Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Continental 4 stars

Promenade René Coty, 83700 Saint-Raphaël, France

#10 of 30 hotels in Saint-Raphaël

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 481 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 74

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    10
    Pleasant Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Continental Double Room Sea Side
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hairdryer

    The Hotel Continental is situated over the road from the beach with shops and restaurants close by. Our room was on the first floor overlooking the sea. The size of the room was ample for a couple. The bed was large and very comfortable. There was tea and coffee making facilities and a small refrigerator which was brilliant for keeping food, wine and beer cold. We didn’t pay for breakfast, instead having our own in our room which we had brought with us from previous accommodation. The room was cleaned everyday, with clean, dry towels supplied daily. Beach towels were also supplied. There is on-site secure parking available for a fee. Each afternoon we sat at the window and had our drinks and nibblies overlooking the beautiful blue sea. A great stay. Would highly recommend.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2018

    7.1
    Good location but better deals available in St Raphael
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Cashing in credit card full payment days after booking months before Breakfast far too expensive - understand it is free if you book with hotel direct Very early morning noise (5.30) road cleaning and new linen arriving in trolleys No way is the hotel 4 star Pictures imply it is a large hotel - just one floor of the building

    Location great steps from the beach

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    9.2
    Great choice in St Raphael!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Continental Double Room Sea Side
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were woken up each morning at 9:15 by VERY loud power tools scraping up old flooring right above our room. The hotel is only the first two floors of the building, so this construction was in private apartments above and couldn't be stopped by the hotel.

    Great price, great location, really nice room.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    9.5
    Just What We Were Looking For
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • America Double Room Sea Side
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Brilliant location in walking distance of all the great bars and restaurants whilst being very quiet in the lovely clean great sized modern room. We enjoyed a brilliant view over the sea and promenade, great bathroom with a decent shower and the bonus of a few comfortable seats and a table in the bedroom to take a drink at as well using the great coffee machine and a proper kettle was provided. All the staff we met were very helpful and it had it's own secure parking underneath with lift access to the rooms. We dont take breakfast so didn't use the breakfast facility and therefore can't comment specifically on this. With towels provided for use on the beach you simply stroll accross the promenade and enjoy the sandy beach. We would definatly stay there again if we are in that area of France.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    7.1
    Not really 4 star Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Continental Triple Room City Side
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not having a balcony

    We found dirty man slips in our room and nobody never removed them from the waredrope for the whole week. It is not a real 4 star hotel, a bit old and little renovated inside, only the position is very good and also the staff very kind but the comfort inside the room was not ideal. Not having a balcony is a disadvantage. The fridge was not properly working. I would come back only if the price is less as for what we paid a better hotel can be identified. The beach in front of the hotel was always full and not really comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    4.6
    It was okay for 1 night, if you just go into the room for sleeping. But will not stay again there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Continental Double or Twin Room City Side
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was small and smelling something disturbing. Plus, the lamps on the street were hitting into the room. The price is high for such a facility.

    Only the location and the lady at the lobby

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    5.8
    great location but noisy in the evening
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Continental Double Room Sea Side
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    noisy from the main street after 2am, night club dance music until atleast 3 am small rooms, bit outdated for the price, all the added extras (parking, taxes, breakfast) were expensive, and the breakfast was definitely not worth the money. the staff at breakfast definitely were not of high caliber service, talking loudly/ grunting while i was eating, felt like i was in a school food hall

    position grographic, nice sea view from the bedroom, front desk staff

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    10
    Great place. We already planning to come back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Continental Triple Room City Side
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The only thing I don't like is actually wifi. Normally offered free for the guests of the hotel but the signal is very poor. Keep signing you off. If this could improve the place will be even more attractive because what is 21st century without internet.

    This is one of the most amazing places to stay. St.Raphael is great for holidays either family or couple or even individual. The hotel is located next to the marina and the beach is just across the road as you come out of the hotel. Lovely golden sand beach. Staff very friendly and helpful. Rooms very clean and tidy. Air con works perfectly as well. Also very quiet even in the evening when is a bit noisy outside, the room is very quiet. Underground parking is amazing because parking is very difficult in such places. I will recommend this place for sure.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    10
    Fabulous
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Continental Double Room Sea Side
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We love everything .

    Beautiful hotel with beach across the street . Super clean , quiete , large room , soft pillows , wonderful bed . Good quality toiletries ! We loved it We hope to come back !

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    7.9
    Great location.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Continental Double or Twin Room City Side
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price of breakfast for 1 person 19€. We decidedly to purchase items from local grocery store instead.

    Room a good size. Excellent location right across from the beach. Underground parking facilities very convenient and reasonably priced.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    10
    Great staff, central location, fair price, right on the beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All the people working at the Hotel were pleasant and helpful. The room was spacious and had good facilities. Also very quiet in the room even though on the main seaside blvd.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    3.8
    We would never recommend this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Continental Double Room Sea Side
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was a nightmare! We circled the hotel for an hour, never found the parking. Finally we went to a paid parking garage. Staff was NOT helpful!

    Room was comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    10
    It was just what I was looking for for that one night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Continental Double Room Sea Side
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A/c unit was very loud and I almost could not get out of the garage the ramp was so steep. I left some rubber but I managed. The faint of heart should probably park elsewhere.

    Location with sea view

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    7.5
    Great location, small 1 floor hotel under condos.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Continental Double Room Sea Side
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Younger staff members need additional training on customer service. Gave you the impression you were bothering them when checking in or requesting information. Monday/ Tuesday lady much more pleasant & accommodating. Garage parking convenient but small parking spaces make it very difficult to maneuver parking. Ramp to exit is very steep & slippery. You have to enter a code at bottom of the ramp to exit.

    Excellent location .. Nice cleaning staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    9.6
    Best location (1 block from the beach!) and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room City Side (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Just a few minor thing... If you pick a family room, there's no chance to get an ocean view from your room. So, just be aware. Also, keep in mind that many shops, cafes will be closed on Sunday. If you are there for Saturday night stay, you may want to book breakfast offered by the hotel.

    The hotel is conveniently located if you would like to walk/shop/eat/drink in the area. Most of the reception staff speak good English and they were very helpful. As far as parking goes, there are plenty of public parking lots nearby. (Some are cheaper than hotel parking) It's a great location for everyone. The interior of the room we stayed was surprisingly good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    10
    Fine hotel for beach lovers.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Continental Double or Twin Room City Side
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The location was great. The hotel is just in front of the beach. Beach towels are given for free and can be changed every day. The room was clean and big enough even for the longer stay.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    6.3
    Breakfast was good and the staff were very nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Continental Double Room Sea Side
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No real comfortable sitting area

    Breakfast was good and the staff were very nice. . Room was comfortable the bathroom was ok. The shower cubical was poorly designed.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    8.3
    Good value on french riviera
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Continental Double or Twin Room City Side
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Entrance to car park awkward

    Great location only 2mins from station and right on the​ sea front. Good breakfast and helpful friendly staff. Very secure car parking

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    6.7
    Over star rated
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Continental Triple Room City Side
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We have stayed at a few 3 and 4 star hotels. This hotel was advertised as a four star. I think this was over rated as i have stayed in better 3 star hotels.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    9.6
    Great location. Good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a bit noisy with people coming back late at night and leaving early in the morning. Also trucks collecting empty bottles started very early in the morning,which woke me up.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful. Great location.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2018

    4.6
    Very overpriced and very dissappointing would not return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Continental Double or Twin Room City Side
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very basic very noisy not even as good as a travel lodge very overpriced . The only good thing about this hotel was its location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    8.3
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Continental Double or Twin Room City Side
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a little dull.

    Location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    9.6
    Great location, fabulous for families.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room City Side (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic location on the promenade. Great family room, friendly staff.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    8.8
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Continental Double Room Sea Side
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful views in brilliant location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Continental Double Room Sea Side
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slightly lacking in character.

    Sea side location. Beautiful views from bedroom. Extremely convenient.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    8.8
    WiFi was very poor
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Continental Double or Twin Room City Side
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi was very poor

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    8.3
    Nothing in mini-bar
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Continental Double Room Sea Side
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Nothing in mini-bar

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    5.4
    Star rating is misleading.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Continental Double or Twin Room City Side
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is not a 4 Star hotel.

    Was expecting much better. This is a 2 1/2 star hotel at best.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    8.8
    right opposite a sandy beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Continental Double or Twin Room City Side
    • Stayed 5 nights

    right opposite a sandy beach. reasonable price. close to train station.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    10
    Very good central location, modern clean airy rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • America Double Room Sea Side
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed was exceptionally comfortable and the staff very helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    6.7
    Located centrally.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Continental Double Room Sea Side
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast is limited and way too expensive.

    Located centrally.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    7.9
    Excellent location , immaculate and spacious room
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Continental Double or Twin Room City Side
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location and cleanliness, also a spacious room

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    7.1
    Romantic location, beautiful view, restaurants close by
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Continental Double Room Sea Side
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stuffy room, air conditioner and/or fan not working.

    Right on the beach, great location!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    10
    Great staff who were friendly and professional.
    • Solo traveller
    • Continental Double or Twin Room City Side
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great staff who were friendly and professional. Hotel was very clean and great location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    7.9
    IDEAL FOR A SHORT STOP-OVER
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Continental Double or Twin Room City Side
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. It was ideal for a one night stay en route.

    The proximity to beach, town, rail station & buses

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2017

    4.6
    in my opinion it's only a 3 star hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Continental Double Room Sea Side
    • Stayed 2 nights

    in my opinion it's only a 3 star hotel

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    8.3
    Very nice location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Continental Triple Room City Side
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I liked the location of the hotel and the friendliness of the staff.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2016

    7.0
    waste pipe on shower/bath, could not have bath, shower...
    • Couple

    waste pipe on shower/bath, could not have bath, shower would not work without sock to hold for shower and not bath dim lights of those that worked.

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2015

    10
    This was our second visit in successive years.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    This was our second visit in successive years. We liked it the first time and nothing has changed. This time we had our car so the underground car park was really useful-surrounding roads being very busy (charge E16). In all other respects this modern Hotel continues to maintain high standards. Of all the other Hotels we stayed, this was the only one offering hot scrambled egg and mini sausages. (an extra vote for that).

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2015

    10
    all of it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    all of it! large room, super bathroom. clean, friendly charming staff. likedthe microwave idea 7 choice of meals. perfect in every way. Met 3 staff, all outstanding

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    9.6
    The location is directly across from the beach, and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The location is directly across from the beach, and restaurants, marinas, casino and shopping precincts are all in very close proximity. The view from our room was great. The staff were very pleasant, and most accomodating when we wanted to extend our stay. We can recommend this hotel.

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    4.6
    Position close to the front and garage under the hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    When I booked they took the payment straight away Breakfast was not included when I booked We decided to have breakfast anyway......what a shock when it cost 52euro!! For continental breakfast! Earlier that day we had 2 steak meals for 50euro

    Position close to the front and garage under the hotel

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2015

    7.9
    Good location, good friendly staff, clean, good free wi-fi
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    In general, it's good hotel, though still obviously needs some improvements, such as breakfast for 18 Euros could have been better, taking into account different preferences of different cultures. We saw the menu and refused it: as it did not have any other meat except pork.

    Good location, good friendly staff, clean, good free wi-fi

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2015

    9.6
    I had ordered a spare bed or put up bed for a three year old...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    I had ordered a spare bed or put up bed for a three year old and when the receptionist on arrival I asked was very rude with his reply stating they were busy. Not very welcoming at all.

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2015

    7.1
    Great location and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bed was a little uncomfortable and narrow shower. Breakfast was disappointing. Cooked food was cold.

    Great location and clean. Served our purpose as a place to take day trip to St Tropez.

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2015

    9.2
    Excellent location on sea front, ideal when using the beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Excellent location on sea front, ideal when using the beach. Easy walk to train station and wide range of facilities such as supermarket, bars and restaurants. Very quiet hotel as soundproofing better than most..

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2015

    7.5
    Staff friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No real issues. Room was humid at night despite the air conditioning - weather was very hot though. Small window meant sea view was restricted.

    Staff friendly and helpful. Well appointed room, though a little smaller than we expected.

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2015

    5.8
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    When we arrived we were shown to our room number nine which was overlooking the back of the hotel had massive construction works taking place bang bang bang on the early evening,then we were moved to room 36 which was quite a bit smaller and quite a bit darker on the side of the property,quite upset that they've charged us €16 for the privilege of having the dog also not forgetting it was out of season,all in all quite an expensive experience in that particular hotel so would not be staying again,there was no reduction for our inconvenience of being moved because of the works which I might of expected but there again it is France so don't expect any reductions anywhere.

    Good location

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2015

    10
    Great location easy access to just about anything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Great location easy access to just about anything. Even the railway if you needed it. Hotels own garage underneath.Like so many European parking spots there not generous.

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2015

    8.8
    I was greeted by a receptionist who clearly remembered me...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I was greeted by a receptionist who clearly remembered me from my visit last year, and was made to feel at home immediately. There is plenty of choice at breakfast. The location is fabulous, right on the sea front, close to all amenities including some excellent restaurants. It is a two or three minute walk from the station.

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2016

    7.5
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Good location

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2016

    9.2
    Great location for living the Saint Raphael center
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Great location for living the Saint Raphael center

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2016

    7.1
    No ventilation in the bathroom .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No ventilation in the bathroom .

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2015

    10
    Loved the hotel facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wi-fi is somewhat spotty.

    Loved the hotel facilities. Really nice place. If you have a car, you pay to park.

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2015

    5.8
    breakfast in the nice terrase
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    lobby and reception area not attractive

    breakfast in the nice terrase

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    7.9
    good location and easy access to main roads
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    good location and easy access to main roads

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2015

    7.9
    The very pleasant staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing really

    The very pleasant staff The beautiful view The gréât weather and the. Lovely town

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    7.1
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Garage

    Location

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2015

    7.5
    Location of the hotel esp with a sea view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Charge for breakfast, fixed price was excessive as we only required a small amount of food and a coffe

    Location of the hotel esp with a sea view

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    8.3
    The receptionist when we checked out was so lovely and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The receptionist when we checked out was so lovely and really helpful. Nothing was too much trouble.

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2015

    10
    everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    nothing

    everything

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    5.8
    Location and breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No facilities

    Location and breakfast

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    8.3
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great location

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    9.2
    location and staff both brilliant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    location and staff both brilliant

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2015

    10
    The location was good the hotel was clean the staff was very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    The location was good the hotel was clean the staff was very friendly

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    7.9
    Location and room comfort
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Staff are nice but not welcoming.

    Location and room comfort

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2015

    9.2
    Excellent location, friendly and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Excellent location, friendly and helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2015

    8.3
    Staff and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing to dislike

    Staff and location

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2015

    9.6
    Comfort & location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Mecanical issue with douche standard

    Comfort & location

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2015

    6.7
    Serviceable hotel across from beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    A little dreary. The town is too. Try to stay in Antheor if you are a tourist

    Serviceable hotel across from beach

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2015

    7.1
    The beach is just in front.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The room wasn't very spacious. Neither the toilet.

    The beach is just in front.

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    8.8
    Friendly staff and great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The rooms on city side are rather small.

    Friendly staff and great location.

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2015

    7.5
    Fabulous sea view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Expensive for relatively small room

    Fabulous sea view. Good bed.. Nice welcome. Clean and functional

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2015

    8.0
    Just across the street from water, Many good restaurants...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Just across the street from water, Many good restaurants nearby. Parking under hotel, very convenient. Hotel was quiet.

There are also 18 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 74

Guests also reviewed these properties: