Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of La Mère Hamard 3 stars

2 Rue Du Petit Bercy, 37360 Semblançay, France

#2 of 2 hotels in Semblançay

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 162 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    breakfast over priced, expected something better after first class evening meal.

    large room in nearby house with good facilities, restaurant superb, very helpful staff on arrival.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our bedroom was a little tired and old fashioned. A staged upgrade is underway, but our floor had not yet been reached.

    Superb gourmet restaurant. Attractive traditional property in village setting near Tours. Family owned with personal style.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately, the Booking.com web site inferred that the restaurant would be closed on the evening that we had booked to stay, which very nearly caused us to cancel our booking. When we arrived, however, it became clear that it would not be closed to guests who were staying.

    This was an excellent place to stay - a very pleasant and well equipped room, a charming dining room providing a most excellent dinner and Madame and her staff were delightful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy location on crossroads. Travellers also need to be aware that the restruarant is a proper gourmet experience. We were at the end of a 2500 motorbike trip and were tired and a bit unkempt. I was made to feel a bit uncomfortable in that environment especially when the proprietor loudly explained the all french menu to us as if we were 5 years old. Food was amazing tho!

    Beautiful house in a lovely village. Not too bad in terms of motorway access

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A little noisy due to having windows open (it was very hot) and cars stopping in road for traffic calming and a small motorbike racing up and down the road, but we live with zero noise so are intolerant. Breakfast extra cost but there was a lot so felt it was value for money. Ask for ground floor rooms if poor mobility, no lifts to rooms, and stairs quite steep; breakfast on first floor and we feared a limited mobility guest was going to expire from exertion of climbing stairs to breakfast room on first floor.

    Rural small town hotel with restaurant. Private parking; room comfortable; good facilities (water, hot drinks, hairdryer, toiletries provided); restaurant opposite building with bedrooms; drinks in private garden with excellent homemade "nibbles". Sat outside on terrace for meal - very good food. Restaurant busy so may be wise to pre-book in busy times.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Minor thing but could have done with enough coffee and milk in the room to have a couple of cups each.

    Very comfortable room, excellent dinner and breakfast and helpful, friendly staff. This was our second stay and I'm sure we'll be back.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    being charged 5 euro's for a small bottle of coca cola each at our table. That is the equivalent of just under FIVE pounds. That is just unacceptable and left a bad feeling. Being vegetarians [ we notified the hotel at booking] our food was just ok. and not fantastic as it had been on our previous visit under the old owners. Breakfast we where unable to have as the breakfast service did not start until 07.30 am and we had to leave by 07.45 am so unable to partake in breakfast. Not the owners fault but we [ if it was mentioned on your website] did not see this fact prior to booking as it was inconvenient to not be able to have breakfast before a long journey. But we where not charged the 14 euros each for breakfast. The overnight stay including a meal for 2 NO alcohol [as we do not drink] was a little under 250 euro's for 1 night. I consider that to be very expensive. And would not pay this amount for a stay of more than 1 night. On reflection we did not consider our stay to be good value but DO understand that fine dining is expensive, but it is not for us. I note that this establishment has changed hands. We stayed 5 years ago and it was truly fabulous. This time it was not as expected and no where near as good but a lot more expensive. We will choose somewhere else next time. Just not for us at these prices and after expecting the same experience as our previous visit we where left a bit disappointed. I would consider that many many people staying would consider this place be fantastic for the food, just didn't do it for us.

    Super sized Bath. Large room. Comfy Bed. Fine Dining, but a little bit over the top for our tastes. But a highly recommended Restaurant which has high accolades and the food was complicated, being vegetarians just didn't do it for us though.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Food was excellent. Staff were very obliging when we had a problem with the plumbing in our original room. We were immediately moved to another room.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Absolutely nothing to dislike - apart from not staying longer (and the impact on my waistline)

    A great location for an overnight break on the way from the UK to Toulouse - my only regret is that we didn't stay longer. The hotel was easy to find, with a secure car park. We were given a very friendly welcome, and our room was large and very comfortable. The highlight of our stay was the evening meal, which was truly memorable, and would certainly match any I've eaten in Michelin-starred "restaurants with rooms" in the UK. Our hostess was also outstanding - treating each of her guests as family friends, while making sure that everything ran smoothly in the hotel and dining room.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bedroom doors are spring loaded!

    Easy to find and convenient parking. Breakfast was excellent. Enjoyed the degree of privacy that came from accommodation being separate from restaurant

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were trying not to spend too much money during the journey so opted against breakfast in the hotel at 14 euros per person - Instead opting for a croissant and piece of fruit from the local shop. At about 10am I was summoned to reception under the pretence of needing to move my car, only to be told off by the (previously friendly) member of staff. Apparently 'this isn't camping' and if the hotel's breakfast is too expensive we should go and eat in a cafe. Eating in hotel rooms, we were informed, is banned in all of France, and means extra cleaning is required. At check out the mood was distinctly frosty. It was a really disappointing end to what had been a nice stay up to that point, we had planned to stop there again on the return journey but will go elsewhere.

    This is a nice hotel right in the middle of a quiet, picturesque village. We booked for a one night stop over to break up the drive to a villa further south. We arrived quite late (about 9pm) after an 11 hour drive and the lady on reception was friendly and helpful. Our room was large and clean, with good aircon and a lovely view of the village.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing--liked everything about it.

    Lovely room with air/con. Delightful dining in pretty courtyard and an excellent dinner.Charming welcoming staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    I disliked nothing.

    Large and comfortable room. Bathroom with separate and excellent shower. Private car park with direct access to superior rooms, which are well worth the extra cost. Delightful proprietress. The food is wonderful - we had a little stew of lobster, scallops and langoustines, which was quite inspired! A comfortable day's drive from Coquelles. What more could you want?

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The quality of the food while good was not up to the quality and range of choice provided by the previous owners. We had previously stayed here on four other holidays.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Disappointing evening meal. La Mere Hamard may have won awards for their dinners but ours was poor. In view of reviews we had pre-booked our evening a meal expecting fine dining in suitable surroundings with the atmosphere of a busy restaurant attended by locals. In the event we were presented with a menu with very little choice. My wife is allergic to crustaceans which we had explained and spelt out in advance of our visit but nonetheless such were included on the menu reducing our choice even further. We repeated that my wife was allergic to crustaceans on ordering our meal only to be served a taster of lobster bisque which obviously had to be returned. The main course of a few slices of duck with apricot sauce was exceptionally poor. We have travelled extensively throughout France over the years and on this occasion we spent 3 weeks in S.W. France having duck as our main course on a number of occasions. None of our meals of duck during our latest or earlier trips were as poor as that we experienced at La Mere Hamard and it is a shame that the proprietor dismissed our concern when approached at the time. The dessert served subsequently did not fair any better; the cheese platter consisted of minuscule portions of cheese and my wife's sweet looked like a version of Eaton Mess which was not supposed to be the case. Added to the meal "disaster" we had not option but to eat outside in a courtyard although we had expected to eat in the restaurant and mentioned this to the proprietor before being seated. All in all the evening was not a good experience and such a shame when we consider the excellent breakfast and good accommodation. Even though we repeated our issues on leaving there was no apology or inkling of concern.

    Good secure parking, clean and spacious bedroom/bathroom, tea making facility (not readily available in France), excellent breakfast and free wifi.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A very friendly, peaceful and charming hotel with a lovely outdoor courtyard for al fresco dining. Good quality food and wine at reasonable prices. Will stay again.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Web site suggested a garden, what little outside space there was could not be used as they had not cut the grass. It was not clear that most of the rooms were in a separate building

    Food was excellent, room large and very comfortable

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2016

    • Couple
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fantastic evening meal, we booked Half Board and just loved it. Room was huge, lovely big comfortable bed, wifi works without having to login. Great stopping off place as not far off the motorway and of course good for Tours.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    A beautiful traditional French hotel, if you want the old style French hospitality this is the place. The room was delightful and so French, comfortable, spacious and well appointed. The food in the restaurant is to die for, if it isn't Michelin starred it should be.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit of a bind having to cross from the house with bedrooms to the dinning room and reception and we thought the breakfast was expensive for very standard fare.

    A charming hotel with very friendly staff and comfortable room. The evening of our stay was very warm so dinner was taken in the garden which was delightful. The food was superb.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Excellent dinner in the hotel restaurant. The staff were attentive and the room was very comfortable. Well worth the detour from the motorway!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The village has few points of interest so we wouldn't necessarily stay for any period.

    The location for a stopover was fine and the food was excellent.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing I didn't like.

    A really beautiful place outside Tours with very welcoming and helpful staff. Nothing was too much trouble. I highly recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not all rooms have air conditioning.

    Comfortable room, large bathtub, friendly staff, excellent cusine, off road parking. Location next to church with tall steeple which is floodlit at night, a good landmark.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed seemed old and hard We did HB -the food was only so-so , breakfast was not very good value

    The location is very handy for Tours Private parking Quiet location Nice bathroom

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bell ringing Sat am at 8.00.Tat market began at 6.00!

    Great centre for visiting towns and chateaux of the Loire. Sensational food. Fun tat market on Sunday morning...apparently only once per year.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing, have stayed the night on five seperate occasions.

    Nice large room, well furnished,. bathroom with bath. Excellent dinner cusine, friendly staff, also safe off street parking.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice atmosheric French hotel. Good size rooms with up to date bathroom. Private parking in the courtyard. Excelent restaurant with tasty and well priced menu de Marche

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The decoration in the common areas (eg staircase) could be better. The paint has been knocked off in many places and looks very shabby. The rooms as well are beginning to show their age. Our bedcover was frayed at the edges and just looked a bit tired.

    The dinner menu and wine list were first class, unbelievably good and imaginative for such a tiny village and remote location. It would help if sample menus could be put on the website as we took it on trust, and I am glad we did. The staff were absolutely brilliant - without exception. The maitre d' at dinner was helpful, funny and extremely professional.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's a little expensive given the facilities. And being in a small village - food options are limited.

    Good shower and generally a nice establishment.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Waiting for staff to appear at reception. Pretentious food, they may have a Michelin star, but our experience was of a battle of flavours going on during every course. Being told to go and sit in the garden for our aperitif as we were two minutes early! Returning to reception after fifteen minutes when nothing had arrived. Customer service in reception was terrible apart from the first lady we encountered. The lack of atmosphere and a cohesive style in the hotel. The sofa was in an alcove and the tv was not visible from this location!!!!

    The room was clean, the bed was comfortable and the bathroom was very good with a nice corner bath and large shower. Restaurant staff were attentive and tried hard.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room on third storey, it was a long climb via narrow stairs carrying a case.

    Nice room ( no 8 ) with cosy bed and good en suite,centre village location with good country walks. Good off street parking.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedroom could benefit from redecoration, together with air conditioning.

    Very pleasant courtyard for dining and a very good evening meal. Helpful and pleasant staff.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It would have been good if the dinner menu was in English. We ended up eating at a restaurant in the town which was good and probably better value.

    We were upgraded to a large sumptuous room in a separate building. Very quiet and comfortable. The breakfast was adequate. I was pleased with the fresh fruit and yoghurt and the cheese was yummy.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A very pleasant stay. The food was excellent & the staff most helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast too expensive

    The food was gourmet standard

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    La Mere Hamard has an excellent restaurant. Recommended.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent restaurant

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tea making facilities in the room.

    Comfortable overnight stay with pleasant quiet room & excellent restaurant & breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    NothingT

    Meal and accommodation left nothing to be desired

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    what a find afab place and a fab meal well worth our stay

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely authentic place!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no complaints.

    hospitality especially consideratino given our 3 year old grandson

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much at all

    Superb dinner and very comfortable room

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    its just fantastic food accommodation the works the best

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There were a lot of stairs to our bedroom. Furniture in our room was rather old and tired.

    Excellent food. Staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    New owners have redecorated since our last visit & looks more fresh,light and modern.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room could have been bigger

    The food was excellent

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No where much to sit outside.

    Excellent dinner and good breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing!

    Very friendly, fabulous restaurant, great place for a stopover.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restaurant is excellent and well worth the trip.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It was cold in the chambers, heating was not on or insufficient

    The staff and the foot

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent room, dinner and breakfast plus lovely staff to make us feel at ease.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Delicious dinner in hotel restaurant. Friendly proprietor and staff

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    An excellent restaurant with a lovely outside terrace. Would definitely recommend eating there. The house cocktail was amazing!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We got an upgrade to a room with air-con. Fantastic! Staff as lovely as always, this is our return visit and we'll be going again.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very comfortable room with air conditioning. Delicious dinner and a warm welcome throughout

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Standard of bedrooms ; lack of professionalism & experience of the staff

    Location outdoors for dinner

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room could be modernized a bit.

    Restaurant was superb. Staff were lovely.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kitchen utensils/cups not clean

    Very comfortable beds

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I thought the room and breakfast was a little disapointing. But I would certainly stay there again.

    the food, wine & service in the restaurant was excellent

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    • Couple

    Like the old style Logis, at last, wonderful people, excellent French cuisine and they take well behaved dogs. Very Clean and off road parking. Perfect.

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel is in a different (not photographed) building across the road. It's an old French house with very steep winding stairs and no lift. No niceties, but not horrible. It's been renovated. The room was actually very nice & comfortable and very cleanI don't know how it's a hotel without a lift?! The restaurant is four stars, the room is three stars but the hotel building is one star. Very unusual circumstances.

    The restaurant building (what you see in all the photos) was very pretty and the restaurant was great. Good quality tasty food. Probably the best beef I've ever tasted!! And the scrambled eggs at breakfast were truly amazing. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Location is perfect. Also the bedroom was extremely comfortable. Three recommendations: beef, scrambled eggs and comfy bed! Secure parking. Bit pricey but I'd stay again.

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    No bad experience as such but it would be nice to be able to make a cup of early morning tea in the room before getting up...

    Lovely dinner in the outside courtyard dining space! - probably one of the last days this summer

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room was tidy, but it was a bit rustic for us, also expensive compared to some other hotels we have stayed at in the area.

    Great food if expensive, the only place to eat in the village. very pet friendly, dog allowed in room and restaurant. Staff all spoke good English and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    A comfortable hotel in a convenient location for those wanting a stopover in France. An excellent restaurant with a good wine list (but no bar for a refreshing drink before dinner). Comfortable rooms and friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    it was just fabulous and the staff/owners couldn't have been more accommodating. We arrived late and they kept the kitchen open ( 10pm ) for us. Will definitely be back.

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Myself and 3 other friends stayed in the hotel for 1 night while en route from Cherbourg to Italy. We were in three cars and towing 3 boats to a sailing regatta. We were running a little late for check in and rung ahead to let the staff know. When we pulled into the town the chef was standing in the middle of the road to direct us to parking and had a table ready in the beautiful garden to order a magnificent meal...staff were wonderful, rooms comfortable a really great experience.

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Booking.com did not make it clear how long we can provisionally book this place. Not even 24hrs later could we cancel the booking without paying the full fee of the 2 nights.

    The restaurant

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing, shame it is understandably shut Sundays & Mondays at this time of year (Easter) so we couldn't book for our next trip, but we will definitely use again later in the year.

    Delightful staff, dog very welcome, easy access to A28, A10 and Tours but in a peaceful village, and saving the best till last- a fabulous meal.

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Unbelievably slow service on the busy Saturday night we were there... Ruined the rhythm of the meal.

    First class cooking

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Being picky! The car park could have been even more secure at night

    Everything

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Friendly staff and excellent restaurant We enjoyed the special New Year's dinner.

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    would like tea/coffee making facilities in the room

    large room, dogs welcome, and fantastic meal

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Friendly, family run, vey popular with excellent food. Been before as with many other guests.

There are also 23 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: