Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Brit Hotel Mâcon Centre Gare 3 stars

1 rue Bigonnet, 71000 Mâcon, France

#9 of 22 hotels in Mâcon

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1030 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    8.1

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The garage isn't secure. We weren't charged for the parking, nevertheless we felt it was a bit risky with all our holiday gear in the boot. All was well though.

    Efficient check-in. The rooms were immaculate. Quiet location. Perfect for an overnight on the way south.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Privilege Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was in a loft conversion room on 4th floor. Banged my head on roof. Got to be very careful if you're tall and in the 4th floor rooms. Lovely rooms though nonetheless

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Couple
    • Cosy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise! The room that i booked is said to be soundproofed. But all i can hear is people talking next door until 2 am. Even in the couloir i could hear them. What a nightmare 🙁🙁🙁

    I like the location and that’s about it!!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of net curtains on windows so we were either exposed or in complete darkness. The constant noise of the air conditioning unit outside of our bedroom. Huge lack of isolation between floors and bedrooms.

    The comfort of beds, size of rooms, breakfast offering fresh orange juice.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking was on the other side of the street and as the gate couldn't close, we were not very happy to leave our car full of things there. Needs to be repaired! The breakfast was a bit expensive for what was offered.

    Centrally situated in Macon. Very clean room - friendly staff

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I asked for a room without noise and in the room next to mine they made noise the whole night (I did not sleep much because of that)

    Easy to arrive. One can park the car outside.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Inadequate heating cold room more suitable for eskimos. Wine very expensive for a very small glass of cheap wine. Parking not secure dilapidated garage with no door and open to the public

    Not a lot

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good breakfast. Car park over road from hotel unfortunately garage door not closing thought car better outside of hotel on road lit up, not in a dark area.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The parking facilities were poor, the garage door was broken so had to stay open and once again we were worried about the car being broken into. The door looked as though it had been out of use for a long time. Hotels must learn to be honest about their parking facilities. We had a car full of item for travelling home to UK and wanted secure parking.

    The hotel was in a good location for exploring and there are plenty of restaurants nearby along the river. The staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Check-in could have been friendlier and for some strange reason the window frames were very dirty, covered in something sticky and discoloured. The curtains also didn't really work as the window vent made it very difficult to open and close, so when we arrived they were half open, making the room look poorly presented. We struggled to close them. Otherwise the room was clean and adequate but characterless.

    Fairly good location, we had a room at the back and that was very quiet. Rooms were a good size and the bathrooms were very good. Better than expected for the price.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    zero its as good as it humanly gets I think. It would be too selfish to ask for anything more, Well Done

    Having survived fires on tracks,,,potential bombs travelling on that Friday.. I could just relax and eat and sleep here. I even left my shoulder bag in the dining room and It was still there when I went back for it. Second time ive stayed here, Very nice. Thank you

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Chose the comfort room but it was very small and in the rafters. Would not recommend if you are tall. Very noisy too as we could hear the next room clearly. If you want parking it is misleading as there are no more than 10 in thier garage. We had requested parking but on arrival did not have it. We were very lucky that a kind man gave us his spot. I would not want to leave my car in this area...

    Good location for stopover before journey home. Clean. Very basic travel hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No parking. On a major roundabout. Hotel had parking which they charged for , and the garage was so small it took us 10 mins to get into the space in the carpark. Not enough staff on duty , just 1 person and a queue of people.. We were given keys to our room, entered the room , and there were people in it! Took us 40 mins to get into our own room, plus 10 mins parking, thats 50 mins to get to our room.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No kettle, fridge, or in-room safe.

    Good location within easy walking distance of the old town and riverbank. Friendly and helpful reception. Secure closed parking for E8, or easy on street parking. Good continental buffet breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Cosy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not one English Channel on TV no safe very over priced for what you get especially as breakfast not included

    Great location next to station and very short walk from town clean room friendly guy on reception let me check in early

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    no complimentary water which was advertised without asking. Coffee cups not washed or replaced on day 1 . No fresh orange on 2 days.

    near station and walking distance to centre/river

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They had a menu in the room which said you could order from but when we went to order they said the didn't offer food so we had to get a carry out Pizza.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No issue with the hotel but we found it difficult to find a good restaurant nearby.

    It felt brand new. Clean, comfortable and good value. Parking was easy...we reserved our space when booking the previous night and had a covered space a few metres down the road in a locked garage. Cost was 8 euro per night.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are very small (cosy and comfort type are the same excepting the AC- few cosy rooms could be a litle large). The pictures shows better rooms. You have to pay attention to the room description (eg: if the hotel does have air condition does not mean that all the rooms has too). Poor/ basic breakfast. No other additional services (eg: iron for clothes).

    The guy from the reception was very helpful and help us to change the room type in order to have AC (we paid the price diference).

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Privilege Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This was the perfect room for us and our two kids as a single night stop over heading for the Alps. Essentially two seperate rooms within one and very nice modern bathroom as well! TVs for both adults and kids room and really comfy large bed. Would definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The service is bad, always no smile when they are answering questiones, don't like opositive to supply service, bad experience.

    It's clean, the adress is good, close to train station.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This hotel in right in the center of town although it is not noisy. The receptionist was friendly and recommended a restaurant nearby that was within walking distance and was excellant. Initially I was concerned about the car parking which is a short walk away in a gated covered area accessable by a code but everything was fine. We did not stop to sample the breakfast as we decided to press on to Italy.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    unwelcoming receptionist. 'comfort' room was hot & 1 tiny window & no aircon. ie was not very comfortable. upgraded at quite a lot of extra expense - effectively the same room but with air con.

    2 receptionsits were nice, 1 was terrible

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • Family with young children
    • CosyTriple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The single bed felt a bit as though I might fall off it - I suppose as it was just one night I'd have got used to it after a day or so had we stayed on. It wasn't narrow but the mattress felt almost curved at the top - although I don't think it was. Maybe just me.

    The hotel is very clean and the shower first rate. The breakfast is pretty good with a choice of cheeses etc...and local jams and juices. I would recommend it to anyone going to Macon.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast didn't look good (therefore we ate elsewhere), bloodstain on the bedsheet. Bit loud on the street side.

    Friendly staff, good shower, nice rooms with air conditioning.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Cosy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms were not clean - window ledgers and windows covered in cobwebs and dead flies. Created a bad impression from the start. Felt it was expensive for what it was - a budget short stay hotel.

    Well located hotel close to the centre of Macon with friendly staff.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good hotel right in the centre of Macon. Stopped for one night only It was clean, well located and the rooms were clean and simple with nice bathrooms. Also, my daughter left a toy she'd had since birth (she's 9 now) behind when we left. Came home and found the hotel had located it and sent it to us in England. Thank you!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Garage was a short walk from the hotel. It took quite a long time to check out in the morning because of the queue.

    Very big room with a large, modern en-suite. Tower fan in room was very useful. Parking available in their own garage. Good breakfast. Enjoyed our stay and would definitely return.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Cosy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    a little bit expensive

    very comfortable, clean and super friendly staff. they have begun offering room service and it's very good in terms of quality/price.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premium Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Had a slight problem with key access where access was lost after room was cleaned. This was resolved quickly.

    Excellent position near the railway station. Clean room with good soundproofing. There is a very relaxed feel to the place.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows. Too hard. Also when we asked to leave our bags at reception at check out we were told there was no luggage room. Only after some discussion did they agreed to store our bags in the office for a few hours. I have never been to a hotel where they cannot hold luggage.

    Breakfast was good with fresh orange juice.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Privilege Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our aircondition was not working and we stayed in the topfloor, so it was very hot during the night

    The rooms were new and fully equiped with what you need.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Proximity to city centre, restaurants. Although we knew there was parking on the street, we asked upon arrival if secure parking was available - the gentleman on the desk went with us to the garage to make sure the spot was available and showed us the opening mechanism and code machine. Very helpful in general, and the room was fultless

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Secure parking and comfortable room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wasn't aware that there was air conditioning in the room, otherwise everything was satisfactory. Staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very clean very comfortable bed

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Great location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    All very spacious, clean and tidy with easy parking on the street outside. Near curry house!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    comfortable and quiet

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Low ceiling in bedroom. Price changed between online booking and arrival. Parking a nightmare.

    Town centre location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • CosyTriple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately our room was just by the major vents for the hotel and rather noisy!

    clean and tidy!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Cosy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very basic breakfast. Good coffee though.

    Nice room and clean and good Shower facility.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We wanted large single bed We had double beds

    Friendly staff

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No secure parking as promised

    Easily accessible from the motorway

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tidy & new

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was modern but needed a door or a longer side to the shower - the floor got very wet.

    Very good choice for buffet breakfast. Room comfy

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    very comfortable room altogether

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very modern, clean and well thought out. More of a business type hotel. Located near restaurants.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Brilliant hotel for an overnight stop- small fridge in room perhaps?

    Air conditioning, lovely bed, large bathroom, location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Excellent

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Cosy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Steps to get to room - carpark down road and not easy to enter/exit it.

    Quiet AC - close to town centre.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No parking.

    Good breakfasts, comfy room.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very friendly staff and pleasant room. Excellent air conditioning. Dog friendly!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy air conditioner; not clean: hair in the shower; confortable bed

    Close to the centre; big room

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfasts were poor value

    close to station

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of fridge and tea making in room. The proximity of restaurants and shops in lovel Macon made it a perfect one night stay.

    Location, cleanliness

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The parking needed to be paid extra, it was not included in booking.com price.

    Breakfast included lots of regional products.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of tea/coffee facilities in room.

    Air con, comfy bed.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is on a busy junction and the car park is a short walk from the hotel

    Small but pleasant hotel

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was cheap but clean and enough for a night

    Emplacement and staff

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No coffee in the room

    Great hotel with comfortable rooms. Had a great bed and shower. Walking distance from main things you want to see

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Close to the railway station. Value for money

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Cosy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing everything was perfect

    Everything:)

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was great

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    other spots in macon can be found cheaper

    wonderful breakfast, kind and accommodating staff

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    • Family with young children
    • Privilege Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    angular ceiling of family room on the 4th floor. One has to be careful to avoid being hit to it

    Cleanliness, Newness of the hotel jacuzzi bathtub

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • CosyTriple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Had a lovely stay, very comfy, close to the town would stay again, very pet friendly, nice staff

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bedroom was very comfortable and clean. The location was good.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception staff were very helpful and charming multi lingual gentleman who answered any queries

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    location immediately near the station exceptional good shower

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Brilliant location for town

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The modern shower was a bit to modern but the pressure was good

    The breakfast was amazing great choices, fresh, and good coffee 😄

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning, clean, helpful staff

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wonderful thick blankets - very clean place, great in-transit stop.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Privilege Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Windows not fully soundproof.

    Nice staff. Excellent breakfast with local produce. Large smoke-free room. Private car park.

    Stayed in August 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: