Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hôtel Le Château Fort de Sedan 4 stars

Porte des Princes, 08200 Sedan, France

#2 of 6 hotels in Sedan

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 810 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2018

    6.3
    I wouldn't recommend this place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Tradition Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were 50+ flies in the room and the window wouldn't open! It was so disgusting! Also, no hot water in the shower...ever! We tried at night and in the early morning to take a shower but only received ice cold water.

    The rooms were large and the beds were comfy.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2018

    4.6
    Disappointed, looks great when you arrive but not a good stopover location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was small with a separate toilet (no sink) which was tiny. The room was dirty and the general standard of cleanliness was poor. I had to return a cup at breakfast which had lipstick on it. The hotel was generally understaffed. At breakfast lots of items ran out and there was only one member of staff on duty. No milk no coffee etc Dinner was very nice nouveau cuisine but we waited an hour after ordering. Restaurant very pretentious.

    The lady on reception was excellent and very helpful. She was however answering the phone and running the bar which were 20 metres apart! Interesting location being built into a castle but you will struggle to find alternative eating places in walking distance.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2018

    9.6
    Sedan a pleasant surprise!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Prices in restaurant were seasonable Room clean and.good size Location & Parking &outdoor space to sit Dining room beautiful Staff friendly (Miriam)

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2018

    6.3
    Interesting location, but Sedan itself is not the most exciting place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room and its equipment needed better maintenance attention. The bath tap was not properly working due to a blocked filter, probably never checked in years. Wardrobe doors were jerking, probably never checked nor oiled. Walls and doors had lots of scars and marks. Could do with a brush of paint.

    Interesting setting in a historical building. The diner food was excellent, above expectation. Service was below average.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    5.4
    Despite the imposing surroundings the facilities did not come up to expectations
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The facilities were somewhat basic with no lounge or bar except in reception. Not impressed to find on arrival there was no availability in the restaurant even though we were residents and the bistro also was closed for the month with no pre-advice.

    Impressive building with lots of history.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    4.6
    Nice from the outside
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our chamber was decorated very harsh. Huge white walls, a tiled floor and light bulbs which emitted a very cool white light didn't make us feel comfy. The Toilet ventilation was not clean. And on the tub wall was a huge glass screen against spray but it seemed flimsy because it was not ankered in the ceiling above and wobbled after contact. The shower hose was also broken.

    The scenery outside is just cool. The huge walls and the location made the place very quiet! The parking lot inside the fort for hotel guests was also cool. The breakfast was very tasty and rich.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    9.6
    Delicious Luxurious breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restaurant of the castle hotel is often sold out in advance. If you count on eating in the castle, make sure to reserve dinner well ahead.

    Delicious Luxurious breakfast. Nice rooms behind very thick old castle walls.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    9.6
    A modern hotel built into a superb old castle.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Tradition Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A modern hotel built into a superb old castle. Very tastefully modernised. The drive in, once you had found it, took you through an ancient fortress gate and into an old court yard. Now that's secure parking. The rooms were immaculate. My son in particular loved the bed that could be raised or lowered electronically. The breakfast was the standard chain hotel offering but still very well presented and good value.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    5.8
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could not park within the castle the day we arrived., told to park in a nearby (100 metres away) public car park that had young people racing around in their cars!The Bistro is closed throughout September. We should have been made aware of this when we booked The restaurant was fully booked on the last day of our stay we were told as we checked in.. the hotel could not offer us any food that evening! We should have been given the opportunity to book the restaurant when we booked the hotel. How this place can be described as four star is beyond me. I would say two to three star.

    Impressive building, good breakfast

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    6.7
    We enjoyed it as a short stop over stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restaurant was full for dinner. We were recommended to go into town and a restaurant was recommended. As it turned out we went there and had a really good meal but we were disappointed that no food was available in the hotel itself. I should have been notified about the availability in the restaurant and given the opportunity to book as priority should be given to residents in the hotel.

    The room was roomy and in an old converted fortress which was out of the ordinary.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    8.3
    Dramatic setting justifies the stay alone.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was expensive, with a lot of food options already finished by the time we got there (not unreasonably early) and the crockery was dirty. Surly receptionist on check-in.

    Can’t be beaten for location, as it’s in one of the largest medieval castles in Europe. Stylish room and comfortable bed.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    10
    Lovely hotel, would have been happy to stay two or at most three nights instead of the one night we
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Tradition Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The windows were (perhaps naturally because of where it was), small and strangely place

    Amazing location in the middle of one of the biggest castles of Europe. Fantastic view of Sedan.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    9.6
    Fantastic hotel - highly recommended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Slightly more expensive than our usual hotels and breakfast, at 15 Euros each, was a bit pricey but in a great setting.

    Absolutely fabulous hotel built as a conversion to the 300 year old fort. Very modern interior, excellent bedrooms and great restaurant. Sedan is beautiful with loads of interesting places to see, and plenty of good bars and restaurants.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    9.2
    The special location: being the largest castle of Europe
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A pity/dissapointment that on the second day at breakfast the espresso-machine was broken

    The special location: being the largest castle of Europe

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    7.5
    Different - in more ways than one!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms, while comfortable, we’re claustrophobic because of the very small window. There is no air conditioning and the room was warm. Breakfast at 14 euros for a buffet was very expensive. We were disappointed that we couldn’t take dinner in the hotel, and we were turned away from 3 other restaurants in the nearby town as they were all fully booked.

    A very different experience staying in a hotel in a chateau fort. Parking was good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    8.8
    Great historic building
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Disappointed that the restaurant only offered a fixed menu at €32 which my kids did not want, it should offer a la carte especially as the town had limited restaurants which all seemed to close at 08.45

    Very good bedrooms, breakfast not too bad and very good value for money

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    7.1
    A stop over in Sedan with a lot of character
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    in such spectacular location, one might have expected the place to be a bit better decorated, rooms furniture are relatively basics as well as towers etc... cleanliness could be a bit better and finally there is limited personnel particularly for Breakfast with a unique person.

    The location is just spectacular within the medieval castle of Sedan, the biggest in all Europe.Rooms are good sized with toilets separated from bathroom. The restaurant where Breakfast buffet is being served is very nice and the buffet satisfactory. Rooms are quiet. Personnel at check in and out friendly. This is a perfect stop over for someone travelling as parking is easy as well. Finally, Price are very reasonable. It is perfect to complete your stay with the visit of the castle, worth really the trip!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    6.7
    Good Hotel BUT Awful location! Awful energy!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Awful location! Awful energy! If only I knew this before - I would not have ever stayed here.. A former concentration camp where 3000 people died! This hellhole, ignored by the public in neighbouring regions, was called ‘the Penal Colony’ by the Sedan people, where both French and Belgians died as a result of inhumane treatment. How the idea of creating a hotel in such a place could have risen?? The rooms - are they the former cells?? These corridors??? There is not enough air in the room as the windows a small (obviously). It is a scary and painful place.

    Hotel - very good, very clean, modern, comfortable, friendly stuff. Great restaurant and breakfast. Bravo to the team. BUT... location... I wish I knew.. I would not have ever stayed here.. It is a former concentration camp!!!! It was a veritable ‘death camp’, run by torturers, a forerunner of the concentration camps of World War II.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    6.3
    Football before guests
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Upon arrival Reception lied to us about the restaurant being full so we couldn't have a table for dinner, we later discovered they closed the restaurant because watching the football was more important than all their guests. The dining room was empty. The alternative was a terrible menu in the reception area where inexperienced staff spoke no English, not even "can I have some more bread please" I'll never stay there again. Breakfast is too expensive, walk into town - 5 minutes.

    Comfortable room.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    7.1
    Interesting
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Tradition Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was extremely hot and had no air conditioning. Sleep was almost impossible

    Clean simple rooms - modern and neat. Good food at dinner. Interesting location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    5.4
    A magnificent setting but let down by attention to detail.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hundreds of cigarette butts outside of the rooms Bed was hard. No mattress topper. Unable to open a window at night with temperatures around 30deg. It was just a door that opened out onto a common area. No room service because too few staff. Cost was to high for the standard of room.

    The setting is magnificent

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    7.5
    The fact that it was part of an old fort/chateau.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We couldn’t use the restaurant because there was a party booked and so after a very long drive, we had to walk into the town to get a meal.

    The fact that it was part of an old fort/chateau.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    5.0
    Although looks nice, service and attitude of staff lets it down
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nightmare to find entrance. Took me 20 minutes. Better information is need on how to get to reception. Service at dinner was horrible. Added breakfast onto the bill when I did not have it. Lucky I check my bill before paying. Response when asked why it was added on automatically, "that is what we do". Will not return and not recommend to anyone.

    New property and clean

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    9.6
    Wonderful experience in magnificent medieval environment
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Tradition Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    Kind and considerate reception staff. They found room for our bicycles, despite being very full because of film crew and actors filming in the castle. had a very pleasant conversation with one of the actors in a well-known UK TV series. Dinner was excellent and breakfast most enjoyable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    9.6
    Sense of history and amazing views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast set-up and qual;ity was poor (and slightly depressing)compared to the evening restaurant experience ; it would be better set up in the bright and breezy Bistro.

    What a location! A sense of history with every step and a very special place to stay.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    7.1
    Great location, shoddy service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was hard to cool down and we ended up sleeping with the door open. Staff was unhelpful, bordering on rude - we arrive half an hour before the restaurant was due to take last orders and nobody mentioned this or asked if we'd like to book a table and when we arrive, the maitre was pretty much "we're shut, no away, not my problem"

    Great location and really nice rooms

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    4.6
    Extremely really infuriating, disappointing, unfair. I used to recommended this place, I won’t now.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived at about 3pm. The last night of our totally lovely touring holiday. We were welcomed and given our key. Then informed that there was no opportunity for dinner. The restaurant (fabulous last time) was closed because of the football World Cup, French game. We asked what they had arranged instead. The Bistro... which is, frankly, a cafe in the reception hall... but unfortunately it was fully booked. Eventually a table for two was arranged. The football match dominated the evening, the staff members were untrained, disinterested and inadequate, but obviously the others didn’t want to miss the match.

    Our second stay at the fort, first visit was great. We were so looking forward to the fascinating building, restaurant and atmosphere. It still looks the same... but a major disappointment was coming.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    7.5
    Great location in historic site, good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It would've been better if the rooms were air conditioned. The building heated up considerably during the day as heat sunk into the old stone walls and a fan was not an adequate substitute, consequently the choice was a comfortable temperature with a noisy fan or too hot and a quiet room.

    Located in old Castle of Sedan unique and historic site. Parking was really good, Bistro was good as was the restaurant. The shower in the room was excellent. Breakfast was great, a full range from healthy to indulgent!!!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    7.5
    Lovely castle atmosphere overall but rooms are pretty typical hotel rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The local area felt a bit sad. We went to one of the highest rated restaurants and we were the only people there - on a weekend in June. The hotel restaurant was a little disappointing - food wasn't that high quality and it feels a bit like you are at a wedding for someone you don't know.

    Chateau atmosphere is very nice, but it is still just a hotel and the rooms don't have that much character. The rooms were small but comfortable. Staff went out of their way to be helpful, including printing out maps and directions for hikes in the area.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    9.6
    Fulfilled an ambition of staying in a castle
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are hot. No air con in rooms but cool in the lobby and hallways. Did get a fan for the room but still very hot.

    Unique location. Secure parking, good food choices, helpful staff,

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    6.7
    Loved the castle but would find other accommodations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great setting but room on sixth floor required us to drag luggage up two floors after elevator..no offer of staff to assist. Few amenities (one tea bag!) No WiFi in room and no apologies. Doesn’t meet standards for four star hotel.

    Location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    9.6
    An excellent stay in every way as usual.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Apart from my point above, I like everything and will always stay there when I am in the area.

    I have stayed many times at the Chateau Fort and I know it well. The only downside is that in summer the bedrooms get very hot as there is no air conditioning; however they have installed fans now, which will certainly help enormously.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    5.8
    Extremely disappointing experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service in the restaurant was very poor. Also, the choice of dishes and wines was very limited. We booked a table for 730pm and it took them nearly 30 minutes to give us a menu and take our order. There was then a huge delay of 50 minutes between the arrival of the first course and the main course. I politely asked the maitre D to find out where our food had got to. It came 5 minutes later but the vegetables were cold and the sea bass had obviously been standing and reheated! There was no rapport with the waiting staff either and it was all very stiff and formal. Our advice would be to avoid this place....go somewhere else.

    Characterful building and bedroom. Very good buffet breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    6.7
    More pretension than welcome for your money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff gave the impression we were unwelcome because we didn't look sufficiently wealthy. Difficult to find the vehicular entrance, (taped off) due to an event in the courtyard.

    Good to have lift access to the upper floors. Historic building gives ambiance.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    10
    Quiet but memorable visit thankyou
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great thanks

    Wow we were king and queen of the castle,! Superb location brilliant accommodation only down was the restaurant was closed,however the bistro was good and staff were friendly and efficient

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    8.8
    Room was in the old part of the fort but quite modern.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Expensive drinks from the bar and no food available from the Bistro when we stayed.

    Room was in the old part of the fort but quite modern. Small window. No Air con (it is an ancient building) but a fan was provided. Bathroom was very nice with an adequate shower.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    9.2
    Friendly staff in an ideal situation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Bistro was a bit boring

    Situated inside a complex including a walled fort and chateau, and within walking distance of the town centre, it was a unique experience

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    10
    Amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The chateau was amazing , the ambiance something special.you have to pay to walk through the castle to get some background. It make your stay even more special

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    7.0
    Disappointing given the look of the place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel restaurant was half full but we waited 45 minutes for our main course which was dried into the plates it had been sitting in a heater for so long. It was not good. We should have sent it back.

    Nothing

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    9.6
    Fabulous French Hotel in the Ardennes region and (obviously)...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast croissants a little disappointing.

    Fabulous French Hotel in the Ardennes region and (obviously) close to the Belgian/Ardennes border, all near the River Meuse. Hotel is built into the Chateau Fort and is part state owned on the Spanish/Portguese Paradore/Pousada idea, and all the better for it. No expense spared. Last few metres were difficult to find. Dinner beyond superb. We had lovely weather (May 2018) - so a swimming pool would not have been amiss. Rheims/Epernay Champagne region only one hour drive away too!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    10
    Nice castle with modern amenities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    We enjoyed this castle/hotel. From exterior appearances, it looks very rustic, but the interior remodel work is modern, and the bathrooms and very nice. We stayed in several castles while in Europe, and this one seems to have combined old with new very well. The traditional French multi-course meal in the on-site restaurant was excellent. Touring the grounds and the attached museum was well worth the cost.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    7.9
    A very nice hotel. Amazing setting and a perfect base from which to explore the Ardennes area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Grossly understaffed... only ever one person on reception who also had to serve guests at the bar, the other side of the lobby area. When we were occupying reception on check-out, guests waiting for drinks were turned away - not good! PS....A tip to the owners/general manager. Please set procedures for staff recording 'purchases to the room'. Staff would often just accept the room number without verification or signature. It is impossible to dispute anything at check-out unless proper records are kept! There was a wedding taking place during our stay and we saw people at the bar spouting any room numbers and laughing.

    A wonderful building with amazing history. Previous comments about dark rooms etc are unjust. Research the place before you stay if you're fussy about things like that! It was very clean and well presented and the food was very good value and up to expectations of such surroundings.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    5.0
    Looks better than it was
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s done on the cheap. Towels were stained & it took us ages to get replacements. The wine in the bar was atrocious- this is France, no? Fine for an overnight stay but I’d hate to stay longer.

    Great location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    9.6
    The Chateau Fort de Sedan is a majestic place to spend a couple of nights!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The European pillows (square shaped) on the bed were uncomfortable. I prefer a standard pillow to sleep.

    The staff was very welcoming and our room was spacious- 2 floors to be exact. We booked a family room for our family of 4- the kids had 2 twin beds ready for them on the main floor, while the parents had a king bed with a full bath on the second floor. The bath was clean and well stocked with everything we needed. We ordered room service for breakfast one morning and got a very ample supply of fruit, croissants, fresh squeezed orange juice, and coffee. This was a lovely spread and they only charged for the 2 adults in our group.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    9.2
    A Spectacular place to stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although room was toasty warm . Passages and restaurant a bit chilly- but it was cold!

    Spectacularly dramatic building. Comfortable room - rather unusual with windows at knee height ! Tea making facilities a bonus but no bath! Great meal in restaurant- approx €30 each. Cheapest bottle of wine about €27. Breakfast good too! An interesting place to stay!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    9.6
    Great experience!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms could be more “castley”, and the city was really empty, almost a ghost town...

    Great experience! The hotel has a really good breakfast, and the outside ambiance was really impressive.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    9.6
    Sleeping in a castle!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked more access to walk around and explore the castle

    Restaurant menu and staff is fantastic. Good selection at breakfast. Staff friendly.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    7.1
    Impressive place but not cheap
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not cheap but impressive, slow bar service, seems to only be 1 staff member at any time so if people are checking in you won't get a drink!

    Good location, nice bar area, easy parking right outside, impressive place

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    4.2
    Better come to visit chateau, not to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very dirty floors in the room. Carpet is so dirty! It stinks in the toilet, my God! Food in the restaurant is not tasty... You do not feel you are in chateau. You feel a very dirty old hotel with a very bad design....

    Actually - there is nothing special. Breakfast is ok. Bed is comfortable.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    7.9
    Great staff, nice hotel but soulless. Probably better for business travellers.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel needs a lounge area with soft furnishings, there is nowhere to chill out and have a drink.

    We liked the food in the Bistro best and found the main restaurant a little dark and unwelcoming.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    8.3
    Beautifully located hotel with very friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The toilet did not flush so well, but other than that the bathroom facilities were perfect.

    The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The location in a castly was really something special.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    7.1
    We would stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing other than the above.

    Every thing was very good ,compared to other hotels of the same quality that we stayed in during our 2 weeks in France. Prices wher just a little on the high

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    10
    Extremely comfortable with everything you might need in spacious surroundings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nithing

    We loved the room. It is very large, with a very large comfortable bed, a seating area and dining table; all very tastefully done. The bathroom is light and spacious and great to have kitchen facilities. We wish we had time to stay longer. We would happily stay a month.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    5.0
    Don't judge a book by its cover.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack or character, felt like being in a travel lodge. The staff were unfriendly and surly. Only one person manning the reception and the bar, so getting a drink was nearly impossible.

    Amazing historic building from the oustide, and the breakfast was nice.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    7.9
    OK for an overnight stop off but I wouldn't make it a destination visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not many of the staff had English so some requests were a bit tricky. There was no food on offer and we had driven a long way so were tired and hungry. You must believe the other reviews when they say book the restaurant.....there is little choice in the rather bleak town.

    The hotel is in part of an historic fort which was very beautiful & dramatic.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    6.3
    Disappointingly functional hotel in fascinating historical building.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Although a four star hotel, and priced accordingly (though towards the bottom of the 4-star scale), it was much more like a decent three star property. There are no hotel lounges and the rooms are fine, but utilitarian. (We had originally booked a superior room, but they are at the top of the building, reachable only by a staircase beyond the lift, and they have, not windows, but doors on to an unkempt grassy verge, which turns out to be the ramparts. It may sound exciting, but there is no view, and the whole effect is claustrophobic.) The entrance hall is shared with the bistro, which serves some of the worst food in France (the restaurant was shut on the Sunday evening we stayed). There were other minor annoyances: shampoo/shower gel was limited to two tiny ampoules, the free parking ended at 10.30 am.

    The location is the one selling point for this hotel -- in the vast fort, dating back to the Middle Ages, which is the greatest (indeed the only!) attraction of Sedan.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    7.9
    Fabulous Fortification
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms on the ramparts are splendid especially if you have a dog. Lovely place to sit outside However these are not suitable for disabled as you need to walk up a flight of stairs

    Fantastic renovation of historic fort. The town of Sedan is not so great but the fort is wonderful

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    7.9
    Historical 4 star stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staying on 6 floor means 5 floors with elevator, last froor to 6 with 4 staircases and then 60 meters walking can be though with all luggage. No car access at hotel entrance at arriving, walking for 200 m. The cleaning staff had not done the job, missing underwear from former guests in the bathroom. However this was compensated with free breakfast that we did not demand for, so well done customer care !!

    Cosy old athmosphere, large room and quiert surroundings. Restaurant was quite good. Service ok. They had gluten free bread for breakfast as we have pre ordered. Acording our experience not so common in French hotels to pay attention to this. Free parking

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    6.7
    Arrived late afternoon to be told that there was no food...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Arrived late afternoon to be told that there was no food available at the Hotel as they had a group booking! No room service either and Bistro closed. A hotel without food available is not acceptable

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    9.2
    Fascinating chateau restoration, exclusive feel and relaxing.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Slightly off the Peage beaten track for overnight stops.

    Very interesting chateau, our second visit. Extremely well restored, more so than our previous visit. Very nice room on a wing that led out onto a lawn, several floors up! Refined dining room.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    8.3
    Save by the location and quirkiness
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Tradition Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff where not very friendly No restaurant on Sunday evening so had to eat at the Bar Bistro Which has a limited choice Room hot during day time

    Location is nice and quirky being part of the old fort Nice sitting outside on the terrace in the evening

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    7.9
    Quirky hotel, but not 4 star
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Standard room was small and had no air con (4* hotel?) Was not allowed to enter the hotel car park between 10am and 6pm. Ridiculous.

    Nice location, quirky hotel Good breakfast Clean

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    8.3
    Amazing place to stay a night really loved the way old and...
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food in the bistro was well below par for an establishment like this, really not value for money. The restaurant was closed (Sunday) so cannot comment on this but if it was the same chef then forget it!!

    Amazing place to stay a night really loved the way old and modern had been mixed

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    6.7
    Building is spectacular and bedrooms are excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Tradition Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Service is terrible. There are not enough staff and many of them are grumpy and unhelpful. The Bistro Bar is terrible.

    Building is spectacular and bedrooms are excellent.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    8.8
    We stayed on the 6th.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We arrived on a Sunday mid to late June and found that the restaurant of a 4 star hotel was closed Sundays and that the Bistro in the foyer of the hotel was the only option for an evening meal. Staff stated that our complaint would be forwarded to the owners and that guests had complained in the past. Meal in the restaurant the following day was excellent.

    We stayed on the 6th. level which has a door leading out onto the grassed ramparts of the castle with seating available and worth paying the extra to have this outside facility. NB. The lift only goes as far as the 5th. floor and would be a problem for those who struggle with stairs. Worth checking out. Luggage has to be carried for the remaining level - Hotel porter will bring luggage to room. Weather exceptionally warm during our stay and it was nice to have a large fan available in bedroom.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    7.5
    Beautiful location but not 4 star.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were quite friendly although only seemed to be one member of staff looking after bar and reception desk at the same time in the evening which for a 4star hotel isn't great. However they were very accommodating and served our dinner at the bar even though normally only restaurant service in the evening. Breakfast was a little disappointing for 4 star hotel. Hotel interior needs some updating - especially carpets.

    Amazing location. Very peaceful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    8.3
    I liked the hotel historic theme and look.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Disappointed that the dining for dinner was already fully booked so we had to look around the town, the town is not that great and run down. The restaurant we ate in was good, but even that had half the tables reserved to. Which was unorganised. So watch out for your change.nothing to do in the area.

    I liked the hotel historic theme and look. Had plenty of facilities to. With friendly staff. The drinks are reasonably priced. Bedrooms are very spacious and get your veranda to look and walk out on and admire the view.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    7.9
    Very good but let down by a few things
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Service was a little disapointing from the bar staff (quick but not that accurate or that friendly) although the reception staff were good. The car park is in the courtyard - it would have been much nicer if the car parking had of been away on the opposite side to the entrance (would have made it look much more exclusive rather than have cars parked all over). The food was a real mixed bag in our group - the two that had steaks said that the meat was very tough - and the creme brulees that three of us had were not great - although the rest enjoyed theres

    Lovely old fort - Rooms were nice and modern - a nice play to stay so don't let the comments below put you off

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    9.2
    great find, stunning location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    rooms could be hot in summer, electric fan only, no air con. main restaurant not open for evening meal which was a shame so had to eat in the bistro which in effect was like eating in the foyer! limited food choices

    fantastic location. excellent refurb of an old fort. rooms modern and comfortable but retain feature wall of the old brickwork. Plenty of parking. great find, would definitely return. Lovely breakfast in dining room, shame this wasn't open the evening before for a main meal!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    8.3
    Somewhere different to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slightly disappointed with the hotel as I expected more for a 4* hotel. Breakfast costs were very expensive so we bought items in the local supermarket and ate them in our room.

    Liked the idea of staying in a castle. Meal in the bistro was good. Tea and coffee making facilities was good.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    4.6
    Mutton dressed as lamb
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service was rude and incredibly slow. My room was directly above the reception and sadly the bar and despite being two floors up i was kept awake until after 2 am. Then guests arriving and leaving woke me at around 6 am. I complained and we were given a room on the very top floor as far as could be from the bar which helped but were not offered discount for the first night. The first room had a lot of black mould in the bathroom which you wouldn't expect for this price. The restaurant was fully booked for both nights we stayed so we had to go into Sedan to eat but mid week very few places are open. Breakfast was poor. Cold wet scrambled eggs and cold bacon or the usual continental. But again service didnt exist. Dirty tables and ants climbing all over the drinks area. All in all, this place sells itself as far better hotel than it actually is. Disappointed.

    Lovely building and novel to stay in a castle

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2017

    9.0
    Bring your Maiden for a Knightly Treat!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Tradition Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thought they could have met us in reception in Full Armour with a chance to try some impromptu jousting?

    Impressive entrance to Courtyard for parking, only lacked a Drawbridge, and clear directions to find it from Town. Arrived on motorbikes, plenty of room and secure because rooms overlooked courtyard. Excellent Restaurant, push the boat out! Allow 50€ a head + wine.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    7.1
    Very nice and original setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not so much to do in the area. The hotel could be decorated with more "authentic" elements. The breakfast is quite poor

    Very nice and original setting. The room was small but very cosy. The restaurant had a nice menu in the evening, which was very goof price/quality

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2017

    7.9
    The old stone , the Hotel is based in an ancient military...
    • Solo traveller
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I called the reception to ask witch kind of menu do they have for the Service room The concierge wasn't able to respond to my request

    The old stone , the Hotel is based in an ancient military barack

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2016

    8.8
    Romantic stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We where verry disapointed by the restaurant. It seems they don't have a proper kitchen, but reheat food. It was verry expansive and the quality was not there. You better go for diner in Sedan.

    Verry nice, clean and romantic room and castle.

    Stayed in November 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: