access. We may have missed the pin code in a message, so apologies if this is the case.

    This B & B was a pleasant surprise - we didn't realise when we booked that it was at the very top of the hill overlooking Lyon and in the shadow of the beautiful cathedral. The hostess was warm and friendly and the breakfasts with other guests in her beautiful dining room a real treat. The room and bathroom are small, but very comfortable and we really enjoyed our stay.

  • Reviewed: March 9, 2016

    9.6
    Very nice place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Just a minor point the bathroom is not in the room but it's still ok, comparing with the rest we cannot complain.

    Very nice place! Located on top of Fourviere and Close to Bastille de Fourviere and Théâtre. The building is nice. Lovely old lady is the owner with her super friendly dog Charlie. Breakfast is nice. Quiet and cozy atmosphere.

  • Reviewed: January 28, 2016

    7.9
    The staff is very nice, welcome and interesting.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children

    The room is small, the walls are thin and the private shower and toilet are just in front of the room, but not inside. Breakfast is simple but very good.

    The staff is very nice, welcome and interesting. The room is clean and the location although up on the hill with great view and near cathedral, is a bit uncomfortable to reach at night )or it could be considered as a perfect night walk).

  • Reviewed: October 11, 2015

    10
    We had a wonderful stay in Lyon at Home Sweet Home.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nothing!

    We had a wonderful stay in Lyon at Home Sweet Home. The service was great, the room and the bathroom are well-equiped and clean. Chantale is very welcoming and sympathic person. We really recommend this guesthouse!

  • Reviewed: October 1, 2015

    8.8
    The owner - Chantel - was so interesting and welcoming and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The owner - Chantel - was so interesting and welcoming and opens her house to guests. Breakfast is served in her beautiful living room. The décor of the rooms and bathrooms are a little eccentric but this only adds to the charm. Her house is opposite the museum and the archaeological sites of Lyon and a short walk from the Basilica. It is set high on the hill in the old Town so using the Funicular railway to reach her is essential (access from the metro station in the old town).

  • Reviewed: March 19, 2016

    8.3
    Good discussion.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler

    Good discussion. Good breakfast.

  • Reviewed: November 29, 2015

    10
    Clean room with a nice view on the city (esp.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Clean room with a nice view on the city (esp. at night). Very nice and helpful host. Delicious breakfast.

  • Reviewed: August 24, 2015

    9.6
    We stayed 1 night on a stop-over to the south, very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We stayed 1 night on a stop-over to the south, very enjoyable stay, friendly host, good breakfast.

  • Reviewed: June 21, 2015

    9.2
    The host is super nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    There are too many stairs Not good for a traveller with big lugguages

    The host is super nice Good breakfast Comfort bed

  • Reviewed: April 10, 2015

    10
    Very interesting accommodation - wonderful decor
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    Very interesting accommodation - wonderful decor Hostess very helpful and friendly

There are also 4 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 23

Guests also reviewed these properties: