Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Le Régence 2 stars

5, Rue Marius Jouveau, 13200 Arles, France

#11 of 42 hotels in Arles

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 216 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    7.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 67

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was super tiny

    free parking nearby, close to city center and all major Van Gogh highlight. Most of all: a stunning view from our room on the river Rhone where Vincent painted starry night!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This inn does not have an elevator so might be difficult for seniors carrying bags up and down stairs.

    Alex was a wonderful, helpful and knowledgeable host. When we had questions about train schedules,restaurant reservations, laundry facilities, tour groups-he was able to help us with it all. We enjoyed the location right on the river and near the train station. This was a quiet, comfy place to stay. If going to the beach, consider taking the 1 Euro bus ride.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Can't think of any.

    The attitude of owner who greets everybody, the proximity to the tourist sites, bus and train stations, the immaculate clean room and bath; the very modern and convenient details in the room. Highly recommend to everybody

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although the wifi seemed ok, the Internet connection was sometimes down. We missed another chair in room.

    Location close to the railway and bus station. Also close to Arles old parts. Very quiet room. Friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    TV channels were a bit limited, my partner likes to watch TV for half hour before bed to relax :( it would be nice to just have a music channel

    Fine for an overnight stay, good location, easy to find, staff very friendly and accommodating, basic clean (small) room at a good price

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Disguised reception Lack of reliability from bookin False advertising !!!

    The owner retrieved the aír conditioner Control! from the room and I had a terrible night of sleep. Next day he told air conditioning was not necessary but I rented that room because of the air conditioner . I did the reservation for two days but I did not want to stay the second day and he charged only one day in my debit card at the desk. I check out . One hour later I received a message that my credit card ( Mastercard) enrolled in Booking was debited the second night. I returned to the hotel and the lady, the owner, told her that Booking authorized her to charge. Conclusion - she is a lier and Booking.com do.not defend a Genius ( = stupid ) guest like me. I will never use Booking. Com again

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was small and sparsely appointed. Asked to use an iron and ironing board only to be told that the hotel did not have one - we could take our clothes to a local laundry to be pressed! Given most people come to a hotel with a suitcase, it seemed absurd that there is no way to iron clothes.

    Location was good. On the edge of the old town - so access by car to the hotel was not difficult

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No complaints.

    Very friendly and helpful owners and staff. Location close to rail and bus stations, overlooking river with all attractions and shops a very short walk away. Excellent breakfasts and bike hire.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom a little small and could hear person in bathroom backing on to it.

    Very central. Good welcome, calm atmosphere and interesting interior design.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    Difficult to find when walking from train station at night. We arrived at 11 PM. No taxis around. Locals walking in the area walked us to hotel. Having somebody call ahead to get instructions from hotel how to get in (since front desk was closed) was very helpful.

    Great location! (VERY convenient to river cruise);. Walking was only about 5 min if you knew the way. Great continental breakfast! I would stay there again!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to leave.

    This was a very friendly and pleasant small hotel in a really convenient position on a corner between the riverside and the old city walls. We were lucky to be allocated a room two floors up with our window opening onto the adjacent River Rhone. Van Gogh's famous starry night painting was painted from the nearby promenade. The hotel rooms are small and additional facilities limited but the welcoming atmosphere and favourable location made this an excellent choice for our 3 night stay in Arles. The old city is very compact and all main attractions are within easy walking distance as it takes only 20 minutes to cross 'wall to wall'. The railway and bus stations are a few hundred yards away across Place Lamartine. The Saturday market is well worth a visit . Plan a picnic !

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room which I was staying in was a bit too small for two people (especially a bed). The bathroom is rather small too. WiFi connection could be better too.

    The location of the hotel was very good. The room had a very nice view from the window (river view). The staff was nice and very helpful. The parking was on the street outside the hotel (so at some point you have to be lucky to get a place there). It was pretty quiet although the street was near by.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room not large enough to include an armchair, and only one power point No lounge or bar

    Breakfast allowed unlimited coffee - in large cups. Just round the corner from lively multi-ethic area of cafes, restaurants shops etc. Close to stop for free bus round town Easy walk to/ from railway station. Arena within walking distance

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    My three night stay was far too short!

    Eric and Valérie are the perfect hosts providing traditional Arlésien hospitality in this hotel, beautifully situated across the street from the mighty Rhône. A couple of minutes wandering off through the narrow winding streets and you're face-to-face with the magnificent ancient buildings and sites which characterise this lovely old town. You will also come across street scenes and vistas which Van Gogh immortalised. I would also like to mention Eric's patience with my attempts to recall schoolboy French. his extensive local knowledge as well as both his and Valérie's excellent command of English.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No tea and coffee making facilities.

    The view from the room was breathtaking. The location was excellent, near to everything, especially the fantastic Wednesday morning market. Managed free parking close by too.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Plentiful and varied breakfast. Nicely furnished rooms. Good shower. Lovely welcome. Very conveniently placed by the old part of the town and right by the river. Free parking 5 mins walk away. Thoroughly recommended.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Tea and coffee in the room, it's a bit tired, no wifi, but then I did know all that such a shame though.

    This hotel is great for overnight or short stay, free parking nearby, close to the arena and in the old town itself, so can come back to rest

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms and beds are a bit small - but that holds for most French hotels

    Excellent location on the riverside close to the old city. Very friendly French family who runs this 16-room hotel

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with Rhône View
    • Stayed 1 night

    - Central location (also to the train station with direct 1h connection to Airport Marseille) - Quiet, directly on the river Rhone (look for a room facing the river) - Friendly staff

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stink, cramped room. Weirdly shaped roof. No AC. Spider shadow.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room a bit small but assured they do have larger

    Staff very friendly breakfast great very clean

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathroom is a little too small

    Very nice location. Good hospitality

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    All OK - for families/elderly/disabled - may find accessing upper levels hard.

    Cleanliness.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The was great choice for breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is by the river, and there is breeze all the time which is good . There is also air condition in the room and is great.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room is quite old and shower is difficult to use.

    Great staff and good location

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Comfy, excellent breakfast, next to the Rhone River, in town

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't figure out heater, room was hot

    Extremely friendly staff, great location and views.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    My french.

    We liked the fact that Valerie & Eric were very helpful, excellent hosts & friendly.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi doesn't work everytime

    Very kind people and awesome breakfast. Good position in Arles and cheap price.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Would have like a fan in the room

    Staff was pleasant, quiet, near the river

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    everything was great and it is very central, nice staff

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift.

    Good location - by the river, central. Good breakfast, comfy room, family run by very kind people. Will stay again.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing it was a decent hotel for the price

    Excellent location for Arles with great river views

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing. This is a great place to stay and I would highly recommend it to anyone.

    What a great place to stay. The location is perfect for exploring the old town. They have a car garage so that you don't have to find parking on the street; the gentleman at the front desk even let us leave our car there the following day while we explored the town in the morning. He was so kind in helping us find our way around town, suggesting a great place for dinner, and suggesting a great route to visit the Camargue. The view over the Rhone River is fabulous...makes you feel like you're in Van Gogh's shoes!

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The toilette could have flushed better.

    I liked the breakfast because i'm diabetic and there were hardboiled eggs and yogurt in addition to croissants and baguettes. Also, the location was close enough to walk to from the train station, and it was very easy to find. The staff helped me make restaurant reservations too. It's listed in Rick Steves's guide book.

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The prize was maybe too high, everything was all right but still 60€ for a room for two is a bit too much.

    The position was perfect to visit the city center, the forniture was old style, really classy, the two people that was running the hotel were very polite and helpful with their informations. The breakfast was tasty and nice.

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The breakfast consisted of coffee, one croissant and all the bread you could eat which I don't think is very nutritious, although it tasted quite good and may satisfy your hunger. The coffee was acceptable and in amounts that I was more accustomed to drinking. The French seem to prefer demitasses and smaller measures more than a full cup of coffee as the Americans do.

    The staff friendliness and the cleanliness of the Regency were top notch. Even the housekeepers were really conscientious about maintaining very high hygene standards. This seemed to be true everywhere we went in France.

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    grumpy reception by Eric, poor maintenance of two taps in shower room, dark stairs and automatic lights not working, Eric unwilling to change room although other rooms free (others checked in later than us), TV not working properly, unable obtain WiFi and Eric unwilling to help, poor toiletries (just 2 small soaps), holes in bed cover, free parking nearby but possible crime issue as saw broken window glass, shabby fittings in bedroom and 1960s décor, hotel insisting on knowing if we wanted breakfast before we had even unpacked.

    checking out and not going back 10 minutes walk from town and near River Loire

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The shower was a bit iffy in maintaining a constant temperature.

    Arriving by train this hotel was a 5 min stroll and so easy to find, just inside the city wall. The same again for the centre and Arena, so in ideal position. In early Sept I noticed there were a number of car parking spaces available outside so I could have come by car. Our room (4) on first floor was clean, comfortable and quiet at night, so no problem getting a nights sleep. Breakfast was the usual in a French hotel and OK. Communication was easy as the friendly couple who run the hotel speak good English. If I return to Arles this is the place where I will stay.

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not welcoming Staff at desk not accommodating and sometimes not friendly, he got very upset when we didn't want the breakfast saying that he was now left with two croissants.

    Location good, close to train updated bathroom good bed

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    great location, not prettiest outlook but next to the Rhone, handy for all the town but also convenient for nearby free parking (close to the site of Van Gogh's 'Yellow House', destroyed in WW2!)

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Location: If you are traveling by car or train then reaching this hotel is easy. Lots of parking are available free (or at very low rates). The biggest adavntage is that this facility is located just along the wall,and along the river, so locating this facility is easy and just 5 min walk to the historic attractions. The managers(Husband/Eric and wife/Valerie team) are supberb. They are very gracious, helpfull and absolutely the best.

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The breakfast was rather dull. No lift, which for elderly people could be a problem.

    The location with free parking nearby. We had a large room overlooking the river. The staff were very welcoming and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The bathroom is too small, and just one cable. The connection of wifi is a little bit slow, specially in the night

    Clean, great location beside the river, quite. You can rent a bike there with a low fee.

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Nothing

    Very simple yet comfortable hotel in nice location walking distance to sights. There was always free parking on street on hotel. Eric was ver gracious and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The managers were very helpful and nice, especially Eric who went out of his way to provide us with valuable tips on bike routes and good restaurants, and also helped us find a room in the next town on our Southern-France biking trip. The hotel has a secure garage for bikes and I highly recommend it for people who need peace of mind for their precious vehicle. The room was large and comfy, quiet at night, and breakfast was a good continental buffet complete with fresh croissants. The hotel is located near the river, on the limit of the old city center, and all historical sights are within a short walking distance.

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The room could have been larger. However, I could not complain.

    The location was excellent. The staff were outstanding.

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    helpful staff, great location to train station and town

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location, location, location!

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The location near the train station and the river. The breakfast. The host spoke excellent English.

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Staff was absolutely lovely

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Owners are lovely. Hotel is right in the old part of town. Street parking free and safe.

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very good location. Staff extremely Welcoming and helpful. English spoken. Meticulously clean. Would definitely stay there again!

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Central position close to the railway station.

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    very small beds Owner not that friendly no elevator Too much money for what you get

    location

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location convenient. Good breakfast, lots of choice, clean and comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location, friendly host.

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Owner is extremely friendly

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Very helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast was mediocre

    The room was near the Rhone and convenient to popular Arles sights

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Good all round experience. Owner particularly helpful.

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    No enough plug ins to charge computer, phones... in the room

    Bike rental facilities

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Just next to the Rhone.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    no free wifi

    location

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hardest bed we slept on during our two week travel in France.

    Great location near the train station and the colosium.

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing.

    Convenient place to the other area from this hotel.

There are also 13 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 67

Guests also reviewed these properties: