Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Athénée 3 stars

6, Rue Lecerf, Cannes City-Centre, 06400 Cannes, France

#35 of 103 hotels in Cannes

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 268 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 65

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economic Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No possibility to open a window to let some fresh air in. Window was facing an indoor corridor

    Charming but small room. Staff was very nice, location is good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economic Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owners are extremely friendly and helpful. The location is quiet, yet it is only a block from the Rue d’Antibes shopping and a 5 minute or less walk to both the train station and the beach. Also very close by is a lively pedestrian street with cafes, restaurants, and a wonderful bakery.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economic Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We stayed at the hotel for 3 nights and we spent great time here. The hotel located in the centre, the main shopping street and the sea are only 5 minutes away. Although our room was a small one it was cozy and super clean, the bed was comfortable. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. We would recommend it to everyone. We hope we will go back some time. :)

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economic Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great

    The staff is amazing,and went out of their way to accomodate us last minute and upgraded our room due to our honeymoon! The hotel is very nice and very clean which is the most important. Would gladly return and recommend!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Everything was great! We stayed in many hotels around Europe, but never experienced such a friendly and helpful staff/owner. We felt almost like visiting a friend at his home, not only staying in a hotel. We got lots of recommendations for our trips and also practiced our French :) Room was clean, very nice, with air conditioning, well equipped, and with very comfortable and large bed. Breakfast was delicious. Location is also great - 7 minutes to public sandy beaches or train station, 1 minute from main shopping street. When coming to Cote d'Azur in the future, we will certainly return here.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lovely couple running this charming hotel really made every liittle imperfection fade in comparison to their genuine kindness. We loved it there and recommend it

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economic Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Laurent is very welcoming interactif and friendly. He helped us throughout our stay. The hotel has everything needed. Location is perfect. Calm neighborhood. Perfect breakfast. Comfy bed. Cooperative staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The owner of the hotel greeted us with lots of handy information about what to do, where to og etc, and he remained a source of information and positive, fun energy throughout our stay. The room was clean, with a small fridge (there is a supermarket nearby), aircondition, wifi, coffee/tea - really just what we needed. A perfect home base throughout our stay in Cannes- would definitely go back.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A lovely place to stay. Great location. Close to the beach. Although the room was kinda small, which we've already known when we booked the room, it has every thing we need. Clean and nice room.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location was great - very central and easy to get to. The owners were very friendly and helpful (recommended a new restaurant in old town called '13', which ended up being one of our favorite meals in Cannes). We opted for breakfast in the morning, which is small but good (a basket of various warm delicious breads was served). This is not the type of hotel that you stay at if you are wanting to spend a lot of time at the hotel given there are limited amenities (i.e. no pool), but if you are just looking for a clean, safe, comfortable place to stay so you can head to the beach this is perfect!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of sound insulation.

    Staff was truly excellent. Top notch. Super clean hotel. Amazing beds. Great A/C. Wifi was very good. Supermarket conveniently across the street. Moto parking across the street. Wonderful coffee. Huge room. Properly working fridge. Location was good.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice and cosy hotel! The manager and his wife were extremely welcoming and helpful! Very slow wifi connection though but it was ok! Hotel has an easy access to everywhere in the city! Definitely recommended specially to those who are their to discover the area!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economic Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only missing thing is the view. U can't have a view on the beach from the hotel

    If u considering this hotel just go for it. Location is perfect close to the station and the beach. Staff are friendly. Clean

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economic Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You could hear your neighbor if he talks aloud.

    Very nice hosts. We felt very welcome. Quiet area with a supermarket opposite the hotel and a big parking Lodge nearby. Parking Lodge makes sense if you don't use the car daily (16 €/d, same price for 2,5... days). For daily use you can also leave it at the hotel (15 €/d). Only six minutes to walk to the beach, ten to the train station. Using train to visit Monaco, Nizza and small villages in between was very comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Privilege Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No window to the outside Small room Expensive for the facilities provided

    Charming proprietor and staff Good location Quiet Spacious modern bathroom

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Economic Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Owners are very friendly, room was clean and location is great!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Studio with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Great location in Cannes. Very helpful staff. They gave us some towels of the beach. Great breakfast. Helpful pointing out sites in Cannes.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economic Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are small, and the carpet was unclean.

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Privilege Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very nice hosts and perfect place to stay for a few nights... Great location.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    bath room was very small

    location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economic Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great staff and location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economic Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect place with great service

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economic Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Toilette was horrible. I am 185cm and had really Problems to close the door.

    Breakfast was very good for only 5euro each.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The owners are super-friendly, they gave us some practical advice. Great location!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Privilege Double Room
    • Stayed 13 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Entrance , staff , beds , stairs , no lights , smell , different than the pictures , should be 2 stars

    Nothing

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economic Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was spacious. Staff was amazing.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Special thanks to Mr.Juan

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Every things was very good especialy mr. Laurant and his wife

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economic Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    my room small and noising because in front of the breakfast room, pls ask another one if free

    The extremely friendship of the owners

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economic Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Every thing was perfect and simple Mr laurent and his wife was so kind and helpful If i go to cannes i will book in the same hotel

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    its not hotel' its a small pleace with small room ' u can hear pepole talk from the athere rooms not worst the money

    nothin

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economic Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The couple that were running the hotel were so helpful and made our stay most enjoyable, when back in Cannes will definitely stay in the same hotel!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Economic Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We really enjoyed our stay here. Excellent location and the service was very good.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no elevator.

    Very good location.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    shower of our room had no glasses and the floor was always soaked.

    Clean, very good location, comfortable bed.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location,big bathroom

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economic Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No Window for

    Very good service

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good place. Come back.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Super convenient choice for our stay during the Cannes Film Festival, where most events were by the port. Gracious staff, Laurent and Carole, could not have been nicer or more helpful (gave us great restaurant accommodations, helped with laundry, taxis, etc) and there was always her fresh jam or banana bread at breakfast. Simple room but large enough, good shower, lots of closet space and quiet! Very homey choice.

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2016

    • Couple

    Nothing. We would definitely stay there agin and recommend it to others.

    Carole and Laurant were excellent hosts. Nothing is too much trouble. The location is ideal in the centre of Cannes, one block from Rue d'Antibes.

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The owners are taking personal care of every detail and request. The breakfast at 10 euro is more than you need. The hotel is located in the heart of Cannes, 5-10 min walk from the Palais. I definitely recommend this hotel to business travellers.

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    I can't fault this experience. We were only there for the night as we were paying through Cannes. From the time of booking we had great communication with the hotel owners. The welcome was warm and friendly and we were given advice on where to go and what to do. I accidentally left my reading glasses in the hotel and the owners helped organise postage of my glasses so I could pick them up in London the following week. I would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    You pay extra for breakfast and yet the staff portion everything right in front of yu. Even for a boiled egg you have to ask the staff to cook one for you cause there arent any already made but a sticker saying you have to ask for it. They put the portions of cheese,ham etc on the serving table only after you go there and do it in front of you as if you re getting rations and as if they were hoping you would be happy with just one croissant and nothing more. The orange juice is measured too so that you cant get more than one glass. Inside the rooms, for two people staying two nights they had one single soap bar so thin it ran out during the first night and they said that is their policy to give you just one bar per room (irrespective of time spent there and persons in room... They gave us more soap only after complaining). Wifi was slow. It seems like really cheap, greedy management trying to milk the good location of the hotel as much as they can.

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    - very small room, tiny bathroom, separate toilet, no real wardrobe – just a rack covered with a curtain, so we couldn’t unpack our suitcases, noisy air conditioning making it impossible to sleep

    + convenient location in the city centre, nicely decorated and clean room

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Only a few minor issues. Some equipment need to be upgraded or repaired (shower switch, only poor plastic drinking glass, no place for swimwear drying, very small washbowl). Wifi was really poor. The inner walls are thin but we had a quiet neighbours.

    Very good location, near to the center, shops, restaurants and beaches. In a quiet zone (no bars, no music, no big noice from the street). Perfect parking, good air conditioning. Very nice and helpfull staff. If we go to Cannes we would like to stay here again.

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    during the night the noise of the street it is really disturbing

    central location close to the main attractions wonderful staff, always ready to help us with guidance and tips clean and spacious room

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We were in room 21 and although the size of the bedroom and shower room were fine, the toilet, which was in a separate section was very small. We are both small people and even we found it difficult to use. There was a small outside room sitting area that backed onto the breakfast room but you could only see the sky through a skylight. There was no window in the room itself. Apart from the breakfast room, I could only see 1 other public area and that was 4 chairs in reception.

    Central location but quiet.

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I spent 5 days at this hotel. Everything was excellent : the service,the room, the location ( grocery in front of the hotel in case of anything; pharmacies in 1 minute; railway station in 8-10 minutes; the sea in 5 minytes)

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We traveled to Cannes on our honeymoon, and we stayed in this hotel for 5 nights. They have a great localisation. It's near to the coast and to the port, and old town. We had there a great time. Rooms were clean but the most memorable thing is attitude of the personel. Owners are very, very helpful, kind, and smiled all the time. At the check-in we received a map and many helpful tips what to see in Cannes, St. Tropez and Nice, and how to get there from the hotel. We are very happy that we stayed in this place, and we hope we will go back some time :)

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Being that close to the center also meant that the room was kinda noisy and even the shutters couldn't block out the street noise. It was all slightly outdated, but for a one-night stay it was okay.

    The hotel was literally a one minute walk from the main shopping street. The owner was really nice and helpful. The room was spacious and they had even provided a kettle and some coffee, which was nice.

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The hotel was easy to reach and the location (around the corner of rue d'antibes ) is great. The hotel is simple, but clean. Rooms are comfortabel and staff more than friendly

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Great location, close walk to shops, La Croisette and Palais des Festivals. Lovely hotel staff, friendly and welcoming. Comfortable rooms with modern decor. A great stay.

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The breakfast is poor. The room is small with small wardrobe. The location is not fine

    The bathroom is large The hoteliers are very kind .

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Staff was very friendly and the room was very clean, cosy and quiet with a lovely outdoor setting outside my door on a terrace. I just loved it.

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The reception staff were lovely. It was a very pleasant place to stay!

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff very friendly, location in the centre of Cannes, 15 minutes walk from dining area.

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Front desk staff were awesome ... extremely friendly, helpful, accommodating and so pleasant to deal with!

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Ugly and small room

    Good location at the Center

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Mycket trevlig personal och bra läge på hotellet - "value for money"!

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    1. No elevator 2. Tiny rooms 3. The rooms were not cleaned thoroughly 4. Noisy. You can hear neighbors talking in their room.

    Great location.

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    small toilet facility in our room 21

    helpfulness and kindness of owners

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Room, bath room, breakfast room reception and furniture.

    Staff

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Wifi connection was extremely poor and no English TV channels

    Cleanness, Staff was very friendly, location

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Tiny bath and shower

    Location, big and clean room

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Friendly service, good location, affordable

There are also 21 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 65

Guests also reviewed these properties: