Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hôtel Edward 1er 4 stars

5 rue Saint Pierre, 24540 Monpazier, France

#4 of 12 hotels in Monpazier

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 160 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows could have been slightly better and no extraction in our bathroom meant got a bit steamed up.

    Exceptional small hotel. Standard of decoration extremely good. Breakfast perfect, dinner menu also very good

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing not to like - all just wonderful.

    From the moment you are welcomed in style by your hosts you know you are in the hands of hoteliers who have a passion for ensuring their guests feel pampered. Our room was small but beautifully appointed, the dinner was exceptional, the service throughout impeccable and the breakfast a thing of joy. We cannot wait to visit again - so much that we have changed our whole itinerary to ensure we visit the Edward 1er on our return leg of our latest Euro road trip.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Outstanding host-owners. Ian and Maria were very amenable and gracious. Always provided valuable suggestions of places to visit. Fabulous breakfast and outstanding service in an elegant dining too. Delicious viennoiserie and local yogurt.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not all rooms are equal. My room was small and had a bathroom with discolored grout that could use some updating. However, the room the other people we were traveling with was updated and very nice.

    Location and the exterior of the building is beautiful with a lovely pool area (which we didnt use since it wasnt open yet but is probably very nice in the summer).

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Monpazier a great location to stop and smell the roses and enjoy the beautiful surrounding countryside. Edward 1er best hotel in the village. Light and bright and a picturesque outlook, very comfortable. You must have a meal in their restaurant ‘Eleanore’. Also market day is on Thursday, it’s worth a visit.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location very comfortable hotel great architecture classic French highly recommended if you want Central area of Monpazier Bastide French village. Great bathroom comfy bed .

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room Extra Large
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The owners and the staff were superb. The restaurant rightly has an excellent reputation. We were going to try other restaurants in the town during our stay, but the Edward 1er restaurant was so good we did not bother.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic medieval village with a great (period) hotel for facilities, it is modern inside, incredible restaurant and breakfasts. The owners could not be more helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our only complaint,very minor,is that the cups are difficult to hold without burning a finger.Otherwise happy with everything,both the bistro and Eleanore good,and good value.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room Extra Large
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Best hotel of our one month tour around France. Beautiful building on edge o most perfect beastie village. Great room. (double xl). Owners really care and very hands on. The restaurant exceeded expectations so definitely was worth booking as half board. We also had lunch at the other restraint run in me ownership, Bistro 2. Justifiably popular so get there early or book in advance.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was great to be able to enjoy a swim, but the pool interior really needs a fresh coat of paint - it was the only slightly shabby feature of this otherwise tremendously chic establishment.

    The welcome I received as a lone traveller was heart-warming, and I was never neglected. The little chateau is delightful, and the tiny room given over to a splendid chess board made me miss my late husband more than ever as he would have adored this elegant touch!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Arjan and Marije, the very hands on owners, are very good at the hotel business. They have turned the hotel from a pleasant but slightly eccentric place into a truly luxurious, welcoming and comfortable hotel. And the big secret is: the hotel's restaurant Eleonore should have a Michelin star, but doesn't. So you get the very best food, with a great wine list, at a reasonable price. This is a true gem of a hotel, and this comes from a couple who stay in c 80 hotels a year between them.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast choice was limited. Some fresh fruit salad would have been appreciated. Tea/coffee making facilities were lacking.

    The location and ambiance was good as was the room.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff very friendly, welcoming, and helpful. Excellent restaurant. Arrived on bicycle. After the hills, a hot shower, great meal, and comfy bed were perfect.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nil

    Owners and staff kept service and all standards to a very high standard. They were attentive without being pushy. Pool was essential in the warm weather

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room Extra Large
    • Stayed 5 nights

    A light for the magnifying mirror in bathroom would be very useful. The first few days we had a turret room in the chateaux part of the building, very nice but only a bath with shower attachment.

    Excellent management with lovely staff. Location great, breakfast and dinner at the hotel fantastic. We preferred our room in the new wing as it had an excellent walk in shower and the room was far more spacious.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was situated close to the centre of the village. Booking in the hotel's restaurant is essential as there are more rooms than the restaurant can accommodate. The hotel has a bistro at the other end of the village and there is a variety of restaurants in the village. The food was excellent on the two occasions we ate there and it was delightful to be able to have breakfast and dinner on the terrace. The hotel has bikes to hire including two electric ones. The hotel staff were friendly and attentive. Although our room and bathroom were smaller than we had expected it was pleasingly decorated and had a lovely view of the countryside. It also had air conditioning which was a bonus as we were fortunate to have very warm weather.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing all perfect!

    The owners and staff were lovely, helpful and courteous. The waiter at dinner was great as was the waitress at breakfast. And the drinks by the pool were a fab touch!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was on the second floor and a little claustrophobic due to sloping roof. Quite hard work carrying suitcases to and from room as no lift.

    Beautiful old chateau with lovely swimming pool. The food was excellent and the staff and owners were both friendly and helpful Beautiful views and within 2minutes walk into lovely Bastide town

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A charming hotel in a delightful bastide town. We returned with our family after having a wonderful stay last year. We weren't dissapointed. Staff and hosts are very welcoming and always ready to help. Lovely breakfast with fresh local produce. We would also recommend dining in restaurant Elenore, we all enjoyed an excellent meal outside in the very pretty courtyard. perfect!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I like a kettle in my room and public transport. None in the area but their bike rental was great.

    The property offers a serene escape in a beautiful setting. It is incredibly well organised, friendly, easy going, well maintained, has a pool and gourmet dinner menu. What more could one ask for.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sadly now at post Brexit prices for bed and dinner easily £200. It is one of those places you find in France where it is run usually for the benefit of the owners to support their belle France lifestyle. This is no different. The breakfast would have embarrassed the most budget of budget hotels.

    It's convenient and comfortable

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owners were fantastic and made us feel very welcome with our 1 year old. Even prior to the trip they responded to every email with haste! Monpazier was a great location to attend a wedding nearby and would recommend staying there as a stop over as the views are amazing from the hotel and the town has quite a few lovely little restaurants

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The weather,but that's not the hotels fault

    Stopped here 5 years ago on our ride from Spain to the UK,we enjoyed the hotel so much we decided to use again as a base for 3 days in the area. The staff were attentive without being intrusive,the breakfast was very good quality,the restaurant served some wonderful food.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Gracious, personable owners/hosts. Very accommmodating. Delicious dinners.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms small and not too airy. Carpet smelt a little

    Excellent dinner.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A most charming place - will return

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fabulous rooms, very comfy beds, large bathroom, excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Uncomfortable synthetic pillows, very small bedroom and bathroom.

    The house, design and atmosphere, very good breakfast

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room Extra Large
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing that I can now remember

    The room was comfortable, and the food was excellent. We would certainly recommend this hotel

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property is beautiful location 2 mins walk to main square

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was overpriced.

    It's location.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    This is a truely superb hotel welcoming host , nothing to much trouble, excellent location and restaurant to die for.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A beautiful hotel with great facilities. Lovely friendly staff highly recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to leave!

    Luxurious decor and very welcoming hosts

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This hotel was faultless. And the restaurant was superb.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kettle and tray in bedroom for tea/coffee through night

    Ambiance and quality

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    welcome and food excellent

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We liked the calm & relaxed atmosphere in the hotel

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A superb hotel, excellent location and very helpful, hospitable and friendly staff.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fulfilled expectations

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor quality room eg dingy and small twin beds.

    Lovely property and location responsive and excellent restaurant.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff and pool.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Superb hotel with excellent restaurants

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful room and fabulous food. Veggie meal no problem.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had asked for a comfy bed. On arrival I found they had added an extra topper to the mattress for me.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathrooms looked dated, pool a bit cold.

    Exceptional hospitality and delicious food.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Restaurant amazing

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Super helpful and friendly staff. Great to have a firm but very comfortable bed.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room Extra Large
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing!

    Beautiful room, superb food.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast. Was not up to the standard of the rest of hotel. Very ordinary, lacking imagination and needs a breakfast menu to show what is on offer. Nowhere near the standard of service/presentation and quality of rest of our stay. It is important for a hotel to remember that if guests are leaving that day then the breakfast is the last thing you remember about the hotel.

    Very welcoming. Great staff, calm and comfortable in a brilliant location. Lovely room with very comfy bed. Good restaurant, delicious food at prices for a menu (3 courses) for 30 euros.

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The dinner was ok, but overpriced for what was offered.

    The room was lovely and a perfect location. Everyone was welcoming and helpful. The room was an excellent value. The town is worth a visit.

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Having been a Travel Agency Owner for 22 years, I can say this is the perfect hotel. Large Rooms fully equipped, Bathroom well designed, Great Staff. Wonderful setting. Excellent food.

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The owners are constantly renovating parts of the hotel during the winter break. But we were in an older part of the hotel and the bathroom plumming was in need of some tlc. The room was lovely, though.

    Lovely village and very nice hotel with lots of character. The restaurant which is part of the hotel is world class.

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Delightful hotel, in the centre of Monpazier but off the main roads so quiet. Lovely rooms, some with views across the surrounding countryside, and a very nice pool. Excellent staff.

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This is what makes travelling fun: staying in a (small) chateau but with modern comfort in the room, at 5 min walking from the marvelous market place of a charming old bastide, enjoying a gastronomical dinner and a fine breakfast on the terrace, served by friendly and helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The breakfast bowl were ridiculous- much to small couldn't put anything in them. Also no chopped fresh fruit - just bread and cold cuts.

    The location, parking and service. The room following an upgrade was very comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There really wasn't anything that we didn't like but we did observe that our room and some guest areas were in need of decoration and refurbishment . This didn't detract from our stay but would make this hotel perfect.

    Superb food.... best we have eaten in France. Comfort and cleanliness Location is perfect for exploring Monpazier and the surrounding area

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The fact I had to leave

    The elegant ambiance of the hotel and the friendliness of all staff. The meals are wonderful. The artichoke soup was "nectar of the gods" close to village but rural view from room.

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Monpazier is a lovely place to stay and this hotel is one of my favourite places to stay. This is our fourth visit but this time we stayed for longer. The hotel is very restful and has a lovely swimming pool area.

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No bad experiences at all , but thought the outside restaurant area did not match up to the high standard of rest.

    Great hosts running a lovely small hotel with pool in a most convenient position.

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The rooms are very spacious and comfortable with a real English country house feel. The terrace restaurant serves great food made from local produce with an excellent choice of wines. It has a lovely pool area, great for sunbathing after a walk in the surrounding country side - its an ideal place from which to explore the Perigord. The staff and owners are all very welcoming and obliging and couldn't be more helpful.

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    You might need a car to get to the place. We drove from Bordeaux to Monpazier. It was a nice drive otherwise, it may be hard to get to.

    The area itself, Monpazier is a beautiful town. The chateau is on top of a hill and looks like a castle. The room and the bathrooms were clean, comfortable and nicely decorated. For breakfast, they served local produce which was great cause we had a taste of the local delicacies. Staying in the chateau is one of the highlights of our honeymoon! It was an excellent and very well worth it splurge for our honeymoon!

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our room was very cramped the wi fi would not connect, the ensuite was dated and a cold showering the morning did not help.

    Beautiful building and great location for this lovely little town., great breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Restaurant is a bit over-rated...it's expensive and menu choices somewhat limited for longer stays.

    Monpazier is a delightful little Bastide town. The ambience of hotel is great. Extraordinary helpfulness of hosts and staff.

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The decor is very attractive, rooms are a nice size, light and with lovely views. Staff are very welcoming. We had a wonderful meal in the restaurant it was a special occasion and we would recommend this hotel highly

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Loved the bathroom and the view

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lovely location near the main square

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Friendly staff and a lovely room Perfect location for visiting the historic centre

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lovely helpful staff, excellent food, beautiful location.

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Great location and extremely gracious.

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Excellent staff Superb meal in the restaurant. Hotel very clean

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Simply you could not complain about anything.

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Beautiful setting, wonderful old castle with well decorated room, delicious top class dinner.

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Relaxed style and very welcoming hosts in a historic French town, with wonderful local produce in their restaurant and bistro.

There are also 24 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: