Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hôtel Barrière L'Hôtel du Lac 4 stars

89 rue du Général de Gaulle, 95880 Enghien-les-Bains, France

#2 of 3 hotels in Enghien-les-Bains

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1124 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 44

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    9.2
    Will recommend it
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    -No air-conditioning - temperature in room was 30C at least. At least receptionist provided a fan which was fine. -Slow service in restaurant. -Old fashioned room decor -Only one mains socket available in the room near the TV not near the bed side tables. -Poor Expensive bfast

    -Location -Helpful staff -Clean rooms -Complimentary pass for Spa x1 per day -Nice lobby at reception area

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    8.8
    Pleasant views overlooking lake and casino
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very pleasant hotel looking out over the lake (my room overlooked the car park, but was quiet, which is just a big an advantage). Would have liked to stay longer to have a chance to sample the spa facilities. Prices are reasonable compared to the excruciatingly high prices of hotels closer to La Defense, and it is nice to be able to avoid the traffic of central Paris. Train station is less than a ten minute walk from the hotel. Perfect for businesses in nearby Argenteuil.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    5.0
    Very disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Lake View and Spa Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was small. The toilet was not good and the electric air vent didn't work. We had paper cups for coffee and plastic mugs for water in a 4 star hotel. We have stayed here before and felt the standard had deteriorated and was certainly not 4 star standard

    The bed was very comfortable and the view from our room of the lake was wonderful

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    8.8
    Very friendly staff in a nice hotel, but the bathroom does not meet the standards of a 4 star hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom not the type you expect in a hotel like this for that price. No separate shower, low water pressure. Separate WC, so that is good!

    Comfortable bed, the food in the Cafe excellent for a fair price. Limited choice, but no problem if you stay only one nite.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    7.1
    Comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They didn’t provide room service. Parking was very difficult to find.

    Comfortable. Good location, especially as we had a view of the Eiffel Tower in the distance from the balcony!! Absolutely fantastic spa.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    10
    Lakeside Luxury
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great spa facilities in a beautiful setting by the lake. Parking is easy in the underground garage and the rooms are comfortable and well equipped even including a kettle which is often missing in French hotels.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    7.5
    A bit disappointed. Not a good price value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a bit old and torn down. We found several pieces of trash on the ground. We expected more for the price. You can only get once into the spa per night you stay. IMHO is the regular price for the spa with 60 EUR too high. Water and air temperature was on the cold side. We were freezing when we get out of the pool.

    Nice location. One entrance for the Casino was included. Breakfast was quite good and they took great care that it was always filled up.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    6.3
    It was nice and lovely area. I was disappointed by the food and cleanliness
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilet paper was like cardboard -- really cheap. The breakfast had powdered eggs and was not very good at all. Poor quality for this rate of hotel.

    I liked the feel of the place. The room was nice as well.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    9.2
    The place is gorgeous; the week-end unbearable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Lake View and Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The incredible number of noisy people in the breakfast room; the vulgarity and total lack of discrétion of many customers.

    The lake view The spa The room

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    5.0
    A most wonderful experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had a wonderful stay and would recommend Hotel du lac to anybody. Only a 10 minute train ride into Paris and so beautiful and peaceful. Would book again there in a heartbeat. Best value hotel in all Paris

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    6.3
    The spa and the view of the second floor hotel rooms were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with Lake View and Spa Access
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I booked a superior room with lake view for a couple's weekend for me and my partner for twi nights. We arrived Friday evening at 21.30 and the room they gave us was on the first floor with no lake view, the view was obstructed by the trees in front of the hotel. So I asked for a change, they told us no rooms were available at the hotel and they took us to another part which was not the hotel at all, called "spark" part, and gave us a room at the corner, with very small windows, cold, and to see the lake you needed to step out on the balcony which was smaller compared to the others. It was too late and we accepted not to change anymore. But in the morning I demaneded a change back to the hotel; the room was impossible to warm up, no light, no view, not at all what I had paid. And after insisting a lot, suddenly there appeared a room on the second floor of the hotel (!) which was not available the night before or the morning. I find it disrespectful to say that a hotel is fully booked when there is a perfectly available room in the conditions the customer has already paid for. Our one night was horrible and the second night was good. Other than this the only recommendation would be to the spa; the warm water pool is very nice but it can be slightly warmer.

    The spa and the view of the second floor hotel rooms were good. (not the spark part, refer to my full comment for the full story please)

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    5.4
    The location of superior comfort room was far away from main...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Lake View and Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location of superior comfort room was far away from main entrance, we had to take two separate elevators to get there, one of them was a staff elevator. There was no internet connection in the room, it took staff few hours to 'fix' it, I had to be calling back to reception constantly myself. After a few hours of waiting, staff of the hotel told me that there is no internet in the whole hotel and that there is nothing they can do. It didn't sound convincing, more as if nobody was trying to solve the problem. So I insisted on the fact that this is unacceptable, and literally in a minute I was proposed to visit another room, even thou the reception was still trying to convince me that there will be no internet connection there either... The second room was fine and looked exactly like on the pictures, with fast speed internet. I asked other guests in the hotel, there was internet problem with rooms which are located further and higher in "new building" To resume: I have a feeling that when you book a superior comfort room with a booking.com "good deal", the hotel will give you the worst room they have. And staff will treat you differently. I find it absolutely unacceptable, when a reception staff is lying to guests about the situation. Ps: second room which was proposed to me wasn't the higher level comfort room. So I wasn't upgraded, I just received surprisingly a better room, which has the same "rating name". Superior comfort room

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    7.9
    A nice weekend getaway
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    I think the A/C in our room did not work and it was a little too warm even with the window open.

    It was perfect for a weekend getaway, the staff were very polite and friendly.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2017

    5.8
    This hotel is why Airbnb is worth 30 billion
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you are a foreigner used to detailed customer service you will be let down. This is a two maybe three star hotel masquerading as a four star hotel. Biggest attraction is spa and it has been closed for renovations. This hotel is why AirBnb is doing so well. Room service and reception don't pick up phones. Not stroller accessible if you have kids.

    Location

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    8.3
    Great stay but attention to detais lacking
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some details. Kettle but no cups, tea or coffee. Mîibar but no drinks or snacks in the minibar. Non-smoking room with the smell of smoke. I Could not really understand why I could order a meal to my room outside regular mealtimes but I could not order in the bar and eat that same meal in the bar. That baffled me somewhat especially for an international brand like Barriere. Apart from those minor points, it was a good stay. i would recommend and return.

    location and very helpful staff. View on lake was an added bonus. The price was reasonable.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    9.6
    All in all a great hotel would visit again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The rear view balcony could have been a bit more welcoming it was surrounded by 6ft high close boarded fence.

    We liked the spa after a busy day. The breakfast was good too. Staff friendly.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    6.3
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant closes too early and no more room service after 10. Had to go find a bar or restaurant nearby to get food, isn't room service supposed to be available 24/7 in a hotel of this standard? I think they take advantage of the great location and not having competition , while they should be caring about optimizing other aspects of the hotel and making the client's stay more enjoyable. Staff can be more welcoming.

    The lake view

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    4.2
    Great location, hotel needs lots of work
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Old fashion rundown hotel, no lift, broken bath, broken shower, uncomfortable bed

    Location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    7.1
    The fact that the conditioning was broken also the lift from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact that the conditioning was broken also the lift from the parking was not working

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    5.0
    Breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Lake View and Spa Access
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Toilet smell in the corridors and forgot to put a baby coat in the bedroom

    Breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    9.6
    Quite Good
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smiling staff good breakfast cleanliness

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    4.6
    Because staff and facilities are sad.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Because staff and facilities are sad. They dont even give tooth brush. Its not worth 170 euros

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    7.9
    Staff in the restaurant is very nice and helpful
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff in the restaurant is very nice and helpful

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    6.7
    Beautiful lake and comfortable stay near the downtown
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Public bathroom was so so. And breakfast didnt change much throughout our 4 day stay

    Very nice rooms with view, very clean, friendly staff

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    7.5
    its ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Lake View and Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    location, cleanliness

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    10
    Good.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with Lake View and Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    Small glasses at breakfast. I like big glasses.

    Pretty nice atmosphere.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    10
    Recommendation
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with Lake View and Spa Access
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very nice . Will stay in here next time

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2016

    10
    Just excellent .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The second swimming pool was close for improvement

    Just excellent .. been there 3 times already and plan for another journey

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2016

    9.6
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was really comfortable, the room was spacious, we were given a cot for our 1y old son and high chair too

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    10
    Oasis in Paris
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nothing

    The hotel was in a great location. The room was perfect with a fantastic view over the lake. The Spa facilities were excellent too

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2016

    7.1
    Very good location, we haven't used the spa but supposed...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We chose a classic room and felt Lille we were sent to the end of the world, we had to take 2 elevators to get there! I assume those "classic rooms" aren't renovated as opposed to the their rooms. Overall felt old, and somehow expensive.

    Very good location, we haven't used the spa but supposed to be good.

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2016

    7.1
    Pleasant staff and a swish reception area.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Breakfast is extra and at 20euros a blow not great value. Rooms a little tatty. If you go specifically for the spa you may be disappointed.

    Pleasant staff and a swish reception area. It has a pool and an enormous jacuzzi thing in the spa. Fast WiFi included. Good shower pressure.

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2015

    10
    We stayed here for two nights, whilst going to a rugby match...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We stayed here for two nights, whilst going to a rugby match in Colombes, (another suburb of Paris). It was great at the end of the day to return to such pretty, tranquil surroundings; the hotel overlooks the lake, is just a couple of minutes away from the small shopping centre and casino, and about ten minutes walk to the station where you can catch the train into Paris. The amazing deal we secured with Booking.com made this great value, but if you don't manage to get that, then the hotel does not represent such good value. All staff were extremely polite and helpful, and breakfast was both plentiful and varied. With the cheapest room, we were overlooking a small side road and houses, which was perfectly fine, but a lake view would be preferable (providing you want to pay top dollar).

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2015

    7.5
    2 single beds wrapped in single sheet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    2 single beds wrapped in single sheet. Felt like sleeping between the edges of two beds all night long. Complained to reception in the morning but my second night was the same. They didn't do anything about it when I ask for queen bed I expect a queen bed not two single beds next to each other.

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2016

    9.6
    Everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Nothing

    Everything

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2016

    8.3
    We enjoyed the spa and fitness room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hotel does need updating

    We enjoyed the spa and fitness room

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2016

    8.8
    Excellent view from the room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Excellent view from the room. ..

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2015

    5.8
    the spa
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the room was very ugly and with old furniture, bed was not really tidy, they forgot our 2 peignoirs and our flip flops

    the spa

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2015

    8.8
    Location, quiet rooms, complimentary bottled water in the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast was expensive so we went out instead

    Location, quiet rooms, complimentary bottled water in the rooms

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2015

    9.2
    Affordable Paris without the usual compromises
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Affordable Paris without the usual compromises

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2015

    8.3
    location and excellent view of the lake
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    location and excellent view of the lake polite staff and very good experience in the big spa area

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2015

    7.1
    LOcation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    elevators and access to different floors is quite difficulty with Luggade

    LOcation

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2015

    9.6
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Had an unpleasant experience at the resto downstairs, but honestly, it's a perfect hotel

    Perfect

There are also 29 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 44

Browse Hôtel Barrière L'Hôtel du Lac traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: