Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Elysa-Luxembourg 3 stars

6 Rue Gay Lussac, 5th arr., 75005 Paris, France

#654 of 1,578 hotels in Paris

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1035 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Reserved a room (4 nights!, 4 months in advance!) with twin beds, never got it despite repeated assurances .... Breakfast buffet advertised until 10:00, sadly there wasn't much left if one wasn't there before 9:00 . Still charged €14/day for a croissant and coffee Insufficient electrical outlets - bring your own adapter / splitter

    Fantastic location, right around the corner from the Luxembourg Garden and RER station.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No breakfast, but OK because the cafe down the street was very good!

    Comfortable residence in a favorite neighborhood (Jardins de Luxembourg), courteous staff, and a cafe down the block with excellent coffee. Also, proximity to RER for access to CDG. Hope to return on a longer visit.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was not cleaned properly. Nuts under a table were there upon arrival, and never cleaned throughout our stay. Also a family of flies who sadly passed away on our ceiling, were there throughout our stay. A clean towel was weirdly misplaced on the floor inside our shower one day. In all fairness we did not discuss the complaints with the staff. But that does not take away from the fact that it was lacking in hygiene.

    Location is ideal. Both bus and metro are walking distance. A very beautiful park is right next to the hotel. The staff is very friendly and willing to help.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Even with 50% discount on breakfast at 7 euros pr. person it was disappointing . Coming to empty dishes of cheese and ham and an empty jug of orange juice, (twice), empty hotbed of scrambled eggs and sausages we had to ask the waiter to fill it up. (They were not quite on their toes).

    After a little bit of chatting (trying to speak French) the staff were very friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Size of room was a bit small making it hard to use the kettle for coffee.

    The staff was helpful storing luggage and arranged for us to take CDG shuttle 35 euros for two which I thought was a bargain. (Be sure to tell them at check in that you want this service) We enjoyed the restaurant we found around the corner, the little market store across the street and the walk through the gardens just across the street as well.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The shower over the bath was difficult to use as the hose came from the bath taps and ran to a holder on the wall. There was no shower curtain so we often flooded the floor despite being careful.

    The bed was comfortable and the room was big enough for two with enough storage for a long weekend stay. The en-suite was a good size and the hotel provided little extras like shower caps and shoe-shine sponges. The staff were extremely helpful and always cheerful and polite. They provided extra decaff coffee and milk in the room whenever requested. The airport shuttle bus was well worth taking- €36 for the two of us. The taxi would have been €55. Order it the night before. Bear in mind that there are public transport strikes in France this spring/ summer. The location was great, close to the Sorbonne and the Luxembourg Gardens, with a ten minute brisk walk to the River Seine and Notre Dame. Be aware that the majority of pedestrian crossings have lights- sometimes the little red man is not so easy to spot. The breakfast was all you can eat continental buffet, and was the same every day. A little expensive for us as we don't eat much breakfast, (€14) so a couple of times we ate le petit dejeuner at cafes en route to our destination of the day. You can get coffee and a croissant from €7.50 if you shop around. And the French expect you to sit down and eat it! Only foreigners eat walking in the streets.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel is an excellent choice if you want to be near the very convenient RER transportation to the airport, and the beautiful Luxembourg gardens centrally located on the Left Bank. The rooms were clean and comfortable with all amenities you’d need. We were not able to take advantage of the bar etc. as we only stayed one night, but the parts of the rest of the experience was perfect.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The prices for shuttle or taxi were very expensive compared to the taxi we took to the airport. 40% more! The shower in the bathroom was not appropiate for grown - ups. This should be paid attention to.

    The location, the room was OK! The receptionist, Elsa, was very polite with us!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The upstairs areas of hotel looked a little dated with worn carpets that looked dirty (even in hotel room). Third bed set up was a sofa bed, which was ok for us but not as comfortable as a bed.

    Good location, luxemberg station very close and 15-20 minute walk from Notra dame. Shops close by. Very friendly, approachable and helpful staff. Reasonably clean room generally. Safe available in room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing

    The location was great, near the metro and walking distance from the park and the Louvre. The rooms were very sweet and the bathroom had a bath. The rooms had windows which we like. We had 2 rooms across from each other which worked well for us. There is also a small elevator which was great as we had a lot of luggage.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Because it is on a busy street, it is not very quiet. There was lot of noise from people using the stairs and opening and closing doors.

    The position is excellent for access to the Luxembourg Metro station and some local shops. The Luxembourg Gardens nearby are delightful. The young desk clerk was very helpful; unfortunately his manager never smiled or greeted us.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel needs some updating.

    Very good location, right next to the RER B station with direct connection to the CDG airport. Frendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hairdryer is pretty basic

    Close to centre of Paris without being in it. Close to train station that links both Charles de gualle and Orly airports as well as metro statIons.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough space for breakfast on our first morning and items not always being refreshed.

    Corner rooms are a good size - bigger than average 3 star in Paris. Location is excellent - on the edge of the Jardins de Luxembourg and with good budget restaurants around.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really. Just one staff member wasn’t very personable.

    Staff were multilingual and helpful. Our large room was great with a single and queen bed and air conditioning which wasn’t needed until the weather heated up. It was in easy walking distance of the Pantheon, Rue Mouffetard, Luxembourg gardens and Saint Michel Place. The RER B Line stops a few metres from the hotel which made arriving and leaving from the airport convenient.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The price doesn't include breakfast.

    Very easy to get from/to the airport by RER (10 euro/person). Very nice to walk in the Luxemburg garden. Exellent location. Nice vew from the room. Calm, comfort and hospitality.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is good from the centre of Paris. A few stops on the rer from the Gare du Nord. A lovely stroll (just under an hour) to the Eiffell Tower from the hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The bathroom was a little worn with chipped paint on the door and some mildew in the tub area. It could use a bit of sprucing up. I would prefer a more modern hairdryer over the old fashioned wall mounted tube kind of dryer that takes forever to dry your hair.

    The hotel was on a mostly quiet street. It was only a two minute walk from an RER train station with direct access to the CDG airport. The hotel was also only a block from the beautiful Luxembourg Gardens. Our room was spacious by Paris standards. Our room was clean and comfortable. The staff was helpful and readily available to serve guests at all times. There were nice toiletry items, plenty of towels and a safe in the room. There was an instant hot water heater with instant coffee and tea available as well as a good sized refrigerator.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is very worn down... The corners of the room (near the ceiling and in the corners of the walls) seemed darker, as if they were moldy... There were some hair in the bathroom and everything seemed outdated. If the hotel was cheaper, many things could go unnoticed, but for a price like this I would look for another hotel the next time.

    The location is excellent and the staff is very nice and helpful. The sheets and the bathroom surfaces seemed very clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our shower wasn't the best but was ok, we had 3 rooms there and ours was the worst shower out of the three. The cleaners took our main bath towels and didnt replace them with clean ones and the phone in the room didnt call down to reception. That's my only complaint.

    Location was excellent and rooms were suitable for a city break.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Front desk staff were not friendly , except on checkout when they stored our luggage and called a taxi for us. Room was chilly and we could not figure out the heating system . Hotel was dark and I felt like We were the only people there .

    Excellent location , very close to Rer B and bus 21 & 27 were just outside the door. Price was excellent compared to other hotels I looked at so I could overlook it’s shortcomings .

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing

    Excellent location in a nice area! Large room and large bathroom so if you are staying several nights you have room to manouvre and stow your luggage and shopping :) Staff friendly and accommodating. Mainly french speaking but very helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I cannot use the safe box as the instruction and the staff cannot do anything about it.

    The location is near RER station and the staffs are really friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Bathroom lacked any heating. However our stay was during an exceptionally cold period. Breakfast price was significantly more expensive than nearby cafés etc.

    Location is very good but it is useful to understand RER (Suburban railway network) as station for this is next door. Soundproofing of our room was very good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can’t think of anything!

    It’s in a lovely quiet location, easy to find and very close to Luxembourg station to get most places and to go straight to the airport ! The restaurants are amazing near the hotel too !! Can’t wait to come back

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room small and a bit old but actually the price per night was not so high. The receptionist in the morning should be more polite with the customers.

    Good position near the latin quarter

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The price was rather high but it is typical for this district of Paris.

    The location is perfect. The room and the hotel are ok. Electric kettle with tea supplies in the room was a bonus.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is a musty smell in the room, shower is quite small (typical for Europe), and very hard flat pillows. It looks like they took out an individual room air conditioning unit (a long time ago) and never repaired the wall. So you feel a bit like you are sleeping in a construction zone.

    The location was great for seeing the sights in Paris. We took the train straight from the airport, and it drops you just around the corner from the hotel. Friendly, helpful staff. Clean. If we stepped out onto the"balcony" (window) and turned to the right, we had a great view of the Eiffel Tower. We were in room 605.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Sometimes you could hear the person in the room above walking, I guess the building is a bit old.

    The bed was bigger than king-size and the room was spacious.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walls had mould on it The hotel needs updating

    The hotel in a very good location , very clean bedsheets and bathroom facilities, good air conditioner which kept us warm( we traveled in January 2018)

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great access to the paris metro and RER to get around town. Nice size shower and room. Had a fridge and tea and coffee station. Reception staff were lovely!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The elevator is very small (but I guess this is common in most hotels in Paris). The sound from openning/closing doors from other rooms can be heard inside the room.

    Perfect location near RERB with direct connection to the airport. Also very close to the Pantheon and Luxembourg gardens, so perfect for tourism. The staff was kind and the room was quiet comfortable. The bed is large enough and the room is bigger than you expect.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room 105 needs to be improved. For exemple there was no glass shield to prevent bath water from spilling out. The mattress wasn’t comfortable.

    Close to the RER B from the airport. The room size was good.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was perfect.

    This wonderful hotel was beyound all my expectations. The room looks even better than on photos. Wallpapers are made of fabric, looks really chic! Separate bathroom was really practical, all bathroom staff was new and shining of cleanness. My room was spacious, well-designed, with a nice street view. I enjoyed the big wardrobe and a powerful heater. The communication with the staff was a real delight - everyone I met was polite, helpful, attentive and welcoming. The location was also very good: 2 minutes from the Luxembourg Garden and self-titled RER station. The bed was wide, with an excellent linen. Also I liked a lot of sockets in the room (I charged all my gadgets at the same time without any problem) and the big TV. The staff provided me with the possibility to leave my luggage until the evening at the day of my depart. It was a real pleasure to stay there.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    big advantage: close to metro + some of the most important sites (park, Pantheon) are very near. Staff is helpful and room is comfortable, though lift is one of the smallest in town.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    awful staff! I've been in many hotels in France, but this kind of treatment i never had.

    Breakfast was Great! very close to RER ! near Luxembourg gardens

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was only one electrical socket for two people to share. Outdated interior.

    Stayed only one night. Location is very good and easily accessible by public transport. Hotel staff very friendly. Good restaurants nearby.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Perhaps the hotel desk could make more of an effort to assist in organising tourist activities, or recommending alternatives if the original ideas don't pan out. It would be useful as well to have a special room or closet to store luggage that needs to be left at the reception for a few hours - instead of just in the lobby. It'd would also be nice to have bottled water in the rooms.

    The location of the hotel is fantastic. You're waking distance from Jardin de Luxembourg, Notre Dame, Shakespeare & Co, the Latin Quarter and hundreds of little cafes and restaurants that are absolutely worth a visit. We didn't avail of the in-house breakfast option because we wanted to explore cafes - and we'd recommend Columbus Cafe nearby as well as the crepes at Cafe Rosta right by the Jardin. The room itself was comfortable and clean and this is a great choice for tourists - and even for students, it's a good choice for a weekend if you want to up your budget a little, though for younger travelers it might be a bit pricey for a longer stay.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of the rooms is in some need of re-decoration, wallpaper marked and carpet worn, but not a problem for us particularly

    Comfortable bed, nice linen, water hot. Quiet room

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was too small, I am only 5 ft 7 and my feet were hanging off the bed

    The staff were absolutely amazing, location is perfect for public transport links.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    In need of some TLC, only slightly in the bathroom, bit of water logging, but still a very nice bathroom

    what a lovely surprise! Decent sized room for Paris. Large comfy bed and pillows. Mini-bar, tea and coffee making facilites. Large bathroom with magnifying mirror Loved the location! Felt very safe and lively! Right next to a palace park, and lots of places to eat around Had computer and printer in lobby for guests to use Reception staff were friendly

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The sun could have shone more...

    I think it is enough to say, that we were staying here the third time, once every year. The train to the airport (RER B) is just around the corner. The same with the Jardin du Luxembourg. But the Pantheon is quite far away, instead of 1 minute (Jardin du Luxembourg), you need to walk at least 4 minutes! :-D The location is simply ideal...

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    My partner and I loved this hotel. We loved the location with easy access to the metro to get you anywhere you needed to go in the city. The staff were very pleasant and helpful. The room was very spacious compared to the other hotels i have stayed at in paris. Our bed was quite comfortable and our overall stay was very enjoyable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The décor in the bedroom and bathroom was tired. The shower had seen better days too - it could not be fixed to the rail so you had to hold it whilst showering, which was awkward. Breakfast was very expensive.

    Excellent location. Clean room, very comfortable bed and soft, fluffy towels. Friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Rooms next to Each Other
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Shower door doesn't prevent all of the water spray from going beyond the shower/tub. No bath fan, but we did have a large frosted glass operable window.

    Hotel Elysa-Luxembourg rooms were clean, beds were comfortable, free wi-fi, front desk staff were friendly and helpful, location was close to major attractions, cafes/restaurants, and the metro, and they had connecting rooms which allowed our family to feel we were all together. From the 5th floor balcony facing Rue Royer-Collard, we had a great view of the Eiffel Tower!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There seemed to be only one price option for breakfast at the hotel. We would have eaten there if there was a less expensive continental option ie Juice, croissant, coffee.

    Good sized room. The bed was comfortable. The bathroom was good. Excellent location.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't feel particularly welcome by some staff. Difficult to charge phone, had to pull out the bed. No replacement of scrambled eggs on first morning , the lady refused. Better the rest of our stay after complaining.

    The bed was comfortable and the room clean.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Neighborhood restaurants just a half-cut below those of most central Paris eateries. But easy (downhill) walk to areas where the dining choices are mind-bending.

    Excellent location across street from Luxembourg Gardens and two blocks from the heart of the Sorbonne. Easy walk to St. Germain-des-Pres and St Michel areas. Around the corner from the Pantheon.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Within a good distance of all the tourist attractions. Comfortable bed and room in general. Staff very friendly and able to assist with printing flight boarding passes and booking taxis. Overall very impressed!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The quest for the perfect bath In this trip I decided to start this quest and comment in the shower bathing experience. Let me explain first:- I am an old geezer and I have noticed that most of the hotels in Europe, especially in France, do not offer, like you find in the States or Brazil, a shower stall. What is offered, normally, is a bathtub equipped with something that plays the role of a shower, a douche type apparatus This means that you have to escalate the bathtub, get in and start your “shower”. An additional problem arises:- the bathtub floor is slippery and no anti-sliding material is installed. This makes your bath a slippery adventure and an equilibrium task and turns your exit of the bathtub a risky business. So I decided to put this additional comment in all hotels I stay and commenting how difficult the simple task of having a shower can be. The hotel Elysa-Luxembourg has a risky and slippery business bathtub.

    Location is superb if you like the Luxembourg and Saint Germain region. RER at the door is perfect if you are arriving/leaving from CDG airport. Hotel wi-fi is very good and breakfast is adequate but a little spartan.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only took up the option of having breakfast on one of the days. Tried it but neither of us enjoyed it.

    Location of hotel. Staff very friendly and helpful. Having the small balcony.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Because there are so many surrounding cafes it was surprising that breakfast was relatively expensive. The rooms were certainly not large and required a bit of side stepping and furniture moving to be comfortable.

    A great location. Just across the road from the beautiful Luxembourg Gardens and a two minute walk to the metro with its direct line to the airport. Also within walking distance of many of the Left Bank attractions. The hotel was 'tres chic' and though it was a very old building it had every facility including an elevator, tea making facilities and an excellent breakfast available at an extra cost. The staff were invariably helpful and attentive.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was nice but the taps were at the wrong end to the shower head holder, meaning that the hose was stretching across the bath. But this did not dectract from our stay as it was a nice hotel and a nice place to stay.

    The room was nice the staff were friendly. The hotel is an good location close to the buses, metro and RER. It's opposite the garden of luxembourg a great place to have a picnic, a short walk from Notre Dame, the pantheon and plenty of nearby restaurants.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I was never told/warned that the hotel was in the process of updating their Air Conditioning and our rooms had yet to be done. We arrived during a heatwave and lack of AC made for a terrible night's rest.

    Location was great, room size was acceptable given Paris standards. Staff was friendly and did their best to fix an unfortunate situation (no AC) by moving us to different rooms for our second night.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    It was hot and they decided it was too early to turn on the A/C but they did furnish a fan. The elevator didnt work for the first 2.5 days we were there but not their fault.

    Front desk people were accomodating and friendly.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel advertises rooms with air conditioning, but it was not turned on yet so our rooms were pretty warm

    Great location, just across the street from the Luxembourg gardens. Staff very helpful in letting us check in early.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very warm as the hotel is being refurbished and air con was not working but we did have a very good fan put in the room. There was no proper shower in the room just a bath with a shower wand from the tap that you had to hold yourself with no shower curtain, it worked okay and it you like a bath it would not be a problem. However as it was very hot when we were there a nice long shower would have been good.

    Richard on reception was very helpful others on reception were not so friendly. We were able to walk to most places in Paris from the hotel. The RER rail station was only a few minutes walk from the hotel. We didn't have breakfast in the hotel so could not comment on this as we preferred to go to local bakers/ coffee shops to get the real Paris feel. The bed was vey comfortable but might be a problem if you you are 6 foot tall as it was shorter than at home.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning did not work. Ok if you are forwarned. Not ok when it's 30 degrees or more and you need a good sleep

    Loved everything except the heat at night

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The air condition was out of order. The only lift in the hotel remained out of order for almost two days. The safe in the room was not fixed in the wall or in any other place! In other words, the safe ... is not safe and can be taken, easely, with everything inside. In all rooms is the same, concerning the safe!

    Confortable bed. Just in front of two bus stops and near two metro stations

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The facilities were all excellent but the location just adds so much. Try and go on a Sunday so you can enjoy the French people relaxing in the Luxembourg Gardens just around the corner.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This hotel is normally a favourite choice of mine. On this occasion though neither the air conditioning or the lift were in order. I hope that this will be fixed soon.

    The property location is excellent. Just six minutes by train from Gare du Nord and next to the Luxembourg Gardens and within a short walk of the Pantheon and a wide variety of restaurants. Notre Dame is one stop away on the metro. Pleasant staff with 24 hours front desk.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As in so many other Paris hotel reviews, I have to report that the air conditioning was not working and remained stuck on 28 degrees c all night. I informed the concierge beforehand but she could not rectify the problem. Summer just came early. Fortunately, I only stayed one night.

    Reasonable facilities for the price.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The air conditioner wasn't working in our room. The female desk clerk gave us a fan. We were not happy and were going to leave. (Paris was unusually warm this week). After calling Booking.com, the hotel upgraded us the rest of the stay into a larger air conditioned room and free breakfast, but we learned after moving to the new room, that none of the rooms above the lobby floor had A/C due to a bad unit. Again, we were going to move out, but the male desk clerk moved us into an air conditioned, lobby floor handicapped room and the rest of the stay was very enjoyable. I hope they fix the A/C. The other guests were very vocal about the lack of A/C.

    Great location. Almost across the street from the Luxembourg Gardens. Two blocks away from the Pantheon. Most of the staff was very helpful. Metro was less than a block away. Cafes very close.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The air condition doesn't work. All the four days we stayed are around 30~33 degree. I am quite disappointed and didn't sleep well all the night. Hope it won't happen again for next customer.

    The place is quite nice, very easy to access the city center and all the most important sightseeing.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very clean and comfortable hotel. And a great location - close to things and fantastic, local restaurant choices nearby. But also quiet at night. Great stay!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is a fair bit of street noise, particularly on weekends but staying in the heart of the city, you do need to expect that!

    Great location, and the front desk staff were super helpful. Could not have done more for me, and I really appreciated it! Room was fairly standard but clean and well maintained.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I was expecting more in terms of room quality, size and general comfort. I know hotels in Paris are very expensive, but I don't feel like I got value for money.

    The best thing about this hotel is its location. There is a metro station right outside and it's a good base to explore Paris.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The air-conditioner was not working in the room and the weather was around 80 degrees during our stay in Paris. We complained to the staff and they didn't do anything about it. They could have at least supplied the room with a fan. The room was stuffy even with the windows open. It's false advertising on their end because this was one of the reasons why we picked this hotel.

    The location of the hotel was convenient to the RER (train) station and Luxembourg Gardens and Pantheon. There's also many cafes, shops, and bakeries nearby. The bathroom was clean with and the beds were semi comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They should have air conditioning available during spring, we had to sleep with the windows open to cool the room, with the resulting noise getting in to the room.

    It was centrally located. On walking distance to the Parthenon, Notre Dame and to metro stations.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Excellent location in St Germain opposite Luxembourg Station and Garden: nice, proper hotel with rooms not too small and ultraclean bathroom and separate toilette. Typical breakfast room in the cellar with self service and optimal breakfast for Paris 14 €. Prices in Hotel and the quater are not low but you live in typical , lovely Parisian way s

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel was less than 50m from stairwell from Luxembourg RER station, friendly reception, clean bedroom, mine had double doors opening up onto a balcony railing with great views of the street (i was on top floor of hotel), breakfast was good, some cooked items as well as the usual continental offering and fresh breads. Location was fantastic, nice area of the city, great transportation links. Room was good value. It wasn't a problem during my stay - comically small lift. Would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Room 602 had a problem with shower hot water, we moved to another one on same floor

    Very good breakfast 5 buses & RER B at doorstep Quite (both street and other rooms) small hotel (30 rooms - note that somehow booking.com doesn't show any more the number of rooms) Boulangerie and grocery store (8 to 20) at doorstep Jardin du Luxembourg across the street

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My booking specified a large double bed, but was unfortunately 2 singles pushed together (usual for some hotels). However, these had been 'made up' as 2 singles and nothing to 'hook' them together, which caused them to roll apart very easily. The manager offered another available Superior room with real double bed, but the room was very much smaller, although having a view(just about) of Eiffel Tower from balcony. Opted to remain in our room with his provision of beds made with large double bedding the following day. They 'forgot', so we ended up with 1 night out of the 3 with comfortable bed situation.

    Superior room was spacious for Parisian Hotel and good value for money with tea/coffee making facilities and small balcony. It was also very clean, good daily services. Excellent location, walking distance to most areas in St Germain/Latin Quarter and the added bonus of the beautiful Jardin du Luxembourg just across the road.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was hot with no air circulation because the fan was not working. We asked the man at the front desk if he could have someone fix it and he never did.

    Location was good.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    At no point did anyone tell me breakfast costed 14€! No power with main light switch off (had to unplug lamp to charge phone overnight)

    Great location Quiet comfortable rooms Good breakfast

    Stayed in April 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Elysa-Luxembourg traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: