Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hôtel de l'Ocean 3 stars

7, rue Mayran, 9th arr., 75009 Paris, France

#1138 of 1,578 hotels in Paris

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1425 hotel reviews

7.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.9

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    7.2

  • Staff

    7.9

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    6.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    9.6
    Lovely place
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could have been an extra mirror in the room and maybe another plug. Also some Cotton wool maybe?

    Nice clean hotel in a good location to travel. Lovely little area lots of coffee shops and cafes. Beds have to be the comfiest beds I’ve slept in!! Staff super friendly and helpful too.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    9.6
    Very nice and helpful staff at reception!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit expensive and there was very poor wifi.

    Very nice and helpful staff at reception! Thank you to them! Reception available 24 h. Very comfortable room and bed. You have tea things. Good bathroom facilities. We liked everything!

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    8.3
    Excellent in every way.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were very helpful, polite and very proffesional. The location was very good, handy for Gare du Nord which was important as catching the Eurostar the following day. Plenty of eating places nearby. Breakfast at l'Ocean was excellent, plenty of choice. The hotel was immaculately clean.excellent in every way

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    7.1
    Good reception staff (Jamal) who catered to all our needs (even booked restaurant & made my birthday
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was a long way from city Lift was very small & very slow Some areas needed a good clean First room couldn’t fit our suitcases in & bathroom was so old & in need of repair Man at reception on last night (Wednesday PM) was very rude & creepy Second room was much better

    The second room we requested was much larger & more convenient although we had single beds Cleaning of room everyday was very good Jamal was an amazing help & could not have done more to make our stay enjoyable

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    7.5
    The room was clean and had all the necessities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There only seemed to be one member of staff in reception and he seemed to be responsible for the bar during the daytime. I had a single room which was quite small, although adequate for one night. Breakfast was not included.

    The room was clean and had all the necessities. It was in a good location surrounded by restaurants and shops. It had a comfortable bar and seating area near the foyer. I was only there for one night, so it is difficult to make a proper assessment. The bed was very comfortable. Staff were very polite.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    9.6
    Very quiet location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Either a shower curtain needs to be added or the glass extended. The bathroom floor gets soaked during showers.

    Very quiet location. Clean and great working air conditioner. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    7.9
    we would definitely stay at the hotel again if we visit Paris again in the future.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location of hotel was excellent- close to shops, restaurants and tourist attractions. The staff at the hotel were really friendly- nothing was too much trouble. We would highly recommend the hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    7.1
    Over all i liked the neighborhood .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The bathroom needs to be upgraded, some lights in room are not working. Wifi is weak and you need to get a new password every day as far as you staying in the hotel. Also the disposable cup for coffee and tea are provided only once. I think you need to use the transportation for all type of attracting, Opera was the closest one maybe 20-30 minutes of walking.

    friendly staff and ready to help, the hotel is in good location from the restaurants, cafes and transportation. I like the room view on the street.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    7.1
    Close to the Metro station to acd as some of the big sights ...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s a bit dated but the rooms were quiet and the beds were comfortable. There is a fridge and safe.

    Close to the Metro station to acd as some of the big sights , fabulous bakeries and coffee shops.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    10
    The hotel gave just what we needed, was in the area we needed and for a good price with breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    We were allowed to leave our luggage as we arrived early. Our room was on the top floor with the use of a lift. we asked for a quiet room with a view to the back and this is what we got, we were very happy (we didn't get or expect views in this area of Paris :) The continental breakfast included was plentiful with lots of choice.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    9.6
    Perfect locality and comfortable
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything ok

    Perfect locality in the living centre of Paris. Nice room, very comfortable bads, tasty breakfast with wide choice of food. Very kind staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    8.3
    Great price for a good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi was terrible. It didn’t work when you were in the room, just downstairs in the lobby. You also have to get a new passcode every 24 hours.

    Great price for a good location. Two minute walk from the train station and a major street with lots of shops and restaurants. Jamel, the concierge that works at night, was absolutely awesome! He called his favorite restaurant (Au Petite Riche) and made a reservation for us, complete with welcome champagne. The restaurant was great and Jamel was the sweetest and most helpful!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    9.2
    Hotel location is easily accessible, Close to metro station and many restaurants and supermarkets.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The internet was weak. They change password and username everyday so you have to return to the front desk to re-activate.

    Hotel location is easily accessible, Close to metro station and many restaurants and supermarkets. The bed was very comfortable. Staff are very helpful .

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    6.3
    Hotel is in a good location near to the train station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room was quite basic - extremely hot at night as air conditioning didn't work. Also had two single beds pushed together instead of a double which was a shame when we had requested a double. Shower pressure was also quite weak and was difficult to get the right temperature.

    Hotel is in a good location near to the train station. It is very clean and staff were very friendly and accommodating.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    7.1
    Mostly nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The other desk clerk was a pill with a stereotypically French aloofness. That aloofness was usually not present in staff at entrepreneurial establishments, where it was so nice to see the beautiful smiles and pleasant attitudes. It was not so with this other clerk (without glasses). He was more like the French we'd see on the streets or those who were government employees. They reminded me of a Dylan lyric: "they don't need you, and Man, they expect the same." I asked him about the air conditioner. It was too warm in the room and the AC wasn't working. He said, "It's out." No "I'm sorry". No "may I get you a fan." He was a "delight". If he reads this, I think he'll get the sarcasm. Oui?

    One of the two desk clerks (the man who wore glasses) was nice and helpful.the bread and pastries were excellent. The beds were comfortable and the room was acceptably clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    10
    The hotel was very clean and beds comfy!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was very clean and beds comfy! The breakfast surpassed our expectations. The staff was super friendly and helpful. We would definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    7.5
    Second time i stay in this hotel, good value for the money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Two pillows, one to big and one to small. // No scrambled eggs. // Aircondition din´t work.

    Nice reception-staff. // Clean room. // Close to Metro.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    7.9
    Tres Bonne !!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Apart from Wifi..this hotel is very nice and so close to Gard du Nord

    Arrived late in the day due to Eurostar delay from London..Waited 30 mins for a 15 Euro Taxi to take us to Hotel..little did we know that it is 5 mins walk..and far quicker..!!! Hotel is down a side street near a childrens play area and walking distance to bars and restaurants adjacent to La Fayette main route. Staff at the hotel very accommodating and extremely helpful. Breakfast is simple with the usual choices and plentiful. Sadly the Wi Fi was not brilliant..hit and miss with connecting but seeing as we were there for 2 nights..no great loss !!!. Apart from that..our stay was pleasant..glorious weather and did the Seine boat cruise..perfect for viewing all the lovely architecture from the river..a must while you are there..and go at dusk to enjoy the Illumination's.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    7.5
    Great value budget hotel in a super location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    With a little tlc this hotel could be a real gem. Some areas of hotel building need repairs and general decor maintance. Staff could be a little more helpful about parking and wifi facilities. Despite this definitely would recommend this hotel for a short trip sightseeing in Paris.

    Quiet, relaxing budget hotel in a great location. Perfect for exploring beautiful Paris. Breakfast good and served till 11am.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    3.3
    horrendous!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed bugs! the lack of customer service or empathy shown. sleeping sitting on the toilet as that was the safest area to sleep. worst hotel experience

    NOTHING!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    10
    Great Hotel to stay in Paris
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    Hotel is very well situated and very calm. So easy to discover Paris from Hotel de L'Ocean. We stayed 3 nights and had a lovely time there. The room was spacious, very clean and comfortable and extremely quiet. The bed is just awesome, we slept so well. Bathroom is a bit old (aesthetically speaking) but very clean and practical. We highly recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    8.3
    Reasonable hotel - easy walk of Gare du Nord
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wifi/internet was non-existent and the staff were not particularly apologetic about the fact it wasn't working.

    The room was clean. A relatively short walk to Gare du Nord (About ten minutes down a straight road) - which gives easy access to CDG airport. Plenty of restaurants and bars within a short walk.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    6.3
    Comfortable room, good for one night stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fan didn't work in bathroom, staff didn't seem surprised when it was pointed out to them.

    Comfortable room, good for one night stay. Decent breakfast. Great location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    4.2
    Not good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedroom not as expected, nothing like photographs, bed small when a large double was ordered, reported a leak in bathroom on Sunday night again on Monday morning and finally on Tuesday - nothing done about it so had sound of toilet system filling all night. Bathroom window cracked, bath panel loose, only one plug socket in entire room.

    Location of hotel

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    6.7
    Water pressure of the shower was perfect.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sometime the hot water does not come out in the morning time. Wifi connection is not strong which was very inconvenient for us.

    Water pressure of the shower was perfect. Having bath tub was also very nice .

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    7.5
    Great base to return to for some sleep before heading out again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was warm and air con didn't work. Didn't raise this with staff as we weren't in the room often or long enough for it to be a major issue but it did affect comfort during the night. Had we raised with staff then this may have been remedied. The hotel is a dated and if you're looking for a base to come back and have some drinks etc it's not really set up for that. Didn't try breakfast so can't comment.

    Good location-10 minute walk from Chard du Nord train station and less than 5 minute walk to Cadet metro station. Montmartre is within walking distance too but going there involves an uphill walk (not criticising!). Staff were all very friendly and very helpful. Decent shower in room and comfortable bed. Only stayed for 2 nights for a short city break and it was a good place to stay for this purpose, especially if you're looking to spend some time on Montmartre. In short, this hotel will 'do a job' if you're simply looking only for a place to sleep in between seeing all the sights of Paris. It's has good access and friendly, helpful staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    6.7
    near from all atractions .
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    borring breakfast if man stay more than 3 days. hotel can calculate the taxes evry day with the room cost not make it surprise to the custmers to pay tax 19 Eu for 6 nighgts when we cheking out.

    near from all atractions .

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    7.9
    Fine hotel if your primary objective for it is a place to sleep and eat in the morning.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    If you open windows on the side of the hotel facing the street you will hear every scooter, bus and car in the city (or so it seemed) and your sleep will suffer accordingly. An English language news channel like CNN or the BBC would have been nice.

    Hotel de l'Ocean is in a great location. About a 20 minute walk from Gare de l'Est, 25 minutes from Gare du Nord, and 25 minutes from Gare St. Lazare. Busses to/from these stations are also easily accessible along nearby Lafayette Street. The Lafayette Gallery shopping district is a 20 minute walk and the Cadet Metro Station is less than 5 minutes by foot. There are dozens of diverse restaurants within easy walking distance in every direction, and a McD's and Starbucks by the Cadet metro. The hotel rooms are a bit dated and small (by U.S. standards) but fully functional. I recommend rooms on the side of the building NOT facing the street. You can open the room's window to let cool air in. The hotel breakfast was yummy.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    5.4
    Ok for the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hot water and didn’t fix the problem when they said they would. so I had to take initiative and take a cold one ... Food stains on floor

    Staff and the room were ok and sorted out a shuttle for airport ...

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    8.8
    The hotel was booked from the internet and we were very pleased with the location, service and staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The refrigerator was not working for the first 4 days, but was replaced before we left.

    Particularly liked the opportunity to enjoy a good breakfast before venturing out each day.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    10
    Awesome
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location

    Everything ~ wonderful staff that helped me when I lost something very important and got it shipped to UK ! Rooms were clean and big and just right

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    6.7
    location quite close to Gare du Nord
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    breakfast poor, 5 days stay : 5 days exactly same poor choice of 1 sort of salami and 2 choice of sliced cheese ...

    location quite close to Gare du Nord

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    5.4
    The bed was comfy.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel was 140 euro a night, the room was shabby and tiny. The carpets were not clean, the bathroom had no shower door, windows did not fully open and looked out on back alley. I have been travelling to Paris on business for over 15 years and stayed in better cheaper hotels.

    The bed was comfy.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    10
    A good value, clean and quiet hotel in a great location in Paris.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our outlook on to a brick wall (you get what you pay for!) and the offsite parking was very tight, although secure.

    The room was small and dated, but spotlessly clean, and the beds were very comfortable. The breakfast was delicious with lots of variety and we could make a coffee in our room. The hotel was in a great position. We could walk to the opera and Montmartre. The staff were helpful and we could park outside the front to unload luggage.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    7.1
    adequate hotel, good location but leak of coolant from fridge was a bit alarming on last night
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    On arrival, the first two rooms we were allocated were already occupied. On the 3rd night of our stay, we returned to our room to find it was filled with ? ammonia possibly from a leak from the fridge. It was quite noxious when I retrieved out belongings. We had to get our things and move to another room. The night manager was helpful in finding another room and we did have 70 euros deducted from our bill. It was a bit disappointing.

    The staff were polite and helpful. The reception area was nice and clean. The room was clean. The location was good for the train at the Gare Du Nord and also getting to l'Opera and the Sacre Coeur

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    7.9
    Nice hotel, close to metro
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although tea/coffee facilities in room, there was no milk and only plastic cups to drink from. Nice bathroom but no shower curtain.

    Friendly staff, very comfy bed, good air-conditioning. Adequate breakfast. Close to metro.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    10
    Very comfortable and a good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't think of anything.

    The staff were polite, very helpful, it was clean and the metro was just around the corner and there were plenty of restaurants/ cafe close by.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    5.8
    Staff could be more friendly - a smile would be nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location not great, room small especially the bathroom & I don't class a small sachet of liquid as toiletries! Bar facilities poor didn't even have white wine (we were in France!!!)

    Bed was comfy

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    8.8
    Good launching point for your exploration of Paris.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Slow and spotty internet. Made it difficult to plan on the go. Slow elevator.

    Great and attentive staff. Only hotel in its price range with air conditioning (we arrived on a nearly 100 F day). Very nice continental breakfast. Rooms had balconies that made you feel very Parisian.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    5.8
    Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was disappointed in the fruit section for breakfast. There was no ready chopped fresh fruit eg melon, pineapple, grapes, kiwi fruit. There was a bowl of tinned chopped fruit. There was a bowl of bananas, oranges etc. In other 3.5 star hotels we have stayed in there is always platters of fresh fruit. I was disappointed in the croissants, here we were in Paris looking forward to big fresh, croissants, these were definitely not in that league! The room is tired could do with an update.

    The location in Paris meant we could walk from Gare DE Nord and a good range of bistros & bars within walking district of the hotel. The staff member organised our shuttle to the airport the next morning very efficiently.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    6.7
    Okay place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    First room we were in, water came out of the bathroom ceiling in a steady stream when the air conditioning was turned on. Second room, the air didn't work at all and was an extremely tight space for 3 adults. The next day we were given another room which was much better.

    The guy at the front desk was great. Subway station was very close.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    7.5
    If I will book a room in this hotel another time is depending on the deal they are offering.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Expensive breakfast Public car park next 100 meters away from the Hotel. But the car park where the Hotel offers you discount is further away.

    Nice area for your stay in Paris. Located in a street without much traffic. Plenty of nice restaurants in the direct surrounding of the Hotel

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    8.8
    Good location, friendly helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were friendly and helpful, beds were comfy, hotel was very clean, good location only 10 min walk approx to Sacre Coeur and Gare du Nord. Breakfast was adequate.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    9.6
    I liked it cuz it was near everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Don't eat anything inside of the fridge they charged me 4.50 euros for a bottle of juice

    I liked it cuz it was near everything.10 min walking to sacre cour to the museum louvre or Versailles easy from cadet and Eiffel Tower with arc of triumph easy by bus .

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    7.9
    The hotel is based in a great location, close to the metro...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The hotel could do with a refurbishment it does look tired. The plastic cups for tea and coffee are awful!

    The hotel is based in a great location, close to the metro and near to restaurants and attractions. A safe area to walk around in the evening. This hotel is good value for money - a reasonable 3 star hotel, with friendly staff who were very helpful. I would recommend for families.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    8.3
    Very close to metro, clean , good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was average in terms of variety but quality was good. Shower/shampoo sachets were not enough and we weren't in the mood to ask averyday for extras.

    Hotel was very near to metro Cadet which was so helpful. Rooms were clean and beds very comfortable. Stuff were helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    10
    Excellent place to stay for a short break and within walking distance of Gare du Nord and Eurostar
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    No bar staff in attendance the evening we arrived so the concierge served us but with a limited selection of drinks available. However he was very accommodating.

    Very comfortable beds and as requested when booking the room was in a very quiet location. Excellent buffet breakfast available at an additional cost and our child ate for free. Staff lovely and very helpful and spoke perfect English.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    9.2
    Nice hotel in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Having to pay extra for breakfast. The wi-fi was terrible - kept cutting out.

    Friendly staff who spoke English. Reasonable sized room with comfy beds. Great location with easy access to the Metro, and in a quiet street. Plenty of restaurants around to choose from with great food.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    7.1
    OK location, my room was small, wifi terrible.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wifi was terrible. Could not connect much of the time, low signal. Room was very small, and no plugs, so to charge my phone/computer I had to unplug the mini-bar. Bed was too soft.

    Reasonably nice staff. Better breakfasts than I have seen.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    9.2
    Great location and staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Although clean and comfortable the room probably needs to be refurbished along with the hotel which is a bit worn and dated.

    Very nice staff, professional, friendly and helpful. The room was very clean and the neighborhood is one of my favorites in Paris (9th).

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    7.5
    Location is fairly good - a little further away from Gare du...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location is fairly good - a little further away from Gare du Nord than I thought, but very close to Cadet metro. The continental buffet breakfast is good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    9.2
    good hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I like this Hotel very much. Very attentive and professional staff, big room (For Paris). I recommend to take breakfast in the Hotel (good food and comfortably). Thank you very much for everything. Hope i will come back :-)

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    9.2
    Daher was great - so helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't say we particularly cared for the other desk clerks - one hardly smiled. We felt like we were talking to Data from Star Trek

    Daher was great - so helpful. He helped resolve issues we had - helped us figure out what metros to take The staff in the morning at the breakfast area were also very nice

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    7.1
    The fellow on the front desk was always friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was quite small and difficult to stow luggage. Coffee and tea making facilities were limited.

    The fellow on the front desk was always friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    6.3
    The room was nice and was comfortable.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast is cold only (including cold boiled eggs). It was necessary to ask reception for a user name and password for the wifi. The bathroom was old and the plugs did not work.

    The room was nice and was comfortable. There were a few snacks in the mini bar that you could buy.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    8.3
    Good , Clean and small rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Strict on check in check out timings. No complementary water bottles. Very small rooms and view from window was just a wall :(

    Reception staff was too good , location was a good choice nearby metro and bus stops. Neighborhood there's park. Overall good for money!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    6.7
    Located around the corner from Gare de Nord Station
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Arrived late, no towels in the room for our shower and couldn't connect to the internet until the morning

    Located around the corner from Gare de Nord Station

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    8.3
    Pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small rooms pleasant

    Rooms a little small but comfortable. Hot water available all the time, which was awesome. Breakfast was basic however I did enjoy it. Staff very pleasant and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    9.2
    Loved it!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is very old, as they all are in Paris, but it was very intimate and had old world character. Also an elevstor which is a bonus in a lot of the smaller, older hotels. The staff were excellent and the hotel was just so spotlessly clean. Very short walk to Rue la Fayette and Cadet Metro. Great Bistros within very short walk and open late. Fabulous value for money.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2017

    7.9
    Overall a very nice stay. The staff and being in paris made up for all the discomforts of the room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was very soft and so we're the pillows. Room was nice though quite small. Quite noisy and the room was very hot. And couldn't get the air conditioning to cool the room down. They only have de caff coffee.And it would have been nice to have proper cup and saucer in room instead of plastic. But they were happy to change that when asked.

    The staff we very help and friendly. They helped with all directions and booked us a taxi in advance for the trip back home. All staff were excellent. Just a short walk to cadet metro. Lots of mini supermarkets for shopping. Lots of places to eat from expensive restaurants to take away food.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    8.3
    Well connected to Gare du nord (train station) and the subway
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location of the hotel was great for those who will come by train from Gare du Nord and it is also close to the subway and some bus stations. The room was clean, comfortable and quite and the personnel friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2017

    7.9
    I would recommend the place to someone
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was the same breakfast (ingredients) every day. When someone is there for a week, it becomes an issue.

    I liked the neighborhood. Lots of places to eat, to shop. The metro was a couple blocks away which makes it easier to move around without paying "an arm and a leg" for transportation

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2017

    5.8
    Classic look at entrance
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    *Bath tub water hole had an unpleasant look *shampoo and conditioner was not easily accessible, not properly available near the wash basin.hidden in the towels * no bread toaster * coffee machine was in the cleaning mode at the time of usage *

    Classic look at entrance

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2017

    7.5
    Good location, old but clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lobby smells a bit but not the room. Breakfast was 13€ so decided to skip it.

    Nice cleaners, quiet street for sleeping, close to metro, Nice restaurants nearby. Old but good price for quality

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    7.1
    Good value, clean and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Luke warm water for shower in the morning. It had been very hot in the evening though.

    Good location close to Cadet Metro station & Gare du Nord. Cosy room with comfortable, good sized bed and was very warm. Breakfast simple but healthy choices and well presented.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    9.2
    Excellent value for city-centre comfort.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Comfortable room, facing away from the street (I had requested a quiet room); warm despite the bitterly cold weather (-4C!) and comfortable bed. Luggage was looked after for us on our last day. Easy walk to Grands Boulevards, shops, Opera Garnier and city centre; very close to the bus and Metro stop at Cadet (3 mins walk).

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    7.9
    Basic, but ok for a short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are a bit outdated, but we did check other opinions on this hotel and did not expect luxury.

    We stayed in Paris for the weekend, after changing our flight. So we searched for hotel close to centre, with breakfast option. Location of the hotel is good, not many traffic on the street and it's close to metro station. Some nice restaurants in the neighbourhood. Breakfast was good also - had less options to choose from, when staying in some pricier hotels. Staff is friendly, help with information and suggestions. Wi-Fi connection in rooms.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    8.8
    c'est la vie
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    What isn't there to like, Paris is a diverse city, you will be met by people asking for money, or cigarettes especially at the train stations, and beggars are a common site. You will get approached if sitting outside a cafe or bistro, if it is quiet, I never experienced any aggressive behavior & a polite wave of the hand or shake of your head and you will be left alone.

    Exactly what I needed in a great location. Yes it's 3 Star, the staff were really pleasant and helpful. The BED was sooo comfy, the room was small, ideal for me a solo business traveler & it is Paris. Room was cleaned everyday. It is 10 mins walk Gard Du Nord & Cadet Metro is 2 mins at bottom of Rue. For shopping, Galleries LaFayette is 10 mins walk. Great Cafes & Bistros all along the way.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    9.6
    Hôtel de l'Ocean - All you need in Paris
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Because of my background I like to have more variety of flavours in my food. The breakfast was standard French cuisine with croissant, bread, cheese. All very nice. I am just a little picky !

    The bedroom and bed were very cosy and comfortable. No noise what-so-ever. Room was snug and warm. Staff are nice and friendly. Shower was really good ! No hassle, easy going, enjoyable.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    9.6
    Comfortable and excellent breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    View from room - just a wall - but thats quite common in Paris I've found

    Excellent breakfast - buffet with cheese eggs pastries, fruit etc Very quiet location, convenient for Gare du Nord, metro, sights

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    5.0
    As soon as we arrived the hotel we asked for a shuttle to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As soon as we arrived the hotel we asked for a shuttle to airport reservation as advised in the reception and gave 16 € to the person in charge. On the day of departure when we went down for breakfast we asked the person in reception to check the reservation, he insisted there is no need to check as we had the paper of reservation even though we asked it a few times. And when the time came to depart there was no shuttle coming. We had to take a taxi to catch our flight. The person in reception called a taxi which came half an hour later. We had difficulty catching our flight and had to pay 57€ instead of 36€. The person in reception said he will check the situation and pay us back the 21€ we paid extra. Till today we couldn’t get any information. I SENT EMAILS TO THE HOTEL BUT NO REPLY!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    5.4
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Incredibly overpriced, old room towels, light in room wasn't working, wifi only worked for one day, in a very basic service for amount of money paid

    Good location

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    6.3
    I liked the location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I stayed two nights I did not like the first receptionist as he was very rude to me. I ask questions that does not mean he ha to be angry at me. He was on on his mobile phone all the time. I went on Tuesday September 26 in the morning. The next receptionist changed and he was good. The phone was disconnected The wifi was not so fast but usable.

    I liked the location

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    7.1
    Very Basic hotel, good for sleeping and the price was fair for Paris.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Maybe upgrade toiletries in bathroom , and wifi could be faster !

    Is very basic hotel , breakfast is very basic...if you like croissants and coffee in morning - then this is for you ! mind to take your own toiletries , because hotel offers only soap and some strange liquid in plastic package ! The location is good, just near 'Cadet 'metro station. I got a room with balcony in 6th floor - that was lovely .

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    9.6
    Great location, helpful staff, comfortable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The queen sized bed is tiny, if you are not a small couple, it might be uncomfortable. The coffee tea cups & spoons are of cheap plastic (that melt with hot water). But these are minor issues.

    Great location. Close to the metro and major tourist spots like the sacre coeur. Warm & helpful staff, they went out of their way to find us information. Room was clean. We had a wonderful stay.

    Stayed in September 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hôtel de l'Ocean traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: