Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of L’Abbaye Ecole de Sorèze 3 stars

18 rue Lacordaire, 81540 Sorèze, France

#3 of 5 hotels in Sorèze

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 121 hotel reviews

7.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    7.4

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    6.8

  • Staff

    8

  • Value for money

    7.2

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 18

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    9.6
    It is a nice place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Traditional Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All was ok

    It is a nice place. In the middle of the village. The personal was very kind and help us in everything we needed. It’s a quiet place. The bed was very comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    6.3
    More amusement value than quality.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Traditional Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Initial reception was surly, and difficulties were caused because we had not booked dinner in advance. We did dine in the hotel that evening - a mistake. Service was amateurish and food mediocre.

    The bat fluttering round the corridors

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    8.8
    Step into the past.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Better lighting on the stairs and maintenance was a bit sporadic.

    Charming property with a wonderful historic feel in its own grounds. It is in need of some modernising but the price reflected it's limitations.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    10
    A gracious historic property set in the calm of a small village
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    First attempt, it was a bit tricky to find the parking, as it is set away from the main entrance to the hotel. However, once found, it was spacious and secure with access onto a short path which went directly to the back garden of the hotel.

    This is a very characterful property and all the staff were kind and helpful. Our standard room as not large but had all we needed and it was comfortable and pretty.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    4.2
    Okay stay, wouldn't go back or stay more than 1 night
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rude staff Had to leave a day early as room was so hot i couldn't stand it and no restaurants open in week apart from hotel one. Do max 1 day here. The hotel itself could do a few small things and be a lot better. When I complained about my room being hotel I heard one of the staff say 'put them in the 2 star hotel then' next door.

    Nice looking place

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    10
    My 5 nights at Soreze
    • Solo traveller
    • Traditional Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was very very comfortable . The receptionist and staff were very helpful. They helped arrange for transportation every day for me daily and even some of the staff willing assisted with transportation. Even though my French was not good. They made communication very easy for me. I choose the place over and over again

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2017

    7.5
    a large converted abbey, surrounded by pleasant gardens
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no real complaints but this hotel is situated in a very small village, and if you're passing through during the winter, it'll probably only be a stopover on the way to somewhere else - likely a different story in the summer months

    this is a really interesting property, a large converted abbey, surrounded by pleasant gardens, i'd love to revisit one day - but in the summer, it was freezing whilst we were there. i enjoyed the restaurant experience, and that was lucky since alternatives appeared very limited (think hard before you order the cassoulet, unless you truly love white beans, of which there are many)

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    7.1
    Beautiful location with a elegant traditional hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Water was Luke warm at peak times. The workmen started drilling way to early in the gardens, disturbed us both mornings before 8. Staff were not always present at bar, so had to look for them. Staff Not too organised in communal areas. Should of been emailed parking changes because of works to road . Pool chemicals need applying, it was green

    Hotel and location are very lovely

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    8.3
    Interesting building and historical location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Interesting building and historical location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    7.1
    Good for a short stay
    • Couple
    • Traditional Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Maintenance .. a lick of paint here or there ..

    Monastic relaxing atmosphere

    Stayed in March 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2015

    6.3
    beautiful location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Best parking spot taken up by manager with a poncy plaque - obviously doesn't know that guests should come first...would have been better if he had cleaned the mold of the tiles in the bathroom, touched up the paint and floor tiles. Hot water only warm as per last stay.

    beautiful location

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2015

    9.2
    loved the history of the place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room was very small and quite dark but adequate

    loved the history of the place. Staff were excellent. Very pretty park area and the restaurant was quite good

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2015

    7.1
    The building was historic and impressive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very rude dining room manager. She would not understand our French and made no attempt to use her excellent English. We were left to the last to be served and on one evening waited for 30 minutes to have our drinks order taken although those around us who arrived later were served right away. We felt discriminated against and could not accept it. On our second night we complained to the general Manager who made her come to us to apologize. She was still very sarcastic in tone and attitude. He also sent a complimentary bottle of Champagne up to our room. For that we were very grateful but did not use the dining room again for the remainder of our stay as we had been made to feel most uncomfortable and unwelcome by this one individual..

    The building was historic and impressive. Most of the staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    6.3
    Wonderful opportunity to utilise/revitalise an historic...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It's difficult to understand how they retain their 3* rating with rooms in such poor state - repaired walls with mismatched paint, scuff marks throughout the room, mould in the bathroom, dangerously loose tiles in the corridors, the noisiest plumbing i've experienced gurgling all during the night and the wifi signal so weak they may as well disconnect it. We stayed on the opening night of the Soreze Music Festival, but the Hotel didn't capitalise on the event by presenting their establishment in the best possible light. The restaurant was absolutely deplorable in managing their guests by ensuring they completed dinner service for the start of the concert at 9pm. We needed to leave midway through our mains. Totally unacceptable for a professional establishment. If i was the Director of the Festival i'd be meeting with the Manager of the Hotel and sharing my expectations!

    Wonderful opportunity to utilise/revitalise an historic building in a well preserved medieval village. But, on the whole a missed opportunity. Reception staff were excellent. Bed and linen were good, furnishings comfortable and styled in keeping with original monks cells. Bathroom layout was excellent with separate toilet.

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2015

    7.9
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Not easy to find, and parking also difficult to find without guidance. Basic (traditional) room limited by size of original monks cells. Very small for two people, OK for one. Less luxurious than expected for price. Breakfast not worth the money. Restaurant staff disorganised at breakfast.

    Location. Lovely park and closeness to town. Friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2015

    8.3
    Lovely big rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Lovely big rooms. Beautiful décor. Great breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2015

    8.3
    The setting, the history of the building and the staff were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our bathroom was adequate.

    The setting, the history of the building and the staff were all excellent.

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2015

    10
    The history, well preserved, the location, the ambience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The history, well preserved, the location, the ambience

There is 1 review without text. This impacts the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 18

Guests also reviewed these properties: