Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Le Grimaldi by Happyculture 4 stars

15 rue Grimaldi , 06000 Nice, France

#41 of 169 hotels in Nice

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 592 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2018

    7.5
    Mixed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very difficult access when arriving by car because zero spaces available in street and one way system makes it very difficult to find the public parking costing €25 a day. Advise not to use this hotel if you plan to travel there by car.

    Tea and coffee available in foyer

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2018

    10
    Exceptional - location, friendliness and cleanliness to name 3.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I'm not rapt in showers over baths but I appreciate it's the way it is in Europe. Probably the only thing would be keeping the eggs hot in the morning if you're not there first thing.

    The reception staff including Anais and Emilie were exceptional - organised transport, a tour, directions to a do it yourself laundry and altogether accommodating when I wanted a drink in reception.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2018

    9.6
    The location is excellent and the view from the room...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom is really showing signs of wear and mould, and water gets really everywhere. They have done a good job of renovating the rooms themselves, but not sure if worth the room price.

    The location is excellent and the view from the room overlooking a church was lovely.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2018

    4.2
    Zero soundproof
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor breakfast same all days, ants , no soundproof from inside and outside the hotel, no English speaking employee no king bad only tow singles put together who splits every time .

    Position in the middle of city

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    6.3
    Very Nice place to stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The lounge area had limited space, but its a boutique hotel, no swimming pool. The two lifts worked fine, however again limited space in the lifts.

    The rooms were decorated very tastefully. Breakfast was very tasty served in a wonderful breakfast room. Staff were always very helpful and friendly. The location was great , right in the town centre !

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    5.8
    Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception seemed a little disinterested or unorganised when we arrived. We had a problem with our bathroom, and after a few calls back and fourth got a resolution. The staff were okay but didn’t go out of their way to do anything really.

    Good location. Discount on Room when it bathroom became unusable from a significant leak in ceiling in the morning.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    7.5
    A relaxing week on the French Riviera
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    - The structure is a bit old fashion and it needs to be updated/upgraded to be at a 4 Stars standard. - The size of the double room is not very large (as common in many old French buildings). - The breakfast room is quite small, which becomes a bit uncomfortable when there are too many guests at the same time. - The cleanliness of the room was shallow/unsufficient. - The lift has little room (as common in many old French buildings).

    - The location is very good, in the city center of Nice, very cosy neighbourhood nearby boutiques and restaurants, close to the main shopping area and attractions (e.g. Place Massena, Rue J. Médecin, etc.) and just 5-10 mins nice walking from the sea (Promenade des Anglais). - The staff at the reception was friendly, especially Sabrina who was super nice, very helpful, and very efficient.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    8.8
    Super nice staff and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast cost 15 euros and it’s nothing special but it was ok. There was a little bit of humid smell but it was not so bad. Bed was a little hard.

    Super nice staff and helpful. Easy and fast check-in. Rooms were clean and spacious.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    8.8
    Quaint hotel with great staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was not as great as we expected and it didn’t feel like a 4 star property although possibly was for Nice’s standards. Felt more like a 3 star property.

    Staff were very accomodating and friendly. They did what they could to provide us with a twin room as requested as there had been a hiccup.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    8.8
    Very good location, friendly staff , nice classic room , thd...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As 4star star hotel missing a lot of things such as mini bar bathrob sleepers, iron stuff , Restaurant, gym, swimming pool or sauna.

    Very good location, friendly staff , nice classic room , thd hotel is just close to the sea side just 10 min walk .

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    7.5
    The hotel staff were friendly and helpful in terms of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room hygiene could be improved.

    The hotel staff were friendly and helpful in terms of helping us to get directions to the cities etc. Free coffee and cold water at the lounge

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    10
    The hotel was excellentvand thecstaff was friendly and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was excellentvand thecstaff was friendly and helpful. It was 2 blocks from several resturant and 3 blocks from the water front; great location.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    8.8
    Lovely room - mix of traditional and modern.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit far from the action in Nice

    Lovely room - mix of traditional and modern. Great breakfast and friendly personnel. Most comfortable bed of our entire trip!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    9.2
    Perfect location, close to everything but not crowdy or noisy during night
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast was disappointing, especially for a 4 star hotel. It would have been expected for a 2 star hotel, much better to find somewhere else to eat breakfast unless you're in a hurry. We did meet the new manager who said he was aware of the breakfast situation and that it was one his top priorities to amend. The elevator was acting up when we checked in, but it was promptly investigated and resolved by the staff.

    Friendly and helpful staff that assisted with questions about the area and helped us book activities. The lobby had complimentary coffee, tea and cold drinks during the afternoon which was much appreciated. The room was clean and had plenty of space for storing luggage without becoming too cluttered.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    5.4
    Great location for the beach and nice in general
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They are aiming for stylish renaissance style and it’s all just a bit shabby. The shower leaked and flooded the bathroom which they said the room had done so as long as they had known it. Very expensive for what it is, the worst place we stayed on our trip.

    Great location for the beach and nice in general

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    6.7
    Wasn't as good as our last stay here, although this was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wasn't as good as our last stay here, although this was about 8 years ago. We were located in the extension behind the original hotel which is a bit pokey.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    5.8
    Not value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were offered to bid on an upgrade of our family room, we were a family of four, which we did and the bid was accepted. The "suite" that we were upgraded to was really small for four people so we can´t imagine what the room looked like that we had already booked. The water was turned off from 10 am - 17 pm all the days that we were there so no use of showers or toilets during that time. Would have been really good to know that in advance. Unfortunately we found that the hotel was not value for money.

    The hotel is well situated, the bed was quite comfortable and staff was friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    9.2
    Excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lift in the back part of the hotel only took 2-3 people (2with bags) and as we were in the 6th floor we often had to wait quite a while. The bathroom/toilet were a little scruffy and no extraction but not enough of an annoyance for us to do anything as we were only there for 3 nights. The rest of it was great.

    Excellent location. The staff were brilliant and helpful. The main part of the room was nice. They offered free drinks and sweets in the afternoon.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    7.5
    Nice room, older but tidy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Minimal sound deadening, we could clearly hear our fellow travlers (maybe they were just really loud)

    Nice room, older but tidy. Great location and staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    8.8
    Great hotel in the centre of Nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff lady who was in the breakfast room most mornings was sadly very unfriendly to the level of rudeness. That spoilt the experience to a certain extent. Other staff were friendly though.

    We stayed for 4 nights and enjoyed our stay. The location was really good - central within the shopping area but also just a short walk to the old town and promenade. Train station and bus stops fairly near by. The hotel was very clean and well presented. Most of the staff were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast buffet had a good selection. The staff kindly let us store our luggage for a few hours when we returned to Nice later in the week which was very helpful to us.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    9.2
    Nice is a fabulous city to visit for a short stay - so easy, friendly and something for everyone.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing!

    We loved this hotel - it has a great location being only a 5 minute slow walk to the beach - it is on a quiet street - superb restaurants outside - choice of 3 (Mon petit cafe) and a great café down the road (Bistrot du coin)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    8.3
    The hotel is comfortable , the decor is fun and it is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is comfortable , the decor is fun and it is conveniently situated within easy walking distance of many attractions. I would happily stay there on my next visit to Nice.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    8.8
    Very friendly and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms weren’t soundproof. We could hear everything that was going on on our floor and some noise from the street.

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Perfect location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    8.8
    Good value in central Nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some noise from adjoining room at night

    Good location, excellent wifi, very helpful multi lingual staff, juice in reception,supermarket just down the road. Small fridge in room useful , comfy bed, good shower.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    4.2
    I would nedver stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Unhelpful staff. They couldn't be bothere3d to help us and the Head Receptionist was the worst of them allThey won't return my City Tax. The original room was terrible for the price I was paying. They did eventually agree to move us.

    Nothing.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    8.8
    A good base for visiting the attractions of Nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was a reasonable choice at breakfast although the scrambled eggs rather solid,

    Would recommend asking for a superior room at the back of the hotel - ours overlooked the church opposite. Spacious bathroom with both a bath and a shower cubicle. Staff on receiption very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    10
    Great hotel with lovely and helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The walls are thin so I could hear my neighbours in the next room speaking which was annoying but then it is an old hotel.

    From the moment I arrived the staff made me feel so welcome and comfortable in the communal areas. I Love this hotel it is right next to the church and the view from my room was magnificent! I was blown away that I was looking out onto this stunning church over Easter Weekend. room 45! A real boutique feel to it, it is quirky in decor and style and yet really homely. The room was fab and with such large windows it gave the room a lovely spacious / homely feeling. The breakfast was good and there was plenty of choices. Location is great, although I did hear a fair amount of noise at night from the main street.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    6.7
    Good but not great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - The lady in the breakfast room is awful. Grumpy and goes around cleaning tables with vinegar spray as soon as guests leave their table :smelling vinegar is not what you want while having coffee! - Booked superior room and got family room which had a big sleeping sofa that we didn't need and took away lots of space. - Rooms are a bit worn out. - Bed is queen size and double bed had 2 mattresses which drifted apart when moving. - Breakfast was average and not much choice so not worth the cost charged for it.

    Room was clean and towels changed every day. Late checkout allowed which we appreciated very much. Employees at reception are nice Area is good:quiet but with lots of restaurants around and not full of tourists. -Hotel is 10 mins walk from both promenade des anglais and central station

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    5.0
    Rather 3 star than 4 star alike
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is meant to be boutique style, yet has pretty run-down interior elements such as low quality mattresses, broken shower & fan + other small things. Management should really keep an eye on its cleaning standards as bathroom had mouldy corners. The overall experience for us was not 4 star alike.

    Free coffee + viennoiserie in the lobby. Fassade of the building is very pretty.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    8.8
    Great place to be particularly when you are stranded by snowfall.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom was very cramped particularly where the toilet was situated.

    We had a little balcony. Unfortunately snow prevented us from using it. The room was small but very comfortable. Breakfast was excellent and reception staff very accommodating.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    8.8
    Great Location & Good Value for Money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Staff was helpful and friendly, but their instructions to do things / finding the room was not precise & clear. Need to improve communication. Basic bathroom amenities were missing.

    Great Location, good value for money, friendly staff, coffee/tea & refreshing drinks at the lobby, champagne to incentivize for reusing towels and be environmentally concerned (well-played).

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    9.6
    Great hotel - would absolutely recommend!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Despite being a great experience overall there were a few things. The first room they put is in smelled a lot like sweat, after which they transferred us to another room. This room had some questionable stains on the wall next to the bed, but was otherwise very nice. When it came to the payment, Booking.com took our money up front but the hotel didn't accept this. We had to go back and forth quite a bit to reach an agreement.

    Great value for money, and most importantly the staff was very helpful and polite.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    10
    Christmas vacations in Nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    This time, I had one of the rooms that has a door giving access to the neighboring room (part of a Suite I guess): sound isolation is not perfect but my neighbors were speaking a bit louder than average.

    Exactly as before: very convenient location, great staff, very nice lobby with free coffee! New Wifi working perfectly to watch your favorite Netflix show in HD!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    10
    A short weekend in Nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I still find the lightning of the room a bit dark... But this is part of the deco... Other people may find it trendy ;-)

    Excellent place to stay in the center of Nice. Very comfortable with very kind and friendly staff. Wifi has been upgraded and now works perfectly!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    9.2
    good comfortable hotel in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was on offer but at 30 euros for the two of us it would have been ridiculously expensive. We went out and had coffee and croissants for a third of the price. It would have been in the hotel's own interest to offer a sensible breakfast at a sensible price.

    Superior room was spacious. Balcony was pleasant. Lounge area comfortable and welcoming. Room was clean and included a fridge.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    9.6
    Really nice hotel in central location for a reasonable price. Would go back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Deep blue paint on bedroom walls made room seem very dark.

    Beds were very comfy. Staff very friendly and helpful, informal reception area which was nice. Unusual decor was lovely in most areas (apart from blue bedrooms). Great central location.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    10
    Happy Culture certainly lived up to their name sake :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Our stay wasn't long enough.

    For an accidental booking where I was a little too click happy. Can I say this was a very wonderful surprise. Nice,had to be mine and my 8 year old daughters favorite part of our entire trip and that was really to do with the people both in Nice and the hotel. The staff were so friendly and helpful and nothing was ever too much or too hard for them. They joined us at nights for fooze ball, a chat even showing my daughter how to make origami frogs and helped us with last minute bookings and advise where to eat and what to see. Miss 8 adored one of the girls (Charlene) so much she was excited to be back there at night to see her and the lovely English couple we met who were staying there also made for a wonderful stay. The hotel was clean and tidy with free gelato offered every afternoon from 2pm. As part of the Happy Culture family it also allowed you access to their other hotels facilities if you wished (Bars, spas etc). It's close to the beach, train station, restaurants and shopping areas but was still in a quiet location.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    8.3
    Amazing hotel to stay in! Would highly recommend!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds move apart so easily and can hear footsteps from upstairs! And everything going on outside is clear to hear.

    Staff amazing!! Loved the decor of the hotel! Overall amazing!!! How close it was to everything was wonderful! And a family run restaurant next door is lush!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    8.8
    A nice and pleasant stay. I'll recommend to my friends.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Maybe, together with coffee or tea from lobby could been possible to find cookies or croissant.

    The bed was comfortable, room and bathroom clean and big enough for two persons. The breakfast was fair, tasty (not so much tomatoes) and enough for a morning meal.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    8.3
    This hotel had been recommended as the first choice of a friend who travels extensively.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast items ran out long before breakfast was supposed to be finished.

    It is a "French" hotel and adjacent to several good restaurants. It was quiet and you could open the window to access outside air. The staff at the front desk were really wonderful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    6.7
    location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    2nd visit. Requested quiet room away from lifts and stairs. 3months in advance. Given noisy room 3 meters from very old style lift on 6th floor. lift mechanism noisy as open old-style cage with clanging noisy metal doors. Noisy lift used throughout the night resulting in no sleep! Staff unable to resolve issue first night! Room very warm, no airflow,'aircon ?working. Queen bed was two twins pushed together. Lighting in rooms poor. Bathroom cramped.no place for towels. Breakfast room cramped and disorganised, resulting in guests bumping into each other constantly. First visit: Staff booked "taxi' to train station less than 5min away. Private car arrived. Charged 25euros ! Felt ripped off. Staff should have notified us of the cost prior to booking. 2nd visit: booked own ordinary taxi. Cost10 euros! same distance. ,

    location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    7.9
    Ok, but light is too dim.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The light in the room is tooooo DIM! Old house and tiny space, Sometimes disturb by neighborhood's door closing sound.

    Location is ok, very friendly staff. Many restaurants near by, and many shops. Nice looking bathroom.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    7.1
    Very friendly staff and helpfull staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very dark, even when all lights were on, in day time! Fortunately we stayed only 1 night. We would not enjoy staying there longer if we could not enjoy the room more. Breakfats room is quite small and quickly full.

    Very friendly staff and helpfull staff. We travel with a small baby and the staff made our stay easier. Hotel well located in the center and near nice restaurants.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    10
    valuable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    nothing at all.

    Staffs are very helpful and nice. There are tea and biscuits and most importantly - free ice-cream every day. The air-conditioner is really comfortable. The bed is superior and bathroom provides whatever you need. Moreover, there are lots of restaurants nearby and 15 mins walk to seaside or old town.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    8.8
    Lovely hotel run by a pleasant staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place is in need of refurbishment. The wallpaper is peeling. The outlets to charge your devices are scarce.

    The bed was super comfy. They pour you a glass of good champagne if you decide to skip housekeeping service for a day.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    6.7
    Good hotel if you are in need of a comfy place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walls are thin, so there isnt much privacy. Our room was close to the elevator, which meant high trafgic and noise, but otherwise bearable. For 4 start thou, the rooms were lacking.

    The staff was friendly and the location cannot be beaten in the city. Clean and discreet housekeeping.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    8.8
    Location of property is excellent couldn't have worked...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was a little small, but didn't matter, I would still stay here again, its perfect for two

    Location of property is excellent couldn't have worked out better

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    10
    Excellent located boutique hotel with spacious rooms in the quiet heart of Nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Limited room service: only certain types of food/drinks can be served in the room and only while meal-time. But, frankly, I did not need a room service, so this feature of the hotel did not bother me at all. I prefer to eat outside the hotel (so I always book a room without breakfast)

    The hotel is very atphospheric, located in a historic building in a quiet quarter in the heart of Nice. Furnished with antique furniture. Pleasantly surprised by the size of the rooms (and bathrooms) - they are much more spacious than the average rooms in Nice. The view from the room is simply superb, with a panorama of theold city and the Protestant church (the rooms at the hotel overlook two different streets, I specifically requested a room on the upper floors overlooking the park and the church). To the sea - 5 minutes walk To the railway station - 7 minutes walk To the airport 10 minutes by bus / taxi To the pedestrian zone with restaurants and boutiques - 5 minutes walk There are many restaurants and grocery stores around the hotel. Staff courteous and very attentive. All my requests (both before the arrival and during the stay in the hotel) have been met. A nice bonus was free coffee, which is unlimitedly available in the hotel lobby 24/7. Also, an ice-cream bar (about 10 types) which is served free of charge in happy hours (from 14:00 to 19:00), joyfull bonus before going to beach or after it;)

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    9.6
    Friendly Staff and comfortable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing...All good

    It was refreshing to have some friendly French staff after our first few days of dealing with arrogant unhelpful people in Villefranche Sur Mer and around about the place...out of control stereo typical French style. We have been to France 4 times in the past 15 years and if it wasnt for the nice staff at Hotel Grimaldi I would have written off France for good. 4 nights in our stopover through France..two nights were great in Nice.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    10
    Perfect City Break
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn't enough lighting in the room which wasn't great when getting ready to go out in the evening, and there was not an easily accessible plug socket near the kettle so had to plug it in else were in the room.

    The location was fantastic we were central to everything, the staff were extremely friendly and helpful and th rooms were beautifully decorated.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    10
    Excellent location with friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mobile internet connection was a great benefit. My only complaint is that it was stated that it would cost one euro a day and they changed the price to three euros a day and charged me for four days even though I only used it for three and turned it in the night before we checked out.

    Location and helpfulness of staff. This facility is a few blocks from the all night crowd on Rue de France but really close to everything.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    8.3
    Perfect for families exploring Nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cleaniness was below par at arrival; found a rather large amount of dust and hair underneath the toilet. Also, it must have been a while since the bedside tables were cleaned from dust, well visible on the surface.

    The Happy hour ice cream bar was a winner :-) Very friendly and helpful staff, nice reception area. Spacious family room with large bathroom, quiet area, hardly any noise from the streets. Great location! Discounted beach vouchers to Ruhl Plage is a superb offer to take advantage of.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    9.2
    Very positive impression. We loved it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast area / room was a bit too small.

    Very warm welcome and extremely open and helpful staff (e. g. we asked for Peppermint tea for breakfast and the lady responsible for the breakfast area got it arranged for us even though it was not part of their normal tea range). Also our room (No 57) was spacious and very nice. We did not expect that level of comfort and space.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    5.8
    Amazing design with a very poor service
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service is far from being a 4 stars hotel service. Very poor.

    I loved the interior design. Could't get over it. And the free ice cream in the lobby.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    10
    Great place to stay in Nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing we didn't like. Would defo stay here if in Nice again.

    Complimentary coffee anytime. Really convenient location. Very quiet despite central location. View of church from our balcony. Staff couldn't be more friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    9.6
    Excellent all around hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi in the hotel was "clunky" to log into, and you were required to do so each time you wanted to access the internet.

    Excellent location central to Nice and near to the train station. Very close to the main dining areas. Staff very friendly and helpful! Free ice cream in the afternoon was a hit with the kids!!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    7.5
    But i Would recommend the hotel! :) we were happy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was to small for 2 and the night personal could not speak english...

    Perfect place to live if you want to be close to everything! Very kocy evirment in the hotel

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    4.2
    Budget hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Didn't realise the hotel doesn't have air-condition until I arrived. So I checked out the following day. Wifi did say accessible in the public area i.e. reception/lobby/restaurant but it wasn't even working properly on the day I was there not to mention, my room was in an annex building and one would think accessible directly via the reception. It was actually three buildings away from the main building, which meant getting Wifi required walking out on the street back to the main building. Not so convenient. As it was in town, with the patio doors opened, one would wake up at 5am from the sound of people coming out of the bar. You won't get a good night sleep here.

    The only good thing about the hotel was the location and breakfast with a lovely view of the bay.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    8.8
    Perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Disconnecting wifi..., all the time..., bad router. Passway to breakfast a bit shabby. 3/5 for the breakfast. Anyway, we will possibly stay here next time too😀

    We had the luck to have a perfect view. Nice staff. Very central and close to the Promenade Anglais.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    7.9
    A short visit to Nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Elevator was old and small.

    Room was big enough for three 2 + extra bed and clean. Breakfast was adequate and was included in price. Hotel is situated near shopping street Avenue Jean Médecin and not far away from railway station, sea shore and old town. There was free ice cream from 2 pm to 6 pm on lobby as well as free coffee.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    4.6
    Better choose another hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hotel needs a serious renovation. It has only one elevator that is also used by maids when they clean the rooms, so sometimes you need to wait 5-10 mins for it. Bathroom was small and very old. Walls in our room were very thin so we could hear our neighbours talking loudly. Bed was small, I wouldn't say it was a bed for two people. When we arrived, our room was prepared for only for one person, with single towel and single bottle of water on a bedside table. Staff can open your door without knocking before, we had this experience once. Breakfast experience was also not good. If you come at 9 am for breakfast, there's almost no food, which is funny because they say breakfast time is from 7am to 10.30 am. I wouldn't recommend to stay in this hotel.

    Good location and nice staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    7.9
    Nice location to sleep in.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The breakfast - it was the most minimalistic continental breakfast I've ever seen. It was impossible to make a hard boiled egg and the meat options were sparse. Also no option to get an omelette.

    The location - right in the middle between the beach and the train station.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    8.8
    Lovely hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have to frequently enter the account and password to access wifi.

    Friendly staffs keep smiling and provide all we needs including travel information, towels, ice cream and coffee. The room is clean with nice declaration. The elevator is helpful. By the way, I met a Chinese intern and received a lot of her help as well as her enthusiasm. This enrich my trip in Nice.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    5.8
    Impossible to sleep
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I booked a double bed, but they just put two single bed together and they kept separating the entire night making the bed an night of sleep extremely uncomfortable. There is no isolation in the window so in the morning it was extremely noisy in the room, as they are located in a busy street making it impossible to sleep after a certain time. The value for money is definitely not good.

    the location is great and the room is good.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    10
    Greatest hotel in France!!!!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Construction works on the fassade, nevertheless it does not disturb at all

    That was the best hotel I've been to in France and considering price level probably the best one in general. Great people starting from reception over breakfast to cleaning, absolutely great location, huge rooms with personal internet (you can even take the hot spot with you to the city or beach), great satisfaction! I'm travelling around the world like crazy and was really very positively surprised. From outside it looks small, but inside is that perfect! Coffee and tea is for free all the day and you even get ice within the happy hours!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    5.0
    The parking is nearby in public undergroud facility, hotel...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The first room provided was poor, because the building was at maintenance and we didn't have any view through the window, instead, there were only scaffolding and paint bucket and the smell was strong near by the window. The floor lamp was not lightening and the telephone of the room was also not working. After we changed to the room next door, it was smaller and simpler. I think the bed was not even, I felt my head fell backward a little bit when I sleep which made me suffered from strong headache the next day. By the way, the room was very dark, the wifi and TV signals were poor. Only pretty reception ladies and decorations were not good enough to make this hotel a functional and pleasant place to stay.

    The parking is nearby in public undergroud facility, hotel provided us discount card for parking fee, but it was still very expensive. The decoration and design of the hotel was of vintage, feminized style, it fragranced everywhere but I'm afraid not everybody enjoys the smell. Happy hour served free coffee and icecream.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    7.1
    Location, service minded staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    View from the terrace was not as good as the pictures, Limited use of the terrace due to roof work etc., could be a bit noisy. This was not mentioned by the staff, not unusual elsewhere that these situations results in price reductions.

    Location, service minded staff.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    9.6
    Wonderful stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent staff. Extremely helpful. The room they gave us was good, but it had work going on outside. They offered to change it at once and we got a bigger and better room. Special thanks to Anna, jumjum, jamila anais. And special thanks to Cassandra..always smiling And made us feel like we were coming home. Keep it up!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    6.3
    This will be the last of several previous visits
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is an old hotel that needs a major redo. 25 years ago it was a jem it is no longer. The service was fine. The breakfast was good. The sink was cracked the shower leaked etc.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    7.9
    Great location and staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The shower was powerful but not set up correctly, you couldn't stand under it and had to take it off the wall so as not to flood the bathroom, so it was a pain to use.

    The staff we're so helpful, booking taxis and sorting day trips for us. The location was great: an easy walk to the front, the old town, the train station etc. The free coffee and ice cream were a lovely addition as well.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    9.2
    Great value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't think of much. The hotel is being renovated at the moment, although this didn't affect our stay in any practical way.

    Welcoming staff, very spacious rooms, and at a good location just a 7' walk from the promenade and overall great value for money.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    10
    Top hotel and top staff 👏👏
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing all was fantastic

    This is a fab hotel the staff were especially fantastic as my wife actually got sick when we were staying at the hotel and they could not have been more helpful ringing around hospitals and doctors ! The receptionist Anais was fantastic so helpful and kind ! Very impressed with this pretty hotel ! Location was also fantastic very nice area and the free ice cream and the fact you could go the other happy culture hotels for treats is a great idea ! Free drinks all day at bar teas coffees waters and pastries is a lovely bonus . A lovely experience all round ! The bed and pillows were so comfy and the room decor was fab ! Cleanliness was fantastic ! Would highly recommend this hotel ! We hope to be back next year🙌

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2017

    9.6
    Excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I don't have something to say here! The only reason that I didn't give 10 is because I don't want the stuff to give up because of the great grades ! Thank you all for the nice experience!

    Our stay on Grimaldi was a great experience ! The room was clean , big enough for three and the beds were very comfortable ! The breakfast was perfect ! Nothing missing ! But the most perfect on Grimaldi hotel is the stuff ! Everybody there is kind and really helpful ! I know where to stay If I ever go back to Nice!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    8.8
    Handy, nice place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I didnt ask for a quiet room, and there was noise / partying noise from the street until 3am. Lesson learned.

    Free tea / coffee. Lovely decor. Great location. Parking building very close by. Great staff. I would def stay there again - but in a quiet room!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2017

    5.4
    Not a 4 stars hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No wifi reception in the room. Staff helped with providing an additional wifi receiver but still... Breakfast was basic and the kitchen was understaffed. As a result I have been waiting to be sitted for 10mins, no bread was left, the coffee machine broke down and overall it was too expensive for what it was on offer.

    Good location and very friendly staff. Free coffee, tea and ice cream :)

    Stayed in January 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: