Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hostellerie Excalibur 2 stars

49 Rue De Rouen, 49400 Saumur, France

#13 of 21 hotels in Saumur

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 234 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    7.4

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 38

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    10
    Lovely hotel with friendly staff, and walking distance from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely hotel with friendly staff, and walking distance from Saumur, and a lovely boulangerie. Easy to park even with bikes on the roof of the car in a safe area behind the hotel. Great for a family as we had two ajoining rooms with a tv in each. Would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    8.8
    Pleasant hotel - could do with a refurb.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Quite a long walk to the Town, but very scenic for most of the walk.

    Pleasant hotel - could do with a refurb. but clean and with very hospitable staff. Good value breakfast. Loved the area and will re-visit.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    10
    Very comfortable and the added bonus of a superior restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only reason this small hotel isn't a 4 star is that I didn't see air conditioning or an elevator , otherwise superior

    This hotel is much more than a 2 star ...it is charming and the hosts are very eager to make your stay pleasurable...highly recommend

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    9.2
    Staff were friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All great and a bar attached

    Staff were friendly and helpful. Room was great and breakfast excellent. Hostelliere might put some off but standard of a hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    8.8
    A budget hotel with all you need for a stopover.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wish they had tea and coffee facilities in room

    The convenience and position of hotel we have stayed there four times before. the parking plenty of room and at side of hotel in private car park. have a restaurant and food is good and reasonably priced. Room is nice not fancy but clean spotless bed linen and en suite huge. We did not have breakfast this time

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    9.6
    Great restaurant!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location is a little out of the town centre and the chateau. Not a major issue though if you're fit enough to walk in (1.5/2km)

    Fabulous food in the restaurant, very accommodating staff

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    8.8
    A good night's stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. The hotel can't help the fact that there is an abandoned building opposite. Dinner was really good and served efficiently. A good choice of menu Breakfast had a wide range of choices

    Very pleasant friendly staff

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    9.2
    Good base for touring chateau country
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very comfortable and clean room. Good breakfast and dinner. Welcoming owners. Good secure parking. I've rated the location as "good". It's a 15-minute walk into town, but the walk is across the river over two bridges, with fine views, and much of the walk is away from the main traffic, so we thought that was good. Also, the hotel is away from the busy centre and you can easily drive eastwards from Saumur north of the river, a much better drive than on the other side. Most other hotels in Saumur at this price don't offer parking.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2016

    6.7
    Cleanliness and private car park.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Reception not staffed on arrival. There was a note stuck to the door giving me a phone number to ring which would result in me being given the entry code to the hotel and room details. Didn't get the entry info until after I had called the number 3 times. Restaurant not open on Sundays so had to walk 20 minutes into town for dinner not the 5 minutes mentioned in the advert.

    Cleanliness and private car park.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    8.3
    Handy for Saumur Centre Ville
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room got very hot and it would have been nice to have access to a fan to cool it down a little. Breakfasts are expensive, especially compared with the little cafes that are just over the bridge in town.

    Very handy for walking into Saumur (10-15 mins) so did not need to use our car once we had parked up. Bathroom was very large and airy. Towels were changed every day.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    7.1
    Friendly helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location. It's on a busy road was very noisy with traffic and rowdy pedestrians. No staff around on our arrival on a Sunday eve.

    Friendly helpful staff.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2016

    6.7
    It could be better if the restaurant staff spoke English and was more friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    1. At the restaurant of the hotel we tried to order meals at 21.30, but the waitress did not speak English at all. Some guests helped me with the translation. She insisted to know how many people will join me and at the end the waitress informed me that they are closed, although it was full of other guests. 2. There was a lot of noise from other guests during late evening

    The price of the room was excellent for the region

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2016

    8.8
    A brief stopover in a comfortable place within walking distance of views and restaurants
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Reception not occupied on a Sunday, so information of this and how to access was given by email the previous day. Fortunately, we had access at that time and happened to browse incoming emails.

    We liked comfort of the bed and pillows, the cleanliness of all areas and the décor. Good size and equipped triple and family rooms.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2016

    8.8
    Hotel staff was very pleasant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel staff was very pleasant. We had dinner there and it was very good. Room was large, bed comfy and good toilet/shower. The hotel had a large carpark at the back.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    6.3
    Good for a short stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No airco nor fan. When windows were kept open at night for fresh air, you have the noise of the road. Also other guests slammed doors which reduced our period of sleep.

    Free parking. Clean room and decent bathroom. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2016

    9.6
    The room was very large and bright, excellent modern shower...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location is a good hike from centre ville, the neighbourhood is safe but not attractive, staff helpful but very limited non-French language.

    The room was very large and bright, excellent modern shower for a tourist hotel, helpful and friendly staff, convenient to gare.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    4.6
    We were very disappointed because the room was small and I'll-appointed. There was b
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tiny room. Too hot. Floor uneven and grasping your feet. Bathroom door not closing because it did not fit into frame.

    Very little

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    9.6
    Nice food a welcome oasis
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A little decorating

    friendly staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    10
    Good and cozy place to stay in Saumur
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    ---

    Just as every year - friendly and attentive staff and fair prices for a very solid quality. I'll be back in 2017.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    6.7
    Staff were super helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very noisy with windows facing street side. Room was okay.

    Staff were super helpful. Parking was on site.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2016

    9.6
    Excellent Hotel with friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    Clean,Fresh ,tastefully decorated ,great for a stopover , Excellent secure cycle storage Excellent food

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2016

    8.3
    Nice place with walk to town centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    At the time we stayed we missed not having air conditioning.

    Straightforward comfortable accommodation with welcoming proprietor.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2016

    9.2
    Very nice, spacious modern room, Excellent value for the...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    A bit out of the centre of town but easy to park at least. I was initially presented with a bill for the regular price rather than the deal from Booking but once I showed my confirmation email it was no problem.

    Very nice, spacious modern room, Excellent value for the money.

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2015

    7.1
    stayed here a few years ago and it seems to have new...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    not like it used to be.

    stayed here a few years ago and it seems to have new management and i think its lost some of its caricter. It has good off road parking that's why we chose it.

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2015

    10
    Great example of a really well run family hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi a bit hit and miss at times.

    Great example of a really well run family hotel. Nothing fancy, but everything executed well and with care. Free locked parking. Lovely restaurant on site - great food. Walking distance to Saumur. Friendly welcome.

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    9.2
    Very well located for one night stop travelling northwards...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Room wasn't air conditioned and was extremely hot overnight. Couldn't open windows due to traffic noise as it looked out directly over main thoroughfare.

    Very well located for one night stop travelling northwards to Caen from Dordogne. Easy to find and plenty of parking. Family room an excellent size for 5 - clean, smart and comfy beds.

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    8.8
    nice stop-over hotel, good service even when arriving late.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    our room was directly adjacent to the street, so a bit noisy; rooms slightly to warm (hence we opened the windows)

    nice stop-over hotel, good service even when arriving late. private car park, which is good is you have lots of gear with you (we were en route from a camping holiday)

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    9.2
    Easy access to town and good parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Very hot and needed just sheet on bed but made up duvets.

    Easy access to town and good parking. Super size family room and lovely ensuite. Good place to break journey to port.

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2015

    9.6
    The staff were extremely helpful in the matter of food...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff were extremely helpful in the matter of food allergies and consulted in detail each evening about dinner ingredients. Service was excellent and meals were good value. The hotel is clearly a popular choice for local people to celebrate family occasions. We were also able to leave our heavily loaded car in the enclosed hotel carpark and go into town by bus.

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2015

    8.3
    We arrived on a Sunday afternoon.
    • Family with young children

    We arrived on a Sunday afternoon. They contacted booking and we receive a call to get the room number and the disposition to get in, although no one was there. The quality was good for the price. WiFi was ok. Breakfast was good and there was enough for us. Only the adults paid the breakfast as the children are below 3 and usually do not eat too much.

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2015

    9.2
    Nice, clean room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nice, clean room. Good value for money. Within easy walking distance of the town centre.

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    10
    very friendly, helpful staff .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    very friendly, helpful staff . good parking really nice room

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2015

    7.1
    Very good Wifi, good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Room a bit small, location not so close to the city center

    Very good Wifi, good breakfast. Things I value in a hotel were very well done.

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    9.2
    A good basic hotel.
    • Family with young children

    A good basic hotel. Met our needs perfectly for a short stop over.

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    6.3
    value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    uncomfortable bed noisy room

    value cleanlyness

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2015

    7.9
    Walking distance to town center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Walking distance to town center. Free (and closed off) parking.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2015

    9.2
    Friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Friendly staff...warm welcome....a simply furnished but very nice room with comfortable beds and a really good shower room.

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2015

    8.8
    Saumur, tous les Châteaux, the food and the wine.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Saumur, tous les Châteaux, the food and the wine.

There are also 6 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 38

Guests also reviewed these properties: