Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hostellerie Du Grand Saint Antoine 4 stars

17 Rue Saint Antoine, 81000 Albi, France

#3 of 18 hotels in Albi

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 258 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    9.5

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 70

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Tradition Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paying 12 euros to park overnight.

    Set in a side street, within easy walking distance of the main attractions. ie. Cathedral and Henri Tolouse-Lautrec museum.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room a little on the small side in comparison to other hotels used this trip

    Lovely hotel in very convenient location. Parking lot a little difficult to negotiate but fine once we found entrance. Staff especially helpful and spoke good English

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Price of breakfast is on the high-side.

    Staff very friendly and helpful, centrally located, parking available and safe. The hotels is nicely decorated, warm ambience and the garden is quite and shady. The room was well equipped, clean and the bed comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Privilege Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    L'epicure restaurant. Over-rated.Boat trip was disorganised

    The history of the Cathurs.Eating at the Papillon & Lautrec restaurants.Excellant value& warm welcome,both recommended by your helpful staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Tradition Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We took this hotel as it looked better than the other options. We were located in one of the annexes; the rooms smelt musty and all through the night I was awoken by doors that slam closed and other guests talking.. the walls are that thin I could hear the man next door urinating in the morning ! I have a very very mild dust allergy and when I woke in the morning one of my eyes was swollen due to the uncleanliness of the room. Very early in the morning we chose to leave ASAP and cancelled our breakfast order. The bar and restaurant also had a very odd smell to them.

    I was travelling through the Pyrenees by motorcycle with a good friend and thought that Massat looked like a good destination in a great location.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff from the moment we arrived were excellent communicators The cleanliness was superb The room was beautiful and the bed extra comfy with beautiful clean white bed linen The toiletries in room smelled fantastic Couldn't fault

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location close to the historic centre of Albi and the good choice of food for breakfast. In addition the staff were very helpful in recommending and booking a quiet, pleasant restaurant for us on a Sunday evening (not so easy!). The secure parking was also a bonus,

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Privilege Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    NOT ONE THING!!!

    ALL OF THE STAFF PERSONNEL WERE VERY FRIENDLY AND HELPFUL IN EVERY WAY IMAGINABLE. OUR ROOM WAS A MINI-SUITE AND WAS VERY CLEAN AND COMFORTABLE. THE FREE EXPRESSO MACHINE IN THE LOBBY WAS MOST APPRECIATED. THE PARKING AREA WAS EXTREMELY CONVENIENT FOR COMING AND GOING. EVERYTHING WAS GREAT-BUT IT WAS THE STAFF WHO WERE THE MOST IMPRESSIVE THING OF ALL.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Public rooms were very attractive and the parking was convenient. Excellent staff. Although not many American tourists know about it, Albi has a picturesque old walled section on the Tarn with a spectacular cathedral and an outstanding display of Toulouse Lautrec's paintings, among many other charms. The hotel was just a 5 minutes' walk from this area.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Would have liked to have had a fixture up high to put the handheld shower in.

    The beds were extra comfy and the staff remarkable. The hotel is in a prime location with good restaurants and a supermarket nearby.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    as a luxury hotel, having a real shower in the bath would have been good. but the tub was huge.

    very large, quiet, comfortable room. reasonably easy access by car with a parking lot. staff was incredibly nice and very helpful. hotel is across the street from Place du Vigan and a very short walk to the old historic district and restaurants (a 10 minute stroll to the cathedral).

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to upgrade, because basic room was hot (no A/C in Fall), but window could not be kept open because street light right next to window and a lot of street noise. If you close the shutter, you get no air, if you open it you get air, noise, and bright light. Upgraded room to courtyard was great but 35 Euros extra/night.

    Location is very good, basic room nicely appointed.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Euros 15 for breakfast was plenty when three course dinner menus in the City ranged from 15 to 35 Euros.

    Excellent position some 500m from the Catherdral and old town. Most comfortable hotel with on site secure parking. VG staff

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It seems all hotels in France have changed to the Nescafé coffee machines for their breakfast service. I wish they'd go back to a real espresso machine and hot milk... The coffee machines make tasteless coffee!

    The location was great... Easy to walk to the two main attractions in Albi, the huge and very unusual church, and the Toulouse-Lautrec Museum. The town is worth a visit; it's very pedestrian friendly and there are nice restaurants

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely, elegant lobby and dining room; our room looked out into a lovely and well- treed garden; great and enclosed parking area. Delicious breakfast buffet, smoked salmon, ham, prosciutto, two cheeses, cereals, fruits and juices, boiled eggs, breads, croissants, coffees and teas -- all for about 12 Euros (about $17). Also, this hotel is very very central -- close to the core of sightseeing and lots of restaurants and shopping.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Full length mirror in room would be good. Also, bath was slippery when using the shower, with nothing to hold on to. Not good for the elderly!

    The Staff were so friendly and helpful it made our stay even more enjoyable. We would certainly stay there again.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We could not get the shower to work, too late to call staff. Quite a good breakfast, but for the price we expected a more personal service.

    Helpful staff, who recommended an excellent restaurant. Spacious and convenient.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking astronomically priced (12€/night). No shower: only a bathtub with no hook for the showerhead and no curtain. Pillows a bit too firm. Insufficient sockets, so you have to unplug lights in order to charge your phone and computer. Only space for one suitcase (on a luggage stand), the other one ending up in front of the TV on the commode. Following the advice of others, we kept away from the excessively high-priced breakfast (15€/person) and instead had a perfectly acceptable breakfast for half the price at one of the cafés on the square 2 minutes walk from the hotel.

    Good location, with easy access on foot to the center of town and all the sites. Hotel gives onto a quiet back street. Comfortable room with air conditioning.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Vacuuming was not good enough. Wifi connection in the room was sometime really weak and slow.

    We had really great and relaxed time there. Hotel staff was friendly and helpful. Location is quite good for the sightseeing of Albi.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Tradition Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Amazing staff. One of them actually got in the car with me when I double parked to unload to direct me to the parking lot. Her kind colleague put my bag in my room before we returned. Pleasant, large, comfortable room. Wish I could have stayed longer.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    A late decision to stay overnight in Albi - what a good one! The hotel is well placed within a short walk of the atmospheric streets of the old town, and the staff couldn't have been more helpful. As for Albi - what a revelation! An extraordinary cathedral, inside and out, and nearby are the wonderful gardens of the equally impressive old palace, which now houses a museum dedicated to locally-born artist Toulouse Lautrec.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Wonderful hotel, great staff couldn’t do enough for you. Beautiful spacious bedroom with views of the garden. Peaceful location but within easy walking distance of the main attractions of Albi.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Tradition Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would have liked tea available during afternoon and evening. I must admit though- I did not ask. There was always coffe available in the lounge.

    The staff were all so efficient and polite , friendly- and very helpful and sympathetic when I was sick. They went the extra mile!! Merci . I also enjoyed the swimming pool at the sister hotel very much.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Tradition Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great gardens in city centre

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very helpful friendly staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location is perfect for seeing Albi's main attractions.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thought breakfast was included in the price

    Helpful staff, secure parking, good breakfast

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Old fashioned style

    the location close to the city center

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Tradition Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom floor hasn't been cleaned on my second day

    Staff was very friendly , the garden peaceful, breakfast was good and the location perfect

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Tradition Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Reception friendliness, situation in city center, safe parking behind building, good wifi

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location. Albi was an absolute gem. Amazing walk through the old city

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no coffee at breakfast and no one to ask it for.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Extremely friendly and helpful staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect central location. We were able to leave the car and visit the city by foot.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old bathroom though very clean

    Very nice and helpful staff,beautiful inside garden to seat relax. Very clean room

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Central location with the advantage of private secure parking, attractive garden, quiet outlook at the rear.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Location, friendly staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Breakfast was very good.Bed was very comfy.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The whole experience and friendliness and help of the staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    furnishings a little ´tired'

    bathroom, bed clean and modern f

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fresh orange juice for breakfast would have been appreciated.

    Comfortable bed and proper bath in the bathroom. Car parking convenient.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price of breakfast high

    Friendliness of staff Helpfulness of stagg

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Parking charges are a bit high.

    Excellent location for exploring Albi, all staff welcoming and efficient, good breakfast in the room.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing....

    Helpfulness of staff...super comfy beds and great location...would strongly recommend this place every time

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Everything! And Albi is a wonderful place

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our bath didn't have a shower curtain, which makes a hand-held shower a little tricky. But we managed.

    This is just a lovely hotel, classic and classy. The room was beautiful, and reasonably priced even though we had opted for a more sizable room. Parking is available for a fee, and is in a gated parking area next to the property. The women staffing the front desk were terrific, and helpful beyond expectation. Our room wasn't quite ready when we checked in early, so they held our luggage, and hand-luggage for us--and had it all up to the room when we came back from walking around the city. They were very helpful with suggestions on restaurants, and places to drive to for sightseeing in the area--even taking the time to type up a list of suggested local destinations. It was just a great stay, and we enjoyed 2 nights there. The hotel is in easy walking distance from the historic area of town, including the cathedral, market, river, and many restaurants. We had breakfasts there, (not included in room rate, which seems to be standard practice in France), but I don't think other meals would be available.

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great location, within easy walking distance to sights of interest, shopping and restaurants. Friendly staff and excellent atmosphere with comfortable room and breakfast buffet worth the extra charge.

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This was a great hotel near the square and an easy walk to the cathedral , museum and river. Loved it! Loved Albi! Having secure parking in centre of town was great.

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We had a problem with the BBC news channel on the TV. The morning receptionist said the afternoon receptionist should have got a TV from another room but it wasn't a big deal given how good we felt about the place.

    Reception staff had excellent English and were very willing to help. Best pillows that we've had in the whole of Europe - that includes UK!! Brilliantly convenient for bars/restaurants and the city generally. Albi is a undiscovered lovely city.

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel was understaffed. The bar & restaurant were both closed.

    We had a very comfortable room with good decor. It was in a good central location.

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Ideal central location and yet one could sit in the tranquillity of the garden without disturbance. Secure parking. Traditional ambiance with modern comfort.

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel charged €10 for parking the car (i didn't know in advance, still happy with the private parking direct connected with the hotel)

    Good location near centre and privat parking

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    WIFI must be logged in each time you start to use it. No automatical log in reuse.

    Good location - easy to approach by car and very close to the old town (in two min by walk you are in old town). Hotel was simple, but cozy. Room was big like a suite. Different from chain hotels. Nice breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The pictures had led me to believe the hotel was in the country when in fact it is in the town of Albi itself. Because the weather was bad, we had to stay on the inside of the hotel which is not as pretty as the garden area.

    Staff changed the room to a lower priced room without any difficulty and were friendly and accommodating.

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Parking charge a bit high. Requested a kettle as in hotel info but told none was available. Breakfast average and lack of staff.

    Close to centre of Albi but on a quiet street. Plenty of space in suite room.

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We chose to pay extra for a larger room as the basic double rooms looked quite small.

    Spacious, comfortable room overlooking the garden. The private car park is a bonus here. The hotel does not have a restaurant but it is a short walk to an attractive garden square where there is a good cafe/restaurant and there are other places a bit further away.

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Shower

    Welcome and location

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Excellent rooms and breakfast. Easy Walking distance to all the sites in the old city. Great private parking. Has an elevator.

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very comfortable room with garden view. Friendly, helpful staff. Nice reception area and breakfast room with original paintings.

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    problems with wi- fi

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    private enclosed safe car park. Nice location near centre of medieaval Albi

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Difficult to find fault with the St Antoine. The service was particularly impressive.

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast was basic

    Right near to the historic centre

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    great setting with a peaceful garden. friendly helpful staff. large comfortable room, with good firm bed. sited near centre of the town.

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Good staff Good service Good location Large bedroom Nice garden

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No pool

    Very friendly and helpful staff

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Warm friendly and efficient staff

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Breakfast - lots of things had run out

    Secure car park

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No dinner available

    Lovely peaceful garden

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Easy walk to the cathedral and museum

There are also 12 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 70

Guests also reviewed these properties: