Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hostellerie Le Roy Soleil

Route des Beaumettes - Le Fort, 84560 Ménerbes, France

#5 of 5 hotels in Ménerbes

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 124 hotel reviews

7.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.4

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    7.2

  • Staff

    7.7

  • Value for money

    6.5

  • Free WiFi

    7.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 19

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was very disappointing. It was shoe box small and the w/c was minute so that you could not actually walk in and shut the door!

    Restaurant was good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Group
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Don't get the breakfast, its €20 for horrible coffee and a few breads etc.

    Nice surroundings, quiet and 10 mins from Menerbes. We had lunch (we were the only people) on thurs 31st August. Beautiful food and presentation, but my father picked a €50 bottle of wine which really they should have just suggested the local wine, a bit of a rip off there. Don't even ask about the taxi driver that charged us 60 Euros from Le Roy to Menerbes (10 mins) (2 trips). His name was given to us by Reception, don't use any of their recommendations. Use PROVENCE TAXI BRUNO, He is great and has very good English. His number +33 6 12 50 35 09 He is on Facebook as "Provence Taxi Bruno". Use him, nice man. But you will need to book him in advance.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There is no shower! Not even a shower over the bath, just a hand held thing that you either sit in the bath (yuck!) to use, or end up spraying water all over the bathroom. The décor is old and tired, the bed extremely uncomfortable (lumpy and hard). The photos make this property look a lot better than it is. The coffee machine in the foyer didn't even work. We left early.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We loved everything. We arrived on a Wednesday evening which happened to be our 48th anniversary. We ate on the terrace all by ourselves, it seems there was no one else in the Inn. It was fabulous. The food and the waiter were fabulous. We had a wonderful stay and are planning to return. The little apartment was perfect for the five of us and I loved all of the appointments.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service was not good. Our shower was not hot. Hairdryer was broken. Telephone was not working.... they do not pay attention on the details.

    Nice location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    always perfect.

    a repeat visitor several times over, this charming, quiet well- situated hotel with lovely decor never fails to deliver a pleasant respite from a day of local village- hopping. Service is attentive and exemplary.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stains on towels, mix up with my booking, old fashioned bedspread and curtains, chipped paintwork. If I could have cancelled without being charged I would have. Staff in general didn't seem to have a clue and I felt like an interuption . Chaotic.Not much choice on menu.

    The fact that I was in France celebrating my 50th Birthday. The property and grounds has potential to be excellent but it needs updating & a bit of love put into the grounds. Thanks e reception area was nice.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We requested a bath, but the shower hose was connected to the bath tap with nowhere to clip it to the wall, making it awkward to use. The metal stepladder in the pool was loose and felt very unsafe.

    Spacious room with sofa and table, private terrace. Peaceful and quiet. Lovely garden and pool.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    this hotel has really seen better days.....furniture crumbling, aircon not functioning, pool furniture dirty....too bad, as it has the potential to be a gorgeous property!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the breakfast cost at 21€ p.p. was a bit high, so we skipped it. However, they were more than happy to bring coffee to our room (for a charge). traditional linens could be updated perhaps- but they're hardly offensive given the location...

    lovely location that I had eaten quite a few years back - and had never taken the time to stop and stay for the night. Well worth it indeed. lovely premises, pool and rooms, discreetly attentive staff, perfectly situated for a great view up into the hilltop villages. If you're looking for a "well- kept secret" this would be "it". we'll be back.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty pool, dusty bedroom. Second day they Forgot to clean room and the reception couldn't care less mot at all apologetic, managed to get some fresh towels.

    Great location

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was a little tricky accessing the wifi and language barriers complicated a couple of things but staff were so helpful and went out of their way to accomodate. Expensive but worth it!

    The location was perfect! The stone walls 'seeped' history and the setting was beautiful! Delightful staff and the restaurant food offered variety and was beautifully presented -one of our absolute favourites in Provence!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel needs some attention in the small details. Thin duvets instead of blankets, telephone didn't work and no internet in our room, hairdryer broke and bathrooms need renovation but you forgive everything as the place is overall very charming.

    We loved the hotel and the pool, very much in style with the Provence. We were so nicely welcomed on our first day with a choice of ice cooled wine or sparkling water. Staff was very attentive esspecially in the restaurant which terrace is like living in your own house in Provence.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    staff speaks poor english, changed our room because in our firstly given room was no door to restroom. Breakfast (18EUR) very poor for that price, room price too high, extras in minibar very expensive (big bottle water 23EUR)

    As expected, in a wonderful nature, hotel in old farm buildings, big garden.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool cleaner was switched off and left in pool No staff on hand to serve drinks by pool

    Very comfortable and spacious bedrooms

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very quiet, relaxing, and very close to little villages to explore

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The grounds were very nice and location was good.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    décor, location, service, food all first class

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I love the ambience in the hotel

    Stayed in September 2016

There are also 11 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 19

Guests also reviewed these properties: