Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hostellerie Du Chateau 3 stars

2 Rue Du Maréchal De Lattre De Tassigny, 41150 Chaumont-sur-Loire, France

#2 of 2 hotels in Chaumont-sur-Loire

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 171 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 25

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The dinner could have been more interesting as Michelin apparently had been there, not expensive though.

    Loire walkway just 2 minutes from hotel. Hotel nice and cosy, lovely setting.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Well positioned for the Chateau. Everybody was welcoming and efficient. The room was immaculate and although busy, the service and food in the restaurant was excellent. We will be back.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Traffic lights switching on and off throughout small hours and light flashes entering room with curtains open !

    Location. Excellent breakfast and comfortable room.tr

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Car park "away" from hotel. Bedroom Smell from restaurant extractor, pool closed (end of season tho). Restaurant food pricey, looked good but tasted less so- sorry.

    The staff were lovely

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Absolutely nothing to dislike.

    The hotel owners were incredibly helpful in contacting and arranging compensation from a local resident who's vehicle was in collision with my parked car (and who had very kindly left a note with contact details) The restaurant food and service was first class. Excellent attractions including visits to the nearby chateaux garden festival and river boat trips on the Loire to view it's wildlife

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Well, we didn't like that our booking was not acknowledged by "Madame" who appeared to have no English and shrugged her shoulders when we mentioned Booking.com thankfully the lovely Natalie intervened speaking very good English by this time I had looked over the desk and saw my name, what more can one say about such poor reception. Unfortunately the man running the restaurant also appeared to be lacking in English when it suited him. We relied heavily on the smiling Natalie.

    Yes the crossints were actually the only food that was nice.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was extremely close to the entrance to the Chateau. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The dining was good value for money and the staff in the restaurant (especially the lovely older woman) were very nice. The rooms were clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some traffic noise in the morning but not too bad for summertime.

    Lovely room with balcony overlooking the Chateau Chaumont entrance. Nice front terrace and beautiful swimming pool in rear garden.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On very hot days the rooms on the upper floor are hot for sleeping. You can't open the window because of the road noise and the flicker of the red and green traffic lights that comes in. But I would still recommend this hotel. Just ask for a room on the river side!

    The location and the pool. It's an excellent place to stay for the garden festival. And so good to have a swim in the pool after a hot day.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is a large restaurant but we would have appreciated a comfortable bar when we arrived.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely lovely place to stay. Very friendly and helpful staff. An excellent restaurant for dinner and a very good breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking to for from hotel , (for bags) but very safe

    ALL !

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good food with good choice for breakfast. Nice view. Close to chateau. Friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It was rainy, but that they couldn't help ;-)

    Beautiful building, excellent staff, superb restaurant, very good breakfast: it was a pleasure to be there!

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hotel menu didn`t seem to change during a 3 night stay so ate out after first night.

    Comfortable hotel in a typical French village on bank of Loire. Staff were very helpful and spoke excellent English. Secure off road parking in an area approx. 50 yds away. Some nice restaurants in the village. Good out of town spot to base a Loire tour. Chateau entrance is just over the road.

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    a member of staff who took away an uneaten croissant while we were still at the breakfast table. rather petty we thought - and we'd paid for it!!

    crisp white linen - bed and bathroom spacious room exceptionally friendly breakfast waitress - served endless coffee personally! helpful reception staff several menus offering wide range of foods

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Owners appeared a bit jaded, they've probably been here for years.

    The outdoor pool was lovely and I had it all to myself. Enjoyed drinks on the terrace in the evening. Lovely village on the banks of the Loire.

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    breakfast was a little expensive for a continental, but excellent quality. Other than that I can find no fault with our entire stay.

    excellent reception, great location and helpful staff, English and French spoken. Discount tickets for Chateau are available at the desk. Entrance to chateau is across the street. Very quiet location clean rooms.

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    VERY HELPFUL STAFF IN A COMFORTABLE HOTEL WITH GOOD RESTAURANT

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    no wi fi in bedrooms

    hotel situation, friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    across the road from chateau good restaurant attentive staff

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We liked everything.

    Excellent location to visit Loire Valley,good restaurant, free parking, free and efficient wi-fi, kind and friendly owners.

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room typically french-fairly small and on a main road.

    Very good food and service. Opposite the French garden festival good parking lovely views.

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No bad experience

    Location

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Proximity to busy road

    General ambience good, staff efficient and friendly. Secure parking.

There are also 5 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 25

Guests also reviewed these properties: