Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hostellerie de la Vieille Ferme 3 stars

23 rue de la Mer, 76910 Criel-sur-Mer, France

#4 of 5 hotels in Criel-sur-Mer

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 368 hotel reviews

6.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.3

  • Comfort

    6.6

  • Location

    7.5

  • Facilities

    6.3

  • Staff

    7.5

  • Value for money

    5.8

  • Free WiFi

    6.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 27

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    5.0
    A very over priced stay in a hotel that was probably once a great place to stay!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedroom was rather tired - we were in a ‘superior’ room so I wouldn’t have liked to see a standard room! The light fitting was coming away from the ceiling & the curtains didn’t fit across the windows. The bed was comfy & clean. Our room did open onto the garden which was very useful having a dog with us. The food in the restaurant was very over priced. We didn’t have breakfast @€17 per person - we opted to walk to the bakery down the road instead! They make excellent pain au chocolate. I think it once was a very swish place to stay but it is severely lacking some TLC. I should have taken more notice of other visitors comments!

    It’s a very cute looking hotel and the grounds were well looked after. It was only hour & half to Calais which was useful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    7.9
    Staff were friendly, the food was good and the bed was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    1st room allocated was unacceptable. Bathroom smelt very unpleasant and musty. The receptionist immediately gave us another room. The bedside lamps and some other lights did not work (may have just needed bulbs changing but this should have been spotted by staff). It might be a good idea to advise people before they book that there are a lot of steps to negotiate. I have trouble with steps and some of the outside ones were not very safe.

    Staff were friendly, the food was good and the bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    8.3
    We were pleasantly surprised by this lovely hotel full if charm . Worth the extra cost
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was hard to find . Do not go into criel sur met as it is actually in the next village north up the coast . Mesnil val plage. There is a signpost on the main road but it's easy to miss it .

    Dinner was excellent. The rooms looked out over lovely gardens and the main dining area and welcome area was very old and quaint . The lawn was laid out for drinks or breakfast if the weather was good enough

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    3.5
    Garden is nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    1) Staff doesn't speak english and behave terrible (speak on personal things, while you are waiting; don't answer questions, etc). 2) Only two caffe around for dinner: at the beach with poor menu and in hotel with terrible cost. 3) Sauna and sweeming pool is not for free for gests of hotel. 4) Cost of breakfast is terribly high, but no other place around to eat in the morning.

    Garden is nice

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2016

    6.3
    basic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    we had to clean the furnitures ourselves which is not really what you expect of a three star hotel. You can hear the neighbours really loud...

    the dinner was really good

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    4.4
    Disappointed - particularly with the restaurant food and service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    1 Hour wait for main course in restaurant. No hot food at breakfast. Evening meal - Pork meat very tough in casserole - inedible. Initial room offered had a damp smell at the top of long exterior steps. Room changed to a previously booked superior room. Cancelled 2nd night.

    Friendly receptionist who lent her personal iPhone charger. Comfortable Soft mattress.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2016

    6.3
    A fair price but don't expect too much
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Slow service in restaurant. Breakfast drinks from a machine and undrinkable. Poor quality pain au chocolat.

    The friendly staff. Evening meal was good when it arrived.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    6.7
    Generally ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As above

    The Location, parking inadequate for my Aston Martin which need secure parking. Food whilst excellent quality was very expensive for the Plat de jour the cheapest being Eu 29. The service was somewhat chaotic and took a very long time for us to get our dessert.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    3.3
    This placed should be removed immediatly from your list
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    there was a severe lack of attention to detail. NO FIREALARM/SMOKE DETECTOR IN BED ROOM. Bathroom very poor standard. Path to annex very broken and dangerous

    Food was good when we got it. Appallingly slow service

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2016

    4.6
    way overpriced for what you get
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    In need of updating throughout WiFi is rubbish and nobody spoke English even ordering a glass of wine was difficult. Advertised sauna and jacuzzi but don't allow under 16 to use

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    8.8
    A great place to relax and enjoy the Normandy coast and all it offers
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Plus Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    the hotel is in an excellent village just a short stole to the beach the gardens are beautiful and our room went directly onto them the restaurant was superb and the seafood fantastic the grand manier souffle quite faboulous

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    7.5
    Authentic hotel near the beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff but more interested in 'working' on the computer at reception than checking in guests

    Friendly, polite, showed us to our room

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    6.7
    We had some problem in the room but the staff was great end...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had some problem in the room but the staff was great end very kind with us.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    7.5
    Friendly people, nice place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    All is great, costs for breakfast fairly expensive.

    Friendly people, nice place.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    7.9
    nice experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    we heard people on the floor above.

    Near the sea - morning walk - nice garden.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    7.9
    Small room and oldfashion
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room and oldfashion

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2016

    7.5
    Would happily return here
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Steps!

    Excellent evening meal Staff dealt with our medical problems most efficiently and made onward bookings for our return to UK most efficiently

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    10
    keep on smiling as usual !!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    bed, breakfast, restaurant, staff, location...

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    8.8
    A final stop before heading home to UK
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Your breakfast was the best we'd been served out of the 4 B&Bs we stayed at this year.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2016

    8.8
    An idyllic setting, with beautiful grounds and an...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The chairs in my room were mis-matched (too low) to the table (too high), so it was awkward to work at my laptop. The phone in the room didn't work.

    An idyllic setting, with beautiful grounds and an exceptional restaurant !

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    6.7
    The chap on reception was not welcoming and ignored us for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The chap on reception was not welcoming and ignored us for some time when we arrived. When we booked out they told us the room rate was higher than planned and we had to pay for breakfast even though we had not had breakfast. Luckily had the confirmation e-mail from booking.com but we were made to feel very uncomfortable. No apology for their mistake

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2015

    9.6
    Position close to the sea.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Could be a little cheaper but it was high season.

    Position close to the sea. Excellent staff and interesting grounds. Food good and service quick. Children aged 7 and 10 happy with the hotel. Good parking.

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2015

    5.8
    Not a lot, but has a good car park
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    many, many steps to all rooms and 16 Euros each person for breakfast and as we are coffee and croissant people we declined very quickly.

    Not a lot, but has a good car park

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2015

    8.3
    Comfortable room with good facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The meals were quite expensive and the main course disappointing but they did give us a reduction when we complained.

    Comfortable room with good facilities. The gardens were extensive and very pretty. The staff were friendly and efficient.

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2016

    6.3
    Peaceful
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    No body soeak a word of english

    Peaceful

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2015

    9.2
    Dinner was excellent, the chef made a special bernaise sauce...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Dinner was excellent, the chef made a special bernaise sauce to go with my steak.

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2015

    7.1
    Proximity to cliffs and (pebble) beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The place is getting a bit tatty and the grounds need some attention.

    Proximity to cliffs and (pebble) beach. The restaurant is superb

There are also 8 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 27

Guests also reviewed these properties: