Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hôtel de Verdun 2 stars

49, rue de l'Hôtel des Postes, 06000 Nice, France

#82 of 169 hotels in Nice

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1191 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.8

  • Comfort

    7.1

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    7.1

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2018

    8.8
    Very friendly and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    You had to walk up two flights of steps to reach the reception (no elevator from the ground floor). Television reception was very poor and some common channels appeared to be missing.

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Location was great.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2018

    6.7
    The reception staff were wonderful, really friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 12 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were clean, however the towels were like sandpaper and the toilet roll was never replaced once empty, we did have to keep going down to reception and asking for some. The shower was also terrible.

    The reception staff were wonderful, really friendly. Beds were comfy which was a bonus. I liked the hotel overall but there were a couple of things for improvement.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    8.3
    Perfect location for a good time in Nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sink had crackles and there was a big stain on the floor.

    The staff was very friendly and the location is superb, very near to the sea and Old Town.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    8.8
    Clean hotel, good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Elevator did not start at ground floor. Had ro carry our luggage up and down about 25 steps to get to check-in. But there was a very small elevator starting from there.

    Had individual room air conditioner/heater that worked very well. Staff helped carry our luggage part way. Had a cute little balcony.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    9.2
    Day guy (owner) is an amazing fellow!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Night guy is just a terrible human. Will not smile, neither look you in the eyes...

    Day guy (owner) is an amazing fellow! Loved the stay, great value place. Highly recommend!! :D

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    8.8
    Hotel de Verdun
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no ventilation fan in the bathroom. The carpet needs to be replaced, there were burn marks in the carpet. The bed cover was made of a rough scratchy fabric. The lighting was poor, especially the bedside lamp was terrible for reading.

    The staff is very friendly and helpful. Fantastic location within walking distance of the beach, Vieux Nice and Gare Nice Ville.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    6.7
    Centrally located hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a little shabby and the window opened into a dark space between buildings. I would have been happier if the fridge was quieter and there had been tea making facilities available.

    Staff,location,bathroom and breakfasts

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    9.2
    Great hotel in Nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were extremely helpful, allowing us to keep one of our rooms three hours longer after check out at no cost! Location couldn't be better.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    7.9
    Good value for money and excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stairs to reception, bad room in the first 2 nights which was changed once I asked

    Location location location , good breakfast ,nice staff (when I complained about my very uncomfortable bed for 2 nights ,they changed my room at once and made up for it by a 2 day free breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    5.8
    Rooms should be cleaner
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room dirty especially the carpet (I couldn't walk without shoes on it). Fridge was ancient and made an awful sound.

    Staff ok. Location excellent, right in the center

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    8.8
    Amazing location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The best location : just behind Galleria Lafayette ! Very good personal , very clean hotel . Very old building you feel your self in piece of history ))) hotel just near tram way so in day time room moving a bit )

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    9.6
    Great staff & clean rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel looks a bit worn down and tired and breakfast was very basic for €10

    From the moment we arrived the staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was very clean and the bed comfortable. The air conditioning worked perfectly but the WiFi connection wasn’t great. The hotel was in a great area, close to restaurants and the beach.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    2.5
    Dirty hotel, ended with insect bites all over, spend holiday at the pharmacy and itching.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel had bedbugs!!!! Made me ill gained a phobia for 2 star hotels, my first stay at a 2 star!!! So far my experience!!! Most concerning part is that the hotel owner knows about the bedbugs and says it is normaal in Nice!!!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    6.3
    This hotel is Ok. Location is perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s just very tired looking. The carpet on the floor of my room looked very tired and worn. I kept shoes on all the time. While bed and bathroom were clean, there were lots of things that let this room down. I dont think it would take much to make these look fresh and modern. Update the old quilt and cushions on the bed and a fresh paint job would do wonders.

    This hotel is in a great location, walking distance to Old town and the beach with lots of cafes and restaurants close by. Friendly staff. Happy to help with directions and where to find things. Bed was ok and bathroom clean. I didn’t try the breakfast but the breakfast room looked ok Great air conditioning. Room was reasonably quiet and I was facing out onto the street and couldn’t hear any traffic noise.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    4.6
    The location is central and close to everything
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    BEDBUGS ! The last thing I expected was bugs at this hotel. it's unimaginable to still have this kind of bugs in France. The hygiene is non negotiable !! and the worst thing was when they saw all the red pimples on on my arms and neck they were not surprised and they offered to change my room! are you serious!! I stayed there late July 2018, room was Ok since this is what you get on similar old nice and I have been to plenty 2 and 3 stars hotels in Nice but to compromise on hygiene hell No !!

    The location is central and close to everything

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    6.3
    Good location for going into the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was smaller than expected from the pictures and very basic in terms of facilities. The bathroom was very small for 4 adults. Two of the twins were already together and couldn't be separated. It was very noisy with the windows open (due to no ac) and bars downstairs.

    Good location for going into the city. The receptionist was great, very helpful and warm personality!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    5.0
    Good location and worth it only for short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Arriving at night and meeting a receptionist who the most he could do was shake his head when you ask questions (Ahmed) but all the other receptionist we met following day were very nice and helpful (Aline and the other two gentlemen on the following shifts) towels and shower curtain could do with upgrade. The carpet in the room has seen better days hence makes the room smell funny.

    The only good thing about this hotel is the location which is close to Main Street and station. The hotel stored our bags for few hours before we left for airport this was nice

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    8.3
    Ond hotel, best location, affordable prices
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    One of the neon lights shined into the apartment, but we used the curtain - they also shut it down shortly in the night. The city is crowded, and noisy, but this is what you should expect when you book a hotel in the really center.

    Great place to stay here if you are interested in getting immersed into Nice nightlife: easy to access from the city highlights and easy to get to the airport as well (bus in front of the hotel). The furniture is a bit old, but the bed was great. Staff was helpful and really friendly, thanks for all!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    5.4
    The staff are friendly and helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is not clean especially dirty carpet on the floors and there are bed bugs and they bites me all of my body and face and It make me very itch

    The staff are friendly and helpful Good location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    7.1
    Fine location, easy to find.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fine location, easy to find. Room price ok. The breakfast is not included in the room price we found out, and 20Euros for the breakfast served was a bit steap from my point of view.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    9.6
    Very charming hotel. Location and staff were excellent. The price was very affordable for my budget
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi was very weak, I could get a signal most of the time, but took a long time to upload or send/receive photos or videos.

    This hotel was very charming. Loved how comfy the bed was, and that I had a window I could step out. The room was very clean, and the AC was perfect after a really hot day. Some might complain about the room size- the studio feel to it was different for a hotel for sure, but it was all I needed, being just by myself, I was not bothered that the toilet or shower were open to the room.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    7.1
    Value for Money but still dumpy
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower and the hotel is just kind of dumpy - it could be a really nice property with some tender loving care.

    Great AC - but its old - but most hotels are crap in NIce so for the cost it is better than many 3 stars that cost 2 and 3 times as much. Have stayed here two or three times before. CLose to beach and old Nice and there is a lot in the area if you explore it.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    9.2
    Can't wait to go back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception lady was very friendly and helpful. On arrival, she let us look at two rooms and choose which we preferred. Location is great for the beach strip and also the amazing old town. Great place to stay.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    8.3
    Good Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift on the ground floor I had to carry my luggage but when I was going the young male staff helped to carry my luggage to the taxi.

    Bathroom, location and the price

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    10
    Staff were super helpful and accommodating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Staff were super helpful and accommodating. I had a bike with me which was pretty big, they let me assemble it in a little side room. Lots of good restaurant recommendations and interesting conversation with the guy who works the front desk overnight.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    7.9
    Good location & value for money for budget travelers
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Need more options for breakfast.

    The location is fantastic, just few steps away from the main street. About 5 to 7 minutes of walk to the beach. we were 4 of us & took 4 single beds which were comfortable & clean. The rooms are tiny but they are clean. Although the hotel is more of self service types the manager Ms. Aline in particular is a very helpful & cheerful person. She recommended us a fantastic day tour. Breakfast spread is not that lavish however the hotel is good value for money.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    8.3
    Right opposite the train station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tv came on by itself at 5 o'clock in the morning. Tram line right outside but room was at the back so not too much sound disturbance

    Right opposite the train station. Location good

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    6.3
    The hotel is very centrally located, close to the old town...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    At times you can hear a lot of noise from within the hotel (other rooms). This kept us awake during the evening. At night is was quiet. In addition, we didn't like the mattress (we didn't sleep well). There is also no elevator to the first floor. This was no problem for us but I can imagine that for some people this poses problems.

    The hotel is very centrally located, close to the old town of Nice and yet it is a quiet neighbourhood. The room was very clean and the bathroom was nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    10
    Great location, fabulous simple breakfast, friendly helpful staff. Would recommend to friends.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Lounge and hall stairs and landing could do with a paint job, but no issue for me.

    breakfast was excellent. Coffee as good as it gets. Croissants perfect

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    9.6
    Great value, great location but please replace the carpets!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The carpets in the rooms/ main staircase are dirty and bring down the look of the hotel as a whole.The couch downstairs has also seen better days,and gives a bad first impression. Replace them, and the hotel would look immensely better.

    Bedsheets/towels were clean and the pillows and bed were very comfy. Staff were lovely and friendly and very helpful. Location and value for money were both excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    4.2
    Not a pleasure.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The stairs, the noisy location of the hotel- all night yelling, fighting between night owls. Very shabby property. Housekeepers keeps dirt and rugs next to your door until late afternoon. Room very shabby, old worn furniture, smell in the room- perhaps smoking- even I ordered nonsmoking. The breakfast room very unpleasant, there were sheets left on the chairs to dry. The owner was displeased to hear that I want to short my stay but agreed. Nice is very beautiful city, but reasonable hotels are at very low level.

    Was in the center city- that's all.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    7.1
    Cleanliness: good, Location: very good & close to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi is very bad, Check-in is somehow complicated, no elevator from the ground to 1st floor (Am: 2nd floor)

    Cleanliness: good, Location: very good & close to Corniche but not the beach, friendly staff, fridge in the room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    7.9
    I will return to the hotel
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    I will return to the hotel 1 But: I will have another room because the WC is situated in the room - not in a separat bathroom- it means that if you are going to have for example a stomac desiese (I had not) it will smells bad int the room. 2 You have to notice that there are 1x2 stairs before you reach the lift. If you are handicapped it will be rathere hard to stay in this hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    8.3
    Kind, helpful and welcoming staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kind, helpful and welcoming staff! Reception man carried our bags up the stairs and was very accommodating and friendly, really appreciated this. Also helpful with directions to the airport bus. Great location close to everything, vieux Nice, promenade des Anglais, port of Nice and gelato, also shopping centre district etc. Great breakfast. Highly recommend, thank you for our stay :)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    9.2
    -So kindly Staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Curtains surround a toilet. There is no door for toilet or washroom.

    -So kindly Staff. He told me a lot about the town. -Good location. It's near a big street. -Free wifi works well in a room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    7.9
    The hotel was great but the shower was smelling
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn’t like one of the receptionist he looks like he is on his 50 or 60 he was working on Sunday he is very unfriendly he doesn’t say hi to people I said thank you he didn’t even say anything, I wouldn’t mind go back to the hotel if I have to but not to meet him if is possible.

    I like one receptionist he is very Kind and friendly, he is from Iran unfortunately I can’t remember his name but he is from Iran! He know how to talk to customer and friendly!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    9.6
    Excellent service at the best location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very good central location, between the Old Town and the train station. The guys at the reception are remarkable. Very friendly, welcoming. It was my second stay at this hotel and, certainly, not the last one.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    8.8
    very comfortable and clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    nothing

    very close to the beach and the lady at staff, she was so gracious and fun. many restaurant closeby . extremly close to the nice carnivale. 5 Min by tram from nice ville train station

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    9.6
    Really enjoyed my stay, Christmas market three minutes walk and old city of Nice really close.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The furniture was old but serviceable and the rooms, bedding etc. all clean. The shower room was probably refurbished fairly recently, modern and attractive, but it would have been more easily accessible if the door opened into the room and not into the shower room.

    Hotel is in a fantastic location, easily reached from Nice airport on bus route 98, 6 euros. For days out, buses and trains all nearby. Massena square, park, shops all minutes away. Walk to beach ten minutes. Hotel excellent price over Christmas. Staff friendly, helpful and all spoke English. I highly recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    9.2
    Good choice for great location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room layout was a bit strange, with toilet right at the entrance and shower cabin right next to the bed.

    Staff was very friendly, location is superb! Easily accessible by foot and public transport. Not far from main attractions.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    7.1
    its worth the money we paid
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    old furniture, also my wife lost her golden necklace in the room we couldn't find it. we asked the front desk to help, their answer was ( sorry we asked the cleaner and he didn't see it sorry).

    good location, nice staff,

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    7.1
    you get what you pay for
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    a lick of paint would do this place well, and the bathroom had a smell that was rather unpleasant. Also I think that the key system is not very safe, 'just leave the key on the counter' is ok, if the receptionist is there all the time, but he can't because he will have to help other customers get their bags etc, so anyone could have gotten access to my room in my absence.

    for a hotel that is a bit shabby and run down, it was ok and the guy at the reception was really friendly. the room was large and it is not the hotels fault that there is a lot of noise outside.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    8.3
    Very central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very thin walls, I could hear my nighbours talking. On the other hand, no noises from the outside as the windows had double glazing.

    Located in the very centre of Nice, close to the old town. Very nice staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    9.6
    Loved it here and would definitely stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I would describe the hotel as quite basic (but clean) but I absolutely loved it. The location is fantastic, just 10 minutes from the beach. What made this hotel is the staff, the owner particularly was really helpful and went out of his way to help - printing out my boarding pass, lending me cutlery, marking bus stops on a map. The room was spacious and the bed was comfy. The shower was on the small side (or perhaps I'm too large!). Yes, the wifi only worked in reception, but I didn't spend much time in my room anyway.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    8.3
    friendly staff, good location (close to the old city and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    friendly staff, good location (close to the old city and there is a tram stop very close by, two stops from the train station), good breakfast, wifi was OK

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    5.0
    Will not return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed uncomfortable carpet dirty and stained no air conditioning apart from an open window wifi poor no facilities damp smell in room

    Bathroom clean modern and a good size staff friendly

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    3.3
    I wanted to get another hotel. I wouldn't recommend it at all.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It is an old hotel and a bit run down. The bathroom was too small and the carpet dirty. The reception is located on the first floor with no lift to get to it.

    The proximity of cafes, restaurants, shopping, the promenade and old Nice.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    9.2
    Lovely stay. Staff were so friendly and accommodating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Super friendly staff, very helpful and accommodating! It is an older hotel so expect older furnishings. But it was comfortable and updated baths. And the location couldn't be beat. Very convenient to old town, beach, shopping, restaurants, Tram stop. Great value for the money!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    8.8
    My stay was very comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Poor wi-fi in the room, though it was excellent in the living room.

    The location was excellent:very close to the Place Massena, beaches and the old city. The breakfast was very good: flaky fresh croissants, tasty ham and cheese, eggs, two types of juice, very good coffee. Rooms were cleaned everyday, clean towels and all the bathroom things were provided every day. Air-conditioning helped a lot in very hot days. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly, especially M.Hugues.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    9.2
    I would like to thank the staff of hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would like to thank the staff of hotel! They are very kind and helpful. All my requests were fulfilled! My special thanks to Hugues and Alina! Also I would like to highlight very good outside noice insulation if windows are closed.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    9.2
    Mercy Hotel de Verdun
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really can not fault it at all .

    The location is superb just two minutes walk from Massena ( main square ) , five minutes walk to the beach , ten minutes walk to the old town and ten minutes walk to the train station , the port and the castle . The room is very good size with relatively large bathroom . The beds are low . The breakfast is ok . The staff are extremely friendly English speaking and helpful . The reception is manned 24 hours . Very good value for money . I will definitely book this hotel again .

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    2.9
    What a terrible experience!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was bad in this hotel. Breakfast was poor and insects were on the breakfast table. Staff was extremely rude and not trained and there was a lot of noise from the other rooms. When I complained about the tenants making noise at 4 in the morning the manager and receptionists basically laughed and accused me of being irrational and told me that they cannot forbid people from having a discussion in their room (even if they were screaming in the middle of the night)!!!! I left and went to another hotel! This was the worst experience I had in a hotel ever!

    Nothing

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    7.5
    Cute room in a perfect location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Plus Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The man that welcomed us (we arrived late at night) was sleeping shirtless on the common room sofa. We had to wake him and he was very rude, wouldn't say a word. We had to come back twice because he hadnt given us enough info (check out time and wifi passwords), he seemed very mad that we woke him!

    I liked the location, right across the gallery Lafayette! The room was cute and cozy.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    10
    Centrally located, clean, comfortable, good public transport.
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    The hotel is centrally located and easy to get to on public transport. The host is especially gracious, and the hotel is clean and comfortable. This is my second stay, and if l return to Nice, l will be choosing this hotel again.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    7.5
    Good place for one night stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom looks OK, but could be a little bit cleaner.

    Good place for one night stay. Center of Nice. But you should not expect anything special - sleep overnight and leave.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    5.8
    Good location. Cheap. Not the cleanest.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Despite only paying €40 euros it just felt dirty. The carpets and the comforters were old and stained. If i had spent more money I would be upset, but I guess that's just what you pay for.

    The location was great and the staff was friendly

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    3.8
    Disgusting carpet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bedroom had the dirtiest carpet that I have ever seen in a hotel. We arrived later than we expected, were asked to pay in advance of seeing our room, so did not feel in a position to complain, because all we wanted to do was to get out of the room and find somewhere to eat.

    The location was very convenient.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    8.3
    Friendly service, no frills accommodation in fantastic sightseeing location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is a classic old-fashioned French hotel - expect a lot of browns, and the sense it hasn't changed much since the 1950s (which has its own unique retro charm I suppose!) - nothing wrong with this at all - everything was very clean. The shower in my room was very tiny (single sized room) - I'd recommend not using the shower curtain and just using the shower room as a wet room - this seemed to work fine for me. There isn't a lift up to the reception on the first floor, so you will need a hand with your bags (the staff very kindly pitched in to carry my exceedingly heavy suitcase up) - but there is a lift from there upwards.

    Location is absolutely perfect for a short break in Nice - you're in a quiet location just removed from the central plaza, so it's very easy to find. A short walk to the beach and old town. My room was a 'single', but the bed itself was at least normal double sized and very comfortable. Room has aircon. Staff were very friendly and helpful, and speak a range of languages. Very simple, no-frills = very good value for a short stay, if you're not looking for plush modernity or facilities. I didn't have breakfast but at 10 euros this seemed fairly reasonable.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    4.2
    Overpriced despite its location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Plus Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately Ahmed at reception was not professional causing a bad first impression. At first he could not find the booking, then gave us the wrong room number and was very abrupt with his replies to our questions without apologising for the errors and waiting time.When I came back to the hotel in the evening of the day we checked in he questioned if I was staying which I found inappropriate as we had gone through all the hassle for 20min during check-in. The property is very overpriced for its condition. Stains on the carpet, extremely dark and tired bedroom. All noises could be heard overnight from the corridor and above which kept us awake

    Bathroom was spacious and renovated. A/C in the room. Location The french lady that we encountered in the morning was lovely and helpful

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    4.6
    Was very close to the city centre, room and bathroom small...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast very basic for price as added extra, air on on available in select rooms, traffic noise can be problem if your a light sleeper.

    Was very close to the city centre, room and bathroom small but clean. Staff friendly mostly one 1 that we came across as not so much.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    10
    great place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    n/a..all good

    super friendly staff...area is great, perfect... safe, clean room, comfy bed, clean bathroom...small but if you want spacy room in Nice, go to 500 euro/night, and up, hotels, there are plenty... :-)

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    7.5
    Excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I was surprised to find that I did not get a parking as promised in the Advertisement. They have only one parking slot which I was told was full. I had to park my car in a public parking place which is nearby. The breakfast is Ok, and could be better.

    Excellent location. Very near the Promenade de Anglais and the city centre.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    4.6
    Staff were friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Plus Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room had wet carpet which meant the room smelt. No other rooms were available due to the Grand Prix being on and the room was not cleaned very well during our stay.

    Staff were friendly.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    8.8
    Very good location, helpful personnel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room for one could be larger.

    The hotel is very close to old town and main square; you can walk to all tourist attractions. People at front office are very friendly and helpful, they provide me timetables of busses going to Monaco and Cannes.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    7.9
    Clean hotel, nice staff
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Carpet on the floor (although clean)

    Extremely clean. Easily reachable from Nice Ville train station by tram (2 stops) or a fifteen-minute walk. Bus stop just across the street. Nice staff, on site 24/7.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    8.3
    Excellent location friendly staff reasonable prices
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tiny uncomfortable bathroom. Outdated decor which gives a worn out look to the room. A fresh light colored painting and colorful bed cover with some modern furniture is recommended.

    Excellent location very friendly and helpful English speaking staff. Well connected with public transportation. Although the room overlooks the Main Street the double glazed windows prevented the noise. AC was working well. Beverage prices are very reasonable and coffee can be delivered to your room in the morning.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    10
    Great hotel with amazing staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Great hotel with amazing staff, who couldn't do enough for me. I was traveling on my own with my kids and they made it so much easier for me. Would defiantly recommend this hotel. Couldn't get a better location and the breakfast was great. Overall an amazing trip made even better by the staff at this hotel

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    8.3
    Nice Hotel in Nice!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    On Arrival there was some bad smell in the hallways. But it was fixed within hours, so you can´t really hold it against the Hotel. The matresses were quite soft, if you have back Problems this could be a Problem. However for us it was fine.

    The Hotel is situated at a great place, within minutes you´re at any attraction in Nice, including the beach. Right around are Shops and Restaurants. Everything is within Walking distance. The Staff is very nice and makes an effort to memorize every guest (we never had to tell in which room we´re in). They also helped us in booking questions and stuff. Very Kind and helpful The room itself was ok. We had a 4 bed dorm for 3 People with own bathroom. The bathroom was newly renocated, so big pluspoints on that! The rooms we´re reasonably big. All very good if you look at the prizes. Very well isolated, although we had the room on a corner on the first Floor (means 2 streets right down below) we didnt hear a sound. Also not from other rooms. All in all a great place to stay in Nice, ist not luxury but a nice comfortable Hotel.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    5.8
    Location, cheap property
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When booking asked for a room with a balcony as I'm a smoker, but didn't get it. My friend got for the same price bigger room with balcony. Rooms are tiny and walls are cardboard. Couldn't sleep one night because someone was constantly coughing. The other night I couldn't sleep cause it was cold and AC wasn't working. Do not recommend hotel's breakfast.

    Location, cheap property

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    8.3
    In general - a good place to stay or few days (I recommend it), the price could be a little lower.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Plus Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - a bad smell from bathroom the first day in the room - price could be lower - expensive breakfast (10Euro) - few steps away from hotel there are good possibilities to eat for less - room door (No.34) was in the front of staircase, so a bit noise from corridor - the room was on third floor from street side in the front of a bus stop. It was quite noisy, but luckily the window was new and after closing the noise was significantly reduced and bearable (no need or ear plugs) - was there in April, so no possibility to tell something about air conditioning These are minor problems. The hotel in general is OK.

    - very nice and helpful personnel - optimal location, few minutes walk from the beach promenade, old town and main streets. Around 10 minutes walk from harbour, airport by bus in 20 Min. - quite clean

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    8.3
    Best value for money in Nice!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Plus Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Honestly, for that price, things couldn't have been better.

    Fantastic location, next to the Place Massena, the old town and the sea. Plus very quiet at night! Comfy bed and nice bathroom. Excellent value for money.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    7.5
    Perfect location and absolutely good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Didn't spend that much time in hotel (arrived late in the evenings and left early in the morning), but noticed the holes in curtains and spots on carpet in my room-that significantly spoiled the overall impression and didn't dare to walk barefooted.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    7.5
    Nice location and staff. But very bad room and bed:(
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms!! They have to renovate all furniture and especially bed and bathrooms.. No words to say. They have to invest on this.. Defintetly

    Location is perfect. Walking distance to everywhere. But there are no available cheap parking slots near hotel. Staff was kind and friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    6.7
    Great location and staff, old and dated hotel, but ok for a short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No kettle or tea/coffee making facilities in the room. Beds were not very comfortable, old and tired. The floors of the hotel, halls and room were uneven and wonky, took a while to get used to it. Glass panel in the bathroom door was patterned but could still see that someone was sat on the toilet!!

    We booked a room with four single beds for two adults and two children. The room was simple, had the four beds, two bedside tables and a small table with some leaflets on. There were three wall lights above the beds, no ceiling light, which left the room very dark. Bathroom was modern compared to the bedroom. Had a tap controlled shower over a very small bath, hairdryer and plug for electric shaver. Location was brilliant for central Nice. Staff were amazingly helpful.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    8.8
    Location and the behavior of the personnels was perfect and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The furniture and generally property is considerably old also pillow and coverlet could be more comfy

    Location and the behavior of the personnels was perfect and also cleanliness of the room was satisfactory.

    Stayed in April 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: