Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Arena 4 stars

Rue de General de Gaulle 145, 83600 Fréjus, France

#15 of 22 hotels in Fréjus

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 260 hotel reviews

7.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.7

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    8.1

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.1

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 41

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Only mild criticism: VERY noisy, not very effective fixed-to-wall hairdrier in the bathroom.

    The hotel kindly upgraded as we were staying 6 nights so had sitting room separated from bedroom with sliding doors; VERY nicely designed bathroom; excellent, controllable, instantly hot shower. Separate WC with washbasin. Plenty of thick absorbant towels. Efficient kettle provided. EXCELLENT breakfast with a wide selection of fresh fruits & cereals; slices of pineapple, large strawberries & mixed fruit salad; orange juicer as well as pulp-free juice; smoked salmon, cold meats & cheese; lovely freshly baked breads, croissants etc. Good coffee machine as well as pre-prepared coffee. Boil your own eggs system; scrambled egg/bacon/pancakes provided too. Staff friendly, very helpful & willing to find answers to questions if they didn't immediately know the answer. We ate in the hotel restaurant twice: not an extensive menu, but delicious French style cooking & very nicely presented and served. Pretty little garden & pool (though too cold for these two 'oldies' to be tempted in!)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Duplex Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel has a great location. You have nice restaurants near the hotel. The hotel has a pool and a private parking. The staff is very friendly. The rokm was big and clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Traditional Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I travel a lot and if there’s one thing I hate it’s a cold shower, especially in winter. The staff didn’t care at all when I raised this issue and I didn’t even get an apology. My advice would be to avoid.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked a double privilege room, when we arrived we were given a twin room, which the receptionist stated that is how we call our double rooms. I was unhappy about this explaination as a twin room on booking.com is clearly explained as 2 single beds. Had the twin room been the only option then I would have not booked the hotel Arena and booked somewhere else! We were also told they had no other rooms as we only booked the same day! We felt tied because it was too late to book anywhere else.

    NIce hotel well situated in Frejus centre.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Duplex Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place is not accessible by car which is normal in mediaval fortenesse. But you have to carry your baggage.

    Very special atmosphere of old mediaval city. Nice little swimming pool, very refreshing. Friendly staff. Nice rooms with airco.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    • Group
    • Traditional Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    I did not like the hand held shower which not only washed me but the bathroom floor!! my one and only 'moan'

    It was convenient to centre of town, the train and bus station but most important for me, it was close to my son's apartment. The food was excellent both for breakfast on the terrace and in the restaurant for dinner. It was lovely to relax by the pool each afternoon after sightseeing the surrounding area

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    staff really helpful and spoke good English, but were more than happy with try and understand our attempts at speaking French. good breakfast and dinner

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Arrived very late around 1:00am, asked for checkout an hour later (normal checkout 12:00 there), so I could sleep longer - they agreed 1:30pm which was more than I needed, but then woke me up around 10:00am in the morning to tell me I needed to checkout by 12 after all, as the hotel was 'full'. Since clients are not typically able to get into hotel rooms before 2-3:00pm and the cleaning materials were literally sitting 'waiting' outside our room at 11:00am, it felt like they were simply prioritising their own schedule rather than the clients'. There would have been plenty of time at 1:30 to get the room cleaned, and even if they had a particularly slow cleaner, I thought they could still have asked the incoming clients coming to wait (as I have done on many occasions) rather than waking an existing client already in the room, breaking an earlier commitment. My son's breakfast (he ate earlier on his own) was also fairly poor - too little water to boil the eggs, scrambled eggs too fatty, very limited cereal selection, coffee cold. Disappointing all round, but they did refund my son's breakfast bill.

    Decor

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was te hard

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Duplex Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower fixing broken

    Beautiful setting, lovely garden, family rooms available

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Minimal activity by the housekeeping staff. The bed was made but no other cleaning in the bathroom.

    Large rooms including a very large bathroom.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Traditional Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Large variety of choice

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    small rooms

    pleasant staff

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Duplex Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room a little cramped

    Super family room

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Access because of road works but they will end soon .

    Warm welcome , very organised and comfortable. Amazing breakfast , interesting and plentiful

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Old facility to be refurbished !

    Location close to ancient town center

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the bedroom was horrible and dated, plus at the pool you were not allowed to buy a drink even water!

    The pool and location

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Duplex Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast - express was too expensive for what you received

    Spacious room, nice pool, good location close to old town centre

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Minor point .. would like more tea, coffee and small milk or cream for room.

    The staff were particularly friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Most of the staff... Not very polite

    Very beautiful garden and pool, Great atmosphere.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Being able to stay another night and enjoy the fantastic restaurant!!!

    Everything was just right. Staff most helpful and accommodating. Restaurant was truly one of the best during our 3-week trip through France to Cinque Terre/Portofino...incredible fillet of beef, and an even better slow roasted lamb that melted in your mouth.

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room was outdated and bathroom needed renovating for a 4 star hotel, the guy on the desk our last day was good. The woman who ran Restsurant was rude n not helpful when it came to menu and because we did not speak French I think that was her problem

    Don't know how it got 4 star rating 2 star at the most. Girl at front trying to be helpful wad hopeless didn't know name of streets did not offer a map and knew very little

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nothing it was all fine and makes a good value hotel close to St Tropez, Cannes etc

    The excellent option of a small coffee and croissant breakfast served to you in a small dining room away from the main breakfast room. Good secure parking for 12 Euros a day.

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It is not easy to understand the Menu for the restaurant. Even the receptionist couldn't explain so although we had planned to eat there we had a change of plan and ate out at some of the many little restaurants in Frejus!

    A lovely comfortable, interesting Hotel. Fantastic location in the old town and nextdoor to the station. As we were travelling around France by train it was a good choice. Nice outside sitting areas and a gated pool. Helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    A fridge and tea/coffee machine in the room would be very handy for longer stays. Breakfast and restaurant expensive. Rooms were a little rudimentary for a four star.

    Beautiful garden, pool and terrace. Excellent location in the Old Town, just across from the station. Very friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Dinner with friends in the hotel, we were ten minutes to early for ordering drinks, they did not serve yet, other guests, who appeared later were serverd earlier, we did not get bread and olives, they forgot to bring beer and our ordered bottle of wine.. I gave them € 20.- pourboire but actually not deserved.

    Comfortable, nice and beautiful ambiance, privacy.

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The charges for breakfast was expensive at 15 euros each and parking charges of 12 euros per night was excessive. People hogging the pool area and taking up the sun loungers with towels even when not present.

    Staff were very helpful and polite, the location of the hotel to the old town was great.

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The menu of the restaurant was presented in a very confusing way. We needed a lot of explanation. They should make it more comprehensive!

    The garden and The Pool arena was fantastic! It felt like a little oasis. The design of the hotel and its facilities fit perfectly into the warm atmosphere of the French Riviera.

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast was equally poor, no bacon only one sausage and very uninspiring scrambled egg, staff showed no interest or inclination to do anything about it. Had to settle for a coffee only.

    Dinner was excellent.

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2016

    • Solo traveller

    Nothing

    Lovely hotel top staffs ....very close to the station ...

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    staff were very helpful but unobtrusive - perfect!!

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The waitering staff , arrogant , rude and busy fools!

    Nice room and quaint pool...

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The hotel was well-placed in the centre of frejus town. The staff were friendly and extremely helpful. Comfortable rooms.

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very friendly staff - particularly on reception. No hot water on first day but quickly sorted and two complimentary cocktails given.

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Bad slow wifi. No refrigerator in room. Expensive parking.

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing!

    Hotel is quite chic with excellent facilities from pool to secure car park. The rooms are splendid with all facilities available en suite!

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Can't complain!

    The kids loved the pool, the grown ups enjoyed living close to restaurants and the historic city center. Very nice staff!

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Dinner was of low quality

    Rooms and swimming pool

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location is near the railroad -- noisy at night.

    Great room and dining on the terrace.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Eating lunch in the garden in the balmy weather. You would not believe you were in a town

There are also 10 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 41

Guests also reviewed these properties: