Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hôtel Le Couvent Royal 3 stars

place Jean Salusse, 83470 Saint-Maximin-la-Sainte-Baume, France

#11 of 15 hotels in Saint-Maximin-la-Sainte-Baume

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 636 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    7.4

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    7.1

  • Staff

    8

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    7.5
    Location and historical building
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Pélerin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The call one week earlier to saay they had works underway and couldnt accommodate the reservation we'd made thru you. Luckily i.d cancelled one room, and finally the socalled works being a major group they had that night they were able to accommodate 2 rooms, one with a broken lock on the door !

    Location and historical building

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2018

    4.2
    lousy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Could not get a reservation at the restaurant and were told that the restaurant was completely booked, so, we were asked to have dinner outside. Having a look at the restaurant at abt. 20h30 ... there were 2 tables (one with 10 guests, one with 2 guests) occupied. The rest of the tables was entirely empty ... difficult to understand!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    9.6
    Great location, awesome setting and rooms, a little pricey...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was warm (no AC) the two rotating fans did not help enough to cool off the room, would stay here again though.

    Great location, awesome setting and rooms, a little pricey but worth it. Bed was very comfortable and room had everything that could be needed.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    10
    No luxuries, great price, absolutely excellent food, super setting, lovely staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Amazing ex-convent setting, small but comfortable room in a huge historic building right in the centre of the town and immediate access to bustling Wed morning market.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    5.4
    The building is beautiful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Its very old, our room has horrible furniture, the bed was uncomfortable and dirty, the lock of the door was broken.... This hotel should cost 80€/night no 200€...

    The building is beautiful

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    10
    Wonderful stay in a peaceful setting in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Pélerin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothingwonderful stay

    Lovely, tranquil monastery setting with great views of cloisters from my window. Excellent, helpful and kind stAff. Great location. Nice room with good bed. Did not want to leave and would stay there again! Hot day and no ac, but the fan was just fine and I slept really well! Loved the quiet room and peacefulness.!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    5.4
    St. Maximinin a city in decay - public works everywhere ... hotel reflects the decay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Pélerin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Reception staff particularly nice and accommodating, but NO bar staff, and restaurant staff totally inexperienced and food dreadful.

    Hotel is STILL like a cloister rooms are like monk cells, cleanliness leads a lot to be desired - could be a great hotel but feels like you are walking into the past... in decay like France. Restaurant expensive and terrible

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    5.4
    Has potential to be great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Pélerin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit dated lacked the little touches. Bathroom badly needs redoing. No coffee/tea facilities in room not even a bittle water. No service in the restaurant after almost entering the kitchen to get someone's attention for a table we had the menu but no one came back to us so after approximately 15 minutes we left & went to a great restaurant down the road.

    Comfortable good size bed

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    8.8
    A beautiful location with great food and comfort
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing I would say is that aren’t enough staff in the restaurant and so when it’s busy service is slow- but that is the only thing I thought could have been better

    The building is absolutely stunning. There is ample car parking space. The reception staff were very welcoming and helpful during our stay. We stayed in the suite which was enormous. The bed was very large and very comfortable. The food was excellent both at breakfast and dinner. The Wifi was good. The location was excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    6.7
    A unique stay in a restructured convent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was "cell"size, with an equally small and cramped bathroom.

    Unique experience in an old convent. The restructure of the building into a hotel was well done. Because of a tour group was staying in the hotel the restaurant was not available to us.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    8.8
    Pleasant and comfortable stop over to break up journey.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast very minimal and overpriced. Access to dining area from rooms very cold (winter visit) and necessitated a walk outside. This however would be very pleasant in warmer weather.

    Ease of access from motorway to village and into hotel. History attached to building. Very clean with helpful staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    5.0
    Beautiful but dangerously low level of service
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough staff. There was only one person working in the hotel at any one time! It was November, so not a busy time but even so. We broke a glass in our room on Sunday afternoon, and called down to reception. The lady on reception said she couldn't help as she was 'toute seule', so my husband had to go downstairs and find a vacuum cleaner himself, bring it up to the room so we could clean up then return the vacuum cleaner downstairs. There was a blind guest at the hotel, and there would have been no help for him in case of emergency.

    Stunning building. Comfortable bed

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    7.1
    Atmospheric monastery
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were unable to have our evening meal there as restaurant was apparently full though was half empty. Hotel guests should be able to eat there or warned that they need to book. Poor organisation as hotel had few guests. Had a great meal at Cote Jardin so did not starve

    Atmospheric old monastery with rooms that monks would have used. Roaming the cloisters and rooms was interesting.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    7.9
    Beautiful historical building and very spacious room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Pélerin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wouldn't rate it as a 4 star hotel. The restaurant was full so we had dinner at a nearby restaurant and breakfast price is unreasonable.

    Beautiful historical building and very spacious room.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    7.5
    Loved the ambiance of the convent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Pélerin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food was overpriced and lackluster. The breakfast was passable continental for €14. If you want to eat in insist on the b&b price, even if you did not pre-book. Look carefully at prices on the dinner menu. I had a tuna entree that they charged another €8 on top of fixed price.

    Loved the ambiance of the convent. The rooms were upgraded yet retained their old world charm.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    10
    Amazing location, sleeping in a convent converted to a fine...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Pélerin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Amazing location, sleeping in a convent converted to a fine hotel, the views of the cloister and the excellent restaurant, dramatic lighting on the Gothic cathedral - a gem!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    7.1
    It's ok for an overnight stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Pélerin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a little on the small side and there is no air-con, although there is a fan. It took two attempts to get a drink at the bar as no-one was there the first time

    The building was beautiful

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    7.1
    Clean room with very good dining
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ate evening meal outside of main dining room. Where not given an option. Sat on plain very hard metal chair with no cushions. At the end of the 3 course meal the 4 guest were very uncomfortable with aching joints.

    The food was presented very well and was very good quality produce. My fillet steak was excellent as where the other dishes served to my husband and friends. The food was the best thing about this hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    6.7
    The city, the location, the nice yard, the spirit of the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Tradition Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Staff at restaurant was not helping at all, VERY noisy room service in next rooms. That kind of rooms and service should cost less for sure.

    The city, the location, the nice yard, the spirit of the place inside the castle is amazing.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    9.2
    Lovely old building- very cental location-
    • Group
    • Tradition Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Was very surprised and disappointed there was no air conditioning in any of the bedrooms. Temperature in high 30's, we had 2 fans in our room but still was quite uncomfortable! Think it a bit over-priced for what it has to offer!

    Lovely OLD building. Staff very pleasant and did all they could to make our 5 night stay as enjoyable as they could. Very central location. Room very clean and very comfortable bed. We were there for an ordination, and delighted hotel was so close to the beautiful Basilica.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    6.3
    We stayed on the wrong night for sleeping
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Pélerin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom was very poor. Shower cubicle with no screen or curtain (which staff advised us was normal). As a consequence the bathroom floor became flooded and slippery. Our sleep was spoiled by a musical festival in the park next door that was extremely loud until midnight. Not the fault of the hotel but it would have been nice to have been warned of it in advance. That said, we received a complimentary breakfast as an apology which was good of them.

    Great location close to the centre ville. Good breakfast in attractive courtyard. Staff were friendly.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    7.5
    The place is amazing like staying in a museum, we arrived at...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Pélerin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed is very hard.

    The place is amazing like staying in a museum, we arrived at 01:00 the guy was nice and waited for us and helped us. It was a very very warm day there is a ventilator but no air-condition.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    7.1
    We had old friends join us for our evening meal , one of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant was not so good , to start with instead of have 4 menus to look at we were given a bundle of menus which turned out to be two menus and two only for drinks ! The main course was fine but the chocolate dessert was dry . Breakfast was a disaster , to charge 14 euros for cold bacon , boil your own egg , no toaster ( eventually the girl did do some for us in the kitchen ) , was exhorbitant.

    We had old friends join us for our evening meal , one of them cannot walk and gets around on a mobility scooter, I checked out beforehand that access to the restaurant was possible and the staff were very helpful getting our friend to the restaurant which was much appreciated . The bedroom /shower etc. was fine .

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    6.7
    Good location, could have been easily better
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Pélerin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No internet available in our room as the signal strength was not strong enough. We told reception straight away but were told that there was nothing she could do about it. As we were checking out the receptionist said "Oh you should have told me. I would have put you in a different room". Not very helpful when we were leaving. The bar never opened at the hotel.

    Beautiful old building and proximity to great sites. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2017

    6.7
    Stay in a piece of history.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The whole place would benefit from a massive spring clean, but given the scale of the place, and the height of the ceilings - this would be a huge undertaking. The building is so huge and wonderfully ancient that a bit of water staining and dust were forgivable.

    The building was exceptional. The vaulted ceilings are some of the best I have seen. The restaurant was fully booked the night we stayed, so unable to comment, but many good alternative restaurants nearby.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    7.5
    A short Christmas vacation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Pélerin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    An electric toaster would have been welcome in the breakfast restaurant. Heating inadequate.

    After arriving in a cold room without working radiators we were given another room but unfortunately without a view over the cloisters. The atmosphere of peace and tranquility.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2017

    10
    Medieval magic with a gourmet touch
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Pélerin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There's still a problem with the gate to the parking area -- nothing terrible just inconvenient. The problem has not been resolved in the 3 months since my last visit.

    Love staying here (5th time) magical setting in a former medieval monastery with very comfortable rooms and a first class and affordable gourmet restaurant. The rooms overlooking the cloister (courtyard) are wonderful, with the view of the gothic basillica next door in the moonlight and clear starry skies. Only 30 minutes from Aix en Provence: a bargain!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2016

    9.6
    magdalene trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Pèlerin Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no walk-in shower for disabled person

    liked most of everything and for disabled people I can say this better than most. Food was most exquisite at a reasonable price

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2016

    7.1
    Great potential
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The evening restaurant was closed and the quality of the breakfast was poor. The fruit was over-ripe (fermenting) and there wasn't much choice.

    The Hotel le Couvent Royal could be an amazing place to stay as the history is fascinating. The courtyard views and walks around the perimeter are evocative and charming. The staff are friendly and helpful but they seem to be very busy - the processes weren't very streamlined. We had an unusual stay that could have been exceptional if a few things were tweaked e.g. fixing up the interior decor that was old, underdone and tired.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    9.2
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Pélerin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lamps flickered. Lamp fell out of socket. Tap was dripping.

    Location. Scenery. Building.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    7.5
    Unique Historical location in a charming village.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Pélerin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No real atmosphere ot hotel feeling there

    Unique Historical location in a charming village. Convenient stop on the way to Cote d Azur

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    9.2
    The Scooby-Doo castle
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Pélerin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    24 hr booking. Amazing facilities. A bit of a Scooby-Doo feeling at night but added to the experience

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    10
    The four poster bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The four poster bed.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    7.9
    Location was the best part of our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Pélerin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really missed a kettle/coffee machine in the room.

    Room was comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    7.9
    wonderful
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Pélerin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We liked everything.

    The staff, really kind and attentive.I believe, Marlene, she was terrific.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    8.8
    We wished we had known the restaurant was closed on Sundays...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We wished we had known the restaurant was closed on Sundays in winter

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    10
    Peaceful old world charm
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rich in history and charm with a great restaurant

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    7.9
    Pleasant hotel situated in an old abbey.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pleasant hotel situated in an old abbey. Very good restaurant.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    9.6
    Place is magic
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Pélerin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast not at level expected for a 4 star hotel Wifi not available in rooms

    Place is magic

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    9.6
    The evening meal was very high quality with fantastic...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Pélerin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No seperate tea/coffee making facilities.

    The evening meal was very high quality with fantastic presentation.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    10
    Travel a lot and have stayed in exclusive hotels. This was the most pleasant hotel experience ever
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Pélerin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved the quiet and tranquility. Slept like a baby without being disturbed by air conditioning. Such a calm place. Great food and pleasant service.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    10
    It just has a good feel about it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a wonderful find by chance and it is not in Marseille

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    10
    stunning historical building, very relaxing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing we loved the whole experience

    Room was large, bed large and comfortable, breakfast was great. building was amazing.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    6.3
    Lovely building close to town centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Pélerin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    2 star accommodation. No aircon in 40 degree heat?

    Lovely building close to town centre.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    9.2
    Historic Abbey. Surprisingly affordable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Its history. Its quiet.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    6.3
    If you want unique, this is the place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Tradition Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning. Wouldn't revommend staying after Msy. Ceiling fsns would be appropriate.

    Ambiance. Uniqueness.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    3.3
    No coffee /tea facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Pélerin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No coffee /tea facilities

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    7.1
    The history
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Pélerin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The standard of the room. Not what was expected of a 4* Hotel.

    The history

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    9.6
    A unique experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Pélerin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Experience not to mss but pricey.

    A wonderful experience in a historical building. Remarkable dining room.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2017

    9.6
    Great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stayed many times over the years when passing through so that says it all

    Great property in the centre of town

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2016

    10
    The hotel was very comfortable and quiet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Pélerin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was very comfortable and quiet.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2016

    4.6
    Bed bugs
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Pèlerin Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed bugs

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    9.2
    Calmness and pigeons ;)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Pélerin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Accessible and inexpensive...

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2016

    9.2
    Room was nice, clean, comfy, staff friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Vegan breakfast options. You have to pay for their own car park EUR10 per night!!! And EUR 14 for breakfast. It's a bit like with low-cost airlines but they try to look like a posh hotel.

    Room was nice, clean, comfy, staff friendly.

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2016

    9.2
    Best of all was the location nearby basilique sainte marie...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The restaurant was quite expensive and the breakfast quite disorganized. Bathroom was perhaps too basic.

    Best of all was the location nearby basilique sainte marie madeleine and living in a former monastery. Room was nice and view to the yard very beautiful.

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2016

    8.3
    Loved the historic building location in the middle of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The breakfast was very ordinary for its price, and we were disappointed to find the restaurant closed on a Monday, contrary to what is stated on the hotel website.

    Loved the historic building location in the middle of attractive St Maximin, and the layout around the cloisters. The bedroom was comfortable enough, though the bathroom a bit cramped.

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2016

    10
    One of the loveliest possible settings, a former monastery,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    One of the loveliest possible settings, a former monastery, with views of the cathedral across the moonlit cloister courtyard from the windows in my room. Very pleasant meal in the chapter house restaurant. Wonderful parking: location, location, location!

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2016

    7.5
    Beautiful building and nice staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room was a cell. Before i arrived i asked for an upgrade. When i arrived the receptionist said yes we have given you an upgrade and we are not going to charge you. But the room was awful.

    Beautiful building and nice staff

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2015

    9.2
    This is an old convent converted to a hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This is an old convent converted to a hotel. They've done a very nice job of repurposing it. The rooms and clean and comfortable. The restaurant was good. We only stayed one night to get ready to fly home the next day and left before breakfast, so I can't comment on that. We had dinner here which was very good. Driving in and finding the entrance was a bit tricky. Since you have to ask for the gate to be opened, it might be tricky if doing it solo.

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2015

    7.5
    The location, and the unique structure of the couvent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    At the arrival we were told that our room is not able to add an extra bed, and we need to pay extra money to upgrade our room. We shall be informed of such information, as we also received email from other hotels. But the sir in the reception said that it had nothing to do with the hotel, we shall be told by booking as we had our reservation on booking!!!! This was irresponsible!!! Well we were neither informed by Booking, nor by the hotel, and we had no choice but to pay extra money to upgrade room!!!! It was not expensive, but we don't expect such surprise!! And at the night when we would like to sleep, we found that there is no quilt or blanket for the extra bed, and we had to go downstairs to ask again.

    The location, and the unique structure of the couvent.

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2015

    8.8
    Beautiful location and we felt revived after a long day...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The food was expensive for what it was - especially the breakfast @ 14E without any hot food this felt uncomfortably pricey.

    Beautiful location and we felt revived after a long day driving.

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2015

    8.8
    Gorgeous building, haven't stayed in anything quite like...
    • Business trip
    • Group

    No air-conditioning or ceiling / room fans. Was 38C when we stayed - hot! A fan would have been really welcomed! Also a blind or curtain to cover the bathroom window for privacy would come in handy.

    Gorgeous building, haven't stayed in anything quite like this. Rooms were comfortable and food was great.

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2015

    7.5
    The surroundings were beautiful and was in the centre of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The bedrooms didn't have aircon. The extra bed wasn't in the room on arrival. The restaurant is very over priced for what it is, althought I did enjoy the meal but I would not eat there again as it wasn't value for money.

    The surroundings were beautiful and was in the centre of town. The convent is so lovely

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2015

    6.3
    The hotel architecture is amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Extremely hot inside the room, and no way to cool it down (no ventilator, no air conditioning). Simple window with single glass. No way to block the sun light early in the morning. The curtains were not enough.

    The hotel architecture is amazing. The view of the internal garden from the room window. I had the impression to be back in time.

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2015

    8.3
    Beautiful hotel located in a basilics in the centre of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    for the inclosed parking at the hotel you pay 10 euros a night. Bit expensive

    Beautiful hotel located in a basilics in the centre of beautiful St Maximin

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2015

    4.6
    Location was great,it was in the middle of old town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room temperature was extremly high and close to +30C and due to the absence of an air condition or even just a ventilator impossible to fall a sleep. This is clearly not acceptable in a region with regularily very warm summers. The management fully failed here.

    Location was great,it was in the middle of old town

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    10
    St Maximine is a very lovely historic town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    St Maximine is a very lovely historic town. The history starts from your hotel. Great location. Staff was extremely helpful. Proper shower (even I would say, luxury bathroom). Good bed and beautiful linen. Goood breakfast in their restaurant that also includes meat and cheese. Secure parking on the grounds of the monastery-hotel.

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2015

    6.3
    History of the place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very hot, 37 degrees, no air conditioning. It was very sticky in the room. Restaurant had run out of items on the menu, not just one, but several.

    History of the place.

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    9.6
    It was a very central location in the village beside the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    It would of been good to have had a fan in the room as it was very warm weather.

    It was a very central location in the village beside the Basillica of Mary Magdelene. It as an easy 5 or so minute walk to and from the bus station. Reception were very helpful.

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2015

    7.1
    Wondeful cloister setting in ancient building with loads of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Expensive food which was of average quality and the WFI did not reach to our room

    Wondeful cloister setting in ancient building with loads of character that has been retained

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2015

    5.0
    This place is in a lovely little town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The reception staff were friendly, but they were the only people in sight! We waited 20 minutes to order a drink in the courtyard then went to find the wait staff. It was the same when we wanted to pay for the drinks. We didn't eat at the restaurant due to the bad reviews, a plus for the town's restaurants we were told! There was no WiFi despite being told it could be the storm? or sometimes it was slow or sometimes it only worked near the restaurant......

    This place is in a lovely little town. The porticos and courtyard are charming.

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2015

    10
    The mix of the old convent with modern conveniences was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The mix of the old convent with modern conveniences was tastefully done. The proximity to restaurants and the Wednesday markets right at the front gate was handy. Onsite secure parking his great.

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2015

    7.1
    Beautiful hotel, great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Lack of wifi, staff not very attentive apart from staff at reception. Not may staff about when trying to get breakfast, or a drink at the bar. Breakfast over priced

    Beautiful hotel, great location

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    5.0
    Beautiful building.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Beautiful building. Old cloister with special features. The rooms are very noisy due to bad isolation. During low season management decided to have drumsessions in the cloisters facing all rooms. The management is lacking the ability to receive large groups and controlling them in a very noisy building. Noise until 5 am is unacceptable at any price! On top of all the noise the beds are outdated or very cheap, no comfort at all. Want to see how you should not run a hotel visit this one!!

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2015

    8.8
    Nice location, in the old religious buildings, right in the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room categories booking.com are not clear and don't correspond to the hotel's listing. Small bathrooms. Unreasonably high cost is charges for parking under the trees, which are part of the hotel complex.

    Nice location, in the old religious buildings, right in the centre of the town. Nice decoration.

There are also 20 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: