Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Abbaye Des Vaux De Cernay

Route Auffargis, 78720 Cernay-la-Ville, France

#1 of 1 hotels in Cernay-la-Ville

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 192 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    5.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 32

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's an old building, so if you can't appreciate a few minor quirks, then this isn't the place for you.

    Such a beautiful place! Will definitely return.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Such an elegant place should have a more discreet toilet sign in the entry. It takes away from the conside able charm and welcoming feeling of the main entrance.

    This was like living history. The room hearkened the days of kings and Queens with a full court come to visit. The restaurant is superb, and the grounds delightful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I first planned to work there — the place would be wonderful for that — but the Internet connection is terrible. Apparently, this is permanent: you can hardly catch a poor and slow wifi. The phones don't work either, expect in some specific place outside.

    We feel like in the middle of the 19th century. The atmosphere is cosy and soothing, with marvelous living rooms decorations. Have a tea near one of the fireplaces, or go for a walk around the lake. Perfect for a week-end off.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This Abbey is an amazing piece of history only 1 hour from CDG airport. We would definitely stay here again prior to departure or after arrival in Paris CDG.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff, apart from the restaurant ad bar staff, was very detached. Internet access was spotty and the code changed every day. When we asked the staff member about it at breakfast we were told that the new code could be obtained at the front desk but no one could not be bothered to go get it for us. The staff member shut the lights on me and started to put the fire out in the breakfast room at 9h45 even though service is supposed to run until 10h30. The second day at breakfast the same tape of a 5 minutes JS Bach movement that ran over and over. Very annoying. The front desk clerk seemed put out when I asked for an invoice that showed 0 balance when I settled the bill. Overall the place looked neglected and in need of a stiff management talk on how to make guests feel welcome. Pity, as the property can be a magnificent experience. Gilda Poliakin Group Travel Consultant.

    The property is magnificent. Dinner was a great experience: Attentive staff, good food, good value for money.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Abbaye is in a remote area. Best if driving but doable if not.

    The staff were very helpful to us, from helping with a taxi to and from the train stations, to responsiveness to our never ending questions. The grounds are stunning and the room we stayed in was wonderful!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Basic rooms facilities, i.e.. no coffee or tea making facilities. WIFI non existant in bedrooms and very poor elsewhere.

    The whole experience was about the amazing ambience in stunning surroundings and buildings, steeped in history of a bygone time. The bedrooms though basic are comfortable. On the whole pleasant helpful staff.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We came too early and as the reception staff in charge before check-in time (1600 hrs) does not notice you. Wifi connection is poor. The old-stile toilets did not seem very hygienic to us.

    The location and the premises are just breathtaking. Very nice dining experience, the staff is very friendly without being intrusive. No television in the rooms so the magic of the site is not disturbed.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We struggled with the restaurant menu, as it was all in French, to be expected, but we embraced this and thoroughly enjoyed the food.

    The surroundings and buildings were stunning. The history that surrounds you sends your mind into overdrive as to what the walls must have seen throughout its history. The food and service in the restaurant is sensational, if a little on the pricy side. The cheese board on offer is something else, something that must be experienced to be believed. The wine menu was huge and just an eye opener to see how many wines were on offer. Watching the waiter serving crepe suzettes at the table added a bit of theatre to a lovely evening.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff seem to hate the English.

    The architecture was beautiful

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service in the restaurant is very bad. Hospitality is low.

    Beautiful park.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Beautiful setting and so peaceful. Away from the hustle and bustle of life.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The site was exceptional

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The shower....too small

    The quiet and relaxing atmosphere

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not being able to get a cup of coffee for less than 10 €

    The restaurant service and food was exceptional. .

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    For 2 of the three days the WiFi was down. Other than the (excellent) restaurant there are limited dining options nearby

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The most beautiful grounds I've ever seen.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    food was abysmal. Vegetarian food: boiled veggies

    Stayed in May 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    the site, the history, architecture, the countryside. The elegance of the hotel, the outstanding cuisine, the warm welcome, the way the rooms are appointed, the wonderful breakfast brought to the the room

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We booked a table in the hotel restaurant by phone en route; had we seen the menu in advance we would have probably looked for a local alternative. Whilst the meal was enjoyable, it was definitely over priced.

    The hotel itself is stunning, no complaints, worth every penny!

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The absence of basic services to be expected in a hotel pretending that level, such as help for luggage, kettle or coffee maker in the room. Asking for hot water to be brought to the room was perceived to be asking for a huge favor of hotel staff. The restaurant is quite overpriced compared to the quality served. We got much better food the night before for less than half the price.

    The place is a former abbey, wonderfully renovated and located amidst a large and well kept park.

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A few niggles which detracted from the experience without ruining it. Response from the staff was decent though.

    Superb location, this is a quite stunning building in beautiful grounds.

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Not so good service, rooms did not live up to expectations.... Check in staff were stressed, understaffed in the evening for aperitif, not friendly service in the restaurant. A few smiles would have made a big difference.

    Beautiful old buildings and garden/ park. Nice and big pool.

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    We booked 2 rooms for a family of 5, and I reserved dinner for 3 of us, and requested that the 2 younger children eat earlier. We arrived after driving for 9 hours from the south of France to be told there was no food available for the children, and we would have to go and find somewhere at a local town! Easier said than done and after 1 hour of driving round eventually found a pizza van in the car park of a supermarket which took half and hour to make 2 pizzas and the kids ate in their room. We had chosen this hotel because there was a pool and rowing boats to go out on the lake - a welcome break after a long drive. Pool closed for maintenance (who closes a pool on a Saturday in July??) and rowing boats did not exist. Breakfast was 20 Euros each, with no reduction for children. With 2 small children who would only eat a croissant each not good value, so having been booted out by the hotel to get food earlier, we took the opportunity to buy breakfast at the bakery and had this on an outside table by the lake (at a total cost of 6 Euros). Dinner expensive and slow service... Reception staff grumpy and unhelpful.

    Dinner really great, although horrifically expensive and service was probably the slowest ever experienced Meal took 3.5 hours. After sitting down for 45 minutes with no sign of a drink I explained to the waiter that we had driven all day with 3 kids in the back of the car and I really, really wanted a glass of wine - it still look another half an hour to arrive. But it was lovely when it came ...

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The wifi was inexistant. Be careful! Nothing in the rooms and not even in any other places. The restaurant is really expensive and it took more than 2 hours to get the diner done. We waited one hour between the first course and the main course. However the dinner was excellent!

    The place is wonderful

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff is unorganised and not warm and smilly . For such hotel I am expecting a more professional check in .i have no TV in the room which is very surprising for such standard .

    The place is girgous. The architecture and surrounding are beautiful . You can enjoy the nature mixed with past

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Marvellous place of character

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Heritage preservation

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The service in the restaurant is horrible. The room is old and has no air conditioner

    Friendly staff, beautiful gothic lounge

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi is not working in the rooms

    Great location, super vew from rooms

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    weak wifi speed Expensive breakfast

    Enviorenment, nature, location

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2015

    • Couple

    the non smoking lounge while having some cigars to smoke

    location and calm

There are also 9 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 32

Browse Abbaye Des Vaux De Cernay traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: