Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hôtel La Petite Verrerie 3 stars

4 rue Jules Guesde, 71200 Le Creusot, France

#4 of 12 hotels in Le Creusot

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 287 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 29

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    6.7
    Service of staff is good generally. Just something fall short of expectation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We book a junior suite, turned out room is different from picture shown . Reception said the picture is not valid. If known this earlier, I will save the money for a standard room rather. Sunday they don't serve dinner to individual hotel guests in their restaurant , just groups. Almost all restaurants outside are closed. They can at least serve something in the bar.

    Just location good for our side golf trip at D'avoise Golf Club ,on Sun and Mon , before heading for Beaune. Le Cruesot is a quiet little place.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    8.3
    Pleasant place to stay with historical interest.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No Lift to upper floors but receptionist found us a room with only a few stairs to negotiate. Limited choice at breakfast but quality good.

    Airy and nicely furnished. Lovely grounds with Chateau and Museum next door. Fan and Ironing board available and promptly delivered to room when requested

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    6.3
    Not as good as it seemed
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff in the "Brasserie" consisted in the evening of only one person who worked rather slow. It took a fair while before we had our drinks and food. The bathroom had been renovated before, but unfortunately with low quality bathroom furniture and therefore it all looked rather scruffy. Cleanliness of the bathroom was below average. The mobile "air conditioning" did not work properly. Parking lot is not suitable for sporty cars with low ground clearance.

    Spacious room. Nice, historic building. Some friendly the staff with a good command of English. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    2.5
    The rooms were basic and clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were extremely unhelpful, did not advise that we would need to pre book taxi’s the day before. We came down to book a taxi an hour and half before needing to be at the train station, the receptionist said there were no taxi’s available. I informed her that we would miss our train which means we would miss our flight and she did not look one bit concerned. We had to end up getting a 600 euro taxi from the station to Paris to catch our flight as there were no other options. Extremely disappointed with the customer service and would not recommended staying here. The village feels like a ghost town and there was not much to do at all.

    The rooms were basic and clean

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    8.8
    excellent location next to chateau and square full of bars and resturants
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The lighting in the main bedroom was poor We had a junior suite so had a nice sitting area in huge bedroom but the only lights were 2 bedside lamps

    The breakfast was very good (self service buffet style) We ate in the restaurant one night (food was very good) but because it was a very warm evening we were the only people in the place as we could of had our meal out on a small courtyard

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    6.7
    A good hotel in a good location.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    On the evening of our arrival, we decided to meet some colleagues in the hotel bar for a drink and then go out to eat. Even though a member of staff saw us sat in the bar, we waited 5 minutes and were not served so we left. After returning from dinner, we also waited in the bar for several minutes and were ignored by two members of dining room staff. NOT good! Check out the following morning was inefficient and took a long time. The receptionist was not able to locate my company name in the system and was reluctant to enter the full address, manually entering only the company name. My colleague had the same experience although had insisted that the full company address was entered onto the invoice.

    The receptionist on our arrival was extremely helpful and welcoming. The hotel itself is situated adjacent to the castle and close to the town centre. The decor of the hotel is of a good standard and it appears that the grounds would be beautiful in the warmer months.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    7.5
    Nice hotel, friendly personnel at the reception and...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom, no issues on cleanliness, just bit too "hospital like"

    Nice hotel, friendly personnel at the reception and breakfast (price in line with other places in France). Generally clean room, furniture in line with the hotel age and style. It is located in a silent position, 10 minutes from the Industrial area. Good parking either on the road or in the annex parking lot.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    7.1
    "Olde worlde" interesting hotel
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Pillows were unusually small and bit too hard. Lighting poor in our standard room being at the head of the bed only, and none over the desk, although very good lighting in the bathroom. On arrival as we went down to the end of a long passage to reach our room, there was not enough light to see the key hole (yes, real keys!). Learned later when asked that there is a small knob at each end of the passage which is a timer light. Breakfast fruit salad was not fresh although made with fresh fruit.

    Good welcome at reception and although there was no lunch or dinner available at the hotel, it being a public holiday, reception was helpful in ringing around to see what was open for dining. Happily provided us with coffee and croissants to tide us over until lunch as hungry from our train trip. Hotel is next door to the interesting and picturesque Chateau de la Verrerie, where a good information centre is also. Hotel staff were always very helpful. Everything was clean which is the most important thing.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    6.7
    friendly reception.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A small room was provided at arrival. WIFI didn't function well. After request we were transferred to a much better room with plenty of space, a bathroom with bidet. I guess that the small room at arrival was assigned a as result of reservation through booking com? The entry of the hotel is uncomfortable: broad stairs without possibility to lean on: baggage must be dragged. No elevators! Although provided with a restaurant the cook took 2 days off; so we had to go in town!! The breakfast was good

    friendly reception.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    8.8
    room very generous, lovely decor, very clean, interesting...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no lift

    room very generous, lovely decor, very clean, interesting location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    7.5
    Good for brief stay when you are not really in the room that long.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Could have done with timers by the egg boiler! Seemed impossible to get the eggs right!

    Bed very comfortable. Bathroom generous size.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    6.3
    Spacious, friendly staff, pretty
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning, expensive bar, old

    Spacious, friendly staff, pretty

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    7.5
    Convenient location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    showerhead broken, dodgy hairdryer.

    Bed very comfortable

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    7.5
    quietness and clean environment
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    size of shower is unfit for normal adult size

    quietness and clean environment

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    8.8
    Nice stay, however breakfast needs to be improved.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast has too few choices.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    9.6
    I was quite content with our 1 night stay. The hotel meets all expectations:comfort, clean, spacious
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent property, clean big comfortable beds; nice clean bathrooms. Staff was quite friendly & helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    8.8
    we expected dinner very much yet the food not so good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    we expected dinner very much yet the food not so good. yet the service is kind. Others are fine. We love the chateau!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    6.3
    The room consisted of bedroom, bathroom and a small living...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was in 3rd floor, no elevators so we had to go up with suitcases.

    The room consisted of bedroom, bathroom and a small living room.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    8.8
    Great value...great with pets and young children
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Better showers and bathrooms would be nice

    Very clean and spacious rooms

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2016

    7.5
    Comfortable stay in Le Creusot
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing to dislike.

    Great location

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    7.5
    Pleasant stay in Le Creusot
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    Location, charm

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2016

    5.0
    The food was generally very good.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The room was old and needed renovation, the bed was relatively hard, there could have been more fruit for breakfast. The hotel can be described as "Rustic" and needs some TLC

    The food was generally very good. The shower was powerful and plenty of hot water

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    9.6
    Beautiful hotel, authentic historic French building.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Tap in bathroom sink needs fixing. Electric sockets in room need addressing.

    Beautiful hotel, authentic historic French building. Ideally located and very welcome after a 6 hour drive from the South of France. Excellent choice of food on Menu. Lovely and quiet. Staff were very friendly. Although owned by modern hotel chain Best Western, they have maintained the character of the building. Latest news from the internet was printed off and available in various languages to read at breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2015

    8.8
    Nice little town with a decent restaurant a few minutes walk...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Noisy during the night as we had windows open - sounded like metal being banged together.

    Nice little town with a decent restaurant a few minutes walk away Large airy and light rooms with good sized bathroom Tea/coffee making facilities in room

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2016

    7.5
    Good quality for reasonably priced room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Room was a bit small.

    Good quality for reasonably priced room.

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2015

    6.7
    Great hotel quite quirky
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    no food on a Sunday

    Great hotel quite quirky

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2015

    7.1
    good central location, nice old building
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    good central location, nice old building

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    5.0
    new wing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    stairs, few clients

    new wing. NEVER stay in old wing.

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2015

    8.3
    staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Wifi didn't work properly. it is very important during bussiness trips

    staff hotel position

There are also 13 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 29

Guests also reviewed these properties: