Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Château des Monthairons & Spa 4 stars

26 Route Verdun, 55320 Les Monthairons, France

#1 of 1 hotels in Les Monthairons

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 248 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    10
    I love this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I love this hotel. I have Two homes, one in Germany and one in france. I always stay here because it is between the two. I always look forward to this stop. Excellent value, VERY couteaous staff. Lovely location. Excellent food. Just 15 minutes off autoroute from Verdun. Worth the detour!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    9.6
    Most enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Showers are usually in the bath which can be a little annoying if you only want a shower. Beds are quite firm.

    This is a fabulous hotel which we have stayed at several times. Beautiful landscape onto a river. Very comfortable, fantastic food (not cheap) and most relaxing. We use it when we are travelling across France to Germany - an excellent stop over.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    10
    This hotel chateau is a real treat with opulent decor and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel chateau is a real treat with opulent decor and large comfy rooms and amazing food and wine. The staff are friendly and helpful. The grounds are also amazing and nice for a relaxing walk before dinner.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    9.2
    The time we spent at this establishment was beyond our expectations on all levels.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    More English speaking channels on the cable. A closed shower.

    The staff was professional, courteous and helpful. They went over and above to assist us in every detail. The food in the restaurant was superlative and the service was impeccable. There were many extra touches that made our stay special!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    9.2
    Very picturesque and comfortable lodging 20 minutes south of Verdun
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The dinner was first class (and priced correspondingly), however the selection was not necessarily appropriate for children.

    The rooms were elegant, the chateau was amazing, and the food was very upscale. The hostesses were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    10
    Very good and long lasting staff who are really treating...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good and long lasting staff who are really treating guest as family. The place is unique and a best for value in this area. Restaurant and menus are top notch.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    10
    Perfect setting to a wonderful nights sleep after an unbelievable supper!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We have a great duplex room that suits our needs with a dog. Everyone is very helpful. The grounds are perfect for walking and the food is unbelievable!!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    9.6
    breakfast was just okay - everything else excellent - rooms...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    breakfast was just okay - everything else excellent - rooms nice and comfortable great bath products and bottled water provided. Very attentive staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    8.8
    Well run hotel in a stunning location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room had a bath and a hand shower but I would have preferred a proper shower facility. Tea and coffee making kit in the room would have been welcome. I thought the menus on the expensive side but then that could have been the exchange rate.

    The building is magnificent. Dinner was excellent, however it felt like a 'gourmet' menu which was more than I really wanted. Breakfast was very good. The room was very comfortable and the bathroom a good size. The grounds of the hotel were extensive and well cared for. The staff were very friendly and helpful. All in all a very pleasurable stay

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    10
    It was totally lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    handheld shower - would have preferred it to be above my head not at my knees

    Beautiful, restful grounds; lovely interior; wonderful food and a very welcoming, friendly staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    8.8
    Glorious, food a treat, gardens glorious - perfect for strolling after a long drive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No proper shower.

    Gourmet food. Comfortable room. Tricky to keep room at comfortable temperature when it's hot outside. You can't open windows because of mozzies, but all manageable by turning off lights, then opening windows. Absolutely love staying here.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    10
    Beauty at its best
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was no less expensive options food wise, but it was very delicious.

    It is located just a little ways outside of Verdun France which is the reason for our visit. We were so surprised at the beauty of the estate and how it has kept its originality and has been updated to modernize the estate for comfort. We enjoyed the quality of service from the staff, it was like being personally taken care of by them. The dinner menu is four course and fancy. We are looking forward to returning.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    9.6
    Wonderful property in delightful grounds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No shower curtain in the bathroom.

    Wonderful property in delightful grounds. The evening meal was memorably excellent. Very high standard of service.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    8.8
    The chateau is picture perfect and sits in beautiful grounds...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we had in the eaves was very warm.

    The chateau is picture perfect and sits in beautiful grounds on a river which were lovely to stroll in before and after dinner. The food was particularly enjoyable.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    10
    Great start to explore history of the region of the Meuse.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    All good

    The Chateau property was placed closer to the city of Troyon, where French soldiers gave their lives to protect French culture. The battlefields of the American 101st spread across the south from here to Vieville where German forces held prominent ground positions in WWI.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    9.6
    Excellent accommodation and grounds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We have no complaints at all about the accommodations. However, while our dinner at the property was very good, we were startled when our server brought the third of three wines that accompanied dinner and simply poured the wine into our glasses from the previous wine, even though one of the glasses was still half full. Both wines were pinot noirs, so perhaps the server thought that adding one pinot noir to another, different pinot noir was OK. It isn't. But to be fair, there was a very large group of some kind there for a dinner that night, and the server may have been overtaxed.

    This is an elegant and well-maintained property with friendly employees and beautiful grounds. Well-located for area sightseeing if you have a car. There is an elevator - nice if you have heavy luggage. Reasonably priced for the exceptional quality. Breakfast is good, although not included in the room price.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    9.6
    Beautiful old world charm
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. It's a great place. The Chateau is beautiful

    Food was so interesting. The chef is very inventive and the choices were great. Locally produced sparkling wine was delicious

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2016

    10
    MY SECRET TREAT
    • With a pet
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The food was amazing...should have a couple of Michelin stars at least. For a hotel guests it would be good to have a °simple° option at a °house guest° price to encourage guests to eat in.

    I cannot praise this hotel highly enough. I was on my own, just with my small dog. The hotel was not very busy but I was treated like an honoured guest...nothing was too much effort.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2016

    10
    Would highly recommend for a historic/romantic getaway.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was perfect for what we were looking for!

    Excellent wine and 3 course gourmet dinner was with impeccable service was a great value! A wonderful history lesson of the property was included.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    8.3
    Overnight stop
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decoration of rooms very formal and slightly tired. Instructions to find the place not very good as junction 31 is closed!

    Dinner was unusual but excellent with a variety of flavours. Really good. Would loved to have another night to see more of this very beautiful area. Would recommend restaurant.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    9.2
    WWI and a lovely Chateau
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Better lighting in rooms.

    Excellent gourmet dining and breakfast. Grounds were lovely to walk. Very helpful and friendly staff. We used the Chateau as our base for visiting WWI sites.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    7.5
    Looks like a fairy tale castle, just beautiful from outside.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is an old building but needs a bit of modern care. No air conditioning and sadly we were there on a rare night when it was needed. Floor is creaky and noisy. Wifi very slow and spotty.

    Looks like a fairy tale castle, just beautiful from outside. The shower was great!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2016

    6.7
    Lovely building great setting but why not serve breakfast outdoors
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    see left; vastly overpriced dinner

    Good breakfast but dinner hopelessly over-priced and poor set of choices; it was the menu with nothing but cod as a main meal; NOT acceptable at the price of 49euros

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2016

    7.1
    Nice place, lost in the middle of nowhere...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff should be more available for their guests. Recommendations for the wine was leading immediately to the most expensive one, with no match with the actual meal...

    Very nice place, with a kind of one step in the past...

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2016

    9.6
    Second time at this stunning chateau.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A bit pricey but "more" than worth it.

    It's like staying in your own private chateau. Staff is very welcoming, helpful & attentive. Rooms are large compared to typical European hotels, beautifully decorated & very comfortable. Very pet friendly. Gourmet menu with local produce. Excellent location: 7 miles to Verdun battle sights. Peaceful & quiet country setting. Lots of room for kids & pets to run. Great for romantic getaway, family holiday or just an evening dinner.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    10
    An unforgettable 2 days in beautiful Lorraine
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. It's perfect!

    The Chateau is located in beautiful French Lorraine, and the Meuse flows along its border. The location is nothing less than spectacular. The chateau has a 4 star restaurant, and the food matches the stars. The staff are gracious and attentive. I booked the Chateau because it is near the Verdun battleground from WWI, which my husband and I were visiting. The Chateau served as a hospital during that war.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    4.6
    Would not stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The dinner was very disappointing. The choice was poor. The price was far too high. The same can be said of the breakfast which did not have cornflakes!

    The price of the room was very fair.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    9.2
    A gem of a find.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning.

    Fabulous property. Wonderful setting. Great evening meal.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    9.2
    Worth visiting
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wonderful chateau with beautiful grounds. Dinner was fantastic, visited many times.before and will again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    7.9
    Magnificent
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No Dressing table with Mirror, No Stand up shower

    Beautiful building and surroundings

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    10
    hospitality, service, meal
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    hospitality, service, meal

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    10
    Very good restaurant . Hospitality is wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service and hospitality

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    9.6
    Wonderful hospitality from owners -especially when our...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful hospitality from owners -especially when our children were being difficult!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    10
    very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    everything

    everything

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    10
    Perfect stopover in an idyllic setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Excellent food

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    10
    Highly recommend this beautiful hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Amazing place and hosts!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    9.6
    A Lovely Experience
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No shower curtains, a minor issue. Bad wifi.

    Elegant. The history, the gardens.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    9.2
    Beautiful location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was very attentive

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    9.6
    Lovely break in Verdun
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    no air con in the room

    There was a make up mirror in the bathroom

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    9.6
    The place to relax in a beautifull environment and an excellent kitchen with a very friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very friendly staff, beautifull castle and an excellent kitchen!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    10
    The dinner at the restaurant was simply amazing and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The dinner at the restaurant was simply amazing and sophisticated, available gluten free alternatives to all dishes

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    9.2
    Great staff, gourmet food great building
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would have preferred a good shower

    Excellent restaurant, good breakfast Big bathroom

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    7.9
    Beautiful property.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning

    Beautiful property. Excellent restaurant.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    2.9
    19th century copy of a 16th century chateaux. Furniture bought in a jumble sale. No internet!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    everything else! The internet was a disgrace.....not working!!

    the river

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    8.3
    Chateau near Verdun
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extraordinary property (it's a chateau!). Dinners and wine pairings exquisite

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    9.2
    Beautiful place
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful place

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    10
    Great garden, great room and very friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great garden, great room and very friendly staff

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2017

    7.5
    Nice hotel for a stop-over
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms / bathrooms need renovation. No shower, just a deep bathtub.

    Friendly personell, clean room, nice castle.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    9.6
    Perfect weekend stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Quiet beautiful landscape Professional staff, a very good restaurant, clean room and environment

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    9.2
    Wonderful stay in a beautiful setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Would have liked shower facilities.

    Charming Chateau. Fine dining.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    8.3
    The cheese selection was the best I have ever been offered.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The cheese selection was the best I have ever been offered. Amazing!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    7.9
    Great, affordable and beautiful
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed here for one night, Great location, would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    10
    An excellent hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    This is an excellent hotel which cares about its customers. The food is superb.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2016

    10
    Beautiful chateau in a park-like setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Spacious bathroom with a desirable stall shower which unfortunately was tiny. For such a lovely accommodation, the towels could have been thicker and a bit larger. These are nits, we loved this place and regret we did not spend 2-3 nights.

    Beautiful chateau in a park-like setting. Extra ordinary staff who "bent over backwards" to accommodate us. Lovely restaurant on-site with excellent service and choices. Giant room with pastoral views. Close to the battle fields of Verdun and easy access to major highways.

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2016

    8.3
    The staff were very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room was very small with sloping ceiling. Access was difficult up very steep stairs, although the staff did offer help with our cases.

    The staff were very helpful. The chateau grounds are beautiful.

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2016

    6.7
    hotel setting, dinner
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    budget room offered was dirty,blood on the duvet, had no windows to see out of and was worse than a budget chain hotel room. room 27 after having paid twice the price of the original booking 187.50 euros (we were given a discount from 250 euros...) versus 99.0 euros the only things that were different was the room size and the view. room 24 ridiculous. don't book the base price, its rubbish and overpriced. the upgrades are good, but very expensive, considering this does not include breakfast, tax, and there is no tea/coffee in room facilities food is exquisite

    hotel setting, dinner

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2016

    7.9
    Delicious food and good homemade jam for breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bedroom very warm but en suite toilet very cold!

    Delicious food and good homemade jam for breakfast! Comfortable bed; in an idyllic and peaceful setting. Huge bath. Great photographic history of the property during both World Wars.

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2016

    9.2
    Fabulous dinner and breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Fabulous dinner and breakfast. Save room for the cheese cart, it is magnificent. The building was used as a hospital during the war and they have some wonderful photos! Wonderful atmosphere, but don't go here if you want a cookie cutter, all the rooms the same experience!

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2016

    9.6
    We loved everything about this chateau.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    You must have a car to reach this fantastic spot as it is off the beaten path which is a plus.

    We loved everything about this chateau. The staff were wonderful, the chateau stunning & the chef/restaurant outstanding. We highly recommend this beautiful hotel. It is a must see. Five minutes drive from the Verdun battlefields. Love the agricultural surroundings which provided most of our dinner/breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2015

    9.2
    We chose this hotel because of the history and location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Meals are expensive here, especially for a family. Food was excellent but it cut into our budget to have breakfast at $17/person.

    We chose this hotel because of the history and location. Loved it for the comfort and modern bathrooms, and amazing food!

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2015

    9.2
    One of the most amazing hotels we have stayed in.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Dinner menu was limited to traditional French cooking which was not appealing to our entire party. Prices were high for all meals. No shower, just a tub but that was fine.

    One of the most amazing hotels we have stayed in. A true French country chateau. We had a 2nd floor room with the peaked ceiling which was really neat. Beautiful grounds and building.

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2015

    7.5
    Staff are pleasant but very formal.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    restaurant is good but can become very expensive atmosphere is very quiet, one of those places where you feel you have to whisper. no soap or shampoo holder in the shower

    Staff are pleasant but very formal. It's very near the motorway from Calais to Switzerland and Italy. Rooms are large, furniture is appropriate for a chateau but not always for a hotel. very handy to visit the WW1 battlefield

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    8.3
    Classic French country house hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not much!

    Classic French country house hotel. Magnificent building, quiet, comfortable, excellent food (skip lunch before you go there for dinner!) , great service. Secure parking.

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2015

    9.2
    Fantastic chateau location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Shower was on the small side - everything else was perfect

    Fantastic chateau location. We wanted to visit the Verdun battlefields but stay in some luxury - perfect. Nice grounds. Friendly staff. Excellent restaurant.

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2015

    9.2
    Fantastic property with real character.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Fantastic property with real character. Very friendly staff. Why stay in a euro-box hotel when you can stay in a french chateau for not much more money.

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2015

    10
    Amazing Chateau hotel, fantastic service, beautiful grounds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Amazing Chateau hotel, fantastic service, beautiful grounds. Definite agriturismo at its best. Very large room and bathroom with amazing views of the grounds. It is a little bit outside of Verdun, but worth staying there when visiting. Exceptional dinner at the hotel with top notch service!

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    7.1
    This hotel offers a peaceful and relaxing environment not...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel décor and fittings are a little faded. The light in the bathroom didn't work.

    This hotel offers a peaceful and relaxing environment not too far from the A4 motorway. The restaurant was able to serve a meal at 8pm on a Sunday evening.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    10
    Everything was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything great. Recommend it highly.

    Everything was great. We have stayed in Chateau's all over France and this was the best considering the price we paid. Staff was great, Room was huge. Had a lift. Breakfast terrific. We didn't get to dine because we were visiting family. Next time I will.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2015

    4.2
    Staff was friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Noisy Room and exposed to people looking in from outside. Congested corridors outside romm with chairs. Very expensive tastless dinner cheaply cooked by an amature. Very expensive breakfast with limited choices. No cappuccino or fried eggs!

    Staff was friendly

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2015

    9.2
    Staff were very attentive and helpful, building and grounds...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    What was not to like?

    Staff were very attentive and helpful, building and grounds were very pleasant and restaurant provides excellent food in nice surrounding which won't be forgotten quickly.

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2015

    9.6
    Good location for stopover en route to Switzerland.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The wifi was a bit erratic.

    Good location for stopover en route to Switzerland. Very dog friendly. Excellent restaurant where our dog was welcome to sit under the table. Good breakfast. Large park for dog to run around in. Old-style traditional chateau hotel. Very good value.

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2015

    7.9
    The appearance of the hotel, both in the brochures and in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The brochure shows a magnificent chateau with its own grounds and a lake in front of the building. The lake is not there, but the grounds are ideal for walking and relaxing if the weather is better than during our stay. We booked a double room and were offered either a twin room overlooking the south facing grounds or a double room facing north, overlooking the cattle farm and with distant views. We chose the originally booked double room and were given a duplex suite with one bathroom etc., and one washroom and W.C. Each room was larger than many rooms in other hotels, but this suite had not been used for some time and had not been prepared, as the room was cold and it took a long time for hot water to flow through to the taps. The radiators heated the rooms adequately, in fact it took us until we checked out to get the temperature through hot back to a pleasant room temperature. The rooms were dingy, but various lights controlled by no less than 15 switches improved the situation. We dined on our first night at the hotel's intimate restaurant and it was, frankly, superb. On the second night the Michelin standard shone out again and we ordered a bottle of local wine with a view to supporting the local economy. The sommelier brought us a bottle of red wine which seemed fine, although we are by no means wine buffs. As he poured the final glass, he suddenly realised there was sediment and whisked the bottle away. He knew the contents had corked. We received neither apology nor explanation from him. He let down his Michelin standard chef, his employers, his vineyard and of course himself.

    The appearance of the hotel, both in the brochures and in actuality, created an air of optimism for a great stay with excellent food and wine.

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2016

    10
    Very interesting building and the grounds were inviting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very interesting building and the grounds were inviting.

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2016

    9.6
    The grounds, the ambience, attentive staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The grounds, the ambience, attentive staff

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2016

    7.9
    Breakfast was rich and tasty
    • Couple

    Poor internet

    Breakfast was rich and tasty

There are also 16 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Château des Monthairons & Spa traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: