Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Matisse Hotel 3 stars

11 Boulevard Frédéric Mistral, 83120 Sainte-Maxime, France

#6 of 23 hotels in Sainte-Maxime

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 542 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    need a bar to support the shower hose (there is a bath with a shower attachment but no-where to hang it so you can't have a proper shower)

    best location in town. dog friendly. reception staff extra helpful. pool usually quiet and a wee oasis. very nice hotel that we go back to repeatedly and never disappoints.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was far too small - unable to move in it.

    Everything else was great. Perfect location, very approachable and helpful staff, well organised with parking etc, clean room and bathroom, a lovely pool area and the bonus of wine & apperitif provided from 6 to 8pm (which allows you to meet other guests). We appreciate that the hotel is environmentally conscious. Thanks for a pleasant stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No tea/ coffee facilities in room. Some very loud residents, walls/floors seem to not absorb the noise much at all.

    Location was perfect for my visit requirements. Public areas were well decorated, maintained, and spotless. My room was very comfortable facing the pool. Breakfast was great with nice choices. Reception team were excellent and very helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    n/a

    the hotel is nice and pretty, located in central Sainte Maxime. The staff very obliging, kind and professional. The rooms were lovely. Breakfast was good too. I will definitely recommend Hotel Matisse to all travellers.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Typical French shower, could be improved.

    The staff are very friendly, the whole atmosphere, decoration and little details show that the hotel is well managed and customer oriented. The breakfast was excellent, and free for small children. In fact, they are very welcoming with children, they left coloring booklets in each of their beds. We felt extremely welcome and would definitely come back again. Free parking just a block away.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking lot is quite expensive, about 15euros for 24h.

    The happy hours from 7pm to 8pm. The small swimming pool with the terrace. The workers were really friendly and always there to help you. Its right next (2 min by walking) to the lively street. The beach is like 3 minutes away.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Breakfast buffet basic.In bedrooms with bath only shower poor and no support/bracket to hold shower head.Was given no information on parking or garage.

    Overall hotel and pool very good in decor and layout.Excellent location.Staff very helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room was pretty small. We paid for the parking but I think we could've found street parking for free since we were a bit ahead of the tourist season.

    Great location close to the beach and all the shops. Very clean and modern with a nice pool and deck. They have a happy hour each night where you can have a glass of rosé and meet other guests, which we enjoyed.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was so tiny for me and for my frame: any person over 5'6" and 150 lbs. cannot move inside, or even forget about turning around! I am a guy, 5'11", 220 lbs. impossible. Barely could even close the shower door lol. TIP : Was told by Manager at check-out to reserve a superior room which has a bathtub/shower combination or even a full size shower. Do it: it is definitely worth the money.

    Happy Hour is fabulous. So is the pool. AND Location, Location, Location. Awesome. Staff is Superb. Cannot recommend enough. Bravo.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A couple of bottles of "free" water would be a nice gesture. The mini bar was a bit sparse, as some would like to have a couple of miniatures. A mute point, for some, but for I, more than adequate.

    The breakfast was a great start to the day. Lovely pastries, cold meat and cheeses, great. All staff were genuinely friendly, and not because they have to be. I did however have a problem with the bed, as I did not want to get out of it in the morning. A great location, so all in all, that's why I have stayed there on business, and leisure, alone and with my wife, hence I will stay again

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were very happy with all aslects of our stay the staff eere excellent. We also enjoyed the daily happy hour sampling the complimentary local wines and canapes. EXCELLENT!!! 10 out of 10

    Upgraded to a prestige room excellent facilities

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2017

    • Couple
    • Privilege Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Disappointed with the bathroom - no proper shower -very small, thin towels ( but staff were very happy to give us extra towels) Glad I'm thin - fat person wouldn't fit in the bath.....

    Staff- very friendly and helpful Breakfast -very good - plenty of choice - everything fresh Overall feeling of light and cheerfulness

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only stayed for 3 nights and it had everything we needed. There was originally a mix up in booking a double instead of twin but it was imediately sorted out. Local parking was free in winter but watch out in high season, it won't be.

    Friendly staff, right in the centre of ste. Maxime. Varied breakfast, comfy beds. Everything you need.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - Room was a little cramped for the furniture. - Bathroom facilities a little old, but basically par for Europe outside of expensive international hotels.

    + Friendly staff + Great location near a lot of restaurants and hotels, and within easy walking distance of the water

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could not get used to the hand held shower. Would have prefered a more comfy chair in the bedroom plastic chairs rather hard.

    Terrace and pool very pleasant staff very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Paper-thin walls (ground floor room) so you hear everything-woke up every day because of the noise, incl. vacuum cleaning in the morning. At the reception, the staff only advised paid parking- later found out street parking is free 8pm-9am.

    Great location, did not use any of the facilities so can't comment. Reserve parking in advance

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Our (standard) room was extremely small and surprisingly outdated compared to the rest of the hotel. The bathroom was nice and clean but the shower stall was so tiny that we couldn't stand directly under the shower head. Very thin walls - sometimes it sounded like our neighbours were in the room with us. A view of the pool must have been lovely but ours was disappointingly looking out over a car park. We had definitely hoped for a nicer room judging from the pictures and the money we had paid.

    Good location, very clean, super friendly staff and the communal areas (pool, bar, lobby, etc.) were very nice.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My only comment would be about the shower; a newly renovated hotel of this level should have a shower that you can stand under, not just a hand held hose.. Ladies with long hair be advised..

    Great hotel, well renovated Art Deco style throughout the hotel and rooms. Nice pool and breakfast dining area, although the breakfast itself could have offered a lot more. Well located close to shops, restaurants and bars, with Saint Maxime beach and several bus lines at the end of the street. Great stay, I would recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hugely overpriced given level of accommodation. A 'superior' room certainly doesn't feel superior. Was made out online to be a boutique hotel but felt far more basic.

    Decent location; comfortable beds

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The rooms are not fully sound proofed especially the ground floor room 3 next to room 2 this is a very small room but you can hear everything from the occupants of the adjoining room.

    The hotel is in the heart of Sainte Maxime, only 3 minute walk to the beach, shops, restaurant and harbour. Parking also nearby.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A nice clean modern place central location good helpful staff Breakfast continental style worth the 12:5 Euros per person per day with a good selection of food to choose from

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    When leaving the hotel, the staff on duty (who spoke no English) wanted me to pay for the rooms again! It took a while to sort this out, and was quite stressful as we were running late for our transport. This was the only thing which marred our stay in this excellent little hotel.

    Lovely cool, modern rooms and reception, excellent location, friendly staff, comfortable bed and great facilities.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is terrific. Close to restaurants, shopping and the ferry to Saint-Tropez. The staff, breakfast and common spaces were very nice. The room was well disposed for a small family room but a bit worn.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Julie’s friendliness and service with a smile was a breath of fresh air!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Good location, large room, friendly staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were so friendly and helpful, really looked after us. Spotlessly clean rooms too

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Great location. Friendly and helpful staff. Lovely lobby area. Would stay again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Fantastic crew at the hotell, free aftersun drinks in lobby

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice staff, comfy room

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Really helpful and friendly staff. Let us leave our bikes in the garage free of charge.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    WLAN and coffee machine...

    Excellent staff, nice room, good value, perfect location withn St. Maxime..

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower was small but did the trick.

    Beautiful room and an amazing bed. Close to everything.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    Staff were very friendly, breakfast superb, location fantastic, no complaints would definitely use this hotel again

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower stall too small

    Locality and friendly staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Convenient, parking for motorcycles

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful hotel in an excellent location near the old town and close to the beach. Fab staff and stunning art.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, 5 min walk to the marina and to the ferry to St.Tropez. very clean hotel. Nice swimming pool. Parking available nearby

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    -Wifi could be better

    +Excellent location +Very clearn +Lovely staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Double Room
    • Stayed 15 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were all super friendly, welcoming and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great hotel

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expensive for what is offered.

    Close the harbour, ferry and shops.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nice hotel , top location

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/a

    Everything was good Breakfast is very good Room is big and clean Hotel is in very good locations

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It would have been nice to have free parking even if just for one or two nights.

    Very good location and convenient for St.Maxime and the beach.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location and service. Clean rooms and friendly staff.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not enough noise isolation from the adjacent rooms

    Very kind staff, offered a free coffe on departure

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    la situation dans la ville. le calme de l'hotel le sourire du personnel.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    staff were friendly, room was lovely with a great double aspect. Breakfast was good. Location was very central to centre.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Free parking close by and very secure.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything was perfect. The breakfast is 12.50 per person, but was delicious! Nice and clean rooms,beautiful place.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    excellent location, friendly staff, cheap bar with free appetizers

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good!!!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We booked a superior room, but size was still quite small.

    Very good location and friendly staff. Clean room.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom could do with a refurbish

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Stylish decor, spotless, friendly and caring, delicious breakfast, lovely pool and loungers

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is hard to beat. Right near the beach and shops. Staff were all very friendly and accommodating.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This hotel was amazing in every way. The staff were so helpful and so friendly, nothing was a problem. The bedroom was perfect, lovely cotton sheets and good sized towels. Fabulous location and a great base to travel from and see the south of France!

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The lady who assisted us at the front desk on arrival was one of the nicest most helpful people we met on our entire trip! She gave us the most beautiful site-seeing and dinner recommendations. We also met the manager the next morning who was equally as lovely! We are on other side of the world, and I would fly back to experience this lovely stay all over again.

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff were absolutely incredible - discrete yet attentive and personal. Turn down service in the afternoon replaced our towels same day as check in and nespresso machines were appreciated. Blackout shutters means no light gets in!

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Small family rooms, no view from windows. Cramped feel. Spartan poor quality furniture, stains on carpets, lots of mold in the bathroom tiles and floor, not very clean.

    Staff is exceptional in their courtesy and service.

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The shower was only in the bath and not high enough to shower under

    The staff were friendly, always greeted us when we came in or went out. Location fabulous, a 5 minute walk to the beach and 10 minutes to the boat across the bay.

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The shower in bath lacked a wall bracket, so you always had to hold the shower head

    Location excellent, parking charge reasonable.Breakfast great value and quality.

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very nice property, extremely friendly & professional staff, great breakfast on the terrace, nice pool area, centrally located, great value for money!

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bathtube was a little bit small. But yes, we could be able to take a shower.

    The location is awsome. It is 5 min walk away from the plage and located at the city center. Staff and the owner of the hotel was so friendly, kind, and helpful (that was the most important thing for us). The breakfast was quite satisfactory.

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The only bad thing was the poor Wifi network probably because my room was at the end of the hallway.

    The location is perfect. Very close from the beach and from restaurants and shops. The staff was very pleasant and helpful. Breakfast delicious.

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The staff was very friendly and helpful. The hotel was super clean (which is not very common). Breakfast was fresh and satisfying. Air conditioning was well functioning (not loud or windy).

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Everything about my stay in this hotel was excellent. The staff were friendly, always on hand and attentive. My room was lovely, with a balcony overlooking the pool, modern light bathroom. The pool's great. I'd highly recommend it.

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    small bathroom especially extremely small shower plate lcd-tv as bog as a laptopscreen

    super friendly staff, recently redecorated lobby, nice breakfast area along swimming pool, good hygiene, green programm.

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I like a full blown shower so I can stand under shower head and not worry about spray getting out. Only complaint.

    Room was good. Not huge but comfortable bed and nicely clean and decorated.

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    From check in to checking out it was all so easy! Every single staff member was exceptional could not fault anything. Location was fantastic recommend.

There are also 25 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: