Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of La Roseraie Hôtel Restaurant 3 stars

11 place d'Armes, 24290 Montignac, France

#1 of 18 hotels in Montignac

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 282 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    10
    Worthwhile, would stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location for visiting the caves at Lescaux. A nice quaint hotel, with an elevator, outdoor swimming pool, all just lovely. The restaurant is closed Thursdays. Recommended.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    8.8
    Would definitely come back. Montignac is a very pretty but not overly touristy town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 12 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think it would be good if breakfast was included in the rate. It was quite pricy although good.

    Lovely relaxing stay at this hotel. Very helpful owner. Perfect pool idea for relaxing around with children in the afternoon after a morning out exploring.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    7.9
    A beautiful French hotel in a beautiful town
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite with Shower
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Expensive breakfast, lack of room service, no coffee/tea making facilities in the room.

    Great location in beautiful Montignac; lovely looking property overlooking the river, with nice rooms and a beautiful garden and pool. I hear the food in the restaurant is very good but we didn't end up trying it as there are so many other restaurants to visit in town. The hotel is also well positioned for visiting the many historical sites and villages in the surrounding area.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    5.8
    Very disappointing !!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    1 the hotel locked up at 8pm No mention on Bookings.com that the hotel would be closed early on the day of our arrival at 6pm ( thank goodness there wasn’t any traffic jam that delayed us further ); No acsess to the pool, no dining , no bar , just a bare room yet I was charged the full rate The reply from my host was basically tough ! That’s the way it is that particular day

    The welcome at the desk

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    10
    My only negative was a restaurant recommendation they gave.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My only negative was a restaurant recommendation they gave. My husband speaks French fluently but the rest of us muddle along. The staff at the Irish pub that was recommended obviously had disdain for Americans- worst service ever. That being said not the hotels fault but I warn any Americans to stay away from Flannigans.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    8.3
    Good location and close to everything in Montignac. Comfy room
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Had we not stayed in the previous B & B with breakfast included and lots of personal touches for a great room rate probably nothing. However, we would have liked the towels changed at least once and maybe water provided as we were staying for 4 nights.

    The location and the hotel had beautiful gardens and pool. The room was ok nothing to complain about

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    10
    Beautiful Hotel-Great Staff-Excellent Food-Lovely medieval town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing could be better, it was a wonderful happy stay.

    We absolutely loved everything about La Roseraie Hôtel Restaurant. This beautiful former private residence in medieval Montinac has been converted into a truly charming and comfortable hotel in a picturesque square and by the side of the river. The gardens are lovely and well cared for, and the swimming pool is ideal for those hot days. Each room has a name which is a really nice touch. Our room was Belle Amour overlooking the gardens and the river. Free parking outside the hotel in the square or by the river. The owners and all the staff were very welcoming and nothing was too much trouble for them. The food is excellent and always cooked to perfection. On warm dry evenings you can dine in the gardens if you wish., and we did so. Lots of little bars in the town worth visiting All in all, a wonderful stay at La Rosarie and very good value. We will definitely visit again. Les and Lesley

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    7.9
    Pretty area and a family-run hotel with charm.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Be aware that it is a traditional family-run hotel so accept a general lack of slickness. Room perfectly comfortable but not memorable and sound insulation between bedrooms not very good.

    Traditional hotel with interesting furnishings. Really lovely garden and south-facing terrace. Good food both breakfast and dinner. Good location in a pretty town and adjacent to parking. Comfortable bed. Overall a pleasant and friendly stay in a nice spot!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    9.2
    Wonderful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The town streets are hard to maneuver.

    Wonderful location and delightful accomodations. Would love to go back and stay here and go canoe ing. We stayed in the Minnie Pearl room.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    10
    A very pleasant and comfortable stay. Amazing breakfast, if a litle pricey.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing. The hotel does not have its own private car park, but it's easy to find parking in the square outside the hotel or down on the river bank.

    Beautiful position on the banks of the River Vezere and within easy walking distance of the town. The restaurant is closed on a Thursday evening, but there are very good restaurants close to the hotel. The weather was not great so we did not get the opportunity to use the pool or the very pleasant looking gardens.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    10
    What a special place.
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    What a special place. Amazing staff, hotel and restaurant. First-rate experience with genuine warmth. Would thoroughly recommend, even for a longer stay (we stayed for 5 nights) as it is an excellent base to explore. We look forward to coming back!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    8.3
    Overall, a charming place to stay with a good staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I would have liked a firmer mattress.

    The breakfasts are very nice with great selections. I especially enjoyed the offerings of seasonal ripe fresh fruits and breads. Meals in the hotel dining room are above average for the area - both in food and service. The garden is beautiful and a very comfortable place to relax.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    9.6
    Great place in a cracking location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathroom a little small and a drippy shower but really that would not put me off returning at all.

    This is a lovely place to stay in a great location. We managed to park free right outside and to our surprise the room was also air conditioned. Outside pool is great too.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    10
    Exceptional dining and service in a magical setting near Lascaux caves
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A very tiny thing... there was no bar soap in the bathroom. We tend to prefer bar soap in the bathroom over liquid body soap. We could also do with conditioner, as there was shampoo, body soap, body lotion. But this is really very very minor - I imagine if I asked for it, they would've gladly provided it. The toiletries provided were of high quality.

    La Roseraie Hôtel Restaurant was incredible. We came upon it by chance during a last minute trip to Lascaux prehistoric cave area and were extremely lucky to have found this spot. The dinner is quite possibly the best meal that we had while road-tripping through France - their chef de cuisine's palate is French yet not heavy, subtle with global flavors - it's an absolute not miss while staying here. Their foie gras was delectable, perfectly salted and strangely even delicate, considering that it's largely fat-based. The duck was perfectly seared, crunchy, juicy, melted in the mouth. The view while dining is beautiful - looking out on their rose garden and the river - as is breakfast - very worth the 14 Euro, especially for convenience, view, and attentive service. We were traveling with our 16 month daughter who was fawned over, and high chairs set up in advance and our table set in ideal location for a curious toddler. The room itself was beautiful, spacious, corner with two large windows, with a beautiful view. Also beautiful is their second floor common lounge space - very tastefully finished library and seating area. Their pool is well maintained, as is their rose garden with a big field of grass that our daughter loved toddling in. It was a very magical setting. We enjoyed our stay so much, so that we stayed an extra night - and kudos to the owners who squeezed us in! What makes La Roseraie Hotel exceptional is the dedication the owner operators have to making the hotel beautiful, well-run, providing wonderful client service, flexibility and helpfulness. They take pride in their hotel and it shows in all the small touches. We would go back there in a heartbeat and stay a week.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    9.6
    This was a great hotel with a terrace by the river
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wobbly toilet seat... (!) The cafe creme at breakfast wasn't great, largely because of the milk. Breakfast was very good in every other regard, with plenty of choice.

    Lovely hotel in in excellent location in the centre of Montignac. Our room had a view over the terrace to the river and we had an extremely comfortable huge double bed in our room.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    7.5
    An enjoyable stay in the heart of Montignac
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    This hotel is somewhat overpriced, considering the (very ordinary) breakfast is extra. The room was small, clothes had to be hung sideways in a very small wardrobe whose doors couldn't be fully opened because of proximity to the bed.

    Interesting and attractive decor in the common areas. The restaurant is first rate, and the grounds and are lovely (the pool looked very inviting, though the weather didn't tempt us to try it!)

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    7.1
    Great position but not good value (expensive food and wine)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Billing was atrocious , multiple mistakes. Our particular room was average (upper floor/back) with defective aircom. I was advised that Booking.com clients get the worst rooms !

    dinner very "delicate"and pretty but short on flavour

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    9.2
    Charming Place in Old Town Montignac, France
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Slow WiFi (although pretty standard for French hotels outside Paris.) The hotel does not set aside any tables at its restaurant for hotel guests, so be sure to reserve in advance if you plan on dining there. Reserving is essential if you are there on a Tuesday, when nearly every restaurant nearby is closed.

    Excellent location in old town near river. Easy free public parking near hotel. Effective A/C. Quiet at night. Personal check-in. Elevator. Our superior double was large and pleasantly furnished. Good choice for those visiting Lascaux.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    5.4
    Basic accomodation in a small town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was on an angle. Really. It felt like it had been pushed over. The room was small and décor was uninspiring. We had doubts going in as this is not a big town and accommodation is limited. Our experience was very average.

    The hotel is by the river and there is a nice rose garden in the grounds. The restaurant was good enough but overpriced.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    10
    Lovely location for touring the Dordogne.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast.

    Room location and historic look of the hotel. The food was superb in the restaurant. The breakfast was standard buffet and could have had a larger selection, especially at 14€ pp.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    10
    One of our top five places to stay in France
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not so much a dislike but finding the hotel was a little tricky. Look out for a sign directing you left towards the river as you travel from the North coming into the town. Once you get into Montignac the streets are rather narrow!

    This hotel is idyllic in the style of classic French country hotel accommodation but with fully updated facilities. Its situation by the river (where you can park easily), its lovely Rose Garden which invites you to linger and the turquoise waters of its swimming pool are just a few of its star attractions. The check in is very friendly and personal, the lift (unusual in older properties) is brand new and the rooms have been updated and comfortable. We enjoyed a lovely meal in the garden and an evening stroll along the riverbank before a good night's rest. The following morning (Wednesday) was market day and just along the riverbank from the hotel we joined the browsers and buyers in the late Spring sunshine. Montignac is a delightful town and hosts the brand new Lascaux IV exhibition and amazing replica of Pre-Historic Cave Art which is a 'must see' on your visit. In summary La Roseraie is one of our top five places to stay in France and we will be going back there.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    9.6
    A lovely hotel and would go again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking was on the street outside but we were able to park immediately outside the hotel on the river front and this seemed to be fine

    A good room with a lovely view. Staff were very friendly and helpful A good place to stay to visit Lascaux caves and Montignac is a very interesting medieval town

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    10
    The hotel is in the pretty town of Montignac, site of the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is in the pretty town of Montignac, site of the Lascaux cave. It feels like a home with interesting books, nick nacks and antiques. The pool looks wonderful and the rose garden simply beautiful. The outdoor restaurant serves exquisite food with views of the town across the river. The hosts were ever helpful and good fun.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    8.8
    Pleasant Stay in Montignac
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The restaurant was closed on Thursday evening, although we were made aware of this in good time.

    Reception staff were welcoming and friendly. The hotel is in a very good location in the town, being in the ancient quarter, and also on the river. Parking in October was very easy and free of charge. Evening meals in the restaurant were excellent, and the breakfast was good.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    10
    The first time I visit a hotel there the photos both convey an excellent hotel, and are true.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The wifi didn't work when I was there. It was only temporary. But I didn't mind it much. I wanted to download maps over Montignac to my cellphone, but it turned out that the town was so small I didn't need maps.

    The location was excellent if one want to look at the Lascaux caves. The photographs of the hotel were actually accurate even though You before would find it hard to believe everything really is as good as it looks. But it is. :)

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    9.2
    Nice large rooms;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lack of tea/coffee making facilities There was quite a lot of outside noise in the evening.

    Nice large rooms; very comfortable beds. Staff friendly and very helpful.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    10
    All aspects of our stay were superb
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    All aspects of our stay were superb

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    10
    Stuart Carruthers & Joann Weedon
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    everything- the owners, staff, facilities were fantastic

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    10
    Beautiful location in a lovely village/town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful location in a lovely village/town. Food excellent and staff friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    7.5
    Delightful hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Helpful staff and the unostentatious decor. Wonderful pool.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    8.3
    A beautiful old home, now a hotel, with lovely gardens and a terrace restaurant with excellent food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    We were pleased that we were able to change our room as the first one was small with no bath.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    9.2
    Our second visit and would come again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom a bit cramped

    Located in medieval town. Enthusiastic welcome, room fine, now have a lift which helps. Restaurant good

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    10
    the owner were very helpful !
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the owner were very helpful !!!!!!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    7.9
    Outside terrace and garden .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower was leaking in parts.

    Outside terrace and garden . Eggs for breakfast - great way to cook them.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    10
    Excellent food in the restaurant and the service was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent food in the restaurant and the service was exceptional. Parking right outside was also really helpful

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    6.3
    Staff, dinner at restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast with self serve coffee/tea....in France...?

    Staff, dinner at restaurant.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    10
    One of the most comfortable hotels we have stayed at in France
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Nothing

    Everything. Particularly the owners and staff who went out of their way to make our stay so comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    10
    A most enjoyable holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea/coffee making facilities in the room

    The whole character of the place and the food was excellent

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    8.8
    Excellent location, lovely owner!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not much

    Everthing was good

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    10
    A wonderful stop on our way to a gite
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were extremely attentive and the cuisine was excellent. If we ever need to stay in Montignac again, we will know where to stay.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    10
    A perfect gem in Montignac
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a real find and perfect gem.quiet and very relaxed

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    9.2
    View over garden area & river
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    View over garden area & river Friendly staff Location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    10
    well worth a visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    all good

    well situated in town with plenty to see and do

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    8.8
    Friendly staff and lovely food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dinner was excellent - beautiful food

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    7.5
    Enjoyed our stay and staff very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Could do with satellite TV English channels.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    10
    Charming venue and helpful owners.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not appropriate.

    Lovely garden, gorgeous pool and table tennis too. Husband and wife team very amenable. Good range of food on offer at breakfast .

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    10
    great place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    great place.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    9.2
    Very friendly hosts, clean and comfortable room, you must...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very friendly hosts, clean and comfortable room, you must eat at the restaurant when you stay here as the food was sensational.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2016

    5.8
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff not very welcoming Dated room Lack of atmosphere Expensive for overall experience

    Nice building Location Large room

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    10
    The owners and all of the staff were friendly, efficient and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The owners and all of the staff were friendly, efficient and helpful

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    7.5
    Nice location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expensive room and yet breakfast wasn't included. 14 euro per person for bread and jam!

    Location was spot on.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2016

    10
    The very personal and pretty hand-painted flowers on every...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing. (Even though we had chosen the smallest and cheapest room in the hotel, it was delightful - and much cheaper than the poor quality Ibis we stayed in the next night.)

    The very personal and pretty hand-painted flowers on every bedroom door - each one different. The garden, pool and sitting out area - a very beautiful setting.

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2016

    10
    Great location next to the river in a beautiful village.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Great location next to the river in a beautiful village. The staff here are superb ! The property has immense character , very clean with a great breakfast and a good base to explore the Dordogne. We would stay again.

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2015

    10
    Stately building with charm.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Stately building with charm. Lots of different common areas. Views of beautiful medieval town. Food was amazing! The restaurant is elegant. Breakfast set us up for each day. Didn't want to leave! Great location central to many sights in the Dordogne.

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2015

    10
    This was an absolutely delightful hotel conveniently located...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This was an absolutely delightful hotel conveniently located in the picturesque town of Montignac in the Dordogne. The experience was greatly enhanced by the lovely caretakers of the hotel. We hope to return!

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2015

    10
    Our hosts were so friendly and helpful, couldn't do...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our hosts were so friendly and helpful, couldn't do enough to make our stay enjoyable and comfortable. We opted for the breakfast and it was absolutely delicious, the best of French cuisine. We also loved our room, it was old world charm in all its opulence. Can't recommend highly enough.

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2015

    10
    We had a thoroughly excellent stay at La Rosearie!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We had a thoroughly excellent stay at La Rosearie! Wine on the lovely terrace looking at the garden; a comfortable room, a delicious, beautifully prepared dinner in the hotel restaurant, and breakfast in a lovely conservatory! Our host was very friendly and welcoming!

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2015

    10
    Authentication french with lovely gardens.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I never used the room safe as it was only secured to a wardrobe by two small bokts

    Authentication french with lovely gardens. Good attention to detail.

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    8.3
    Beautiful hotel in a superb location with friendly, helpful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Beautiful hotel in a superb location with friendly, helpful owners. Food in the restaurant was delicious. Lovely pool area. Montignac is a great base for exploring nearby towns and attractions

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2015

    10
    Everything!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing. Everything was lovely.

    Everything! Absolutely charming little hotel in an absolutely charming little square in the old town, by the river. Very friendly owner/hostess, even the "standard" room is a good size; full size bath, queen size bed, air conditioning, fast wifi. Worth every cent!

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2015

    9.2
    Beautiful setting by the river.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room was very small and view uninteresting. The Internet connection in room was poor.

    Beautiful setting by the river. Friendly helpful staff who made us feel very welcome. Would book again but for a bigger, better room with a view of the river. Enjoyed an evening meal in the wonderful garden. Lovely character building, nice pool area.

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2015

    9.2
    Excellent hotel, breakfast and dinners very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Excellent hotel, breakfast and dinners very good. Nothing is too much bother for owners and staff. Not the least bit pretentious and very friendly. All in all our stay of 8 days was a most pleasurable experience. In it's price range it is really good value.

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2015

    9.6
    Staff very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Staff very helpful. The food was very good It would 8 out of 10 but certainly above the level we expected. Situated in a beautiful quiet square by the river. We will go back.

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2015

    10
    The hosts were very friendly and were able to offer...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hosts were very friendly and were able to offer suggestions for daily activities and in some cases booked an activity for us. The swimming pool was lovely. We found the hotel central to the town and different restaurants.

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2015

    9.2
    Great room with a nice view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great room with a nice view A very good breakfast with a good selection of food Location was great with easy access to the local shops markets and attractions WE found the staff very helpful and willing to go that little bit extra when nedded

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2015

    9.6
    Friendly efficient staff, lovingly restored old building and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The only very minor point was that an excellent breakfast was let down by coffee from a machine.

    Friendly efficient staff, lovingly restored old building and good food. Lovely pool and garden to relax in and a welcome for our dog. First class. Also, Montignac is a quiet and interesting place away from the crowds.

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2015

    9.6
    We greatly enjoyed the hotel's character and atmosphere,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Two small criticisms: 1: The cold tap in our bathroom produced water that was too warm, and the hot tap was extremely hot. This might have been because of the exceptionally hot weather conditions, and not typical. 2: We would have appreciated more vegetarian options on the supper menu.

    We greatly enjoyed the hotel's character and atmosphere, not to mention the beautiful peaceful rose garden and the pool. The room was quiet and well insulated, and the air conditioning worked well. The staff were exceptionally helpful and thoughtful of guests' needs. Definitely one of our favourite hotels

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2015

    9.6
    A Charming Manor House style environment with modern...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A Charming Manor House style environment with modern facilities. Rose garden has both a Swimming pool, and "Wild Pool" complete with singing Frog. Despite attempts to kiss it my Wife failed in her attempt to "awake the prince", and had to settle for Husband in the "Don Juan" Bedroom complete with 4 Person Bed!

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2015

    9.2
    Our smaller room with view of town was comfortable to have...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi not consistent in room- but plenty of common lounge areas to use it.

    Our smaller room with view of town was comfortable to have a rest day from our busy travels.Initially difficult to find,hotel was excellently located within easy walking distance of shops and restaurants. Garden and pool would be excellent in warmer weather after a day of touring.Great breakfast -fresh produce,good variety.Very friendly helpful staff-excellent knowledge of local tourist attractions

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2015

    10
    I was made to feel so welcome by the hosts, very homely feel...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Heavy footed neighbours in the room above

    I was made to feel so welcome by the hosts, very homely feel, sweet room, all the facilities I could have wished for. Delicious breakfast, great location, easy parking, would definitely stay here again.

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2015

    9.6
    This is a very nice hotel with friendly staff and easy...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The limited (but excellent) menu did not change much in the week we were there, which was a shame as we really enjoyed the evening meal we did have.

    This is a very nice hotel with friendly staff and easy parking. We had a very comfortable 1 week stay.

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2015

    9.6
    I felt I found the perfect little Hotel in a small original...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I felt I found the perfect little Hotel in a small original historic village. The staff were fabulous. I stayed 2 nights and would have stayed longer if I didn't have bookings elsewhere

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2015

    9.2
    The building has a great location, plenty of character and...
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    The WIFI did not work in our room and the bed was beautiful and comfortable but too small if you're used to superking size at home.

    The building has a great location, plenty of character and has been sympathetically restored and brought up to modern comfort standards. The decor adds some charm and stays away from the overfussy, reproduction furniture store feel that these places can have. Very friendly service that was flexible in dealing with requests. The walnut bread in the breakfast buffet was out of this world.

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2015

    8.8
    This is a charming hotel with plenty of space within the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    All good!

    This is a charming hotel with plenty of space within the hotel. There is a library and numerous guest setting areas set up for relaxation. It is set within a lovely garden yet just off the main square. In spring when the wisterias and later, the roses are in full bloom, the garden must be spectacular. Staff are friendly and it is family run. Breakfast excellent. An ideal location for basing yourself. There is plenty to see - then enjoy a drink down by the river on return.

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2016

    9.6
    This was a lovely hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This was a lovely hotel. The owners were really helpful and the restaurant was excellent.

There are also 34 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: