Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hostellerie du Passeur 3 stars

Place de la Mairie, 24620 Les Eyzies-de-Tayac, France

#10 of 14 hotels in Les Eyzies-de-Tayac

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 199 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    7.2

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 47

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    10
    Location of property fabulous.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Location of property fabulous. Staff were excellent — very helpful and the restaurant was superb. Excellent service and great food. Highly recommend this lovely hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    10
    Excellent small hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    An old-style hotel with up-to-date facilities, with a wonderful, wonderful dining room. This was my third time at Hostellerie du Passeur and I anticipate staying here whenever I'm in the area.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    6.7
    Perfect location but restaurant closed and bed uncomfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were only told that the restaurant was closed on a Sunday when we got to the hotel - the hotel suggested and kindly booked us a table at a nearby restaurant but the choice was not an experience I would recommend. Reserved the "classic double room" but the bed consisted of two very uncomfortable single beds put together - you either fell into the join or hung on to the edges!

    Perfect location between River Vezere and Avenue de la Prehistoire where some of the smaller caves and museum are located. Requested/got an amazingly quiet room at the back. The hotel restaurant was closed on a Sunday but they suggested and kindly booked us a table at a nearby restaurant. A mile or so from here is Font de Gaume where you need to get to early to book a superb guided tour of the cave paintings. Many other historic sites are just a little further on including La Roque Saint-Christophe, Lasceaux and Grotte du Sorcier.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    10
    Amazing restaurant and great value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were in room 3 which was a bit noisy on sat night over the restaurant. The staff immediately offered us a room change the next morning.

    The restaurant is outstanding and great value for the amazing food. The staff are very charming, polite and very helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    7.1
    Clearly, out of season not the best time to visit - everything except one restaurant closed at the
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast limited to sweet jams etc - standard french basic breakfast - could have done with some savoury - ham and cheese

    Good layout of rooms - separate wc

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    7.1
    The location is excellent, right in the centre with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was very pretty but small with a small double bed which was quite hard. There is no fridge and no tea or coffee facilities in the room which really, for the price we would have expected. We were here for 2 nights in August and so expect to paying top price but I don't think this was value for money - we were just paying for location.

    The location is excellent, right in the centre with everything close by. Parking is available on site and although involves a very narrow lane it is easy and well organized.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    7.9
    In the heart of Les Eyzies
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room at the Hostellerie du Passeur was on the third floor and there is no lift so if you are not able to climb stairs, make sure you ask for a room lower down. The room was small but comfortable with air conditioning. The bathroom was fine except that there was no high hook for the shower, so sitting in the bath holding the shower head was the only way of having a shower. There was a nice terrace outside where drinks and meals were served. The staff were helpful and there was a suitable locked area for our bikes.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    10
    Peaceful stunning and historic location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    really amazing location and very friendly and helpful staff. Excellent restaurant as well. The property is set right on the river, perfect location to explore and unwind.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    6.7
    Superb restaurant attached to a typical 3 star hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Parking is difficult and very limited. Hotel facilities were adequate but not even close to luxurious. Very basic but clean and comfortable (which is where the price was too).

    the hotel facilities were what you would expect for a 3 star hotel in France. However, the restaurant was outstanding - superb cuisine, very well presented with all the subtleties of favor you would expect with a Michelin one or two star restaurant (although wait staff and restaurant facilities were below par for a more highly rated restaurant - but NOT the food).

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    10
    Beautiful small hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing bad

    Great location right in the center of the beautiful town of Les Eyries-de-Tayac. Our room looked out on the town square and up at the cliffs and the National Museum of Prehistory. This is a "must see" town for anyone interested in cave art and early man. The hotel is a great center for your stay. The restaurant is beautiful and the food quite good.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    9.6
    Wonderful spot- we hope to visit again and will recommend it to our friends.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    THis is a beautiful historic hotel, right on the river, with a fantastic view of the river and cliffs and valley and across the street from the Prehistory museum and amazing cliff shelters. it also had a lovely food garden in the backyard.Breakfast was plentiful and dinners good and artistic.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    9.6
    Great location and very nice accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Ceiling fan was noisy, a little grease would help.

    Everything here was very nice. They have a restaurant and when we arrived night one, they made sure that we were able to eat. The rooms were comfortable and well appointed. We had everything there that we needed. Nice view, comfortable bed, the bathtub had a shower handle for rinsing off and a door to block the water from getting out. The room was definitely setup for AC and they also had a ceiling fan, making it very easy to make the room the right temp. Breakfast was on the smaller side - fruit, yogurt and bread. No protein outside of the yogurt.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    9.6
    Great Hotel in Les Eyzies
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Right in the town, facing a quite square, this hotel was spotless. The staff was very nice, Gerome, the man on the desk walked outside with me to show me where the parking was. Breakfast was included--11 eruos in other hotels.. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    8.8
    Excellent location, directly under the museum & cliffs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The pillows were not comfortable, too soft & lumpy. Bed rather smaller than we'd prefer.

    Excellent location, directly under the museum & cliffs. Central to all the facilities of the town. Shower good although it took a long time for the hot water to come through. Free parking available in front of the hotel as it was off season (Oct)

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    9.2
    Staff was very friendly, nice location in a quiet town near...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The air conditioner in our friend's room was dripping and was not fixed during our visit. The only thing that marred our visit. Had to park about a block away one night, either hotel parking is not sufficient or not limited to just hotel guests.

    Staff was very friendly, nice location in a quiet town near to sights and next to the river.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2016

    9.6
    Colourful and characterful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. There isn't a lift, but we knew that beforehand.

    The breakfasts provided a tasty selection of meats and cheeses and of confitures for the croissants and beautiful fresh bread. Our room overlooked the river at the back and was very quiet, and the soft furnishings were very colourful and homely. The staff were super friendly. It is right in the heart of town.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    5.0
    No lift
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No lift

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    10
    Superb!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff knowing English was very helpful and appreciated!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    9.6
    Good location ,Friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    ALL WAS FINE

    Good location ,Friendly staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    7.9
    Delightful stay in Dordogne village
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Jerome was the receptionist & manager at the Hotel & is a charming & delightful young guy . He made our stay most enjoyable .

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    7.5
    Cave tours
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower, although fancy, did not work proprerly

    It's location was excellent--right in the middle of the village--off the busy road.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    10
    Excellent hotel in an excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent hotel in an excellent location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    10
    Ticked all the boxes and more.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything about the hotel ticked all the boxes, and the food at the hotel was exceptional.

    From start to finish we were extremely well looked after.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    4.6
    Tired facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tired facilities. Dark corridors

    Location

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    8.3
    Very Charming Hotel in Fantastic Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Skimpy toiletries and shower in need of repair ( loose shower head holder and vertical bar).

    Old European charm

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2016

    10
    Wonderful location to view caves in the area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Resturant didn't serve salad or any vegetables.

    Comfortable bed and good bathroom facilities.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    8.8
    Excellent location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    5.0
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanliness poor, breakfast poor value at 11 euro. Didn't eat dinner there, far too expensive

    location good

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2016

    10
    Great hotel right in the middle of Les Eyzies
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great location, wonderful staff, room as advertised.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2016

    9.6
    Live like God in France
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Staff super friendly

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2016

    10
    Very comfortable hotel with a great location for visiting the prehistory museum.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    very nice reasonably priced restaurant on the terrace. Pleasant staff happy to please.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2015

    10
    From start (first greeting) to finish (when I drove away) a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing to dislike - it was all tremendous

    From start (first greeting) to finish (when I drove away) a totally fabulous stay, great accommodation in a great spot - beautiful restaurant and best of all the staff - friendly, helpful, attentive!!!!! I will definitely stay here again!!!!

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    10
    Very central to a stunning area of france.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very central to a stunning area of france. Always wanted to stay here but never managed. Much easier when you can arrange via tablet. Booked further nights once we arrived. Excellent service from all the staff... even kept our bikes in secure garage.

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    8.8
    All the staff were most friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    All the staff were most friendly and helpful. The food and wine in the restaurant for both lunch and dinner was always excellent. Free parking. Great location opposite La Mairie and next to the river.

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2015

    9.6
    Loved the central location, charm of the house, dinner on...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    My only difficulty was with having to wait a really long time to be served. We ordered wine, and a good 20 min went by before it was brought. We had turned down an aperitif in favor of getting a bottle of wine, and it didn't come until after we were served our first course. Just a minor thing. Very friendly and attentive hosts, and otherwise the service was flawless. We really enjoyed our one night stay here.

    Loved the central location, charm of the house, dinner on the patio overlooking the Vezere River. Nice roomy room with excellent bed, nicely decorated. Wifi was easy to use (did not require you to re-login every time you leave the place). Food at the restaurant was beautifully presented and delicious.

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2015

    7.5
    Comfortable and clean facilities in the middle of town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Handheld shower which made it tricky to shower (no hands free), breakfast was basic and poor value, no lift in hotel, limited free parking near hotel.

    Comfortable and clean facilities in the middle of town. Very quiet.

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2015

    10
    The position of the hotel in the heart of Les...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not one single bad thing to report.

    The position of the hotel in the heart of Les Eyzies-de-Tayac on the river Vezere; peace and quiet; the friendly staff; the wealth of interesting places to visit in the area - caves, castles, gardens, fabulous medieval villages, walks; lunch on the terrasse.

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2015

    10
    Perfect location in a beautiful village.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Would have preferred a bath to a shower, but otherwise, everything was of a very good standard

    Perfect location in a beautiful village. Staff could not have been more helpful and went out of their way to accommodate the dog, fetching him a bowl of water immediately on our arrival

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    7.5
    the food was excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    car parking was not very good not a lot of signs where to park the car

    the food was excellent

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2016

    9.2
    restauration excellente
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    restauration excellente

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2015

    8.3
    Very friendly staff and good value evening meal
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very friendly staff and good value evening meal

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2015

    7.9
    This hotel is comfortable and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This hotel is comfortable and clean. Centrally located. Room had great view of cliff dwellings lit at night.

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2015

    7.9
    The room in this quaint hotel suited us perfectly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The room in this quaint hotel suited us perfectly. So many interesting places to explore nearby. We'd definitely return.

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2015

    8.8
    Beautiful setting, Fabulous food and extremely pleasant and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Beautiful setting, Fabulous food and extremely pleasant and helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2015

    5.0
    it was very central
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    rooms were very small and hotel was very busy and not enough staff

    it was very central

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    8.8
    Location excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Location excellent Staff helpful

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2015

    10
    Dinner was wonderful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Opened the windows for fresh air and met a lot of wasps!

    Dinner was wonderful.

There are also 10 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 47

Guests also reviewed these properties: