Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of BEST WESTERN Hôtel Littéraire Gustave Flaubert 4 stars

33 rue du Vieux Palais / 15 rue de la Pie, 76000 Rouen, France

#4 of 30 hotels in Rouen

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1230 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2018

    9.6
    The location was spot on.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Flaubert Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The courtyard that the room looks down on could possibly do with a makeover.

    The location was spot on. Very clean and the staff really nice. Nothing too much trouble.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2018

    9.6
    Good parking and great location in the heart of the old city;
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As usual, such hotel chains offer incredible service but staying privately is better value for money

    Good parking and great location in the heart of the old city; friendly staff and nice and clean rooms! Would always stay there again!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2018

    8.3
    Good location, quiet hotel , friendly staff .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Huge wash basin in very small bathroom .

    Good quiet location yet near lots of good restaurants and other attractions. Good continental breakfast, didn’t try the cooked. Great walk in shower.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2018

    7.1
    Could have been alot better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The car park was scary as it was a narrow lift car park and narrow small car park underground. My Friend got a room on the ground floor with a terrible looking toilet that looked like one for a two star hotel. It also flooded when she took a shower. They should not have let that room knowing it had problems as the floor was already wet in front of the toilet. The hotel did refund fully the charge on that room and waived charges on the car park which was very decent of them. But my Friend really would have preferred a nicer more control to rest as we were leaving the next day for london. Poor quality control on the part of the hotel.

    The location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2018

    5.4
    Rouen is a lovely and interesting city and the hotel is in a superb location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is in a pedestrian zone and the car park is underground and accessed via the a very compact car lift!! Some of the staff on reception were not very friendly and helpful.

    The hotel is in a brilliant location. Some of the staff on reception were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    9.2
    Buffet Breakfast with plenty of choice, hot breakfast...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Flaubert Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Had problems getting near the hotel by car. Walked to reception and a member of staff gave us the key code to access the pedestrian precinct. Need to get the key code and instructions before arriving at the hotel. Only one TV channel in English BBC World News. On the first morning staff did not clear breakfast tables, maybe because of staff shortage that morning.

    Buffet Breakfast with plenty of choice, hot breakfast including scrambled egg and sausages, croissants, cereal and yogurt Comfortable room with a good view of the courtyard. Large shower cubicle, comfortable bed.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    10
    The hotel is on the primary location in the city, in old...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The parking was full when we arrived, but public parking close was available and at the same price.

    The hotel is on the primary location in the city, in old city part. Rooms are very nice, atmosphere in the hotel is nice.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2018

    10
    Excellent hotel in Rouen city centre with an original "literary" decor
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent hotel in Rouen city centre, almost on the old market square, very close to many restaurants and bars. At walking distance also from the cathedral. The decor of the hotel is original, everything is about Flaubert, in the rooms there are extracts from his works and quotes on the walls.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2018

    10
    compact for a short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the room overlooked a courtyard and was a little noisy but it didnt go on late also a bit small

    everything. lovely staff who gave us great tips all round nice and in a great spot

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2018

    10
    Perfect location to see Rouen and very high standard hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lift to underground carpark in restricted central area was a surprise but great(make sure you get and read email about arrival!). Very comfortable room and best breakfast of our trip.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2018

    8.0
    Good breakfast, helpful and friendly staff, perfect location...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Probably, other visitors were luckier, but our room was very dark because of: - dark painted walls, - not sufficient lighting, - small window overlooking the shabby roof of another building.

    Good breakfast, helpful and friendly staff, perfect location, private parking garage (with car elevator).

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2018

    10
    Great hotel, staff and location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Flaubert Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing to add here

    Very comfortable bed / bedding, very clean. Modern hotel, friendly and helpful staff, superb location, very central with great restaurants and bars nearby.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2018

    9.6
    We liked the setting and the Staff were great.
    • Couple
    • Flaubert Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Would have liked a meal at night. It could have been a wet night but we were lucky.

    We liked the setting and the Staff were great. Enjoyed the light show also.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2018

    9.6
    Great hotel for location. Very clean place and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Access for cars a bit tight. Car park very cramped. No restaurant. Coffee only nespresso rather than a proper machine in reception.

    Bed comfy, room great, wine nice.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2018

    8.8
    Great city centre position. Lovely comfortable beds and room facilities. Lousy coffee
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was good, but the area was very congested and difficult to access. And, very worst of all, no fresh coffee but dreadful machine which couldnt cope with the number of people and which dispensed warm water. I had to ask staff to boil a kettle for tea. I couldnt believe that we paid 16 euros and got no fresh tea or coffee. No restaurant in hotel.

    Unusual theme and decor. Clean, comfortable rooms with good facilities. Lift car parking. Architecture fitting in with mediaeval surroundings.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    9.6
    Centrally located in the heart of the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Centrally located in the heart of the city. Clean room, good breakfast. Room was spacious and they gave us also free spray water for the hot days!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    4.6
    Poor attitude
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Flaubert Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    1. Reception staff struggled to communicate in English during check in. 2. Overpromised and underdelivered service was highlighted to check-out staff but I was slapped with an indifference attitude and no initiative for service recovery.

    The bathroom sink

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    7.1
    Great location and very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Flaubert Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were put in the top floor and did not seem to have A/C. The staff (except the person on the last morning) seem to mistake being a bit snooty with being business-like. Room was very small. They give the impression that they are working in a better hotel than they actually have. The wifi was unrealiable compared to other hotels and B&B's I used on this trip.

    Great location and very clean.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    9.2
    Our trip to Spain
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Actually finding the way into the pedestrian area and then trying to get out.

    Location very close to cafes, bars and restaurants; also very convenient for the cathedral where the light shows are a must.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    10
    Stay was good, parking I have just mentioned.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When I looked up hotels with parking, I had no idea that there was a minuscule car park otherwise we would have gone elsewhere. After driving from south of France we just wanted it to be simple and not have to go to a public garage.

    Once we had parked the car elsewhere we enjoyed its central location.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    8.3
    Boutique hotel in historic centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Boutique hotel in the historic centre and close to the square and restaurants. Hard to access because of driving restrictions plus road works. We appointed but small room. Very friendly and helpful staff. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    7.1
    Many thanks to the reception desk - very friendly and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A very poor lighting in the bathroom. Also there was a problem with hot water during my stay (it's not a common thing there, but anyhow).

    Many thanks to the reception desk - very friendly and helpful stuff. Thank you for a welcoming thermal water bottle in the room, another one cute detail.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    10
    Absolutely perfect and look forward to going back,
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Flaubert Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved everything

    The bed were really comfortable and the room were immaculate. It were really hot when we stayed for 2 nights but the room was provided with a fan , water, cooling spray and fresh wipes, the staff were brilliant and so friendly, we had drinks be for heading out in the evening and they gave us olives and bread and melon as a nice little gesture. We loved everything about it perfect location to walk around the shops and the food just outside the hotel is fabulous.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    6.7
    The staff does not care!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Adjacent Double Rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff does not care. Formal approach. At night , at T-storm, did not care to organize a pick- up from Flixbus stop. We just arrived in France, we do not speak French, could not call taxi ourselves, and Uber does not exist in Rouen We had been trapped in the tiny bus stop under heavy rain with large suitcases, a boy with us. We had to phone several times before after 40 min waiting the taxi arrived. We ended up cold and wet and really tired. Disappointing! Pretended gentilless.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    9.2
    The Road to Rouen is sometimes not clear!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Flaubert Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately we could not get a parking space in the hotel and had to park in public car park about 5 minutes walk away - advice is to pre-book if you want a parking space at hotel. Plans to unload at hotel and then go to parking were scuppered by roadworks which meant we could not get SatNav to tell us right way to get to hotel! No fault of the hotel of course but pn a hot day it was very frustrating.

    Very close to the market square and the town centre. Interesting decor in the room.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    8.8
    Hotel is situated in the centre of the city, close to nice...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Currently there is no air conditioning which was with a temperature of 28 degr / c not so nice. Understood it will be installed at the end of the year.

    Hotel is situated in the centre of the city, close to nice restaurants. very friendly staff

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    7.1
    Location was perfect and parking was beneficial
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Flaubert Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room must have been an old one as it didn't look like the pictures, resembling a brothel. Disappointing.

    Location was perfect and parking was beneficial

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    5.4
    Just for a very short stay
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Flaubert Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the room at "rez de jardin" was rather small; bathroom is old fashioned; the noise of early deliveries in the courtyard; the noise of the car elevator just nearby of the room; and the bites of a spider...

    the location in the historical centre of the town; the aim of the Flaubert spirit

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    10
    Characterful, friendly, comfortable, good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Flaubert Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room is a little "compact" if you are travelling and have lots of luggage

    Breakfast was good and varied on a buffet with hot and cold meats, eggs and cheese. Staff all very friendly. Navigating the one way system o the access barrier in the old town is quite difficult , made more so by roadworks, but a call to the reception desk helped us cover the last few blocks. Underground parking (via a lift from the courtyard is a bonus - but space is tight.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    6.7
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was - other then promised - not available - we were only informed by SMS a few minutes before arrival. It took us 1 hour to reach the hotel to unload our car and to move the car afterwards to a public parking (15 EUR per night!). The same for checkout. Overall we lost two hrs during a very short stay. Room had no aircon nor a fridge (32 C!). Staff complained because we were not leaving the room sharply at 11.30

    Location Decoration

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    9.2
    The Flaubert theme is well backed up by a great library and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Flaubert Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Flaubert theme is well backed up by a great library and all the information one could want about Flaubert's relationship with Rouen. The hotel is a lovely mixture of the old and the new.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    6.7
    Not our favourite French city or hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rouen is in chaos. The entire city is being dug up and roads re-routed etc. We had great difficulty finding hotel and then getting into the old town as they had not sent us the code. Also car park is via a lift, for the car, and is then a tiny space. We hated it and would not return for that reason alone.

    Good location, easy to walk out, pleasant bar and lounge area.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    10
    Lovely , helpful staff .Great central location . Very comfy an well equipped bedrooms and bathrooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air con but it’s being installed during the winter on 2018

    Fantastic location in centre of old town. Always let me park my Harley in the courtyard. I’ve stayed on three occasions and will be ack for a fourth soon !

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    8.8
    Rouen is a great place to visit especially if you enjoy Joan of Arc history & Gustave Flaubert .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Flaubert Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel was charming with a nice quiet room & the staff(Fanny,Marie & all others) were very attentive. The place is very central especially if you arrive by train. We were appreciative of early chck in.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    5.4
    No air-conditioning, everyone complaining, no sleep
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Flaubert Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Have been visiting this hotel for 25yrs and had problems last year, but this year it took us 45mins to get in with the car,blocked the whole street and the guy inside refused to come with the card we even held up the train, we thought we were going to be lynched, not my problem he kept saying, young trainee girl Morian was excellent otherwise we were leaving.

    Breakfast, location and parking when we got in.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    5.4
    Interesting place to visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Flaubert Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanliness was not good. They forgot to clean our room.. Staff not the friendliest. No air con...room was very very hot!

    Location was excellent. Parking was good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    9.6
    Great location in the centre of Rouen
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Flaubert Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning. Apparently this is die to be installed later this year.

    Fantastic location in the heart of Rouen. The room and facilities were fine

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    7.9
    Comfortable accommodation with thoughtful service whilst...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Flaubert Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The car park was a nightmare as we accessed underground parking facility by the only access point. The elevator failed and we had to abandon vehicle underground without parking as the spaces were also too small for us to negotiate. Would it be an option to request model & weight of car at the time of reservation or perhaps offer car parking in courtyard at entrance for customers depending on their vehicle. This would save a lot of stress to both customers & staff and avoid delay in any vehicle exiting car park.

    Comfortable accommodation with thoughtful service whilst awaiting air conditioning.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    7.1
    Almost perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Flaubert Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms does not have air conditioning, it was almost 30 degrees celsius and it was hot. They offer a small portable fan, but it's really hard to relax. I understand that the building is old but it's a four stars hotel and we pay a lot to stay on that location. So, think of something. Or, say it clear when advertising.

    The property is well located and once you understand the issue for the parking, everything gets better. Delicious breakfast, nice staff, especially Lucilia.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    10
    Best Western Hotels are very dependable and have a good standard.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Flaubert Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not a problem for me, but if you need a shower cap, take your own, which I did. They are no longer supplied at other hotels I stayed at also.

    The location was excellent. Hotel staff very welcoming and friendly. Very good breakfast with many choices. Decor of room in keeping with surrounds.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    10
    Modern, comfortable and convenient
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Flaubert Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked in January and also requested a car parking space. On arrival in June I was told there were no spaces and I hadn’t booked so once unloaded we move the car to a public car park. On insisting I had booked and showing a copy of my booking confirmation from January with car park space I was eventually able to park in the hotel garage, I got the feeling someone after me would be told there were no spaces. It was well sorted in the end.

    Located just off the main square in cobbled street, modern hotel and so close to restaurants and shops and cathedral etc

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    8.3
    the location was excellent. Rooms small but clean. Air conditioning is required.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Flaubert Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Air conditioning would have improved the comfort considerably especially as the rooms were very small. also the staff require training in serving drinks. Rooms were clean and the bed was comfortable. The location is very good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    9.2
    Comfortable with great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Flaubert Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom lighting needs enhancement. No air conditioning. Parking is via car-lift and parking spots are very tight. Rouen is a difficult city to drive in.

    Excellent location in the heart of the historic area. Great staff, very responsive. Room was comfortable but not spacious. Restaurant recommendations were accurate.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    10
    Great location with restaurants just outside the gates and close to places of interest.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Flaubert Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stayed in a superior room in the old part of the building with a balcony overlooking the courtyard. The room was comfortable and we had a coffee machine enabling us to enjoy a coffee in the morning on the balcony. Although challenging to enter the car park we were pleased to be able to park the car securely in their car park.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    9.6
    Perfect for our tour de France.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Flaubert Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Finding the hotel with an automobile was very difficult, but once in place everything was great.

    The experience overall in this quaint older part of the city was great! Keep up the good work.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    10
    Very good place to stay - glad we chose it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Flaubert Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing!

    Excellent hotel..just what is expected from Best Western. Staff so welcoming and friendly, on site parking available (at a reasonable cost), very comfortable bed and good sized room and bathroom. Loved this visit.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    9.2
    Great stay in Rouen, hotel great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Air con in the room.

    Great location, couldn't have been better placed to see all the main historic attractions and access great restaurants. Staff friendly and helpful, room comfortable and clean. Would definitely stay there again when revisiting Rouen which we intend to do.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    6.7
    Room was comfortable, overall staff were not friendly,(...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Room was comfortable, overall staff were not friendly,( aside from 2 people). We were not helped with luggage on arrival, some staff were rude. No assistance given with luggage on departure. Had booked garage space but the door on lift was not working car stuck in lift, very stressfull.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    5.4
    Look for another place in Rouen.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Flaubert Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    You do net get what you have booked! We booked a room with two separated beds, but it was not noted (!), finally we were put in small gloomy confined room at groudfloor, with an additional bed, all this very uncomfortable, with people sitting and talking just outside our window. The worse thing was that although we had booked the parking place in the hotel, we could not use it - there were some problems with the entrance to the garage. We learned it just after arrival. Finally we were obliged to drive to public parking, find place there, all this very unconvenient. Nobody apologized for all this.

    The situation.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    7.5
    Good hotel in a great location but hard to find and tricky to park at.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was very hard to find the hotel and difficult to drive to it as it is in a pedestrian zone . Parking was difficult and expensive. The hotel has an underground car park which you access via a tight car lift.

    The room was very comfortable. The hotel is very central and there are good restaurants near by.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    5.4
    we will not be staying at this hotel again. i will add these comments to by trip advisdor page.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Flaubert Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no air conditioning in a 4 start hotel. !!! so bedroom windows had to left open at night. 5.24 am I was awoken with the noise of deliveries to the property. I have been staying at this hotel since 2014. when I paid 70 euros a night ( 04 may 2014 ) . now its 100 euros and I cant see why I have paid so much more. yes it has had a lick of paint to the main parts but the bedrooms are the same. . so a bad nights sleep... no apology from hotel staff. I was told the evening of arrival that breakfast was 16 euros... I found out from other guest they were paying 7 euro!!! why was I being charged more???. eventually we paid 7 euros but the staff were not happy. the bar has been removed and now drinks are served at reception... a very strange arrangement indeed.... sadly we will not be staying at this hotel again. the morning of our departure the staff were rude and unhelpful.

    new decoration scheme was nice. location was central

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    10
    very helpful staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Flaubert Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was wonderful once we found it! Construction in the area made getting to the hotel by car nearly impossible. On the website, they advertise on site parking, but parking was not available and we had to park at the public parking garage. The staff was very apologetic about the parking situation and they did provide several parking options for us.

    very helpful staff!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    8.3
    The room was beautiful and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Flaubert Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked this hotel 5 months ago specifically because it had parking facilities. We received an email from the hotel the day before our stay that parking wasn’t available and gave alternative public parking lots. There was no parking available nearby. It was very frustrating.

    The room was beautiful and clean. It was walking distance to everything we wanted to see inRouen.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    9.6
    Charming hotel in an unbeatable location, ideal for visiting Rouen with your partner or family.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Adjacent Double Rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The parking was unavailable due to a technical problem. However, the hotel warned about this problem in advance and it was not hard to find another parking close to the hotel.

    A true 4 star hotel at reasonable price in an excellent location. Lovely themed hotel inviting you to know more about Gustave Flaubert and his work. Kind staff. Plenty of dining choices at walking distance.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful hotel, loved the literary connection.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Flaubert Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paying for breakfast. Rooms on the small side. Difficulty with finding parking on Friday night.

    Beautiful hotel, loved the literary connection. Fantastic central location, with plenty of restaurants and eateries outside. Dogs welcome.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    9.2
    Very good overall
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Flaubert Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only thing that is not good is that it is saying free parking on the site but there is no parking. The stuff said 'parking is not working'. I can't imagine how a car park is broken.

    The hotel is very good overall. Helpful stuff. Good room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    7.9
    you are paying for the location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Flaubert Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Plug on only one side of the bed. Only 1 black teabag in the room-had to ask for a 2nd teabag and was told the policy is 1 per room! No bottled water provided. Room was a bit small for the price. Only soap dispensers provided for shower/sink-expected nice toiletries. Breakfast is expensive for what you get and drinks aren't cheap either.

    Location fantastic and quiet. Nice view of courtyard from room. Safe underground parking.good english speaking staff. Bed very comfortable. Pillows and duvets duck down.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    9.6
    The place had a homely atmosphere, very kind people at the...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Flaubert Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The furnishing of the bathroom could be improved. Poor lighting, hardely anything to hang your towels. and short of shalves to put the things you need. The bathroom is small but not so. Small that it could no have been fitted in.

    The place had a homely atmosphere, very kind people at the fron desk. Very helpful at breakfast with guests with special requests. The place felt just right.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    5.0
    Mediocre stay for the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Flaubert Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For the high price the room was more a 3 star hotel than 4. Very basic, utilitarian, nothing outstanding. Hard sinking mattress. No shower cap in the bathroom.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    7.1
    It served our purpose as it was a quick overnight stop before catching the tunnel the next day.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Flaubert Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The parking at the hotel would have been difficult to get to, i.e. negotiating the roads and one way system to where the hotel was. we arrived about 5 pm so the traffic was busy, it was raining too. We ended up parking in a nearby underground car park which was more expensive than the hotel and then had to walk to the hotel, not a problem but it was pouring with rain.

    The situation of the hotel was ideal for exploring Rouen. Staff were very friendly and the reception area was clean and it had an ambient feeling to it.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    10
    Absolutely fabulous, we had a wonderful relaxing time, and will return to stay. Highly recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Flaubert Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was smaller than thought despite knowing booked a comfort room, on the site we booked the offer of room and breakfast included, the superior room was showing not much more in cost but said it had a smaller bed- a double. So we went with the comfort room as it stated it had a super king bigger bed. The biggest bed size will always make us book that room, so if it had been the superior we’d of booked that room instead. The hall carpets on level 6 are filthy and stained, need replacing as it looks bad, and nothing like the rest of the lovely hotel. The lift was oddly freezing cold- like a walk in fridge freezer! Steam came out our mouths every time we got in it. I didn’t like the 2 big mirrors in the bedroom almost facing each other it’s very very creepy and creates a Black Mirror type of atmosphere, I couldn’t sleep the first night, and had to cover them both up with my scarves as they both face the bed- in feng shui that creates bad energy. There was a big gap under the door also which let in a bright light all night, I had to roll a towel up along it and put cushions over it to block it out. Glad we had a no smoking room as it smelt clean and fresh.

    The bed was very comfy, good size. buffet breakfast was wonderful, plenty of choice and beautifully presented, kitchen lady was so lovely greeted us and wished us a lovely day each time saw her. Fabulous coffee. Love all the tiny jars of things. Ground floor decor so pretty. Pretty courtyard entrance. Walkable to everywhere. Clean hotel. Staff attentive friendly helpful at all times. Loved all the historical info. Learnt a lot while there. Loved the camomile flower tea in the room. Shower was great, high pressure and varied settings, lighting each side of the bathroom mirror was perfect for doing makeup in. Heater in room was good to turn up and down ourselves. Glad we could open the windows for natural fresh air too. Pleased we could leave our luggage in a hold room when we checked out, as we then went for lunch out and last shop before having to travel home. Train station is just a few minutes ride in a taxi. Under €10.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    6.3
    Good central option
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Flaubert Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff at reception was hugely underprepared and offered a terribly poor service (didn't understand nor fulfill any of our basic request such as checking the parking availability even though we were communicating in french!)

    Amazing breakfast and location. Rooms are fairly good too and priced correctly.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    7.5
    The hotel is nice and has a bar.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Flaubert Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is nice and has a bar. The room was clean and comfortable. Parking is very limited and although we tried to reserve one through booking was unsuccessful. That being said there are parking garages in the area, but expect a 200m bag drag. The location is very convenient to downtown restraunts and bars. Additionally the xmas market and cathedrals are easy walks .

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    3.8
    Disappointing on most levels except for the breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Flaubert Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn't realise we had to pay an extra 13€ per head on breakfast plus extra for the car park. It pushed the price right up. The Wi-Fi was almost useless and kept dropping in and out of range and when we mentioned it to the staff they said 'theres nothing wrong with it, no-one else has complained'. The main lobby area was decorated beautifully, but as soon as you went to another floor the carpets were very shabby and dirty, paintwork in communal areas poor, rooms small with very old fashioned amenities by way of tv, radio and hairdryer. The underground parking was low and awkward to manoeuvre and claustrophobic. There wasn't enough of a disclaimer on the website to fully make you appreciate how difficult the parking would be. Access to the hotel was impossible. The address for the satnav took you to the totally wrong place and the staff were impatient when you rang and asked for directions. No, I would never recommend this hotel, I was extremely disappointed.

    The breakfast was very good

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    6.7
    Enjoyed our stay at this hotel Marie at reception was quite helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Flaubert Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thought carparking was a bit steep

    The breakfast was the best we had on our trip very fresh lots of choice you could see a lady through the glass windows making fresh pastries from scratch if there was anything you couldn't see she was very helpful in helping you get what you wanted

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    5.8
    Good location, quiet but small room, poor staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Flaubert Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was small. Front desk staff was amateurish, indifferent and not helpful. They seemed fixated more on their computers (playing games, perhaps) than their customers.

    Location in the old city was very good. Room was quiet.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    9.6
    Lovely hotel and great staff, just keep an eye out for the extra costs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Flaubert Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too many extras, parking was extra, breakfast was extra. It would have been better to have these costs clear from the booking. The hotel is not easy to find and access is awkward as there are bollards that can only be lowered by a code, not supplied with the booking.

    The bed was really comfy and the parking very secure

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    9.2
    Good location and good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast is expensive for what it is... Parking not really convenient as I was told it was off service so I parked my car a bit far away and realized however that it was fully operational when we arrived...

    Very quiet room and large bed, really comfy, nice deco. Super well located near the open market, shops, restaurants and staff provided us with great tips for dinner and visits. I would recommend this hotel and go back with pleasure.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    6.3
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Flaubert Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    For the price the room was small and we weren't advised of any onsite parking. There was public parking a couple of minutes walk away. Breakfast was disappointing. If we wanted croissants they were finished and we would have had to wait 10 to 15 minutes there were sweet cakes, scrambled egg and juice available.

    Location was great right in the middle of the town amongst lots of restaurants, bars and shops with many tourist attractions on the doorstep. A historic building with a modern fit out.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    5.8
    Never again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pre-booked car parking was not available as sole access by lift was not working. Had to find public car park that was difficult due to complexity of mid-Rouen bus lane restrictions requiring an elaborate detour, then had to walk back. To return to collect the car on departure, the hotel booked us a taxi that took ½ hour to arrive, them we discovered he did not know where the car park was located! Breakfast scrambled eggs probably microwaved, NOT GOOD. Coffee cold.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    6.7
    Excellent location, but disappointed with the price charged, for the reasons described.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Flaubert Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows are big and square, not rectangular causing some sleeping discomfort. The wi-fi kept cutting out on the iPad, requiring going through the log-in procedure from start to finish, again and again and again. We were in room 203. Unless one closed the bathroom door firmly, it swung open, crashing into the mirror on the room door. The bedside units, like a wire cage with a flat top, are impracticable. Nowhere to put phones, keys, iPads, books, wallet, glass of water, hearing aids, torch, medications, etc, close to hand. We prefer bedside cabinets with drawers. On the night in question, the underground car park door was jammed and our car stayed outside in the courtyard. One of the reasons we picked this hotel was because of its offer of secure car parking. We were leaving lots of stuff in the boot and did not want public street parking. This was inconvenient and clearly beyond the control of the hotel on that night, but we were happy that our car was in the courtyard and not in a public car park some distance away.

    Location excellent, within walking distance of the old market square, cathedral and restaurants. Excellent staff!!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    10
    Best Western are the John Lewis of the hotel world.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Flaubert Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Great comfortable bed,clean room nice decor whether for a romantic interlude or business. Best Western are a safe choice and value for money .

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    10
    Fantastic hotel in a perfect location. Extremely helpful and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Flaubert Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful old architectural building, immaculate room, very friendly staff. Situated on a quite street yet seconds from all the beautiful restaurants and bars

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    9.6
    A hidden gem in Rouen.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Flaubert Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking requires booking in advance at €13 per day which is accessible through a pedestrian precinct that hotel staff have to come out (after ringing them) to lower the bollard. Parking is in an underground car park using a car lift at the hotel with quite narrow spaces.

    Central location, friendly staff, clean and comfortable. Ideal hotel but better not to use your car once there.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    10
    Wonderful staff and wonderful location .
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Flaubert Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I cannot fault this hotel in anyway.

    We arrived in Rouen very late at night and we were unable to locate a taxi. Laureana very kindly sent one for us and then organised a pizza delivery for us , as we had not eaten for 12 hours. We were so grateful and she was so kind to us.Also Fabian at Reception and the Manageress were very helpful with paperwork that was nescessary for us to complete and our French wasnt up to speed! Our Room was always cleaned early and to an excellent standard. I can recommend this Hotel and the staff highly and i hope to return again. Caroline Walsh.

    Stayed in September 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: