Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel du Chateau 2 stars

La Balme - Le Bourg, 24220 Beynac-et-Cazenac, France

#3 of 3 hotels in Beynac-et-Cazenac

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 242 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    7.4

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    7.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 65

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    10
    Most enjoyable, lovely town. We would come again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms need to be upgraded slightly.

    We stayed at this Hotel for one night during our French travels. We were accommodated in a very comfortable room & really enjoyed our stay. The highlight of our stay, however, was the meal we enjoyed in the Hotel’s dining room. The food was delicious & beautifully presented. Every mouthful - a delight.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    6.7
    Rooms in need of updating!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room had no curtains!!! The bed dipped in the middle. There was no dressing mirror. No bin in room. It had damp patches on the ceiling and the toilet was so close to the shower tray you could barely get in the shower.

    The staff were friendly and the room was clean.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    10
    Enjoyed every moment and look forward to going back again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough time to enjoy the experience!

    Friendly,helpful staff especially Stephanie,fantastic location,good restaurants nearby as well as hotel restaurant,quiet in evening considering location,river boat trip close by

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    2.9
    Be warned!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Where to begin! It didn't bode well on arrival when the person on reception looked a bit shifty handing us our key. When we walked up some very sticky carpet on the stairs to our room, my heart began to sink. Perhaps we were unlucky and drew the short straw in having the worst room in the hotel, we asked if another was available and were told it wasn't. The decor was tired and peeling, the room was hot and stuffy and situated above the restaurant, so noisy too. There were about two power sockets for the entire room, basic is the word I would use. Worse than that, the smell coming in from the window in the shower room was repugnant and there was thick mould on the inside window in the toilet. The outdoor swimming pool was filthy and reached via a narrow, dingy outdoor passage full of rubbish and with the kitchen extractor fan on one side. We cut short our stay and checked out the next day. The hotel manager took on board our complaints and we did receive a refund but we were incredibly disappointed that the room had no resemblance to any on the website. This is only a two star hotel, I now know why but this wasn't clear when we booked.

    The best thing about this hotel was its location in beautiful Beynac-et-Cazenac, a stunning village along the Dordogne. Unfortunately the hotel is situated on the corner of the narrow busy road which runs through this small but touristy village.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    2.9
    HUGELY DISAPPOINTING
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The manager was arogant and unfriendly and her stress rubbed off on the rest of the staff who were very good in comparison. As residents we were made to feel grateful for an evening table to dine on the second night. Not very happy with outdated accommodation in poor decorative state - ie rusty towel rail in bathroom and floors unclean. Mistake over room booking for second night down to hotel staff - and then over charged on departure. In all just a bad experience not to be repeated.

    The evening food was very good on the first night - the hamburger and fish special.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    9.2
    Very agréable stay in a beautiful village.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning and the weather was really hot. Beds rather narrow and I would have preferred a sheet to the duvet.

    Pretty hotel. Friendly staff . Nice pool.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    5.4
    Would not stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms have next to no view of the river and also there is a bar across the road that plays love music. This might mean there is noise until around 11pm at night. Also they dont like you to have breakfast outside.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    9.6
    Perfect base in pretty town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool area is a little tired looking but a fantastic resource in the heat. It wouldn't take much to spruce up the entrance corridor and poolside.

    Fantastic location. Friendly and welcoming owners and staff. Really great base for exploring the local area and great to come back to the pool on a hot day.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    9.2
    The location right below the castle was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    With Bergerac being close, the house wine was not up to standard and we certainly expected better.

    The location right below the castle was excellent. Staff were helpful and the breakfast good. We ate our evening meal (excellent but see below) at the hotel on the terrace overlooking the river and hillsides - very atmospheric.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    7.5
    location great, rooms have seen better days
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    very tired communal access areas, including pool, a little on the shabby side, rooms heading that way too

    staff were lovely, location amazing, breakfast great

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    8.3
    Riverside hotel with great food and access to the local sights.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The modern standard size bed is a divan type and very low for an older person to get out of!! It was quite comfortable but tended to 'dip' towards the middle!! Be aware for older people the winding stairs to first and second floor are quite steep and a bit narrow.

    We visited for 3 nights to attend a car club rally, the daytime temperature was in the region of 35 degrees and there was no aircon in the bedroom, very uncomfortable nights but not really the fault of the hotel. The staff and food both for breakfast and dinner were all excellent and the situation right on the river is magical. Bedrooms and shower rooms have been undated. Nice place to stay in spring and autumn I would think. Close at all the lovely chateaux and the river trips etc.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    8.3
    An experience I will gladly repeat
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Leaving

    The staff were excellent, very helpful and friendly, the hotel was in a perfect location, great views of the river and a good base to explore the area.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    10
    The best hotel in France!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would be good to have omelette for breakfast but seams like it’s not very popular in France.

    The best hotel in France! Just perfect rooms with perfect design in a perfect building in a perfect place run by perfect hosts! It just could not be better! And I’ve even changed plans and extended my stay in order to spend more time in the region and one more night in the hotel!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    7.5
    A hotel that is part of the medieval look of the town, but with reasonable modern facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing really, given the price.

    The hotel is wonderfully located in an ancient building in the town centre. The room was basic but comfortable, and fine for the price. There is a bar, with outside and riverside seating options, and a good restaurant. Staff are pleasant and professional.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    8.8
    Fantastic. I would recommend this for anyone wanting a romantic getaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    How can I really complain.. but the 7 am church bells . Lol

    Great location, clean , very good restaurant, and very friendly,helpful staff. We would stay again. We saw the owner every day we were there.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    10
    We would definitely stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff here were very friendly and the evening meal was very good and excellent value. The location is great,views over the river and close to the chateau.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    8.8
    Good part of Dordogne
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only one chair in our bedroom. There was a small lounge but little else.Beds very low but comfy, towels small.

    Location was excellent and staff very friendly. Choices of two other restaurants nearby. Bar was good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    6.7
    A beautiful village, surrounded by wonderful restaurants.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were only just ok. They looked good but slept badly.

    The hotel is in a gorgeous position in the Dordogne. It is just a little frayed on the edges.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    9.2
    Nice and clean hotel with a good location at the river.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Difficult to get a parking place during day time. During night time much easier.

    Nice and clean hotel with a good location at the river. Several restaurants nearby. There was no AC in the room. Instead a fan which was ok. A nice little swimming pool was appreciated by us.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    3.1
    Just Don't Go.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rubbish car parking on a market day ( never warned us). Pokey little room , no lift , stuffy , lots of noise from the kitchen until late , Window left open and room full of small black flies, add to this rubbish meal at their restaurant

    Nothing.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    8.8
    Charming hotel in stunning location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The best thing about Hotel du Chateau is its location, one of the charming old buildings clinging to the cliff below the castle Beynac. While the hotel has no parking, a reasonably priced public carpark is just across the intersection. The rooms themselves were modern and clean and very comfortable and, on a slight angle, we could see the Dordogne river from our room. The staff were very helpful and accommodating, especially when there was a slight mistake with our booking which they adjusted without fuss, even though it had been my fault. We had a lovely stay.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    10
    A gem of a find in this picturesque village.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    A gem of a hotel. This was our 2nd time to stay here and we would highly recommend. The last visit we stayed 4 nights. Perfectly located in the middle of the stunning Golden Triangle between 5 medieval Chateaux. Accommodation was of a high standard. Lovely large double bedroom, beautifully refurbished, overlooking the river. Much bigger room than other hotels in the region. The hotel is on the main street in this beautiful village, on the flat, just across from parking. Everything is very accessible. Staff are very friendly and go out of their way to help you. Several dining options. Loved their separate dining terrace on the river where you can have brekfast, lunch, dinner in a fabulous setting. Dinner is an unbelievable €22 approx for 3 courses! They have a gem of a pool just recently opened. A private suntrap! Very welcome after a day out. There is also a bar and outside terrace. Great spot to enjoy a GnT and watch the world go by!! Highly recommended. The hotel's new owners are really raising the bar in service and standard. The accommodation offered is well above their 2 stars and in fact the hotel compares better than other 3 stars in the area. Get in while the prices are very competitive!!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    5.4
    Great location but very scruffy room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was scruffy, tired and the shower door did not work

    Very helpful and friendly

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    8.3
    I had a fantastic stay at the hotel. The staff were really friendly and considerate to my needs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    comfort

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    9.6
    Very pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is a traditional hotel in a picturesque location. The staff are ADORABLE

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    7.9
    Lovely stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elevator, no air conditioner in sons room

    Location, comfortable

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    9.2
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fabulous hotel in an amazing location. Breakfast was brilliant and room was lovely. Pretty much a perfect perfect stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    8.3
    Fine for a couple of nights.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms on the smallside.

    Friendliness and Location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    9.2
    Good base for exploring.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to pay for the carpark

    Hard not to like anywhere in this lovely village! Friendly and relaxed. Just over the road from the Dordogne.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    9.6
    Very helpful with car park
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could have had air conditioning but fans were provided in the room you did not have to ask

    Very helpful with car park Staff very helpful

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    10
    very pleasant experience for our first stay in France
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room 12 bathroom extract fan and radiator not working

    Great location Good breakfasts Extremely friendly and helpful staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    8.8
    Great location and views.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location and views. A nice, sizeable, basic room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    4.6
    Over priced on food and drink, room was like a fridge.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Over priced on food and drink, room was like a fridge.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    7.9
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower leaked water over the bathroom floor

    Location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    7.5
    Feeling neutral about this one
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not great value.

    Everything was quite good but nothing was great.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    9.2
    Excellent stay in a superb hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No public transport at all

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    10
    Hotel du Chateau
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Superb location, great staff, fantastic food.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    8.8
    Fabulous location overlooking the Dordogne.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fabulous location overlooking the Dordogne.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    8.3
    Lovely location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely location.Very good terrace restaurant.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    10
    Great location for visiting the Dordogne.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Friendly and helpful staff. Stephanie the owner was particularly helpful and pleasant.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    7.5
    Restaurant with Accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The swimming pool area needed renovation.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    7.1
    Average
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    OK hotel, restaurant not very good, friendly staff

    Beautiful village, great hiking, lots of things to see

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    9.6
    Amazing stay on the Dordogne
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location, beautiful views, lovely village, really good service & very friendly, fabulous food. A great introduction to Dordogne.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    9.2
    Central location in the heart of the village, close to the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Central location in the heart of the village, close to the castle & restaurants.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2016

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff was very nice and understanding. They kindly showed us what to visit, where to eat...

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    10
    Fastinating area to visit for history.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elevator A little difficult for handy cap "

    The room with a view People very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2016

    5.4
    Location is excellent and staff really helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Decoration in the room was awful nothing had been finished off properly! Blinds broken on window! Two single mattresses pushed together as a double. Stayed in lots of Logis Hotels in France but this one has got to be the poorest accommodation it just did not feel like a hotel room.

    Location is excellent and staff really helpful. Cozy bar area with real fire!

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2015

    8.3
    The Dordogne Valley is the most gorgeous place in France,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The Dordogne Valley is the most gorgeous place in France, and this hotel is under the overlying cliff with a 1000 year old castle. Unbelievable area. Great center to explore.

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2015

    8.3
    Fantastic location next to the river and the walk up to the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The rooms and corridors are very shabby chic but just a little too shabby . towel rail in bathroom didnt work . just a little bit of traffic noise in the early morning but it didnt bother us

    Fantastic location next to the river and the walk up to the top of the town is stunning . The restaurant is very good as are the ones in town all within five mins walk . The breakfast is good value .The rooms are of a good size and the beds are comfortable

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2015

    9.6
    Great location by the river and good value for money given...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Early morning deliveries are noisy but are of course a necessity for the business.

    Great location by the river and good value for money given the location. Big comfortable rooms.

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    7.9
    The staff were friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wi-fi was good but you could only use it on one device at a time in the room. Standard of decor a bit basic.

    The staff were friendly and helpful. The bed was comfortable with good linen and it was all very clean. Breakfast was good and ample. Location very good. Stunning village, although not a place to visit if you cannot walk uphill - or have someone push you!

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2015

    6.3
    Location on the river.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Sat. night the bar across the street kept us awake till 1am with loud talking and music. Shutting the windows didn't help.

    Location on the river.

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    7.9
    - Friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    - Expensive breakfast - Wifi did not work in room or even just on the restaurant terrace.

    - Friendly staff - Great location just at the foot of the town

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2015

    2.5
    The bedroom walls could do with painting Also all the doors...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bedroom walls could do with painting Also all the doors in the hotel were very dirty with hand marks especially in the bedrooms . This is easily rectified with a good clean

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2015

    7.9
    The location is unbeatable.
    • Couple

    The location is unbeatable. Hotel common areas and bedrooms very dated and tired however it is made for by excellent value for money and aforementioned location.

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2015

    5.8
    The location at the bottom of the hill and on the river was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    They dont offer wifi in the rooms, only in the bar area. Given the times, this is outrageous for travelers to have to go downstairs to check email. The bed was terrible hard with poor pillows. We would not stay there again.

    The location at the bottom of the hill and on the river was great. The breakfast was a good value. The room was good size.

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2016

    4.2
    The restaurant served great food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not the friendliest hotel I've stayed in and rooms are very basic.

    The restaurant served great food

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2015

    7.1
    Location was wonderful and staff very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Hair dyer broken and towel warmer did not work.

    Location was wonderful and staff very helpful.

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2015

    8.8
    Manager helped with cases and parking Pool was bigger that I...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Manager helped with cases and parking Pool was bigger that I expected

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2015

    8.3
    Location was ideal
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location was ideal

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2015

    7.1
    Close to the river and restaurants
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children

    The noise throughout the night, it is in the main road and there was passing traffic all night.

    Close to the river and restaurants

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2015

    9.2
    Great room, location, price and staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The pillows were so so

    Great room, location, price and staff

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2015

    7.9
    the reception staff was very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    the reception staff was very friendly and helpful. we arrived really late but she insisted on waiting and help us settled. We appreciated very much!

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2015

    8.3
    location, breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    wifi too slow and does not work in rooms

    location, breakfast

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2015

    10
    Lovely staff, very helpful, comfy room, close to castle and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lovely staff, very helpful, comfy room, close to castle and good resturants, close to sights of the area. Perfect location.

There are also 19 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 65

Guests also reviewed these properties: