Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hostellerie De L'Abbaye 4 stars

Montée de l'Abbaye, 20260 Calvi, France

#9 of 55 hotels in Calvi

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 666 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    7.1
    Location was excellent equidistant between town and beach,...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hôtel and rooms were more of a good 3star quality than 4 star. No pool, no coffee machines in rooms.

    Location was excellent equidistant between town and beach, both within short walking distance. Breakfast room was spacious and outdoor patio was nice area to relax.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    7.1
    Disappointing inside decoration, great location and staff. Don't know where they got their four star
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The inside decoration was very awkward, not in line with the outside architecture of an ancient abbey. Rugs were old, and so were the bathrooms.

    Location was great, very central, very friendly and helpful staff. Good buffet breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    8.3
    Somewhere I would stay again as superb location
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Didn't like the pillows. I think they were foam and seemed rather lumpy.

    Staff were very helpful. Our car had broken down and we had to stay on the island longer than arranged with our holiday accommodation. We had more than the normal luggage but the hotel kindly stored it for us in advance of our stay and whilst travelling to the other side of the island getting our car back.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    10
    This is the place if you are looking for charm, tranquility, and easy access to activities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This hotel exceeded my expectations and I highly recommend.

    The Hostellerie De L'Abbaye is a lovely converted 16th century monastery located a short walk to Calvi's outstanding beaches, the Citadel, the Tramway de la Balagne and to Calvi's excellent restaurants and shops. The hotel offers an excellent breakfast buffet which can be eaten inside in a charming dining room or outside in a wonderful secluded garden and there are excellent boulangeries located nearby if you just want a petit dejeuner. There is a hotel bar that is opened in the afternoon and evening. Our room was clean, quiet and elegant with a king-size bed with excellent pillows and a comfortable mattress. The bathroom was fabulous and the hotel supplied two luxurious bathrobes for use. Our large windows overlooked the garden and it was pleasant to just open them and listen to the wonderful tranquility. The staff are friendly and highly professional -- both check-in and check-out was fast, easy, and without problem There is a private parking facility located directly across the street from the hotel which is safe, secure, and convenient. The hotel is located in a quiet section of Calvi but a block or two away from all the main activity and sights.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    10
    The location is perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect. A special shout out to Anna Maria who went beyond to help us with our itinerary. She is the Best!

    The location is perfect. The property is lovely & the staff is superb.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    8.8
    Historic hotel in the centre of Calvi.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Intermediary Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This isnt criticism of this hotel but Calvi is overpriced in peak season. My bad for choosing the 15th of August i guess!

    Wonderful garden. Breakfast is expensive for what is on offer, but if you make it a long, lazy meal in the garden then it is worth the cost.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    9.2
    Our first room only had a sit-down shower in the bath, but...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I'm not sure that my review would have been as good had we had to stay in our original, much smaller, room. The lights in the corridors are switched on by pressing a button, but these buttons are sometimes hard to find and you have to fumble about a bit at night; I don't understand why they haven't put movement sensors there. Small thing, but the room could really do with some hooks; they provided two robes which is a nice touch but there were no hooks anywhere in the room or bathroom to hang them or anything else.

    Our first room only had a sit-down shower in the bath, but we asked if we could have a room with a proper stand-up shower and we were given an amazing room from our second night onwards (we stayed 5 nights). This room had a small balcony, not big enough to sit on, but you could stand and hang towels out there. It had a double and a single bed, an amazing bathroom with a walk-in shower and ample cupboard and drawer space. There was a small fridge containing various waters, but we took those out and used it for our own stuff and that worked just fine. The air conditioning in the room had three settings and worked well and it was pretty much silent. We didn't try the breakfast as it seemed a bit overpriced when there were so many places to go within walking distance - you can go left up the hill and there's a patisserie/boulangerie which was lovely; or walk down the hill and into town within five minutes and there are any number of places to go. The whole hotel was spotlessly clean and had a charm about it which felt authentic.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    5.4
    lovely hotel, shame about the reception staff (apart from one)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Intermediary Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception staff apart form one person (who was very nice) was rude! Unfriendly and unhelpful. This is the only hotel I have ever stayed in that you couldn't book out until 7.50 because receptionist wasn't in, bearing in mind had to leave hotel at 7.55 to go to Airport. The hotel facilities where non existent and you couldn't walk round without being questioned. They had a bar in the evening however the bar mam had only one interest which was doing as little work in the time he was there and also was very unfriendly! For the cost of this hotel you would expect civility, you won't get it here.

    Rooms excellent, very clean. Wifi good. Hotel well maintained. One receptionist who was extremely helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    7.1
    A pleasant, quiet hotel in a lovely old town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Intermediary Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The hotel was located a little way from old town, ten minutes walk max, but we knew that when we booked so that is not a criticism, tho I would not want to return for that reason. (If I returned to Calvi - and Calvi is certainly worth a return visit - I would choose one of the centrally-located hotels.) We did not take the hotel breakfasts. We thought that 19 Euros was way too expensive - even tho the breakfasts looked lavish. But, who wants a huge breakfast each morning? We noticed that the coffee came from a machine- surely a 19 Euro breakfast deserves coffee properly made and served? We ate petit dejeuner in town for half the price.

    The convenience of off-street parking in a town where parking is at a premium. The lift was fast and reliable, the ambience calm and measured. Interesting old building. There is a very pleasant garden and terrace. The hotel is a step from the old town and thus the "centre of things", which is a "minus" (see below) but this means the extensive beach is only a few minutes in the other direction - a definite "plus" for those (like us) wanting to spend at least some time on the beach.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    7.9
    Lovely but very pricey.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was small.

    We really liked this hotel but it was extortionately expensive. Room rate was expensive and Breakfast was charged at €19 pppn so we ended up in town for a coffee and a croissant. A real shame.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    7.9
    Pleasant Place, Not far from the old town
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Situated next to the main road so plenty of noisy motorbikes disturbing the silence. Breakfast an expensive extra. Calvi a bit of a tourist trap but if you pick your way through it carefully you can find quality.

    Great location, 5 mins walk from the old town and 10 mins to the large supermarket. Also a nice boulangerie 3 mins up the very (steep) hill. Rooms nice and large, if a little dated.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    7.9
    Spacious room, location close to train
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi very poor and often not accessible in the room Hallways not lighted and difficult to find switch in the dark

    Spacious room, location close to train

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2016

    10
    Could not get much better than this. Some of the friendliest staff...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Intermediary Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location; staff; ambiance ; nothing to fault

    This is our second visit and we are never disappointed. Everything you would want in a fine hotel. Staff are fantastic

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    8.8
    Nicely appointed hotel in great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Intermediary Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    Hotel in great location; 5 min walk to beach and centre of old town/Cittadel. Rooms large and clean, well appointed. Staff friendly and helpful; contacted our next night's accomodation for us to arrange collection from car hire depot. Comfortable bed. We chose to have breakfast elsewhere for a walk in the morning.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    8.3
    Very comfortable base to stay near restaurants, citadel and beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's a bit strange that the reception and downstairs has very little appearance of a former monastery. Fireplace in eating area seems fake. Breakfast area lacks atmosphere.

    Lovely from the outside especially at night, comfortable rooms and lovely tiled shower, close to restaurants and easy to have breakfast at a local boulangerie each morning. Lovely tranquil garden area.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2016

    8.8
    Nicely decorated hotel, looks unique inside and outside.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Breakfast is very expensive. Unless you get a room with a balcony there's nowhere to hang beach towels to dry. That's really a problem, since you're most likely going to have wet beach towels each day. Hotel should offer beach towels or some place to hang guests' towels. Elevator is a bit too small, it can barely fit two people with normal sized luggage.

    Nicely decorated hotel, looks unique inside and outside. Very good location, few minutes from the beach and few minutes from the old town and pedestrian area. There's a large SuperU market nearby in case you need any supplies or food. Closed underground garages are great. Large bed is nice. Contrary to the description, wi-fi worked nicely in the room too.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2016

    8.8
    2 night stay in Calvi at the Abbaye
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Intermediary Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Darkness!!! The lights go off and plunge the floors into darkness but they're not on sensors so you have to feel around for the light switches to find your way. Breakfast at 18 euros I think is a bit pricey, even by Corsica's standards, but it was fabulous with lots of choice!

    Great Location! Close to marina, citadel and beach. Beautiful building with gorgeous gardens. Helpful staff with garage parking. Nice, comfortable room.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2016

    9.6
    Beautiful old converted monastery
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shame no pool, but in a town centre location and an old property that's unsurprising.

    Beautiful setting and gorgeous gardens, I was well looked after by the staff and the room was really comfortable. Great stay :)

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    6.7
    Not used to full potential
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Could have used the hotel design much better. Lovely garden - uncomfortable chairs. Bar never open and closed early so the receptionist had to serve us on return from town.

    Location, design. Staff good. Parking very good.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    9.6
    Very nice to relax
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We need sign of Reception. There isn't any indication.

    Nice locatioin to spend relax time

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    7.9
    The décor of the room, the comfy bed & the shower unit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The bar wasn't open every night for a relaxing night cap when we got back!!!

    The décor of the room, the comfy bed & the shower unit.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    7.1
    Location very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom very small- cramped. Shower was awkward. Breakfast expensive. Most of our bookings have breakfast included.

    Location very good

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    7.9
    Cute hotel, walking distance to beach and center of town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Intermediary Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cute hotel, walking distance to beach and center of town. Great amenities.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    7.5
    Fine basic breakfast .
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fine basic breakfast . Friendly staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    10
    very pretty and well maintend old building.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    very pretty and well maintend old building.5 min walking to calvi amazing city

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    9.2
    Very enjoyable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Limited seating in the bar area for larger groups,

    Lovely breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    8.3
    Near a wonderful beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast quality, wasn't good for the money besides the diversity

    The hotel location, a short walking distance from the beach and restaurants

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    5.8
    Unenventtful. Expected more from a place called Abbaye (historic). Its not. More a regular hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fairly basic and a bit dated for the money...

    Good croissants..

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    10
    Calvi - beautiful summer vacation destination
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Comfortable and clean roon, nice decoration, beautiful garden, very good location with easy access to old town, marina and beach, very friendly staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    10
    A dream come true
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved it all

    Everything, such a friendly and welcoming hotel

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    10
    Great staff, beautiful art noveau design, lovely view,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expensive breakfast

    Great staff, beautiful art noveau design, lovely view, fridge.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent rate on the day before Bastille

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    7.9
    Characterful Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    rather pricey breakfast

    Bargain accommodation cost given standard of hotel

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    9.6
    Extraordinary value in Calvi
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very comfortable hotel. Adjacent to the town. Great value for money.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2016

    9.2
    Central location with a great view from the outdoor patio...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Central location with a great view from the outdoor patio and spacious, beautifully decorated rooms.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2016

    9.6
    Beautiful hotel in historical building.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Beautiful hotel in historical building. Charming garden with very old trees.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    9.2
    Would stay there again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent breakfast (not included) Location: Convenient to activity at quay

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    7.1
    very convenient for Calvi
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    unfriendly receptionists

    Dont know why they didn't do dinner ther eating areas were big enough

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    9.2
    style, central, non nonsense, classical and special
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    style, central, non nonsense, classical and special

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    9.6
    Best place to stay in Calvi
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely old world hotel. Friendly staff, nice room, superb breakfast. Very close to both old town and beach. Easy carparking.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    10
    A great hotel in every way possible.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Nothing

    The staff were so helpful and well mannered. Hotel spotlessly clean.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2016

    8.3
    Very convenient car park.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expensive breakfast

    Very convenient car park.Well located.Comfortable room.Courteous staff.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    9.6
    Excellent accommodation, great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Location, quality of accommodation, staff.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2016

    9.2
    Beautiful old building, friendly and helpful staff, nice...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful old building, friendly and helpful staff, nice breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2016

    8.8
    Great location next to the beach and the old citadel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit pricy. No swimming pool.

    Great location next to the beach and the old citadel. Clean and very comfortable rooms.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2016

    7.9
    Really liked it
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A sunbed would have been nice

    Beautiful building, nice garden, very comfortable room, fab shower.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    7.1
    Nice atmosphere, you can have breakfast outside in the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Intermediary Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very small room for this price.

    Nice atmosphere, you can have breakfast outside in the garden. Breakfast is wonderful!

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    10
    I really liked having a patio that opened out with an...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the Hotel could have served proper dinner food like meat and 2 veg.

    I really liked having a patio that opened out with an unobstructed sea view. Also it was not overlooked by another unit.

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2016

    9.0
    Beautiful French hotel in great location to explore the old...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Beautiful French hotel in great location to explore the old centre city, the harbour, the beach and restaurants. The receptionist Anna Marie was very pleasant and helpfu. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2015

    10
    Everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing. This is a truly superb hotel.

    Everything. Beautifully renovated historic building. Friendly staff, convenient off-street parking. Large room, spotlessly clean.

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2015

    9.2
    Within walking distance of the town centre, marina and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Within walking distance of the town centre, marina and beaches, this hotel had everything we were looking for. We had bed linen and towels changed every day - luxury.

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    6.7
    Good location and price with off street parking
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Not a 4 star hotel (maybe that's why the price was low). There appeared to be a bar but noone serving in it (at 6-6.30 in the evening!). Overall the surroundings were superficially luxurious but where were the staff?.Also (and I know this is hypocritical) too many English people - probably taking advantage of the same offer I used. If I wanted to be surrounded by Brits I'd save the airfare and go to Bournemouth!.

    Good location and price with off street parking

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    8.8
    We were delighted by the beauty of the building and garden,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    I suggest turning off the television in the lounge when not being watched by guests, as this creates a dismal effect at odds with the ambience of the hotel.

    We were delighted by the beauty of the building and garden, the hotel's proximity to the town and the beach, and the quietness of the public areas and the other guests!

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2015

    9.2
    Beautiful hotel, originally an old monastery, set in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Only a hand held shower and a deep spa bath. Difficult for older people.

    Beautiful hotel, originally an old monastery, set in gorgeous gardens. Easy to get to. Well appointed rooms.

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    7.5
    Close to the port and restaurants
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    No drawers in the room and only very limited places to store clothes. Breakfast very expensive Only tonic water and mineral water in the "mini bar" Older staff barely spoke and looked grumpy

    Close to the port and restaurants Lovely building Cleanliness and room servicing Free Wifi (downstairs) Young members of staff very friendly and helpful

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    8.3
    Spacious room, comfortable bed, bathrobe and slippers.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No view over the bay or the old town. Otherwise it would be a perfect place to stay to enjoy Calvi which is simply beautiful.

    Spacious room, comfortable bed, bathrobe and slippers. Parking place. Vicinity to the old town.

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    9.6
    Fantastic hotel, really friendly staff, great parking, nice...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nothing really to complain about. No dinner, but you definately don't need it, cause you can have great dinner in the city or at the harbour. Breakfast a bit expansive but dosn't matter cause there a plenty of great spots in the city to have breakfast. The only thing I missed was a shower curtain.

    Fantastic hotel, really friendly staff, great parking, nice room, very clean.

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    10
    We loved everything in this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We loved everything in this hotel. The staff was warm, friendly and charming. The room was welcoming and perfect in details. The location is simply the best.

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2015

    8.3
    Just between city center and beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Could hear the tv of the room next to me. Did not put my towels on the floor on purpose but were replaced any way the next day!

    Just between city center and beach. Clean

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    7.9
    Location is great, 5 min walk from the old town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast is very good but very expensive...

    Location is great, 5 min walk from the old town. Beautiful hotel overall, charming with a lot of character as a former abbey.

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2015

    10
    Lovely hotel, comfortable, very friendly staff, nice garden,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Only slight grumble would be close to busy road, but not really a problem

    Lovely hotel, comfortable, very friendly staff, nice garden, good location close to town and beach. Excellent breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2015

    8.8
    Great location, beautiful terrace for breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The reception employees were not especially helpful and occasionally were quite snobby / borderline rude. (The breakfast staff was helpful and polite.)

    Great location, beautiful terrace for breakfast. Convenient parking, comfortable room. Delicious (although extremely expensive) breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2015

    10
    The staff was very nice and very helpfull.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nothing, only the fact to have live the hotel

    The staff was very nice and very helpfull. They tried the best for us. We were upgraded for the room and had an incredible room with a huge balcony and a sea view.

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2015

    10
    The staff is really helpful and nice!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing really. Could use a pool, maybe.

    The staff is really helpful and nice! The breakfast in the garden a real treat! the rooms are small but charming! The bathroom was great! Walking distance from the marina and the citadel.

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    10
    Great located hotel with nice atmosphere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    -

    Great located hotel with nice atmosphere. Hotel have own parking place with remote and this is important, bc near is not free parking options and evening is anyway hard to find parking place. Breakfast in garden and breakfast assortmend very enajoyable. Staff appropriate for four star hotel and permanently friendly and attentive.

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2015

    9.6
    I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this beautiful hotel,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not applicable, everything was superb.

    I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this beautiful hotel, the location is fantastic & it had a lovely ambience. I will be returning as I absolutely loved it.

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    9.6
    Free car parking, 5 mins walk to town or beach, friendly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Free car parking, 5 mins walk to town or beach, friendly staff,lovely rooms. Not much of a view but the garden is nice to sit in, in the evening. Plenty of restaurants near by. Interior of hotel is very nice and the outside has character.

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    9.2
    Excellent location, quiet but 5 min walk to beach or town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Thought breakfast option was expensive at 18euro so opted for walk into town

    Excellent location, quiet but 5 min walk to beach or town. Friendly staff, we had a great room in the roof with terrace overlooking the harbour. Although room was fairly small it was perfect for us & the view was superb.

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2015

    9.0
    - Although we didn't stay for breakfast, we had a coffee...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    - Although we didn't stay for breakfast, we had a coffee that the staff very kindly invited us to whilst waiting for our taxi. My only comment would be to improve the quality of the coffee, it would make such a difference for breakfast and the location is soo nice to enjoy it!!! Have no comments regarding the breakfast as we didn't have time to have any.

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2015

    8.3
    Beautiful, historical hotel with nice gardens and beautiful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The breakfast was very expensive, so we opted to walk to a nearby "bar" for coffee, orange juice and pastries.

    Beautiful, historical hotel with nice gardens and beautiful lobby spaces. Great location - could walk to see important sights. No water view, but very enjoyable nonetheless.

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2015

    9.2
    Unique style, exceptionally comfortable, friendly and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast is expensive and unnecessarily lavish, a vast array of pastries as well as the more usual continental breakfast items. Nowhere to hang wet beachwear and beach towels.

    Unique style, exceptionally comfortable, friendly and helpful staff. Great location.

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2015

    8.8
    The hotel isperfectly placed for beach, town, and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    About the hotel? That there are no tea making facilities in the room and we had to ask for a hotel. About the resort - nothing to dislike. It's got everything you need for a lovely holiday.

    The hotel isperfectly placed for beach, town, and restaurants, all of which are just a few minutes walk away. It's an historic old building and the rooms have been splendidly adapted to a good standard of comfort and even luxury. Breakfasts are excellent, the view good and the ambience calm and pleasant.

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2015

    9.6
    We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this hotel, couldn't...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this hotel, couldn't find fault with anything (breakfast buffet a little bit expensive but on the two occasions we stayed for breakfast the choice of food was excellent). Bedroom good size. Extra large bed, clean bed linen and towels daily. Staff very helpful. Good location for harbour, town and beach. Well worth staying here. Would definitely return.

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2015

    10
    Old world charm manor house appearance decorated to a high...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Sponge filled pillows let the sleeping experience down. Rear bedrooms don't have a balcony so no view. Room best for just sleeping rather than relaxing in. Bar closed at 22:00 so if you returned from eating in town and fancied a nightcap or coffee neither were available.

    Old world charm manor house appearance decorated to a high standard with free off-street parking opposite. Located an easy walking distance to town center and station. Extensive chose of breakfast. Helpful and attentive staff.

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2015

    9.2
    Nice atmosphere, cosy, great location and excellent parking...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Only a bath, no shower. Which is normally fine with us, but here there was not even a hook to to hold the showerhead. A small detail though.

    Nice atmosphere, cosy, great location and excellent parking facility.

There are also 25 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hostellerie De L'Abbaye traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: