Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hôtel Du Soleil

Rue Du Rempart, 83400 Hyères, France

#26 of 31 hotels in Hyères

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 676 hotel reviews

7.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    6.9

  • Location

    7.3

  • Facilities

    6.7

  • Staff

    7.9

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 44

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2018

    9.6
    We loved loved loved our stay at our little attic room.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved loved loved our stay at our little attic room. The bed was so comfortable and the roof window was a nice touch. The breakfast was good value for the money. The location was super cool, in the old town! We liked everything even though almost no one spoke English.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    9.6
    Charming place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was a little dissapointing for €8.50 one croissant, a coffee and a few bits of bread. We asked for a second croissant but were refused.

    The receptionist was lovely. The hotel and location were were charming. Good value for money.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    8.8
    An attractive hotel with lots to discover nearby.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet was erratic in my room but absolutely fine if I sat in the reception area.

    The location was excellent with lots of interesting places to visit. I was particularly glad to discover Villa Noailles, very close by - a gem of modernist architecture. Staff gave helpful information and tips on how to get around. Hyères old town is a lovely place to explore and the hotel was ideally situated for this.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    4.6
    Not good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a good experience: the owner was not able to charge the card and booking send me an email to add a new card or have the night cancelled but it was just him not doing it right. In addition, once arrived in person he tries to demonstrate that the card was refused but it was obviously accepted. Then it started a conversation about Italian credit cards not working that I found really inappropriate. The maps they sent to reach the location is wrong as due to some roadworks the street is closed so I don't see any point in sending wrong directions. Half of the room is less then 1 meter high and there's no air-conditioning (my fault I didn't check). All the written communication were in French although I reply in English and still the answer was in French (how am I supposed to get the meaning?)

    Location is comfy to go to Port cros and ile du levant

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    7.9
    I arrived late and left early but the breakfast looked great...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I arrived late and left early but the breakfast looked great and the staff were friendly. This old part of town is worth exploring and the Swifts screaming above you. Found a nice bar with live music around corner for a drink before bed. No air con in my small room, but there was a fan in the room, which helped.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    5.0
    The room was large and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Special Offer - Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower door leaked and we had water on the floor. We arrived at 7.30 pm after a long cycle and wanted a coffee only to be told they didn’t serve hot drinks after 6.30pm. Breakfast needed to be ordered the night before but as we were leaving early and it wasn’t available until 8.00 we didn’t have any . The hotel is up a very steep hill, it wasn’t a problem for us but could be for elderly people.

    The room was large and clean. The bed was comfy and the ceiling fan worked well

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    5.4
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have never had wifi in the room 18. The room has problem with the fan in the roof II asked can you change the room and responded the own No . She speaks France only , Told with the administrador I can not sleep well in the bedroom with only one little window . The administrador looked for a ventilator portátil .This situation was embarrassed for me

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    6.3
    Would no stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No parking unless you paid 14€ per night, room very smal only able to get out of one side of double bed as the other side next to wall.. very hot, if you opened the window mozzie came in

    Friendly, helpful receptionist, good location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    6.7
    It would be nice any other week of the year and the location was good, staff were friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The ground floor was being renovated during the most of the week of my stay.

    They responded immediately and effectively to my request to keep the room clean using gentle cleaning methods. The staff were helpful and friendly and I felt it was a safe place to be.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    6.3
    it was good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    hotel parking was full, was not english speaking staff .

    very near the main public place, restaurants and small street markets. very small room on third floor, it was ok, roof window, clean ..

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    6.7
    Good staff - fairly good rooms but improvement needed in bathrooms and really poor breakfast choice
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast choice was poor with just bread, croissant, coffee and jams - no ham, no choice of cheeses, no cereals - Shower could use sliding door rather than curtains

    Really welcoming and smiling staff - The room was decent and comfortable -

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    7.9
    On the whole, good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bedroom en-suite was very crampêd, though quite efficient

    The location was good, ie near to the old town, provided you could handle the steep hill outside! The hotel staff were friendly.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    6.3
    Ok for short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    •hotel a bit outmoded •limited space on parking facilities nearby •hotel is badly soundproofed, room close to stairs very noisy •staff at checkout not available

    •Location of the hotel and sourrounding area

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    2.9
    I do not recok
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would not recommend this hotel. This is a hostel rather than a hotel. I was given an attic room despite the place being almost empty. There was no lift,no air conditioning and absolutely no noise insulation between rooms.The reception was rarely opened.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2017

    5.4
    Not a friendly place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no phone in the room. The girl on reception reluctantly let me use her phone to make one local call. The walls were paper think; we could hear the people in the next room.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2016

    9.2
    Helpful Hostess
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although we arrived at the specified time and despite ringing all bells and phoning the after hours number, we had to wait quite a while before anyone came to help us.This made us nervous as we were wondering what we could do if no-one came.

    Our hostess delightful and friendly and offered lots of help with regard to sights to see and return transport. The property was extremely clean and attractively presented.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2016

    7.9
    We had an upstairs room looking out across the rooftops of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Only come if, like us, you like steep hills (and, if a driver, you are happy to drive congested and narrow town roads).

    We had an upstairs room looking out across the rooftops of Hyeres to the sea in the distance. Generally quiet because at top of steep dead-end narrow road with only gardens above.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    8.3
    Convenient, cute and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very small rooms. But did not need more for my stay.

    Very pittoresque hotel. Close to the center. Staff were nice and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    6.7
    The hotel position in the historical part of the city
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast, no view from the room, the bad sound insulation

    The hotel position in the historical part of the city

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    9.2
    Situation charme
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pas de clim mais ventilateurs

    Situation charme

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    7.5
    The hotel was nice and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Special Offer - Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a little bit little.

    The hotel was nice and clean. Very sweet building. Tere is parking but has to pay extra.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    6.7
    Nice location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was a bit hard to find. And there was no air conditioning.

    Nice location. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    9.2
    Nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice location, walking distance to the center. Cute room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    8.8
    It's worth to stay here
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Just one bathroom with the shower

    The position (you cannot be more central), cleanness and the comfort of the beds

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    8.8
    Excellent value for money in a charming, well located hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    WiFi was slow

    Great location. Charming little hotel. Newly renovated. Large, well equipped room. Friendly and efficient staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    7.9
    Low key, helpful people.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Low key, helpful people. It is a relaxing environment.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2016

    9.2
    Stayed for a weekend (couple in our 60's), early April...
    • Couple

    Stayed for a weekend (couple in our 60's), early April as family live nearby so excellent location and able to park car in secured area as we know street parking/access normally difficult. Staff so kind and helpful, lovely breakfast. Comfortable,very clean room and small en-suite. Was perfect for us on this occasion and we would stay again but maybe not in high summer. Thank you

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2016

    6.3
    Clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Default checking hours of 17:00 - 19:30 seem to be the standard in the area, but are very impractical for road trips. Staff we called about sorting out the late arrival didn't speak English. Rooms and bathrooms tiny, no lift, so don't bring too much luggage. Wifi was flaky.

    Clean. Nice view and town. Parking available close by. Driving up to the hotel is fun.

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2015

    6.3
    Small hotel, accessible, though not especially so to busy...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Hours of the reception are quite limited, or are said to be so. Sometimes it was actually staffed when they were not advertised as being so.

    Small hotel, accessible, though not especially so to busy parts of Hyeres.

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2015

    7.5
    Breakfast on the terrace and the fact that it was close to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    No air con. It was very hot and the hotel couldn't even supply a fan for the room which made for a couple of very uncomfortable nights.

    Breakfast on the terrace and the fact that it was close to old town but in a quiet area.

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2015

    7.5
    Location very good for town centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very small room wouldn't really be suitable for a long stay. No air-conditioning and sun all day, so very hot in high summer. WiFi did not reach to top floor rooms. At least a fan would have been a help.

    Location very good for town centre. Breakfast outside very good. Staff very pleasant.

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2015

    4.6
    close to town centre friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the noise was terrible all night people outside smoking making a racket then came inside, carried on making noise, scooters outside seemed like students they carried on and on and early morning no air con so had to have the window open, was very smoky

    close to town centre friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2015

    4.6
    Absence of air-conditioning combined with very hot...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Absence of air-conditioning combined with very hot building/room + with opened windows you hear all night carsgoing around with maximum volume music on. Noise insulation within the hotel itself is very poor - during the night you hear everything what's going on. What's worse - your small kid hear it too and it's very akward.

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2015

    9.6
    Staff are friendly, Very comfortable and nice design room,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Staff are friendly, Very comfortable and nice design room, clean room 5+, nice bed and good wifi connectivity. Superb breakfast Parking available 10 euro. Close to the Town Centre and various sightseeing, Villa Noailles. etc. I will come back again.

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2016

    9.6
    Lovely firm bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Lovely firm bed. Nice and clean. Helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2016

    2.5
    cat in the breakfast room
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    small expensive,not very clean, stuff not very friendly,location,car parking very expensive...

    cat in the breakfast room

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2015

    6.7
    Friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    bathroom too small and lacked privacy. No headroom near beds. Very cramped sleeping area.

    Friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    7.5
    Cleanliness.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Situated very close to the old town but very steep to walk.

    Cleanliness. excellent breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2015

    7.1
    Cool location near the medieval part of the city
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Cool location near the medieval part of the city

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2015

    10
    Beautiful former villa;
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Beautiful former villa; very comfortable room. Owner is absolutely lovely and the breakfast is good (on the lovely terrace!).

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2015

    9.2
    It's closed to a very nice art museum on the mountain...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    It's closed to a very nice art museum on the mountain top, nice view and friendly staff : )

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    10
    Great location in old town -pleasantly untouristy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Great location in old town -pleasantly untouristy.

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2015

    7.5
    Excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Very small room. Thin walls that do not filtrate noise from the neighbouring room.

    Excellent location.

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    9.2
    NO WI-FI
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    NO WI-FI NO AIR CLIMATISEE

There are also 12 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 44

Guests also reviewed these properties: