Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel De La Mer 3 stars

226 Avenue De La Liberté, 06220 Golfe-Juan, France

#6 of 15 hotels in Golfe-Juan

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 269 hotel reviews

7.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    7.3

  • Location

    7.9

  • Facilities

    7.2

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 51

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    10
    Just what we wanted
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely smaller hotel away from the hustle and bustle of the main resort but well within distance of all amenities and the beach. Nothing was to much trouble for the staff. Highly recommend

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    5.8
    Location was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 15 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The quality of the food available at breakfast was quite poor- milk was sometimes off as was the fruit. Gave the impression that the hotel was being run on a shoestring. Also when we arrived we were presented with a bill to pay 45 euros for hotel tax and it wasn't until we were half way home that I read the booking details and realised that the price we paid for our stay included this hotel tax!

    Location was good. The room we were given was ok, clean and with a balcony overlooking the pool and gardens of nearby apartments. Room was kept nice and clean by staff. Not that many guests there during our stay but that gave it an air of being too quiet for the peak holiday period. Very good that I was able to park my car at the hotel all the while we were there.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    9.2
    We had a very pleasant stay at l’hôtel de la mer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast is a little too expensive for our budget. Even if it’s very relaxing to enjoy your breakfast around the pool. We have found some other excellent breakfasts is the area, more suitable for out wallets. A fresh bakery only at a few minutes walking distance, or at the Newport café on the old port

    We had a very pleasant stay at l’hôtel de la mer. Everything is very clean and well maintained. The pool is nice and quiet, and refreshing. The staff is lovely and helpful. The hotel is also very well located, close to nice beaches, the port and restaurants. I recommend this hotel, if you want to enjoy the French Riviera

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    7.9
    An enjoyable stay. Reasonable rates.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Walking along the main road from the hotel was dangerous at times. If guests have children you should take extra care!! (better to drive to the village with children).

    Very nice staff. The hotel is spacious and airy. Breakfast was good. Room was acceptable. A 15 min walk into the village centre where there many attractive restaurants. 5 mins to the local sandy beach. Hotel has own off-street car parking. Hotel has small pool. Would be good for children. Car parking in the village is possible (3 mins drive).

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    7.5
    A hotel saved by its staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The pool area wasn't ready (in May)- few sun loungers usable, although the sun was out and hot enough for us to want to sit by it. Lots of stairs with no lift- ground floor room much more expensive apparently. No balcony. No kettle in room.

    Quite a convenient location. Some of the staff were really helpful (thank goodness) and kind. A useful map was provided including advice about public transport. The pool was potentially wonderful. A fridge in room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    3.3
    Leaving it.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A particular member of the management staff was extremely rude, obnoxious and down right nasty. He / they should not be allowed to call themselves ‘hoteliers‘ as they have a lot to learn and even more to learn when dealing with clients. A totally dreadful experience in all of my 33 years traveling to France.

    Leaving it.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    7.9
    Clean but rather boring
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Although it has lovely balcony / terrace with sea view, you are not allowed to take any food or drink from outside. If you do so, you'll get a penalty of 10 Euro for each trash per day. Minibar in the room was unplugged and it was empty. There were just too many "house rules" to forbid these and those.... A bit of kill joy when you'd like to enjoy holiday. I felt like being at a military.

    there was a Swiss receptionist who could explain things in German.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    7.5
    Sufficient for a basic night's sleep and simple breakfast - pool looked attractive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Tired property in need of a facelift, sagging mattress - overall signs of wear everywhere.

    Easy to find the property, plenty of towels and nice balcony overlooking the pool.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    3.8
    NOT A COMFORTABLE HOTEL.RECEPTION NOT OPEN UNTIL 3PM COULDNT GET INTO HOTEL UNTIL THEY OPENED UP .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    NOTHING ABOUT THIS PROPERTY THAT WE WERE SATISFIED WITH.NO LIFT CARRIED BAGS TO 2/3RD FLOOR . ROOMS NEED A GOOD CLEANING AND PAINTING IN FACT A RENOVATION .FOR THE MONEY WE PAID IT WASNT GOOD VALUE WILL NEVER STAY HERE AGAIN .

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    9.2
    Super location for seeing Golf Juan Antibes
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Really welcoming & friendly staff. Facilities simple were extremely clean. Really good pool area. Close to shops, restaurants. Great location for accessing the beach - miles of beautiful beach. Great restaurants around the port.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    7.5
    Enjoyed the week.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking!! It would be good if a "meal option" could be offered other than breakfast, perhaps!!

    The staff were excellent. Rooms basic but very clean. The pool was a big bonus as it was clean and we made good use of it. Although located on the busy main road, it was quiet at night. Enjoyed our stay.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    8.8
    Simple, super clean, good value hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Super value, simple, clean hotel. I was visiting friends nearby and needed safe, convenient place to stay... this hotel was perfect. Ten minutes walk to beach.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    5.0
    I will never go back to this hotel! The staff is terrible
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff terribly rude mean and unhelpful No breakfast in the room They charge you as much as possible on little things for example a second person in the room when you've booked a 3 beds room...!

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    10
    I Was made to feel very welcome , Olivier was very helpful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing I didn't like

    I Was made to feel very welcome , Olivier was very helpful and kind , hotel in perfect location to beach , restaurants and shops , would definitely stay there again

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    5.4
    Could do better
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My mother in law could not do stairs so they charged us an extra 60 Euro . Had no lift . No kettle in room.complained about the noise to staff of room above for the 3 night stay . Did nothing not even refund the 60 euro

    Clean

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2017

    6.3
    Very clean room well maintained daily
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No reception upon arrival no access to hotel for 5 hours! Contractors entered room in my absence to change a tv without prior notification - question management and security of site.

    Very clean room well maintained daily

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    8.8
    The staff were really friendly amd helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The staff were really friendly amd helpful. The location is fabulous just a few minutes walk to the beach. Loads of interesting places to vist in the area. A lovely relaxing holiday.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    7.5
    Motel on the road
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Couldn't sleep with opened windows because of noisy steer under the hotel

    Good breakfast

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    5.0
    Don’t expect much other than a budget overnight stay designed to have a sleep and a shower
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is very limited, no elevator, breakfast wasn’t good value, bedroom had a bad smell, limited bedroom space

    The tropical juice for breakfast

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    9.6
    Everything else
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elevator

    Everything else

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    10
    Just needed a bed for the night as had family staying close by. Met my requirements perfectly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    only one plug. Had to set my alarm at 3am in order to charge 2 appliances over night.

    Felt very safe

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    9.6
    Great little hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff and very pleasant hotel, nothing to dis like

    As stated friendly staff and a comfortable stay thank you great little hotel

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    9.6
    Very comfortable & welcoming stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Location was excellent, less than a 5 min walk to the beach & the staff were very friendly & helpful , couldn't do enough for us.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    7.9
    correct
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    la reception de la tv

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    7.9
    whole hotel was clean all staff were friendly and breakfast...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 7 nights

    more bar opening times

    whole hotel was clean all staff were friendly and breakfast was excellant

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    3.8
    The fast wi-fi
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fast wi-fi

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    6.7
    Quite okay but unnecessary issues like waiting for the room and problems with parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Waiting 2 hours for the room No parking space available at night although booked and confirmed

    Location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    9.6
    Liked the location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Liked the location. Easy Road access and good restaurants near the beach.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    7.9
    un week-end sympa
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    La situation de l'établissement. La piscine. Le personnel

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    8.8
    Simple, clean hotel with very helpful and pleasant staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Simple, clean rooms. Polite, helpful and pleasant staff. Quiet location.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    10
    This is the 4th time that I have stayed at the Hotel De La Mer and each time it has been wonderful !
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything was perfect

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    10
    Pleasant hotel in great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2016

    6.7
    Good hotel for holiday makers
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location on the main steeet, close to busy stations, 20 minutes by bus to Cannes centre, staff are kind and very helpful.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    2.5
    Appalling customer service! Rude and unhelpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Disgusting customer service. booking.com should be ashamed to have this hotel on their website!!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2015

    9.6
    felt safe, staff helpful, annette very helpful, getting...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    we arrived about 2 pm but the office was closed btw 12- 3 pm, which is ok but we were unaware of that

    felt safe, staff helpful, annette very helpful, getting taxis, etc, speaks very good English and very sweet

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2015

    10
    Excellent location for our requirements, staff very helpful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No bad experience at all, only good.

    Excellent location for our requirements, staff very helpful regarding our trip. We would definitely stay again if we were in this area.

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    10
    The staff were so nice and helpful especially Julie.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The staff were so nice and helpful especially Julie. We meant to return after a trip to Menton but we were too tired. I would recommend this excellent, comfortable hotel unreservedly.

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2015

    7.9
    The staff were very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    There was no lunch or dinner available at the hotel. The nearest underpass passage to the beach got flooded during 2 days rainy weather. The alternative way to the beach and restaurants takes 20-30min by foot.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful. We had a quiet room as requested. There were nice complimentary toiletries. Lots of local information was provided, ie places to eat, places to see, events/festivals. The swimming pool was a good size. The beach and the shops were within 5-7 min walk.

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    10
    The hotel was charming and the staff very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The hotel was charming and the staff very helpful. The location was perfect for visiting other parts of Cote d'Azur. The hotel was easy walking distance to markets and restaurants as well as the beach.

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2015

    5.8
    the swim in the pool after a hot journey from Italy .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    rather small rooms, bathroom had minute shower area despite having the space to double the shower cubicle. the glass window in the stair well at the front was a furnace in late afternoon - probably excellent in winter but not in summer it needed a blind of some description.

    the swim in the pool after a hot journey from Italy . separate toilet in the room, aircon and ok wifi and parking on site. as a stop over it was fine, rather soulless place despite having ok décor and parts recently refurbished. Side room nice and quiet.

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2015

    8.8
    Very quiet, good location near beach and calm quality...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Bed wasn't super comfy. Hard mattress and room has very poor amenities so bring your own soap, shampoo etc..

    Very quiet, good location near beach and calm quality restaurants, not good for Cannes Festival Accomodations, too far...overall a phenomenal value and comfy. No frills place

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2015

    9.6
    The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. The room was spacious and the balcony had a lovely view overlooking the pool. Breakfast was superb with a selection of pastries, fruits, breads, meats etc. Great location, close to the beach and bus stop if you want to head to Cannes & Nice.

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2015

    10
    The person in charge was patient, kind and helpful with us.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The person in charge was patient, kind and helpful with us. The room and the rest of the hotel was so clean. The breakfast: excellent! I loved the pain aux chocolat and the breads! My husband enjoyed the jambe cru! We would love to come back.

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2015

    7.9
    Basic but comfortable room with very friendly staff and...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The shower holder was broken and the bathroom and room generally was quite dated.

    Basic but comfortable room with very friendly staff and excellent WiFi

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2016

    9.2
    The service and the friendliness of the staff was exemplary
    • Business trip
    • Group

    Technically tricky. Only 1 plug socket in the room

    The service and the friendliness of the staff was exemplary

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2015

    8.3
    Charming staff
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Charming staff Close to the beach and port

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2015

    8.8
    good hotel, good room, breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    no lift

    good hotel, good room, breakfast

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2015

    6.3
    Nice breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    To much noise from the other rooms

    Nice breakfast

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    5.4
    The room was clean and beds well made.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Right on the main road, bit of an industrial feel with the roller shutters. The bed was very hard.

    The room was clean and beds well made.

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    5.4
    The swimming pool was nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The nearest beach is not nice. Is not well situated There were no place to park the car.

    The swimming pool was nice.

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2015

    8.8
    walk to beach, pool and balcony with sea views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    no elevator . Fridge wasn't turned on.

    walk to beach, pool and balcony with sea views

There are also 12 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 51

Guests also reviewed these properties: