Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hôtel Le Royal Promenade des Anglais 3 stars

23, Promenade Des Anglais, 06000 Nice, France

#140 of 169 hotels in Nice

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2505 hotel reviews

7.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.2

  • Comfort

    7

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    6.5

  • Staff

    7.5

  • Value for money

    6.6

  • Free WiFi

    7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    3.8
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    This was the worst hotel experience we have had in many, many years. We had a bad impression as soon as we stepped from the taxi and this was only reinforced by the tired, out-of-date foyer and surly reception staff dressed more for a beach party than a hotel reception. The whole establishment was dirty, smelly, untidy and in desperate need of refurbishment. We had to move from our first room after one night as it had a filthy, stained carpet, tattered bedsheets and a bed that looked like it had been made up by a small child. They laughingly describe this as their "deluxe" room option. We tried to move rooms as soon as we saw the first room we were allocated but were shown 2 more rooms that were no better and so had to wait until the next night when there was more availability. The room we eventually settled on was only slightly better in terms of cleanliness and hygiene and had a very out-of-date bathroom with an atrocious shower and inadequate shower enclosure that resulted in water all over the bathroom floor following any shower. We ventured into the breakfast buffet one morning during our stay and after a look around for a couple of minutes swiftly left without having anything. The last time we saw anything as bad as this restaurant was a motorway service station in the 1980s. It was absolutely filthy dirty with grease and crumbs on EVERY table and all over the floor. Cutlery and napkins were strewn on the floor. No fresh coffee was available, only machine coffee and this did not have a cappuccino option. There was debris and dirt in the fruit bowls. The maitre d' seemed absolutely oblivious to the mess and his unfriendly staff could not possibly have shown any less enthusiasm for the task. If this is the state of the restaurant, goodness knows what it is like in the kitchen. It was absolutely shocking.

    Location.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    5.8
    The location is very nice, the facilities need to be updated.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room City Side
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room did not smell good. The bathtub would not drain. The accommodations are very old and need a remodel.

    The location was great. Nice places to eat are close by. The beaches are beautiful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    3.8
    poor
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room City Side
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I paied a lot of money for a thing that was no value enough, there were better hotels for similar money, the bed was small ( it was supposed to be double and it was just for 1 person), there was humidity smell in the corridors, and the hotel is too much vintage, and not well manteined. The pictures in booking are too much better than the reality, When I went to complain about the room they were not so much kind and at the beginning there was no solution for the request, I needed to push a lot to have a room change. (I wont come again.

    The location is nice, its accessible and lots of places nearby

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    3.3
    Old/Dirty/ Overpriced Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room City Side
    • Stayed 1 night

    A/C wasn't working correctly (always hot in the room). TV wasn't working. Dirty carpets & stained extra blanket. Old overpriced hotel. Staff wasn't friendly. Didn't want to accept any complains. Waste of money!!!

    Old unkept hotel. Needs serious renovation. Overpriced for what they offer. Unfriendly staff!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    6.7
    Close to the Nice old town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Towels. Lack of tea making facilities in the room.

    A great location with very helpful reception staff. Timely cleaning of room although the towels could have been a little larger.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    4.6
    Disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room City Side
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our city view room was extremely disappointing, I requested a double bed when booking a week earlier, receptionist was rather rude when I asked to have a double bed made. The room was very tired, tiles falling off the walls in the bathroom, mold on the shower curtains, crappy toilet paper like that in public toilets. It was nothing like the photos for a highly priced room :(

    Location. The entry looks lovely

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    2.5
    Don't get fooled- the pictures will fool you. Look at customer posted photos instead to see
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room City Side
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very dumb receptionists. Bad service all around.

    Breakfast- but don't get fooled by these ratings on this website. I rated everything below satisfactory and the lowest score I am able to give is 2.5 - If I apply good location. the location would drive up the score to close to 4. This is exactly how I was fooled into believing this was a good hotel.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    3.8
    Not worth the money, poor service and old inconvenient rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room City Side
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The service we received was pretty poor. We were not even greeted whenever we approached guest services. They were rude and not nice. The hotel was super dated. We didnt even have an outlet in the restroom! also, no mirror in the bedroom so when my partner was using the restroom i had no where else to do my hair or makeup. the shower pressure was horrible, the carpet was 3 different faded colors. The AC BARELY worked so many nights we woke up from being hot. Most of the guests were 65+ years old as well.

    it was quiet and a good location on the strip.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    4.6
    Location was the only positive about this place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room city side
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was generally very old, and I mean old in every aspect, including the building, the room, bathroom, bed and even the towels. Nothing seemed to be very clean and the staff were kind of okay and used to the complaints. Overall I would not stay at this hotel again and would not recommend it. Oh and they ask you to pay for your entire stay at check in which I thought was kind of odd.

    Location was the only positive about this place.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    3.3
    Awful experience! Avoid at all cost!!! Unless you want a good location, right in front of the beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very old and dated hotel. Booked 2 rooms. One with a tub and old shower curtain, the other one with a shower - and broken shower door. Everything in our rooms were really in need of repair, from broken and cracked tiles in the bathroom, AC not working properly, dirty carpet thinned out with stains everywhere, unable to lock doors to bathroom, no ventilation in bathroom. Mold on bathroom ceiling. Old ripped bed sheets, with stains. No tissue provided. No fridge in rooms. Very inconvenient when you have a toddler in need of cold milk. No disturb sign in our room and staff opening the door to our room, early in the morning, waking us up.

    Nothing!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    6.0
    Battery TV- Controller- damaged/must change.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room City Side
    • Stayed 1 night

    Battery TV- Controller- damaged/must change. Air Condition- no function- maybe battery also has to change there, or it only does not in function? Bath room- electricity Box open, maybe other rooms has the same

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    8.3
    Location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room city side
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The concierge on arrival gave me someone elses passport and seemed aloof. He didn't apologize when I checked. It concerned me as it was not only a breach of privacy, imagine I did not check and went to the airport with someone else passport and vice versa!

    Location!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    7.5
    Basic room at a decent price for a great lication
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room city side
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were no plug ins anywhere in room or bathroom. No fridge or coffee supplies. Had to go to a different floor to iron.

    Centrally located. Beach across the street and many restaurants within walking distance. Good wifi

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    7.5
    A bit tired, shabby, and dirty, but ok if you want a budget chess right I’m
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room city side
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air con not cold enough and my bed was two single mattresses together with a join in middle. Shower over bath had no curtain and the place needed a super good clean.

    Closeness to town and beach was great

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    8.3
    Good historic hotel with perfect location at the beach in Nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room city side
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The pillows were poor and the bed acceptable but not excellent in any way.

    This is one of the very old historic hotels in Nice. Perfect location and interesting interior. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    10
    Good location for traveling.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very bad customer service at booking.com!!! They sent me cancel order information before one week. But they kept my payment and order indeed. So I lost almost 1000 Euro due to doublicate booking rooms at other hotel. And they refused to take any responsibility. You can check attached images for our communicaion vis booking.com.

    Good location for traveling.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    5.8
    location close to the beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room city side
    • Stayed 1 night

    staff unresponsivel do not acknowledge you. sat in bar, no service... water temperature in shower problematic.. from too hot to too cold. small room... minimal comfort. lobby not airconditioned...

    location close to the beach. old style hotel..charming

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    4.6
    Rede reception staff in the night
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room City Side
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Gentleman Staff At reception at 11pm was very rude..unaccomodative of our concerns...not able to answer why there was a extra bed and who will remove or why window open therefore no airconditing in the hot summar on arrival in the room etc..need improvement.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    3.8
    It was the worst experience I’ve ever had
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room City Side
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cleanliness, the hotel is old not renovated, the smelling is very bad, water leaking from the roof, the carpet full of dirty marks, the bathroom was not clean, and so on...

    It was the worst experience I’ve ever had

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    9.2
    Amazing location right opposite the public beach and beach...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room City Side
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing location right opposite the public beach and beach clubs. Walking distance to the train station and the old town and very easy to pick up the airport bus. Rooms and simple but clean.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    4.6
    We will definitely not be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room City Side
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel is very run down and most staff seem very indifferent in their dealings with guests. Having travelled around Europe and stayed at many hotels this is by far the worst. Way overpriced!

    The location close to the beach

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    5.8
    The location was perfect and amazing view.
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Is an old type of hotel and and need new things and new decoration because you feel the old.

    The location was perfect and amazing view. Also big rooms and good food.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    5.4
    Should have booked else where
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Untilll we walked inside . It was like walking back in time into something that would have have been beautiful in its day but let run down. Shame The rooms smelt something between mould and cigarette smoke. The pillows were quite pathetic . Breakfast was slightly poor

    I loved the look of the hotel ???.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    7.9
    Excellent location and best quality-price ratio for the breackfast served in the area.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room City Side
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very small rooms, and bathrooms need a refresh. Restaurant (lunch and supper) - I did not like the meals.

    I stayed- all in all- 8 days (2 back-to-back stays of 1 and 6 nights). Excellent location and best quality-price ratio in the area for breakfast. Clean, but small room. Reception Desk personnel: some of them are knowledgeable and helpfull while others have no client approach. I met there their newly appointed manager, who has an excellent managerial approach and during his stay at the property things considerably improoved

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    7.5
    Great hotel, lovely bar and outside seating area. Professional helpful staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room city side
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a little noisy on my corridor with guests but it was a Saturday night so expected.

    The location was excellent and the staff friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    6.3
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old hotel , Rooms have been renovated but the old the doors hardly closes. Empty fridge not even water. This is not normal for a 253 euro room.

    Location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    7.9
    The bed room was air conditioned and the cleaning staff were...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room City Side
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The card to the room stopped working during our stay. The common areas were not air conditioned - it was hot!

    The bed room was air conditioned and the cleaning staff were friendly.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    4.2
    not worthy
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    1. When i arrived at the room, the door was opened, do not know why ???? 2. The inside security lock not working at all 3, In the morning, the cleaner knocked the door at 8am, 10amm we told the lady on the front desk and she did not say one word to me at all.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    9.2
    Amazing views and location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room city side
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Front desk staff was not quick, responsive or friendly. The bathrooms did not have shower curtains which means the water goes all over the floor when you are finished bathing.

    The manager was very customer service friendly, professional, and responsive to my changing needs and request to move rooms to adapt to the unforeseen increase in the number of guests with me. The hotel is very centrally located to the beach and the city center. If you stay in this hotel it's well worth upgrading to a beachfront room with a terrace. Amazing views of the water.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    5.4
    Frustrating because had stayed last year. Bette Davis would definitely rate it "What a DUMP"
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room City Side
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Never again! Jamais plus! It is indicative of all the problems of Nice - the poor customer service, the bandaid on an amputee approach to maintenance. We had three rooms - Let's make a TOP 7: 1. One room changed rooms 3 times in 12 hours - first room had an ugly shower room disabled bathroom, then the next room had to be changed as the drain flooded the room beneath. Final room and mind you these are the expensive ones had poor AC - we could compare with the other rooms we had. 2. Stained carpet in all rooms 3. A random number of towels appeared and disappeared each day, maybe the cleaners have some secret code they are leaving - so you have to go begging at the desk for an additional towel. 4. Breakfast room no AC so if it is a hot day its very humid and steamy and the 15 Euro breakfast is not worth it as you can go to lovely places for omelets and fresh bread for same or less. 5. The bar has a great location but the service is weird - we had three different sized Spritzes on the same day and for 9 Euros for a bad French Spritz that's saying a lot. Also, the snacks depended on the barman's mood - a teeeny tiny bowl of crackers or sometimes if you were lucky a few olives. 6. Key cards needed to be updated every few days as would mysteriously stop working. 7. Poor desk staff - just one person doing everything and when there were two one was usually being berated by angry guests about the latest litany of complaints. This hotel was probably better before the so-called renovation!

    The location is the only good thing you can say about this dump. Never again! Jamais plus! It is indicative of all the problems of Nice - the poor customer service, the bandaid on an amputee approach to maintenance.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    5.4
    it could be better,
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room City Side
    • Stayed 5 nights

    old hotel, small rooms, no minibar, staff were not so friendly, too much money for small expectations

    location is great on the beach and near to city center

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    7.1
    We had a good stay but the staff need to react faster to sort problems
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room City Side
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They gave us the key for a room were people was still staying in , then they gave us a room were the floor carpets was still wet . At the end their manager came and she opened for us a proper room, thanks for the upgraded room

    The location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    5.0
    If you wanna enjoy your holiday, don't book there
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room City Side
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was quiet smelly, old and not well maintanaced. The breakfast was really poor. Wouldn't book there again. Some ladies at the reception didn't understand English properly.

    The best about the hotel was the location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    7.9
    Location, the sea view, the beaches.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They don’t provide the guests with the correct informations which they need to move around like which bus number to use or train, other hotels explains everything to the guest when you handed over the room’s keys, the breakfast very poor.

    Location, the sea view, the beaches.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    6.7
    Very nice location, but not a quality room. Decent price for what was paid for.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room City Side
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I thought the room was very outdated and could have been cleaner (bed decoration pillows were dirty).

    The location was nice, and was very easy to walk to the beach, bars, markets and restaurants. There was a few parking options near by.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    3.3
    location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room City Side
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    everything is bad, no any facility available, rude staff, rooms very small and not clean, the AC very hot and all the lambs in the room were broken!!! also there is not any coffee tools available in the room ,,, the staff are rude they don’t have any respect and polite way to act they don’t serve you, you have to do everything alone even taking the luggages the worst hotel I have visit in my life

    location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    7.9
    Ideal Nice overnigher
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nil

    Location! Right on the promenade we strolled across the road, had a swim, had a drink and dinner on the beach. Also easy to park plus only 7ks from airport! An ideal Nice overnighter!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    7.1
    Enjoyable because of the location. The property is old but adequate.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room City Side
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The property is showing its age. The breakfast was very ordinary and just adequate.

    The location was great and the staff were helpful and friendly. The room was large.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    9.2
    Considering the price it is good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room City Side
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It looked slightly tired reagarding the decoration

    Breakfast excellent,very good value for money. Excellent location .Easy to get by public transport from the AirPort.Hotel just across the Road from the busstop

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    9.6
    Well located hotel excellent value for money
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really - you get excellent value in a great location

    This hotel offers excellent value for money in a truly wonderful location - right overlooking the sea. Locations don’t get better than this.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    7.1
    Good beach location, along the main strip, definitely a 3 star hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room didn't seem to be as clean as it could have been. Staff was O.K.

    Seaview from room was great. Room was very spacious. Bathroom was very accommodating. Stay included breakfast. We were walking distance to most everything.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    10
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The entrance area needs a bit of sprucing up

    Had a lovely sea facing room with French balcony. Room had obviously been recently refurbished, was very spacious and had a large bathroom. It exceeded my expectations.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    5.4
    It was central for the sites in nice and close to port
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was shower toilet sink in one room, the shower didn’t drain away and the water went all round by the toilet and didn’t drain away well at all

    It was central for the sites in nice and close to port

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    6.3
    Loved our stay in Nice and will definitely go back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room City Side
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were very disappointed with our city view room but fortunately managed to get an upgrade to a lovely room at the front but obviously had to pay the difference. Entrance and bar areas not inviting and with little effort and cost could look so much better.

    The hotel was in fantastic location and we just loved walking along the Promenade. Breakfast was adequate for us but could have been improved. Although right on the promenade it was very quiet at night.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    8.8
    Very good in general.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The light in single bedroom isn’t very bright and the space is tiny.

    Very good in general. The twin-bed bedroom is big enough and the sea view is absolutely gorgeous!! We’re given a room on fifth floor, which is the highest floor with a balcony. I do recommend this hotel to everyone who wants a nice accommodation in Nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    4.2
    old building, lack of maintenance.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    old building, lack of maintenance. The bathroom was impractical due to a strong smell of sewage. The breakfast was simply ridiculous as quality. Indecent price quality ratio

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    8.8
    Very classical hotel, in a beautiful building.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room City Side
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast would be nice to have more variety especially vegetables and fruits. Hotel response:

    Very classical hotel, in a beautiful building. Beautiful location. Easy to reach: 15 min walking from train station, 20 to the port. Airport bus almost stops in front.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    4.2
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room City Side
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was smelly, very basic, unclean, curtains didn’t fit so left a huge gap. Cigarette stubs on the window ledge, two very small rough towels - basically a terrible place and the pictures you see online are false! Shocking end to a fabulous break 😡

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    7.9
    You could not ask for a better location on the Promenade,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bar/cafe area could be more welcoming and comfortable. Bar shuts at 10.30pm

    You could not ask for a better location on the Promenade, the view from seaview rooms was splendid and appreciated by all in our party lucky enough to have one. Hotel is dated but being worked on, so I'm sure will improve more, but still presents good value for money. Le Galet and Beau Rivage beach clubs for dining out and Castel for daytime recommended. Do not order a grand beer at Queenies next door!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    6.7
    Happy enough.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room city side
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The accommodation is relatively basic, but adequate for a weekend away with friends. I wouldn't stay here with my wife, though - too basic.

    The location is good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    8.8
    This is a typical historic French hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room City Side
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lower floors a bit noisy during the night. Air con in room not very effective in lower floor rooms

    This is a typical historic French hotel. Bit quirky and certainly not the glass and chrome of the modern hotel chains. A bit clumbly and old fashioned but that’s part of the charm. All staff really helpful and polite made very welcome. Breakfast is ample and has a nice selection. Again not a Mercure or Novotel magnificent feast you can’t eat but plenty. And yes the coffee if from a machine. So what it tastes good. Our first night was in a superior room on the top floor which was fabulous and 5 star. We had this as a last minute adjustment due to a cancelled flight. Our next 2 nights on third floor. Rooms much smaller but comfortable and more noisy due to floor sounds above and doors banging.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    9.2
    Oh I do like to be beside the Sea!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The towels, sheets, crockery etc were less than sparkling. Not dirty by any means but a little below par - stained tea cups and off-white towels.

    Smashing location, sandwiched between the Casino and Le Negresco, and right on the Promenade Des Anglais. Sea view terraced room well worth paying for - as the receptionist said to me, "It wakes you up happy!"

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    7.5
    Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I would have liked better service at the bar. I would also have liked a kettle and coffee making facility in the room

    The view was great and staff was friendly and helpfull

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    8.3
    Amazing view!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast options were somewhat limited. The offering was continental but lacked many healthy options such as poached eggs etc

    The bed was very comfy and the view of the sea was excellent. The staff were very friendly and courteous.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    8.3
    Great location, excellent view, nice rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows weren’t as fluffy as we like them, but that was a theme throughout France, not hotel specific!

    Nice, clean hotel with a terrific view. The rooms were spacious and clean. The hotel staff were pleasant and helpful. Good proximity to the town centre/old town. The promenade is the place to be in Nice (in my opinion) so it’s perfectly located. Wasn’t beach weather when we were there, but it looked like prime position for the beach clubs during summer. Good restaurants within walking distance along the promenade. Reasonable walk from the main Nice station - we were a bit ambitious wheeling our big bags along the street, but it only took 15 mins - can easily get a cab from the station instead!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    5.4
    The hotel is stuck in the 60/70's and in urgent need of a full renovation.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room city side
    • Stayed 3 nights

    When you enter the lobby you wonder which year is it. Many things broken in the bathroom (shower, toilet dripping, hairdryer loose pieces). The breakfast buffet did not have enough variety. Overall expensive for what you get.

    The location, it's right in the Promenade des Anglais

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    7.5
    Lady working front desk in the morning was very helpful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room City Side
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only one person on duty in the bar during afternoon & evening. Bartender taking orders & making drinks. He was not a happy person.

    Lady working front desk in the morning was very helpful & friendly. Great location, walking distance to shopping, beach, restaurants. Older hotel, rooms bigger than most European hotels. If you are looking for convenient location with low rates, this is your place. It's not luxury, but comfortable. Upgrade to a water view. Rooms are nicer.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    9.6
    Great experience with Le Royal Hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The air conditioning was not chill enough, as summer can be really warm.

    Great experience with Le Royal Hotel. The location is so amazing! It's just in front of the beach and many restaurants/cafes that are just next to or nearby the hotel. The staffs are also very friendly and helpful. Check in & check out are quick with no issue.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    7.9
    Enjoyed our stay but the room rates are overpriced especially for the time of year.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room City Side
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    First room that booked was nearly £1,000 for 7 nights and was dark and smelt and needed upgrading.Had to pay another 280 euro to upgrade

    Good breakfast and staff ,upgraded room seafront but came at a cost when was available.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    5.4
    Terrible value for money in fantastic location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Really dreadful value for money. Vastly overpriced for what is a rather sad and tired establishment. Paint work in places was crumbling. Decor in rooms was drab considering the location. Rooms painted in sad colours. Dining room was mournful. Breakfast was very poor considering the price paid. Coffee was from a machine. No comfortable seating area in foyer. Bar area had seats/tables I would expect in a staff canteen. In this location the hotel should have had a MUCH higher spec.

    The position / location of the hotel

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    2.5
    Stay here if you want to pay 3⭐️ price for 1⭐️hôtel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The aircon was not working and we were not advised about this on checking in, tired and hot after our journey. When I complained to the night manager the response was arrogant and dismissive “this is a 100 year old hotel, you have to understand we change over from heating to cooling one day a year. Open your windows and get the sea breeze”. Right... and the noise of music, motor bikes, partying all night. I asked for a fan. “Sorry don’t have”. I saw also a recent review that a guest had received the same reply 2 weeks earlier so they are very consistent with their story There were only 2 lumpy pillows in room, no hand towels or water. Definitely don’t stay. We cancelled our last night even though we had paid.

    The location was the only plus. Right opposite the beach on the Promenade.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    10
    The view of my room was excellent and the room is very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some places are slightly old but doesn’t affect anything. The elevators are quite small but there are 2 so it’s still good enough.

    The view of my room was excellent and the room is very spacious. Staff were very nice and the room is very clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    5.8
    Decayed elegance, never again until the decorators have been in !!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room City Side
    • Stayed 2 nights

    NoAir Conditioning. I was told " we are in the winter "( April 14, 24 deg. C) but there was no heating either! Lock on bedroom door broken. " we don't have such locks" Greasy grime in bathroom and bedroom, chronic under-cleaning. One bedside lamp. ? fight it out. This hotel would appear to be 3-star, but it would perhaps make 2.

    Generous Lobby space, bars and Dining room though the latter had seen better days, the ceiling plaster was boarded, presumably to prevent the plaster from falling on the punters. Breakfast was very good, so good that I saw people preparing their lunch sandwiches !!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    6.7
    It was okay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room City Side
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked a double room and at first they said they didnt have a double room to give us when we arrived so they would push two single beds together but then after a while they gave us a double bed which we had originally booked. Breakfast wasnt great! The cooked breakfast was cold.

    Good location and staff are very friendly!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    4.2
    The location was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room City Side
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Completely overpriced for what it was. A very outdated and old hotel/building. We received a very poor room for the price we paid, totally not worth the stay, would save my money and stay somewhere with a poorer location but cleaner facilities.

    The location was good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    3.8
    Do not stay at this hotel if you are looking for comfort or basic amenities .
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room City Side
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This hotel has to be the worst hotel I have stayed in. On the outside it appears modern and trendy with bizarre statues, but the rooms wouldn't have looked out of place in a cheap backpacker's hotel.The first room stank of disinfectant. We insisted on a change of room and the second wasn't much better. So basic ,no amenities, no English speaking TV channels. the promised city view was of a woman in the flat opposite changing cat litter. It was so bad we cancelled our second night and flew home early.

    The only positive I can say about this hotel is that it had free wi-fi.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    7.9
    Great location - old fashioned hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room City Side
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We were of 5th Floor (Room 528) on our first night and my husband couldn't sleep because of extremely loud pipes rattling overhead. At first we thought it was workmen drilling but it continued throughout the night. The staff were very good about moving us the next day to a much quieter room.

    Location was excellent - a short walk to the Old City and tons of lovely restaurants nearbyWe

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    3.8
    Awful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room City Side
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property was AWFUL. We instantly left the property and booked a new hotel because this one was absolutely unacceptable. The photos look NOTHING like the hotel so much that it is extreme false advertising. They should be forced to re do images to more accurately represent the hotel because it was god awful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    5.8
    Not usual gentleman in front bar. His replacement scared me to death.I feared for my life!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room city side
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast choices seem to run out quite quickly. I'm generally there around 8.45am so shouldn't be a problem. I choose breakfast included option when booking but would not be happy paying €15 pp otherwise.

    Accommodation as expected. I stay here every other month.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    7.9
    Convenient and comfy hotel. Good value for money considering location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some areas of the hotel could do with a lick of paint ie breakfast room. No English speaking news channel on the TV.

    Room big and clean. Location of hotel 10 min walk to train station. Bus stops very near hotel. Good choice of things for breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    4.2
    Horrible
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room city side
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The lobby looked like an assisted living community center with pool table bare table and chairs where senior citizens playing cards. No bellman, no uniforms on reception staff, and it was noisy and loud.

    Nothing the photos on the website are not the rooms we were shown. A true misrepresentation

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    4.6
    This hotel is certainly 3 star and was very poor value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room City Side
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is very tired. Bedrooms and bathroom of poor quality. Shower in bath with poor flow of water. Cracked tiles on bathroom floor. Worn out towels. Pillows lumpy!

    Staff friendly and helpful except the man serving in the bar was cranky and very irritable

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    5.0
    Room was lovely - sea view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was very poor , tea cups were dirty . Could only get hot water for tea from Expresso machine so tea tasted tainted by coffee

    Room was lovely - sea view

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    7.1
    Room was fabulous. Location great. One or two improvements required.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was poor. Hot food ran out and took a long time before any of it was replaced if at all. On two of our four days we had to clear tables ourselves before we could sit down. Had it been better we might have booked the restaurant for our evening dinner. However, based on the breakfast experience we went out instead. It was a pity that there were no English speaking TV channels. It would be good to have tea/coffee making facilities in the room.

    Room was great: just as shown in the photos. It was clean and comfortable with a fabulous view of the sea and promenade. The room was spacious and very nicely decorated.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    7.1
    Excellent location, great views from seaview room although hotel need to provide more room amenities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No Iron, No water in room. Mini bar empty. No English TV channels, No lock on doors from the inside. Squeeky doors.

    Got upgraded to Executive suite, great views, massive balcony (for us). Large room, staff were helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: