Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Novotel Blois Centre Val De Loire 4 stars

26 Avenue Maréchal Maunoury, 41000 Blois, France

#11 of 23 hotels in Blois

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 754 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    7.9

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we visited, the hotel was in the throes of being converted from a Holiday Inn to a Novotel. So lots of building works and dust. Room comfortable, but LOTS of teething problems (no aircon, hairdryer not working, bathroom not finished, poor quality fittings, harassed staff, etc). But most importantly, I booked 3 months ago and no-one contacted me to say that this was happening. Kind of wishing I had booked elsewhere.

    Fairly standard business hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hotel was in reconstruction process. Rooms was not equipped with all necessary things.

    Good location, close to town center and others popular destination as Chambord, Amboise, Chenonceaux etc.. Free parking.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Super slow Wi-Fi, they should wake up, I expect that I can use YouTube and Netflix, but here it's impossible. Old fashion style There are no fresh vegetables/fruits at the breakfast

    Quite big hotel parking Friendly staff Clean rooms

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    TV in room not working so obviously not been checked prior to letting the room. Restaurant not open so had to find a restaurant in the town after a long day on the road, not good.

    Staff were very friendly and helpful, breakfast was reasonable, bed comfortable and room clean.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked a room for 2 adults & 1 child. On arrival their computer showed a booking for 2 adults 0 children - yet I had e- mail confirmation that I had successfully booked / paid for a double room & sofa bed (2 adults & 1 child). This error also occurred last October when I used booking.com for Novotel,in Edinburgh. Breakfast was far too expensive so we ate elsewhere.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilet wobbled whenever you sat on it. No air con. in room although hot weather. Window couldn't open. Silly policy on continental breakfast- one had to eat in very tiny bar area! We didn't- we ate in the restaurant with everyone else. No restaurant meals. One door key didn't work.

    Good shower. Air con. in public areas. Some friendly, helpful staff. Enormous comfortable bed.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For a 4 star hotel it is unacceptable to have only one person simultaneously managing the reception, bar and room service. The room service menu had plenty to choose from but in reality it only had a soup and a couple of pastas, which were basically heated off the can (!!!). It took us 2 hours to get them to our 2 rooms. On top of it all, the quality is quite poor so I strongly recommend to avoid room service. The final touch was that at check out when I mentioned this to the receptionist, she didn't even apologized! She tried to explain that the bad weather meant that more guests stayed in that night...come on! Just downgrade the hotel to 3 stars and all is fine...except the apologies that no matter what should be said to any guest that rightly complaints.

    Rooms are ok and clean. Location is fine.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Aircon unit not very effective - but it was unusually hot. Also unit rather noisy. Hotel lacks facilities such as pool or fitness room and bar area very small and unattractive.

    Room clean & modern. Staff helpful. Few minutes walk into centre. Breakfasts good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They didn't replace the soap of th last 4 days. There was a juice bottle under the bed that was not mine and it remained there during my whole stay.

    Near the center of the city. Staff very good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great!

    We had very very comfortable beds and the shower was great. Free parking and not far from the centre of town (easy walking distance).

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was not very helpful. The air conditoning in our room did not work.

    The breakfast was great! Very tasty food and many options. The room and bathroom were very spacious comfortable and clean.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    While leaving, we left the computer charger in the room. The very day after we had phoned the hotel and came back two hours later while passing by the hotel on the way back, but they totally ignored our requests and were not really interested in checking or helping us to find it.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Walking back up the steep steps from the town.

    It was a splendid breakfast selection and the food was tasty, especially the scrambled eggs. The breakfast ladies were charming, friendly and welcoming. The room was clean and comfortable and the shower worked well.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very convience choice. What good with standard hotel like holiday Inn is that everything "should" be there are there. This saves so much trouble and make our tight travle schedule smoothy. It is easy choice and very relaxing.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The situation was at the top of the town, up a steep incline which we were able to solve through talking to another guest as there was a free bus. Reception didn't inform of this nor were there any of the buses' information flyers available in the Hotel, until I left one at the Desk on leaving.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It is like an Ibis but with twice as much space. The space is nice but the hotel is nothing special. It is also some walk away from anything interesting i.e. the Chateau.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Menu could have offered a wider choice but that which was available was good.

    A convenient site that was comfortable and clean. Staff attentive and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The manager and reception staff were extremely helpful. They went over and beyond sorting out a booking.com problem involving double bookings. They sorted out a refund of a second room that booking.com had booked incorrectly.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I get different room than what I was booked. Instead one big bed, I get two small... Useless. Car parking lot was full even I ask to book a space for me in the reservation.

    Nice place, close to the city center.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The in-room air conditioning ran flat out all the time. This meant that sleep was virtually impossible. When contacted at 2.00am hotel staff were singularly unhelpful - 'that is the way it is - either it runs or you switch it off'. The temperature was not adjustable; we tried to make the fan speed change as the instructions showed we could moderate the fan speed to make it quieter but we were assured that there was only one speed and that all were set at 20C. Poor staff/client relationships and no acceptance that the unit may have been faulty.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had booked a quenn room but the room 119 was a twin room with 2 single beds. Even it was comfy, they didnt refer to my booking details. No plugs at the right and left side of the bed, so if you like to keep your mobile or laptop around you while charging the battery, you need to ask for extra triple plug with long cable. The wifi connection had no password but asking for sign up via website, unfortunately i was not able to connect to wifi with my mobile since the website re-directed for sign up was giving security alerts due to not secure browsing.

    The location is nice and easy to walk to everywhere. The breakfast was fine with good French cheese. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Outdated rooms, impaired ACs ( they don't cool just blow air!!!), the toilet chair in one of the rooms was leaking, and the rooms are not well cleaned. We asked to clear the minibar to put our medicine but they didn't

    Very friendly and helpful staff, good breakfast and free parking

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stayed in this hotel while on our honeymoon. The hotel staff was very helpful. When returning to the US, I found out that I left my dress at the hotel. Naomi the manager that answered the phone that day, shipped the dress to US. I was so happy! Can't thank her enough.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing I have visited lots of hotels in France and I was impressed with the overall sevice.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful and the manager needs to be congratulated on his presence and overall professional run hotel. The breakfast was very good with a good hot selection. I would like to thank you for a excellent stay.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The property was very outdated, needed refurbishing. The airconditioning was unavailable as the whole hotel system is combined. It was cold when were there and I wanted to heat but was told that is not possible - not good enough. Certainly no 3 or 4 star!!

    The staff were most helpful.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the hotel is in a good location for our one night stopover, Blois has a good feel to it and a few shops bars and restaurants.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Refurbishment

    Parking

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They charged us for breakfast when they said it was with room

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    naomy the receptionnist was very nice and accomodating

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    none

    close to the river, clean and convenient to get to

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    Air con was not working on a hot day and the fan was not adequate

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfriendly welcome from unsmiling and confrontational booking in woman

    Room and bathroom very goodj

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Limited parking and the wifi was terrible. Very weak and intermittent

    Property was new and personnel were nice

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    N/A

    The hotel gave us a room where we requested. They were very helpful. The location was excellent for exploring Blois.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast area was Congested.

    The staff was courteous and accommodating. And it was an extremerely clean Hotel in a great location.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    good value

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was amazing - the waitress was probably the most attentive I've ever experienced. Thoroughly deserved a tip!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very much what you expect from this type of hotel, nothing to disappoint or excite you.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    staff, location, quiet

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not what I expect from a holiday inn

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dinner at the hotel was not available. However, there was a very good restaurant within 200m. of the hotel.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    somewhat far out of town. centre of town not within easy walking distance

    comfortable room. generally clean and modern

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed covers too heavy for the time of year

    Everything at the standard we expect from Holiday Inn

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    More staff would make the hotel perfect.

    Location.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    everything was according to our wishes

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff is unfriendly.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2017

    • With a pet
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had 2 dogs with us it was perfect

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No restaurant on Saturday

    Easy to find and has secure parking

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It would be nice to have the choice of eating at the hotel in the evening.

    Staff are all friendly, hotel clean and near to where I am working.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were really friendly

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff great.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location, helpful with good facilities and value for the price charged

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect

    Everything , room , staff , food, parking wifi.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Secured parking, proximity to city center, quiet location

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room

    Good breakfast, helpful staff

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location was ok if you don't mind a bit of a walk to get to the centre.

    Large room, comfortable beds and super quiet.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Exterior of building looks very tired!

    Comfy bed, good sized room, great shower.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    An excellent Hotel in the centre of Blois, ideal for exploring the town, and surrounding area

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location good. Good size, clean room. Use of car park.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The overall experience was good.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Strange door to bathroom. Size and look of a 5-bar gate.

    Internal, safe car park was most useful. Good location on quay side.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    exterior appearance

    Helpful agent at reception

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cooked breakfast wasn't particularly hot.

    We liked the location! The rooms were clean and comfortable and it was useful to have the mini bar.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Good location and helpful reception desk staff. Good menu choice for dinner and breakfast. Room was clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The a/c in our room never worked. It was very hot and stuffy.

    The included breakfast was good.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant closed on sat and Sunday

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    good location and very friendly staff

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast was too expensive 18 euros per person too much. No need to charge that much a bakery next to the hotel have fantastic croissants and for just one euro. If they have better price at the hotel for breakfast and mini bar we would use it but too price for what I was.

    Great location easy to find and easy parking. The staff was very friendly and give us a lot of information for the area. Room was good and comfortable. Good place to be if you want to visit the chateaux near by.

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Cigarette smoke smell, both in our room, and the corridors, even though there were no smoking signs everywhere. Asked the female desk attendant if our luggage could be brought down while I came around with my car, and she looked at me blankly.

    Very friendly and accomodating at check in. We requested an early check in, and it was arranged.

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast room was a disaster. It is too small too tight and there were very long difficult queues to get any piece of food. Overall it was a disaster. Parking very limited.

    Area and free WiFi

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Air conditioning did not work. Luckily weather in he evening was cool. We were able to open window wide to let cool air in. Breakfast was mobbed and they were out of everything when we sat down

    Very helpful staff

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Not so close to the city center. Too expensive for that kind of hotel. I wouldn't say it is a four stars.

    The restaurant was quite good. The staff very friendly.

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We changed room after the first night as the air conditioning wasn't working. This was one of the main reasons we chose this hotel. However, the second room wasn't much better. As the weather cooled slightly, it made it easier and we were able to sleep with the window open.

    Friendly staff and good location, as we had hired a car, so it was easy to get onto the main road out of town.

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Secure parking isnt that secure and was full when we arrived. We were given a disabled spot right outside which was probably better than the car park.

    Modern, nice and clean

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Rooms are small. We had to remove the baby cot and baby slept on our bed. Airconditioning in the room was not functioning. We were supplied with 3 fans despite lack of space but a/c was never repaired.

    Good location when touring Loire Area

There are also 26 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: