Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel des Remparts 3 stars

48, Rue Thiers, 21200 Beaune, France

#17 of 43 hotels in Beaune

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 266 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This property is an impressing combination of old and modern: an old building made in the local white stone in typical regional architecture was renovated to be a very comfortable modern hotel with all the facilities you need to feel at home and welcomed. Very well located, the reception and breakfast area is well thought out to feel more like a country house than a hotel. The rooms are spacious and offer a very modern bathroom and comfortable beds.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beams in the tower room , danger to hit your head in the night, the bathroom was completely outdated. The price for this room 140 euro was the same as for a room with a renovated bathroom. This is unfair.

    The location the property, the reception guys.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    breakfast bit steep at 13 euros for quality

    warm welcoming informative staff at reception english speaking private parking excellent location close to everything yet quiet

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Processed ham at breakfast 13 euros was for convenience not value for money No tissues in room

    Warmth and helpfulness of front desk staff Excellent location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved the bar and family room ares of the hotel. We were able to relax after two hectic weeks of travel, sip pinot, chat with the owner, and catch up on outside communication because of the excellent wifi connections.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We weren’t prepared for two of us to sleep in a full bed.

    The staff were attentive, helpful, and friendly. The building is great, old and interesting but well equipped. The location couldn’t be better.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was very basic for the price. The bar / dining area is a bit sad... the room was great and I hope the owners spread their upgrade / design skills to the reception / dining area as we felt it lets the hotel down on first impression.

    The room was fantastic and conveniently located with rear door to street where car was parked!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent location for centre of Beaune. Welcoming and comfortable.

    Excellent location near the centre of Beaune. Very pleasant staff - who remembered us from visit some four years ago!. Comfortable and quiet room. Good facilities. Convenient underground car park.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The internet quality was not very good. Nice

    The night manager, Arnauld, was most helpful in making suggestions for attractions and restaurants! Merci!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. We liked it all

    The staff was very professional but also friendly. The beautiful courtyard was a great place to relax and the building itself has such character!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The superior room was light and bright with direct access to the back lane for parking(if available). The staff were very pleasant. The location is excellent and the bed very comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the bolster type pillow on the bed was not very comfortable and the towels were typical small french ones.

    lovely quaint property with a lovely courtyard. Lovely and quiet for being so close to the center of town. Staff very helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was lovely with character, very comfortable. Location excellent, easy walking to centre of town and no street noise.

    Lovely hotel, but up on the third floor, round spiral stairs with luggage was a bit of a struggle, no lift!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing wrong for one night. Limited shelf space and no drawers for underwear for a longer stay.

    Beautiful bathroom, huge and modern, all marble. Pretty courtyard for breakfast and ancient stone contrasted with modern LED lights in the room.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower was tiny and breakfast was only fairly basic

    Beautiful old hotel with bags of character and lovely little interior courtyards to sit in. Staff were very helpful and the rooms are very individual but extremely comfortable

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No seperate shower. Lots of stairs.

    There was a lovely courtyard in which to relax and enjoy drinks after a day of sightseeing. The courtyard was also nice for breakfast on sunny days. The staff were helpful and efficient.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A quaint hotel, excellent value for money. The staff were friendly and helpful. Our room was quite large and we looked into a pretty internal garden courtyard. IThe hotel is really welll located to the main sights of Beaune , restaurants and bars.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice local 3 star hotel, right inside this lovely old town. Rambling old building with interior courtyard which would have been good in the heat ( but it was raining!) Good stopover on long journey.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owner was lovely and very smily but we found the staff to be abrupt & unfriendly.

    The room was modern & comfortable with private street access which is good when with pets. Comvenient location.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was poor and you could not choose what you wanted and served a selection of items. Additionally you could not sit outside in courtyard between 10pm and 8am.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was treated as I would expect in a 5star hotel. Easy walk to/from train with one roller bag. Perfect location for exploring this historic walled city, breakfast was excellent, room was charming and clean, and service was wonderful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Narrow walkways to above ground level rooms. Rooms needed more light. Second room in suite original timber furniture could be more comfortable.

    Junior suite had great modern bathroom, lovely courtyard for meals and leisure. Easy walk to town centre. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was facing the inner garden and the breakfast were served there from 8am. So too much noise early in the morning. If you are looking for peace, try a room facing the outside. This was a trap.

    Location was great, room nice and big. We have taken the suite.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Help with luggage would have been nice. Wifi really struggled.

    A/C worked great. Enjoyed having wine, cheese and bread in the courtyard in the evening after sightseeing. Then we would pick up items in town. We prefer lunch out and lighter meal in the evening.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My husband is tall and our room had low beams. Wish we were on a lower floor. Quiet but long way up.

    I loved the facility. Very quiet in great location. Quick walk to town.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could use nicer carpet and drapes.

    Location is great. Rooms are comfortable if not particularly well decorated. Wifi improved since last year. Staff very nice. We have always managed to get parking on the street out front. Easy access in and out of city.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi didn't work in top floor rooms. A bit of a hike with luggage through the hotel to the top floor.

    Facility (rooms and common areas including a central, internal courtyard) was lovely. Nicely appointed. great location within easy walk of everything in Beaune.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi was very slow.

    Excellent large clean and quite room. Very charming. Lovely to eat breakfast in the courtyard, and have a pre dinner drink in the evening before walking a few hundred metres into the into town.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The Hotel Des Ramparts was a lovely place to stay. The room was large, very comfortable and quiet. The bed was great and we slept so well. Loved the staff; they were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast offered at the hotel was good and made it easy for us to eat and head out for our day of wandering. There is a lovely courtyard where we often lingered in the late afternoon before heading out to dinner. Lots of good restaurants, boulangers and markets close by.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms were OK and clean but a bit dated and one very dark. The breakfast was served the same to everyone and we got a lot of stuff we didn't want. I thought it was expensive for a slightly tatty place with a lot of stairs and no lift. We were up two flights of narrow stairs.

    Beautiful building in the centre of Beaune, friendly staff.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Watch your head on the beams in the attic room!

    The hotel is very cool. Not a modern hotel with elevator but historic. We just don't have many places like this in the US. Staff was awesome and very accommodating. Short walk to all the restaurants. Air conditioning was awesome. Great nights sleep.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We won't go back again mainly as they had a very old fashioned credit card machine which wouldn't accept any of our cards and we had to go to the town centre to get money out and pay cash. Not what you need at 7.30 am.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, really.

    Don't expect more than a continental breakfast, but that perfectly fits the experience and saves room for bigger meals later in the day.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Friendly staff and a character building, very close to the historic centre of Beaune.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely room which suited our needs. Great location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast much too expensive for the quality. Room rate much too expensive for the quality/location as well.

    Old/historical room type

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi, Air Conditioner...

    Staff

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owners are charming and Arnaud, the Manager, is delightful. Between them they made our stay special. The croissants were delicious too!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds not as comfortable, noise travelled, too many stairs of different sizes. Bathroom crowded.

    Central to town.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent breakfast, great sleep.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very good location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A fantastic venue, great décor large room and friendly staff. will certainly stay agai.n

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was very spacious, great location, and Arnold was wonderful!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Building works next door

    The staff were lovely

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stairs.

    The rooms had been renovated since our last visit and are lovely. The Courtyard is sweet.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No parking and we had to pay to go and park in a parking garage

    Coffee and crousants very good Staff friendly and helpfull

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No shower curtain or shower door. Holes in the floor under the rug in the room make it possible to trip and fall. No lift.

    Quiet

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fantastic tower room with beams was beautiful and very comfortable

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Excellent staff and lovely rooms

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great and friendly staff and owner. Was a real pleasure! Great value for money.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good breakfast. Very nice location - within easy walking distance of the main town and local restaurants.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathtub "shower" needs to have a clip installed so that you can take a shower standing.

    Good location.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no onsite parking, slow WIFI

    location

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly staff and great location

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cold stone floor. No cereal at breakfast.

    Lovely old building close to the heart of town

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the breakfast

    The location and rather quirky hotel

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Easy walk from train station and into center. We were able to rent bicycles at the hotel and ride into the vineyards!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Short walk into Beaune which was perfect. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good bed. Good hospitality for the dog, resulting into a room at the ground floor...

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ground floor room had musty odour

    Near center of town.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Staff were very helpful. Great central location.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing could be improved ... It is perfect

    Well placed for easy access to shops etc . Beautiful peaceful courtyard

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Concierge recommended and booked us an excellent restaurant for dinner

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We don't like to make negative comments about this wonderful hotel. However, they had the worst toilet paper we have ever had in all our travels Europe over many years. It was a shock for such an otherwise wonderful hotel. We would certainly stay here again, but we would bring our own supplies.

    The hotel was very conveniently located, and we walked everywhere. It was within easy walking distance from the train station - perhaps 10 minutes. My wife and I liked the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff. They suggested places to see and places to eat. They showed us on a map how to get around town, which really helped because of the winding streets where we could easily get lost. The breakfast was good and a great way to start the day. It was a wonderful experience, and we would highly recommend it to others.

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Chilly in the corridors

    Nice character hotel in the centre of Beaune. Easy parking, good size room with clean bathroom. Breakfast is extra but is good with eggs meat & cheese. Close to shops and restaurants.

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    This hotel is real "france profonde" the sort of old fashioned inn that you rarely find. It is a few hundred yards from the Hospices de Beaune and the Place Carnot. The staff were incredibly helpful and kind. Breakfast as generous - hard boiled eggs, ham and yogurt on top of the usual croissants, bread and biscuits. They treated the dog like a king ! Simple, old fashioned and about as far from a boutique hotel as you can get - but the real thing.

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel staff were so lovely. The room was amazing, huge, modern, clean and built into the ramparts so even more special. It's a great location. Really enjoyed our stay.

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The breakfast was nice but very basic and therefore quite expensive.If staying at the back, off the courtyard ( lovely in summer ) the old narrow spiral stone staircase could be awkward to negotiate with luggage and early leavers could be quite noisy on departure

    Excellent position in a quiet street and yet only minutes walking distance from dozens of very good restaurants. Very friendly ,helpful staff,and even the owners were often on hand to ensure satisfaction.

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great location if travelling train. Very quaint. Staff was very hospitable. We rented bikes to tour the vineyards and the hotel had a wonderful, secured storage area.

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    A lovely hotel. Such a nice atmosphere and the courtyard is a wonderful place to absorb the ambiance and relax. The room was surprisingly spacious and very comfortable and the staff was so helpful and friendly. We loved our visit there.

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Quirky old world hotel built into old city walls as name suggests. Full of winding corridors and staircases, Didn't see an escalator. Fab receptionist who carried our bags - a la Exotic Mariglod Hotel. Lovely town too

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Ground floor room, did not have windows - felt claustrophobic, even thought quite spacious,

    Close to the centre of Beaune. 5 minutes walk. Friendly flexible staff - I had booked for two days but i had to leave after a day. They charged me only for one day. The central courtyard where they serve breakfast is fantastic

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We stayed for 1 night at the Hotel Des Remparts. We arrived late having been very delayed by the Eurotunnel migrant problems, but Lydie was very helpful and accommodating. The staff overall the next day were very friendly. The HdR is in a great location right in the centre of Beaune. Street parking was no problem (they provide a map). Beaune is a nice city well worth a day trip to walk around. Our room itself was quite spacious and quaint. The hotel has a charming courtyard and front aspect full of character. The HdR was great value for money

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    staff were absolutely delightful; warm, welcoming, helpful and attentive. The outdoor day room is stunning and very romantic. The location is amazing - I'd definitely stay there again.

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The pillow and bed covers left a lot to be desired. The bed cover was patched with stains ! Our room was cleanish but needs updating. The curtains were thin and ill fitting

    Location was brilliant. Staff friendly

There are also 29 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: