Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Le Saint Paul 5 stars

86, Rue Grande, 06570 Saint-Paul-de-Vence, France

#6 of 10 hotels in Saint-Paul-de-Vence

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 199 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    9.2

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    8.8
    Charming hotel in the perfect location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Restaurant food and service was disappointing

    Perfect location in the center of St. Paul de Vence. Had a lovely room with patio and spectacular view. Wonderful service in the hotel with manager and concierge and valet -- went out of their way to help us with sightseeing, luggage and restaurant recommendations.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    9.6
    Very enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Elegance Room - Village
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was disappointed with the the choices on the wine list. Two local (Lauberon) wines were unavailable, there were no wines from Languedoc and few from the Cotes du Rhône. Poor value for money on the others.

    Very friendly and courteous staff. Ideal location in the the village for an en route one night stay with little time to sightseeing.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    8.8
    Lovely stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Elegance Room - Village
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service at the restaurant was poor. Staff is nice but stressed out and certainly not at the level of the food and the price.

    The hotel is incredibly cute, in the heart of the charming village.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    7.5
    An overall great time, friendly staff great location in the village.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Elegance Room - Village
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property was perfect in every way and just what my husband and I was looking for. The restaurant was closed in the evening and it would have been nice to try that but maybe next time.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    9.6
    Would definitely return for a romantic stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Elegance Room - Village
    • Stayed 2 nights

    On our visit the in-house restaurant was closed for renovation

    Great location within the village Staff were always on standby to assist with anything Great atmosphere Decor was excellent The welcoming party was excellent

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    4.2
    Don’t go
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Elegance Room - Village
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is a B&B NOT a hotel. The staff are serly and disinterested. Our shower overflowed and we had to clean the room ourselves and arriveld back to an unmade room with sodden towels after eating out. The next day we got back about 3.30 and room was unmade - we prioritise new arrivals was the answer. On departure we were pointed in the vague direction of where the car - was over800 metres away. There is no bar and nowhere to relax and sit outside.

    Nothing.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    8.8
    Good overall but restricted due to car experiance
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite - Valley
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Our car hire was up grade to e class merc, this does not fit with Road in St Paul de Venec easily. Best to advise for medium small car. Or for hotel driver to meet at arrival point to to village. The stress for driving through narrow passage and not understanding how the exit road from the village works,take away from the use of hire car and exploring the area. This needs a rethink.

    Friendly staff and excellent accommodation. Good advise for where to eat and good supply of taxi service. Quite aspect of lounge area. Quality of breakfast was good along with service and good interaction with server.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    7.1
    Beautiful hotel, lovely staff - shame about the bathroom
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Elegance Room - Village
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Our room was really nice, a little bit small but we had a separate sitting area which made it passable. The big issue was the bathroom which was tiny, not very well appointed - we soaked the entire room when we had a shower as the shower screen was tiny. It was also massively in need of an upgrade, a little bit grubby if I'm honest. Quite difficult to believe it was a Relaix and Chateau hotel... such a shame as the hotel staff and the reception areas and the bedroom itself was really nicely done.

    Ok so the setting is fabulous and you feel super special driving in (as it's closed to the public to bring a car!) The village is amazing but there is very little to do in the village. Great if you're using this place as a base and then travelling around and about but I think there would be better ways to do this. An ideal stay would be one night or 2 at the most, you can walk the entire village in an hour or 2 and stop to look in most of the shops. There are some lovely restaurants in the village - we didn't book and did pretty well as we ate fairly early (7.30), leave it any later and you'll be in trouble! The hotel itself is charming, very old and pretty. The staff are superb, very helpful indeed and really knowledgable, we were upgraded which was nice, room was still small and bathroom absolutely tiny, so goodness knows what our standard room would have been like!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    5.4
    It feels off season and like a business going under.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We were there for 4 nights. No restaurant or bar in this hotel at the height of summer and the lovely terrace was locked most of the day. When you've been out and about, you just want to sit down somewhere nice with a glass of wine. The terrace with the room was up on the roof and as the parasol was wonky, it was just too hot up there. We were very disappointed for 640 euros a night; it just felt sad with no atmosphere. Very lack lustre and limited breakfast for 29 euros. We were charged a euro for a stamp to post a card which given everything else just felt mean.

    Good location and it could be lovely and a couple of the staff in particular were great and tried to be up beat

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    9.2
    Prime location & excellent service
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Elegance Room - Village
    • Stayed 1 night

    Transportation provided by the hotel from airport to hotel was rather expensive (not surprising tough).

    Excellent service and prime location in a beautiful little town full of history & art. I know from a previous trip that the hotel has an amazing restaurant, however, during 2017 is closed for reparations.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    6.3
    Staff;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Elegance Room - Village
    • Stayed 7 nights

    No Restaurant,we were not told until we arrived that there would be no Restaurant facilities. Shower rail was loose.Bedroom door had gap when closed.Stains on carpet.Loose rug very uneven to a point,where we had to move furniture to make it safe.Hot water was difficult to control almost scalding.Loose light switches to the Bathroom. Bedside lampshade torn and shabby.No help on departure with luggage to the taxi pick up point. (400 metres)To conclude,there is need,generally for a good coat of paint.The standards were below the star rating.My Wife is 75 and I am 73.

    Staff; Lounge.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    9.6
    Quaint town- great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite - Village
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    A very nice room - junior suite with lots of space Parking was close by but many steps to reception so the assistance of the manager with our luggage was much appreciated. Very quaint town with a huge number of arty shops

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    8.3
    Wonderful stay in Saint-paul
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Elegance Room - Village
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's little expensive but to stay Saint Paul de Vence you have only a few more options.

    In the historic old town. Little bit difficult to carry luggages from baggage stop to hotel but it was OK, it's Saint-Paul. Saint- Paul is usually filled with tourists but if you stay at Le Saint Paul you can enjoy its calm and peaceful morning and sunset.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    7.9
    Quaint boutique hotel in the heart of St Paul de Vence
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite - Village
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room felt dusty and needed a good spring clean. Dead insects around edges of carpet were still there after three days. Terrible smell from shower after use.

    Beautifully located hotel in the heart of the village. Nicely decorated spacious room.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    9.2
    Stay in the heart of the old village and soak up the ambience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite - Village
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is a terrace which is open for breakfast but wasn't officially open after that. We did manage to get an aperitif before dinner once but he had to wait for us to finish and others were refused which is a pity as it was nicely done with red umbrellas and flowers. see pic below taken from the bedroom

    Service very good and very helpful

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    8.3
    Delightful, hard to reach hotel with no restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Elegance Room - Village
    • Stayed 1 night

    Restaurant was shut for 2017. We were informed of this well after booking, just before our trip. A real problem and an unpardonable lapse by a famous hotel. No reason given but clearly some huge row between management and cooking staff. Poor service at the overpriced (€29) and average breakfast. TV didn't work (but was fixed quickly). Access by car to drop luggage off involves an adventurous route including almost impossibly narrow section. Watch the wing mirrors! But still, a charming establishment.

    Bijou (smallish) gem of a hotel in the town centre. Welcoming staff. Beautiful bedroom (free upgrade).

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    10
    Wonderful all around
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Elegance Room - Village
    • Stayed 1 night

    Just a hint - Make sure you call before for instructions on how to park in the walls for free as it is a little confusing.

    Unbelievable experience - everything top notch. Rooms beautiful and huge, excellent service from all staff and hotel is just beautiful.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    7.9
    Luxury in Provence
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Elegance Room - Village
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Restaurant was closed for the year but we were not informed until a couple of weeks before our stay. Coffee machine in our room was broken.

    Lovely suite in the roof of the main building. Candles and flower petals in our room when we returned from dinner on both nights! It is inside the famous village and car access and parking is provided too. So one feels a special guest which is great since Saint Paul receives 1.7 million visitors per year.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2016

    6.3
    Beautiful village, good location to many sights in area.
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite - Valley
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Extraordinarily difficult to arrive by car, nearly impossible. Good description of property location inside car-free village surrounded by very narrow street on old wall would have made a world of difference and reduced the stress level. Although it was only Oct. 16, hotel on skeleton operating schedule and the famous restaurant was closed. No bar either. Yet we were charged full, hefty price for the stay.

    Beautiful village, good location to many sights in area. Very nice and helpful staff especially under the circumstances. They made every effort to accommodate a comfortable, pleasant stay.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    10
    a sweet spot to stay in St. Paul
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite - Village
    • Stayed 2 nights

    don't bring large pieces of luggage, everything is carried up via steep stairs.

    very comfortable place, nice decoration, great hospitality, excellent breakfast and dinner

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2016

    10
    A fairy tale stop over at St. Paul
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite - Village
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy guests but I recognise this is not within the hotels control

    The room was extremely well appointed and comfortable and the service was faultless and the staff charming and helpful and the location excellent

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    7.9
    Would stay here again but beware tricky, narrow drive to hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Elegance Room - Village
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The receptionist checking us in wasn't very skillful and had limited English. He subsequently scraped our car while driving it through a very narrow passageway to reach the hotel. There was no manager onsite or contactable. A very frustrating situation for a five star hotel. We had to ask for basic things like a map and nothing about the village was explained. The service in the restaurant and concierge were excellent. To reach the hotel you need clear instructions and must pass through bollards to enter the old town. We had none of the relevant information and our gps was inadequate. We could hear guests down the hall from our room. There was no kettle in the room. The carpet in our room was stained.

    Loved the setting and food for breakfast. Our room was nicely decorated. Great location.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    9.6
    Outstanding hotel to visit Saint Paul de Vence
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Elegance Room - Village
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It's a lovely hotel, with a superb location, it's just fully integrated within the historical center of the village. You cannot distinguish the hotel from the village itself. Staff is outstanding: We arrived late by night and staff was absolutely helpful, and we also appreciate their recommendation of how to better reach the Fondation Maeght walking from the hotel. The room was very nicely decorated and it was extremely confortable. Having breakfast on the nice terrace, so full of vegetation, is a lovely experience.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    7.9
    Place full of atmosphere
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite - Village
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The furnishings are worn out and the rooms (we stayed in a junior suite with village view) need an upgrade. There was a very bad smell in the room.

    A unique little hotel in the middle of a beautiful medieval village. Good restaurant.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2016

    10
    It's always pleasure to stay at Le Saint Paul.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Elegance Room - Village
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's always pleasure to stay at Le Saint Paul. Special thanks to Aline and Oman for attending to our every needs. Highly recommend this place for romantic getaway. Choose a junior suite or suite with Terresse.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2016

    9.2
    Great experiance!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was a bit tiny but i guess that because it's in the oldtown

    Amazing location in the heart of the city( pay attention if you have a big car) Very friendly staff, great restaurant & breakfasf

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    10
    We had a village suite and it was very comfortable, good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite - Village
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel needs a enclosed outside terrace with comfortable seats.

    We had a village suite and it was very comfortable, good sitting area, large bathroom. Staff very friendly. Enjoyed the fine cuisine in the restaurant.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2016

    10
    Perfect evening and perfect hospitality.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Elegance Room - Village
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel staff were very welcoming, the restaurant was charming and the food was excellent. It was a very special stay for my daughters and I and will be remembered with much fondness.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    10
    An excellent Hotel in an amazing quaint beautiful Village.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Elegance Room - Village
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No pool!

    An excellent Hotel in an amazing quaint beautiful Village.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    9.6
    Charming hotel
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Elegance Room - Village
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Lovely room and very comfortable bed

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    9.2
    See above
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Elegance Room - Village
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Lovely hotel in a fab location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    10
    Location was amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite - Village
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No outside terrace to chill on during the day

    Location was amazing

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    10
    Exceptional staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Elegance Room - Village
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That we could not stay longer.

    On arrival we were met by Billy and Aline and treated like family.Exceptional customer service.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    9.2
    Excellent would return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite - Village
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfortable room in lovely surroundings

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    9.6
    One of my all time top 10 trips.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Elegance Room - Village
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too many tourists during the day, but hey it’s a must visit.

    An amazing hotel in an amazing setting!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    10
    Everything was perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Elegance Room - Village
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    8.3
    fabulous location and very friendly and helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Elegance Room - Village
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel was a little too understaffed especially for a busy week end

    Very comfortable bed and fantastic location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    8.8
    Loved staying there but would not eat breakfast there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Elegance Room - Village
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast not good!

    Room, bed and bathroom gr8!! Staff friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    10
    Enjoyed all
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Elegance Room - Village
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Enjoyed all

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    9.2
    Peaceful spacious room and perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Elegance Room - Village
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Peaceful spacious room and perfect location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    6.7
    Nice staff, good location, but rooms need major repairs to be up to standards.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Elegance Room - Village
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was in disrepair and very small. Bathroom was awful. Electrical was falling out of the walls.

    Location was excellent.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    9.6
    Excellent hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Elegance Room - Village
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfasts were expensive, unfortunately restaurant was closed in October

    Ambience, friendly staff, luxury and beauty

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    9.6
    Wonderful hotel in a truly wonderful place. s
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Elegance Room - Village
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have been great to have the restaurant and bar open in the evening!

    Absolutely everything!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    10
    Brilliant, we loved the location and would definitely go back again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Elegance Room - Village
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location of the hotel

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    10
    Location was perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Elegance Room - Village
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was perfect. View amazing. Hotel itself was so historically deep.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    9.2
    The staff were fantastic in organising trips,restaurants.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Elegance Room - Village
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could have been a little better organised.

    The staff were fantastic in organising trips,restaurants. Both Ben and Bilel were wonderful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    9.6
    Romantic hotel in charming village
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Elegance Room - Village
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very charming and romantic stay. You feel that the staff is taking care and efforts!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    8.8
    Cosy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Elegance Room - Village
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was slightly chaotic and the service overall was a bit erratic

    Fantastic location in the heart of the old town

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    10
    Staff were really friendly and helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Elegance Room - Village
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant wasn't open

    Staff were really friendly and helpful

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    10
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite - Valley
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everthing

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2017

    10
    Quiet and cozy
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Elegance Room - Village
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quiet and cozy

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could have been a little better for the price.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    9.6
    Very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Elegance Room - Village
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to mention.

    Everything is very good. No complain actually.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    10
    Excellent in every way!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Elegance Room - Village
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was perfect.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    9.6
    For that very very special occasion.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Elegance Room - Village
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very expensive food options.

    Beautiful facilities in the centre of this amazing little town.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    8.8
    Charming small hotel in a charming village.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Elegance Room - Village
    • Stayed 1 night

    small rooms.

    hotel's location and helpful staff were the things I liked.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2016

    10
    One of the very best experiences!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Elegance Room - Village
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of the very best experiences!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    10
    The king of the Village
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Elegance Room - Village
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smoking in restaurant

    Location service and hotel

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    9.2
    Beautiful luxury hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite - Village
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No Spa facilities

    Luxury hotel, very friendly and helpful staff

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2016

    9.2
    Breathtaking location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Elegance Room - Village
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is perfect to visit St Paul de Vence, incredible view from the room

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    2.5
    Truly fabulous
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Elegance Room - Village
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Truly fabulous

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2016

    6.3
    OK for one night only
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Elegance Room - Village
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely no facilities. Not even somewhere to sit outside and sunbathe. Ridiculously expensive!

    The ambience and location

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2016

    9.6
    Magnificent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite - Village
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent and charming hotel in a wonderful little town!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2016

    9.6
    Nested in the center of the old village with great valley...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Restaurant is not aligned to the property. Overpriced and not special.

    Nested in the center of the old village with great valley view. Well decorated and spacious rooms. Cozy.

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2016

    8.3
    Superb room with patio and beautiful views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No kitchen in operation Mon/Tues/Wed so no hot food for breakfast. Dined out but many good restaurants near by so no problem.

    Superb room with patio and beautiful views.

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2016

    10
    A beautiful small hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The staff makes the place, and it's a lovely setting

    A beautiful small hotel. The staff are excellent - helpful and friendly. Had dinner in the restaurant one night and that was also really good.

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2016

    9.2
    Beautiful location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A little hard to regulate temperature in the room - was very warm.

    Beautiful location. Suite was lovely and roomy. Staff were friendly and helpful. Restaurant was exceptional for dinner.

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2015

    8.8
    The hotel is in a remarkable and charming village with a...
    • Business trip
    • Group

    The bathrooms I saw need updating and were not especially clean for a "five star" rated hotel....nor was the room carpet. The hotel's air conditioning had already been turned off for the season....a bit too early in my opinion since it was warm and humid while I was visiting. The wonderful staff and the beauty of the surroundings made up for its perceived flaws however.

    The hotel is in a remarkable and charming village with a storied past. The staff made the experience while staying there superb, always with smiles on their faces and helpful in every way. There were always special sweet treats in the lobby area for guests which were beautiful and delectable. Charming and delightful!

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2015

    7.1
    Location excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    • On arrival, reception person introduced himself as a trainee - that's fine but our experience of most of the staff seemed as if they were trainees (except the person who parked our car, etc. who was excellent). It may have been end of season but no excuse for standards to slip. • We went to Level -1 for pre-dinner drink in advance of our 7.30pm booking and were greeted by a person setting the tables who advised that there was no facility for a pre-dinner drink - in a 5 star hotel? He seemed flustered so we said we would go out for a drink. We did but ended up back at reception level and had our pre-dinner drink. • Service during taster menu dinner a bit ad-hoc • Breakfast disappointing given the cost per person compared with comparable hotels on our trip (Negresco Nice and Chateau Eze) - no cooked food - only do-it-yourself boiled eggs • At breakfast asked for mint (menthe) tea but were given green tea • Second day at breakfast, water for tea was lukewarm rather than boiled and we had to ask for it to be replaced • Dangerously sharp edge which damaged my wife's top - pointed out to waiter who apologised but who clearly did not report it to management as we had to raise the matter when checking out. A discount was given but clearly very reluctantly and without an apparent concern for the seriousness of the sharp corner edge immediately beside a table.

    Location excellent

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2015

    9.6
    The location is beautiful - right in the heart of the walled...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The location is beautiful - right in the heart of the walled village and so picturesque - staff were so polite and attentive - nice choice of food for breakfast - would love to go back!

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    7.9
    Just in the middle of fabulous St Paul de Vence, trapped...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The restaurant disspointed a little bit, could be better, especially on the wine choice

    Just in the middle of fabulous St Paul de Vence, trapped within its narrow streets

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2015

    8.8
    Location is superb, right in the centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bed was 2 separate ones pushed together (with a small gap) which was a little uncomfortable. Did not have breakfast as it was €28 per head.

    Location is superb, right in the centre. Helpful staff at the hotel. Got a phone call from the hotel on the way there giving excellent information about parking & directons (Natalie) and welcomed with a drink. Room had lots of character & was very welcoming.

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    10
    The staff at the hotel was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff at the hotel was excellent. They were there for all your needs. The dinners were superior. I want to personal thank Jerome Soler the manager for seeing to all our needs.

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2015

    8.8
    Great Hotel - would have rated it 100% if they had not made...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Clearly booked a return visit 10 days after our departure, to be telephoned after a week to saw it was not possible due to "damage to a bathroom" - no other rooms available -

    Great Hotel - would have rated it 100% if they had not made a mess of our return booking -

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2015

    8.3
    Friendly staff, exclusive location inside the walls at Saint...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Though it could be a gem, the hotel is a bit...tired, in need of significant refurbishment (carpets stained, fabrics worn, etc).

    Friendly staff, exclusive location inside the walls at Saint Paul de Vence.

There are also 31 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: