Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Le Château de Bricquebec 3 stars

Cour du Château, 50260 Bricquebec, France

#2 of 3 hotels in Bricquebec

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 361 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    If it was good enough for Queen Victoria and her gang it was good enough for us. Characterful old chateau right in the centre so you don't expect a modern hotel. Comfortable if not oversized ensuite bedroom with tea/coffee making facilities (which not enough French hotels provide.) . A useful stopover on the Voie Verte going south from Cherbourg with good bike storage and we weren't the only cyclists staying. Good food and my wife rated the steak the best ever.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beds were too small and when we asked for another room with bigger beds we didn't get any clear support and finally there was another room available, but this was at full rate. No discounts were possible, even though we used less of their accomodation...

    Nice location in beautiful building

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing not to like

    The warm welcome from our host & hostess. As it was a chilly night, our host lit a fire in the lovely old fireplace in the dining room. Dinner was wonderful, delicious starter, main and dessert. Also the wine proposed by our host. The best meal we have had in France in quite a while! Lovely large bath towels in the renovated bathroom and nice toiletries.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being an extremely old castle it’s never going to be very modern and allowance have to be made but....shabby chic is probably better than modern!

    Historical castle in beautiful settings, friendly staff and good cuisine.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom, slippery bottom to bath and lethal step down/up to bedroom! Only one chair. Refurbishment out of keeping with the chateau. Lack of toiletries, ie no hand soap, tissues had not been replenished, toilet paper holder at angle to require a contortionist to access....

    Location, memories from previous visits

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cheap , crackly waterproof mattress covers made bed hot and uncomfortable, please use better quality covers! Breakfast very sparse, no meats unless asked, asked about a boiled egg, told that machine out of order! surely with such a good kitchen a saucepan of water could be used to boil eggs for breakfast!

    Beautiful setting in an old castle, super room , lovely looking restaurant, very good food but menu choices very limited.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff slow and always appeared to be doing us a favour. Dinner not available in the restaurant as entire place taken over for function. This information was not made available to us prior to arrival. As a result we had to eat in the village and it was mostly of very poor quality!! Website doesn't work and no means of making contact directly with the hotel prior to arrival. Won't be staying there again if this is the way they behave.

    Very well located, lovely old building. Comfortable beds. Easy parking.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Beautiful ancient chateau creating excellent atmosphere. Lovely situation and good parking available. Good base for exploring the DDay beaches and other places of historic interest. Pleasant town

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The check-in was very weird and rather unpleasant. The lady at the reception just wanted to get rid of us as soon as possible, probably because she had guests arriving for a dinner to the restaurant in the hotel. She was so hasty that forgot to offer us a wi-fi password. She also asked for our credit card as a security deposit for a mini bar that is ok I guess. But then she simply wrote the number down together with the CVV code of the card without even asking for a permission. The room was not cozy at all. One of the towels was dirty and in nasty stains, so we had to share the second one even though we were not sure if it was actually clean either. The shower was broken and wouldn't stay in one position if the water was on.

    The location is really nice, in the very heart of a village. We could drive to the neighbouring places to visit some authentic small restaurant.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was hard to identify where you were supposed to enter via car to get to the parking lot. We just entered what was the apparent exit.

    What girl doesn't dream of spending the night in a Castle? It was a special treat at an affordable price! Breakfast was excellent and more than your average fare. The floors were creaky & it had that "old smell" which in any other hotel would have been a detraction...but it just added to the ambience of this beautiful gem! It also had the best in room WiFi connection of any place we stayed during our entire trip to France!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No wifi. Tired bathroom. Broken shelf over sink. No milk pots for the coffee. Room in need of painting. Bathroom not clean. Carpet old and stained. Staff unable to help. Breakfast room closed down at 9.45 am.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Honestly if you complained about anything then go to a hotel like ibis then you will see the difference the owner is a real credit to this chateau hotel what an absolute pleasure to stay here :) He specially catered for myself as I am vegetarian

    The owner was superb could'nt do enough for us 100 % satified in every way possible am not the easiest person to please but wow my thanks to the owner Mr P and I shall be back as soon as I can .

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owners were fabulous! They were obviously busy, but took the time out of their evening to get to know us and share their story too. The evening meal was sumptuous and our highest praise goes out to their chef. The staff were extremely helpful and gracious. Our room was spacious with original architecture of the castle incorporated in it. We will stay there again and recommend it to all of our friends.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old beds, room located next to a room being renovated quite noisy , they shouldn't use that room during renovations, there were other rooms available. Room generally tired.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant was disappointing unfortunately. Everything had been considered, lovely linen, beautiful room, etc. However the food was very average. Over-seasoned and over-cooked. My fish was dry and several bones had been left in the fillet. The dessert, described as a Coupe of mangoes and pineapple with vanilla cream, was in fact a rather sloppy trifle.

    Excellent breakfast, really good choice (we especially liked the boiled egg steamer!). Staff wanted us to have a pleasant stay and went out of their way to make us comfortable. Bedroom was of a good size, the bathroom was modern and had both bath and shower. Everything in the room was spotlessly clean.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I hated leaving. We only stayed one night and regreted not staying longer. I'll come back here for sure.

    WOW, WOW, WOW. Go stay in this fantastic Chateau. How many chance do you get to stay in a real life 12th century Chateau. What a find this is. Off the beaten track. The women running the place, sorry I don't recall her name, was just fantastic. So helpful and friendly. As soon as you drive in through the walled fortress and see the Chateau, your blown away. We ate in the dinning room. It was easily the best meal we've had in France , and that includes the 4 nights we spent in Paris. Breakfast was yummo. A really great place to stay. And so cheap. 80€ . I felt like I was robbing the poor women. Go stay here. You won't be dissappointed.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor a bit tired, but we expected that in an old castle building. The bathroom storage unit fell apart in our hands :)

    Traditional French ambience and spectacular external appearance. Fantastic quality food in great authentic room at reasonable price. Plenty of safe parking on the site. Central town location but within the walled property so nice and quiet. All free-view English tv channels (from Channel Islands). Great big comfortable bed. I could go on for ever, but the bottom line is we loved it.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The food [ we only had dinner - not breakfast]. My steak was served on a chopping board which had seen better days. I cannot understand why a steak could net be served on a warm plate instead of a scruffy looking wooden board which had dozens of knife marks on it. also the steak was served with some small potatoes and a small bowl of sauce.

    Location and Car Parking facilities. The receptionist was helpful and sorted out a complaint I had concerning dinner the night before. The price of my dinner was taken from the bill and we were offered a complimentary breakfast which we declined.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant was closed despite supposedly being open staff told us it was closed Friday throughout Sunday but notes in room said it was closed Monday and Tuesday. Perhaps it's never open. Only one other couple staying same night and they had also specifically booked because it had a restaurant. They were also very unhappy. Bed was also very uncomfortable,you were at risk of falling out all the time.

    Good location, brilliant choice of U.K. Channels on TV

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    bigger beds would have been a bonus

    wonderful building - very beautiful - in delightful small town. The owner was charming and charismatic and shared his plans for improving the hotel. The whole experience was lovely and very atmospheric.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were extremely helpful, finding us a bigger room to accommodate us and our dogs. The photo does not do justice to the lovely building and pretty setting.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel has changed hands, having been run by the same couple for years. The bed linen in the rooms has changed to duvets, rather than sheets and blankets. The restaurant does not have the ambiance it used to, and the food sadly is no longer at its "superb" former level. I would describe the food as good brasserie quality, but they are charging "fine dining" prices. Therefore I found the evening meal good, but very over priced. The staff in the dining room were trying hard, but were not as good as those employed by the previous owners. The breakfast was ok, but not a patch on before, and definitely not worth 12 Euros, make sure you get a breakfast included rate.

    The rooms are lovely with antique furniture and lovely bathrooms

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Personally the bed was too small for us both (regular double). That's probably just us.

    Full of atmosphere and fantastic surroundings. The new Owner was very friendly and full of plans for the future.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We ate in the restaurant, and chose the 38 Euro menu. The main course, steak with potatoes, was lovely, but some vegetables would have been nice. My starter, a fish terrine and dessert, a Breton biscuit with fruits were disappointing. The starter was watery and tasteless, and the biscuit dessert was really hard and the fruit was like fruit cocktail from a tin, rather than the red fruits and coulis promised by the menu. Breakfast was also a little disappointing.

    Owner and staff were lovely. Really atmospheric place and accommodation great value for money. Owner has only had the place 7 months and has big plans to refurb. Comfortable and quiet.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    See above

    Good position for access to drive to Cherbourg Ferry Terminal. The chateau is comfortable but is rather in need of some TLC. Some aspects are looking tired.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    They really need to address the menu - the food may look pretty but is not what one would expect when travelling, and hardly sustaining, however the room and service were fine.

    The village and the actual chateau are lovely, and of course very convenient for a early departure from Cherbourg.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rooms looking a bit tired. Breakfast OK but not special. No view from our room (faced the inside of a castle wall) but rooms facing the castle courtyard would be very good.

    Location in 12th century hall of the castle was fantastic. Evening meal in the castle hall was very good. Staff were very friendly and helpful - exceptional. Rooms very large & clean, but a bit tired and dated. Good base to tour Contentin.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Unusual and impressive setting within the walls of a castle. All meals excellent. Staff very friendly and efficient. We were lucky enough to have the 'special' room where Queen Victoria and Albert stayed.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely location, within the walls of the old castle and in an historic building once stayed in by Queen Victoria. Right at the heart of the lovely small town too. Very nice restaurant with excellent food, and sitting outside on a nice evening enjoying the view of the castle was lovely. Spacious room with comfy beds too. And very nice, friendly staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just a few niggles, like the bathroom mirror not having a bulb and the safe not working at all. Also I did book a superior double, but it was quite small. Still loved it though 🙃

    Location was stunning and staff very friendly

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The music playing over dinner in the restaurant was pretty terrible and did not really fit with the rest of the hotel. We were travelling with children and our two rooms were miles apart. Our children are teenagers so this was not a problem for us, but would have been if the children had still been young.

    The buildings were fabulous- the setting is absolutely glorious. The hotel is simple but well-priced and the staff really helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Chateau was in a lovely courtyard setting surrounded by the original walls and towers in a charming small town.The restaurant was particularly good and the staff lovely.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lack of tea and coffee facilities in the bedroom. Wifi intermittent. Breakfast a bit disappointing: no choice of fruit juice and insufficient water in the kettle for tea. No staff in attendance at breakfast to replenish food and drink.

    Good location within castle walls. Quiet and comfy bed and well appointed bathroom.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms sorted out before we arrived, although the problem we had was fixed to our full satisfaction - so it turned out to be a plus

    This is the second time we stayed and the comfort, meals etc were of consistently high standard. Our queries were dealt with satisfactorily and we all enjoyed the experience

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We could not access the free Wifi as apparently they were working on it and had to go out to a local bar in order to contact family. However, the staff could apparently access it on their devices. Everything was an 'extra' charge including mini bar in room and breakfast which really wasn't worth 12 euros per person. Lack of staff in attendance at breakfast to explain or assist.

    Beautiful location and building within the old Chateau. Handy for an overnight stop over for the ferries to and from Cherbourg.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing.

    Exception host The history of the castle. Excellent restaurant. Staff made everyone welcome and special lovely grounds. Wifi and television worked. Good bathroom and shower plenty of toiletries fresh hand towels etc. Good breakfast. Ideally placed for Cherbourg. I would stay again. Highly recommended. Should have category above ten

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    We booked 6 nights dinner, bed and breakfast in a deluxe room but when we arrived we were shown to a lesser grade room and was advised that the restaurant was closed on Monday and Tuesday . We arranged to meet the manager later that day and the room was sorted but as restaurant was closed we would not have dinner on the first and second evenings, which was disappointing. It was difficult

    Wonderful building in a good location in an lovely town.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast buffet was rather limited and expensive at 12 euros for what it was. Internet didn't work. The place looked a bit tired and in need of a face lift. It has the potential to be really magnificent.

    Beautiful building. Historic dining room. Dinner was very good. Room was spacious and bed large and very comfortable. Service was very good from one key female employee who seemed to be doing everything virtually single-handed from manning the reception to serving the dinner. We expected to see her making the beds when we returned to our room!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are looking a bit run down now.

    As usual a comfortable stay, but it is under new management and lacked the personal family touches that the previous owners gave.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Would have liked a tour of the property.

    Staying in a castle was a highlight of our trip. All staff spoke English, which is nice in a small French town.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not so good for noise isolation. We can hear the guests next door. The beddings were not well ironed. Like it has only been washed.

    The bathroom was very clean and i spent a quiet sleep. The room was not I expected to have like in the picture, but I enjoyed my breakfast!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Evening meal was not good for two of the five of us. Those two ordered lamb shanks which were tough and virtually inedible. We asked the waitress to tell the chef that he really should not be serving food like that but she returned to the table and said that the chef said that lamb shanks are always tough. Total nonsense. The bill for that course was reduced by just 15% which we thought was an insult. If you stay here the hotel is fine but find somewhere else to eat.

    Hotel accommodation was great with friendly welcome, and easy car parking.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Stayed here again after an absence of 5 years, it is still run by the same charming couple, it is as good as ever, the food, if anything is better. Excellent.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was small and the only plus was the comfortable bed which did thankfully afford us a good nights rest. The shower enclosure contained cracked tiles and regrettably when the water is on in other rooms it seems to affect the adjacent ones. There was a range of temperature for the shower from cold to scalding hot. We could not open our window for fresh air to relieve the fusty smell in the room, so bad that I decided not to hang our clothes in the wardrobe, as the pigeons nesting on the adjacent castle ruin were also using our window ledge as a toilet! The restaurant which was so highly praised by fellow travellers was a disappointment. The portions were tiny and the ploy seemed to be to fill you with crusty bread to make up for the absence of food on the plate. The restaurant was full and the staff seemed disinterested and keen only to get the plates on and off the table. There was no sense of "service". We skipped breakfast the following morning as not sure what to expect at €13 per person. We won't be back.

    We liked the setting, we had stayed in a number of castles on our trip but this one unfortunately did not live up to our expectations. We were attracted to the rating reviews, but this shabby old lady could do with some updating and a little investment.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very French chateau. Well situated off the Petit Tour de Manche trail and so easy next morning to get back on route. Bikes locked away for safety. Lovely rooms

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wish I had learnt a bit more French before I arrived as although the castle owners speak English I wish could have spoken to the locals a little better as they tried hard to help as much as possible.

    Beautiful historic location with friendly helpful owners and staff with an amazing restaurant. The small quiet village full of friendly locals despite our language barriers.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was very expensive for four of us so we just went to the bakers. A shame as it would have been nice to eat in the historic restaurant.

    Lovely location - really enjoyed exploring the interesting town & market. The overall building has lots of character and history. Our room was good. Within one hour of the ferry.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower was a little disappointing for such a quality hotel

    Beautiful historic building in the Castle grounds, so much history from medieval times to the second world war. Bricquebec is a surprising town well hidden off the beaten track we found the place by accident. This hotel is a great find, the dining room is very evocative making you think how life must have been, the food was excellent and the staff discretely attentive. Great breakfast as well. The room was clean and well appointed with views of the tower. Even English channels on the TV to keep up with news

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When booking it mentioned that breakfast was included but on arrival it wasn't, and breakfast was an extra 12 euro's a head for dry cereal and tinned fruit. Our other reason for booking here was that it was supposed to have a covered pool, riding and a tennis court in the vicinity. The closest pool was a 10km drive away...... All in all we felt a bit had and trapped with two children

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Advertised facilities need to be available

    There was a large party booked in the restaurant so we were not allowed to use the bar and we could only eat at 7.30 which did not suit at all. After dinner there was nowhere to sit so we ended up in our bedroom by 21.20.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Sadly the breakfast was let down by individual pots of jam and honey all of which were just sweet and tasteless. The individual bread sticks were also very dissapointing in a country renowned for its light crispy bread. A small criticism in an otherwise great stay.

    Largest bed we have ever slept in. Fridge in the room. Superb restaurant evening meals. Very helpful owners who spoke English.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good except for uncomfortable bed and pillows😕

    Fantastic hotel in close proximity to Cherbourg but far enough away. Great for exploring Normandy Beaches which were deserted even in height of Summer. Would definitely stay here again if in the vicinity. A revelation! 😊

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast not great for such a quality establishment-choice not huge Try to get a room at the back. Although the front view is magnificent ,on a hot evening you'll be kept awake by the local kids during school holiday time. The chateau grounds are such an obvious meeting point.

    Location and grandeur of the buildings are wonderful. Room excellent You'll remember staying here

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very small, struggled to find a space for the suitcase. Bed was small and mattress very hard.

    Hotel with character. Refurbished rooms and bathroom, very clean and tidy. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Ill fitting windows, no ventilation or wash hand basin in wc. No alternative to substantial duvet during warm weather.

    Well located, being in an old castle in centre of town, large character room (No. 6). Warm welcome and good secure storage for bicycles. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    No provision for gluten free in spite of advance notice VERY noisy room overlooking the street

    one room overlooking the courtyard, quiet and peaceful Near to charming small town with small shops. picturesque ruins

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast could have been better value for the money.

    Very comfortable room. The evening meal was excellent. The reception was very friendly in English or French.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi didn't work (connected with no internet), Breakfast was poor, but by French breakfast standards reasonable I guess.

    Reception staff were helpful and gracious.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A delightful hotel with great food and good staff

    A superb large Chateau which is part of the old castle

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Receptionist surly. Ensuite bathrooms small with no working extractor fan so smelly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike

    Location, atmosphere, staff, food.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food was very poor

    Food was poor rooms etc always ok

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A very personal greeting from the owners

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We liked everything

    The friendliness of the staff and the proprietor, who did everything they could to make our Christmas holiday special.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A more comfortable arm chair to sit and read in.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    splendid building, comfortable room the only downside was the restaurant wasclosed during our stay. No problem as there are options in the town

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is in an old Castle (Queen Victoria slept there in 1857). The food was good, breakfast and dinner.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paying in advance with no choice. No aeration in the toilet. Nowhere to put wet towels.

    Don't eat croissants. Bed fine

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beautiful historical property in lovely surroundings

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Poor value restaurant. Room booked was "de luxe" but it was very average

    location. style

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very slow service.

    Excellent food.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very old characterful building

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    too few people and very deserted restaurant. Lack of atmosphere. Good food.

    location and historical site

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Insufficient number of tables offered to dinner so we had to eat elsewhere

    Atmosphere and location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet did not work

    Chateau was interesting I

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: