Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hôtel Les Brises 3 stars

Chemin de la digue Richelieu, 17000 La Rochelle, France

#9 of 42 hotels in La Rochelle

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1471 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    9.2
    Great staff, breakfast and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The staff were excellent. We had booked a taxi for departure. Taxi did not show but a member of staff drove us to the station, brilliant. Breakfast is excellent as is the decking area next to the sea The walk down to the town is easy and through a park. I recommend a room with sea view

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    10
    Perfect overnight stay in the middle of a long journey.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    One small suggestion: clothes hanging above the kettle tray was slightly awkward. Have to remove the clothes when boiling kettle.

    Relaxed atmosphere; helpful and pleasant staff; comfortable room with spectacular views. Thank you, all.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    9.2
    A variation stop over on a regular UK -France journey.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Courtyard Side
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathroom a little small although that didn't affect me personally.

    The materials used in the room construction and the prospect over the sea on the frontage.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    8.8
    Very nice hotel, great location !
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with a partial view of the coast
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No air conditioning so the room was quite warm at night, bathroom (in our room at least) was a little cramped.

    Good parking, very friendly and helpful staff, a very nice location, really liked the outside terrace.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    9.6
    what a luck!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing! everything was simply perfect, thanks!

    WOW!!! what a luck having found this hotel. I fell asleep listening to the sea while looking at the stars from my window. The breakfast is absolutely amazing on a nice quiet terrace. Dont think there's anything missing, we really enjoyed every moment of the stay.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    7.1
    Great location with outstanding views across the bay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast should really have been included as although it was a good spread it was not worth 13 euros each. Rooms a little small.

    Great location with outstanding views across the bay. Parking was very useful. Great choice at Breakfast. Easy walk to local resturants.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    10
    Lovely hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with a partial view of the coast
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff. Car parking. Near parks and restaurant and casino. Great views from room. Modern facilities. Satellite tv multilingual. Good wi fi . Lovely restaurant for breakfast overlooking sea.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    9.2
    Great comfortable room with a view
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast could have been included in the room rate.

    Comfortable & very good hotel (room, bathroom, entrance hall) with great deck chair terrace & views on the sea and La Rochelle. Good breakfast. 1,5 km (nice) walk from city center. Very calm and quiet environment.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    7.9
    A good stopover which would have been even better if they had a bar.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with a partial view of the coast
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No bar facilities. It is a 20 minute walk from the town centre along the promenade.

    The location on the sea front and the well furnished and decorated terrace overlooking the best ea where you could also breakfast. Well appointed room again pleasing decor. Good continental breakfast and adequate free parking

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    5.0
    There was a good view from the balcony.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are very small, even the premier rooms. The staff are uninterested. Charged €10 per night for a travel cot, first hotel we've ever been charged.

    There was a good view from the balcony.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    8.8
    A great place to break a long journey
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Courtyard Side
    • Stayed 1 night

    Had an ankle injury and was a bit of a hike to find a restaurant for an evening meal (which was great when we got there)

    friendly staff and a great sea view plus opportunity to swim

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    8.3
    Lovely stylish hotel with great decking and views out to sea
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Courtyard Side
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only thing that let this hotel down for us was the lack of air con in the bedroom.

    Nice hotel with great decking overlooking the sea. Room clean and comfortable, likewise bathroom.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    7.9
    Light and airy , clean and in a quiet part of La Rochelle
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were tired and hungry. We had the last parking place so didn’t want to move the car. There were no cabs though the concierge phoned round. There was just one place within walking distance to eat but when we got there they had stopped serving food and gave us a bowl of nuts.

    Light and airy , clean and in a quiet part of La Rochelle

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    9.6
    Fantastic location with a beautiful terrace overlooking the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Courtyard Side
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It took until late afternoon for the maid to get to service the room. Breakfast was pricey

    Fantastic location with a beautiful terrace overlooking the sea and marina (with care it was possible to take a dip from the terrace at high tide) and a handy, frequent bus service just outside the hotel if needed. Only a 25 minute walk right into the historic town centre. Good underground car park. Our room had a nice balcony.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    7.9
    Clean rooms over the seaside at ca 1.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Courtyard Side
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In my opinion staff should take care a bit more at the organisation of the parking place cause it is wild and might be not very safe

    Clean rooms over the seaside at ca 1.5km from the city centre. View from lobby is stunning.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    7.9
    Spectacular scenery
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    NO AIR CON Cheap paper thin towels No restaurant service after breakfast

    Great views from our seafront balcony. Very tastefully decorated to a good standard. Underground garage for the car.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    8.8
    Good place with a car and pet friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are a bit small but the balcony was great.Restaurants are a not that close so a walk is needed.

    Great staff .Balcony and view.A scenic 20 minute walk to town.Great parking lot and dog friendly.We would come again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    9.2
    Beautiful views across to the harbour at La Rochelle.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with a partial view of the coast
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There was no air conditioning in the room so the room got very hot. We did sleep with the window open but it was still hot. The coffee was from a machine and not very good. It's a good 20-25 min walk into the town.

    Beautiful views across to the harbour at La Rochelle. Big decked area with plenty of sunbeds, parasols and chairs. Huge breakfasts with lots of choice from cereals, breads and pastries, cheese, ham, hot and cold boiled eggs, yoghurts, fruit salad and fresh fruit, preserves. It was very quiet.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    7.1
    Nice ling walk to the town which was lovely especially the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Courtyard Side
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was small. No bar to talk of. Breakfast was expensive.

    Nice ling walk to the town which was lovely especially the return after a large meal. Terrace is nice

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    8.3
    Very enjoyable and would stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor wine and beer selection. A bottle of Rose ordered on the first night was warm and a bottle of red ordered during the stay was so cold it had condensation on the bottle ( it was refused by me ). This was a minor upset as we purchased our wine locally and took it to the hotel. The terrace was superb with plenty of loungers and sun shades.

    Great breakfasts and great coffee. Good parking. Good bike hire via the hotel’s own bikes. Excellent location and views towards the marina opposite and out to sea. The hotel was as expected and we were not disappointed.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    10
    What a great place to stay in such a fantastic resort!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing to dislike, however, the walk into town centre might be a tad challenging for the less mobile (albeit it was a delightful walk!)

    Fantastic sea view from a superb first-floor balcony. The sun-deck was great and the facilities were brilliant. the room cleaning was first-class and all-in-all, this was a wonderful hotel experience.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    9.2
    The hotel is wonderfully located a 10 minutes waterside...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Courtyard Side
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is wonderfully located a 10 minutes waterside stroll from the centre. The staff we very helpful and welcoming. The room was very comfortable and contemporary. There is an attractive “deck” overlooking the bay. Parking is off street and free.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    8.8
    Decor throughout is great, brings character to the place,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Courtyard Side
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A hot breakfast would have enhanced the experience, however the cold selection was more than sufficient.

    Decor throughout is great, brings character to the place, really nice outside seating area, staff were fantastic, the room was comfy and cosy, and it’s a short walk away from the town centre and the restaurants. Would use again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    8.3
    Stylish seafront hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of decent bath towels, plastic sheet on the bed, and no water glasses in the room let down otherwise lovely room.

    Great seafront location. Fabulous deck and decor. Friendly and helpful staff. Easy parking and plenty of restaurants in town (20 min. flat walk)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    7.1
    Location of the hotel is good , free underground car park is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Courtyard Side
    • Stayed 1 night

    Mixing smoker and non smoker guests, nervous manager shouting on employee in front of clients.

    Location of the hotel is good , free underground car park is a plus.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    9.2
    A very nice hotel, in a great location with an excellent staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room - Courtyard Side
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I personally like harder beds, it was too soft for my taste.

    A very nice hotel, in a great location ; the walk to the city center is mostly thru a park, making it very nice. The staff is extra nice and very helpful. The rooms are small but comfortable (I unfortunately booked too late to get a sea view, but from this location it is should be very good).

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    8.8
    Comfortable,adequate hotel,very clean.Nice view of the bay.Friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothign

    Nice view of the bay from the terrace,hoteloutside could use some fresh paint.Comofrtable rooms,very friendly staff,not bad location although they gave directions to the Pallice,which confused us.It was Port Neuf,which we eventuallyfound.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    10
    Fantastic quiet location when we stayed in March with well equipped room and helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Location excellent if you want to be away from the town (pleasant 15 minute walk away). Uninterrupted views from a sea view room. Staff were exceptionally helpful and pleasant. Good to have a small fridge and kettle

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    9.6
    Most enjoyable stay despite weather.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing

    The staff were really helpful. The room and views did not disappoint. We enjoyed the walk into town along the sea front and park. Would return to this hotel peaceful on outskirts of city.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    7.1
    Great will go back
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room - Courtyard Side
    • Stayed 1 night

    H.B. eggs with runny whites were not the best. Once they master egg cooking they could be awesome

    Although no bar or restaurant, yet when I arrived at 9.30 pm the charming young man with a fluffy black beard was only to happy to quickly provide a much appreciated plate of cold meats, cheese, and so on with a bottle of wine. Bedroom seemed either new or newly refurbished.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    10
    We all enjoyed the hotel, the attentiveness of the staff and the sea views are brill
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    There could have been more of a bar area but that is just my view.

    I booked 3 superior rooms for myself and two friends, we all liked the position of the hotel, the staff and the breakfast was great we will visit again in the future. The hotel is not too far from the centre and the walk as great views. JC

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    8.8
    Great stay and would stay again
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cramped shower as shower head in the corner with wall blocking arm movement.

    Comfy bed. Great views out to harbour. Lovely balcony with yable and chairs. Welcoming and very friendly staff.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    9.2
    Lovely hotel with friendly helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room - Courtyard Side
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only downside was for me as a single traveler was getting back to the hotel in the evening. You have the option of walking promenade or along the "green space" , which given the out of season were a little daunting in the dark. There is a bus stop but they stop about 8pm and taxi's aren't on many street corners. I got the bar man to call me one on the Saturday night. And this is totally not a reflection on the hotel merely a point of reference for similar travelers

    Really friendly staff all through my stay, from leaving my luggage, bus information, places to visit, eat and shop. Right up to calling me a taxi in the evening for my return to the airport. My room was really well refurbished so don't be fooled by the slightly tired exterior as you walk down the drive, the inside is definitely different. Lovely sun terrace and balconies. I didn't go for the breakfast options but from what I saw it looked good.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    10
    A charming hotel with relaxed atmosphere in a superb location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Leaving!

    Great views of the sea from the room and a lovely balcony to sit out on. Wonderful breakfasts. Really helpful staff. Calming beach house style interior decor. Easy walking distance to La Rochelle old town.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    7.5
    Good location. Comfortable rooms. Helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    As there was only one tea bag and one carton of milk per person in the room, we asked the night manager for some more fresh milk in a small jug. We were charged £3 the next morning on our bill.

    Pleasant & helpful staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    10
    Very pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Wonderful hotel right overlooking sea. STaff very helpful and friendly and we were able to hire bikes to take us round the area. Rooms were very comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    9.6
    Great location where you can park your car and forget about it during your stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast at 13 euros per person was considered too expensive so we bought our own croissants to eat on balcony while we watched the boats go by.

    Great waterfront location and within easy walking distance of Old Port of La Rochelle. Hotel had been nicely refurbished since last visit.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    9.2
    Fantastic, would return again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have been extra special if snacks/something hot to eat could be ordered in the evening after long drive, but it was a nice walk to the old town but we were weary!

    Amazing bed, amazing breakfast, amazing view

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    6.7
    The breakfast was really good with a lot of choice for...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Courtyard Side
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was too hot. No airconditioning to cool down. Luckily we could open the window.

    The breakfast was really good with a lot of choice for everybody. We had breakfast on the terrace (outside) enjoying the beautiful view.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    7.5
    Peaceful and pleasant, a good place to relax.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast continues until 11 am which was great but there are definitely problems with the logistics of providing everything all the time. Good fresh orange juice was great but ran out, the coffee machines had hiccups, but both of these problems were sorted out. Excellent coffee. The croissants were large but not the best, too doughy. I would have liked some seedy or pain cereal as well as brioche and baguettes and bread rolls. The fresh fruit was OKish. The usual cold meats, eggs, cheeses and Yoghurts were standard breakfast buffet fare. The separate loo was very tight for size, but a decent shower room, however the towels were a bit skimpy

    The location out of town is very peaceful and the views are excellent. A 25 minute walk along the seaside promenade takes you into the port or you can easily drive to a good car park by the main tower and gate. You have to do this for an evening meal as there is nowhere close to the hotel. The room facing the sea was a little small but comfortable and to our surprise we could get BBC 1 and 2 on the TV. Good dark curtains and an electric blind were useful but we kept the French windows open to get a cool breeze at night. With no a/ c the summer heat must be oppressive. There is heating in the rooms, old fashioned radiators. A really lovely sun deck for all to use as a place to read , sunbathe or eat breakfast made for a relaxing day. The walks were nice too and you can hire bicycles for easy rides, dedicated cycle paths in La Rochelle's approaches.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    7.1
    Nice hotel, resort not for us
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The weather was bad for the time of year, so it did affect our impression of the resort and hotel location. However, the view in the opposite direction was of a crane and building works. It was too wet and windy to use the pool and terrace, which looked nice, even if there had been some artistic licence taken with the photo of the pool. The resort is set up for the beach and water/outdoor activities, so wasn't really our cup of tea. The Dube du Pilat is definitely worth seeing and a coffee on the terrace at La Corniche is very pleasant and offers a view of the Dune if you don't fancy the climb.

    The hotel has a great position by the beach and views over the sea. The room was a reasonable size and the bed and pillows were the most comfy we experienced during our holiday. We had breakfast in our room, which was very pleasant, but as you would expect. The reception staff were very friendly and helpful. Would recommend Le Bleu Banane restaurant.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    3.8
    Disappointing. i was expecting much more from reading the reviews.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the location was much to far from the centre of La Rochelle. Public buses don't run on Sundays and very hard to get a taxi. Staff quite rude and unhelpful with little or no English. We paid E13 per person for each morning for the breakfast which was shameful, it was just a cold buffet breakfast as the hotel doesn't provide hot food at any time though the day.

    nice view from the room. that's about it unfortunately

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    5.0
    Disappointing stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Courtyard Side
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Grubby room, hard bed, cheap toiletries but paid high price. Did not take breakfast as did not look that good and would have to pay extra. Shower tray all chipped, toilet seat chipped.

    By the sea

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    9.2
    Definitely stay there again
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room - Courtyard Side
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No access to the beach with the dogs

    Welcoming friendly staff. Walking distance to La Rochelle with loads of restaurants, bars, shops etc. Opposite a park to walk the dogs in

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    9.2
    We were only there for an overnight stopover en route to Spain.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike.

    The hotel styling was great for the fantastic location. Overlooking the beach, and only 1.2 miles into town for loads of restaurants etc.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    10
    Fantastic location friendly staff and quality hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to leave at the end of our stay

    Sea view a must, small and friendly, reception staff exceptional, great location good parking - not cheap but you get what you pay for - will definitely return here

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    4.6
    Very disappointing. Wouldn't return or recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stuffy, cramped room. Dated decor. Cost of room and extra for breakfast.

    The room was small, cramped and stuffy. We didn't feel comfortable to leave the balcony door open as there was no privacy from the rooms on either side. For the price we paid, I expected a much better standard room. The hotel was quite dated and having to pay €15 extra for breakfast is a joke!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    9.6
    Calm retreat in a great lively resort
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    Bang on the water and a walk along the seafront to the belle epoch area of Rochelle. Stylish, contemporary and easy going. Great breakfast. Great stay, next time it will be longer

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    10
    Lovely hotel, will be staying here again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing - loved the room. Only downside was that we stayed during a storm and with having a bay-side view we could hear the roar of the wind most of the night!! Not the hotels fault though!

    The lady on reception was lovely; she even passed on her condolences for the terrorist attacks which had taken place a few days before. The hotel was lovely and the view and room were gorgeous. I would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    9.6
    Would stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hot breakfast other than boiled eggs; rather limited choice for breakfast altogether, given the breakfast price.

    Location, outlook politeness of staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    9.2
    Different
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room - Courtyard Side
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I thought when I booked the hotel had a restaurant.

    The breakfast was value for money. Both Sandy and Gregory were very helpful during our stay, especially, Sandy, who made an appointment on Friday at a vet, to get our two dogs a health check, in order for them to sail on the ferry from At Malo on monday.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    10
    Les Brises parfait!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel very welcoming. Gluten free bread was there and ready for my partner as requested at the time of booking. Fantastic location right by the sea, pleasant walk of about one mile into centre of La Rochelle but good day time bus service just along from hotel entrance if required. No problems with traffic noise as hotel set back from road and front facing rooms look straight over the sea.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    9.2
    ALMOST HEAVEN - BUT.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Courtyard Side
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I THINK HOTELS SHOULD REALISE THEY ARE IN THE 21C BEDDING SHOULD REFLECT THIS, IE DUVETS A FRENCH INVENTION -a soft flat bag filled with down, feathers, wool, silk or a synthetic alternative IN FRANCE MANY ARE LIKE A WADDING THAT IS LUMPY. THE MATRESS WAS ALSO NOT GOOD, HARD & OVERWARN THIS SPOILT THE SLEEP EXPERIENCE HAVING DRIVEN 400 MILES TO GET THERE

    IT IS A GREAT PLACE BY THE SEA BUT JUST AWAY FROM THE NOISY TOWN, VERY CLEAN AN IDEAL PLACE FOR A "REAL" REST

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    10
    Wow....Loved that View xxx
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Leaving & that I had only booked one night!!

    From the front the facade looks a little tired...BUT... once inside its fresh & modern boutique styling. The view from the back is glorious...whether from your rooms balcony or the superb terrace.We enjoyed drinks & our breakfast out there. There was a lovely selection for the buffet breakfast...and no need to rush as its from 7am - 11am. Our room had everything we needed including a large comfy bed & stylish ensuite, all was spotlessly clean. There is plenty of parking on-site. We used the underground one. We were warmly welcomed on arrival & found all the staff friendly & helpful. The hotel is a very pleasant 2km walk to the old port, through a park & along the seafront.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2017

    9.2
    Perfect hotel for breaking our journey. We love it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our favourite hotel for breaking our journey when we are travelling up to catch a ferry to the UK. Fabulous room, friendly and helpful staff, superb views and a great breakfast. We have stayed here a few times and always enjoy our visit.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2017

    10
    Gorgeous spot overlooking sea
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing about hotel. Bit far from restaurants for dinner out of season----it is not walkable to town restaurants after dark for older ladies alone on wet, slippery, winter nights.

    Fabulous position, nice hotel, balcony allowed to smoke on with door shut. Well signposted to find.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2017

    9.6
    Nice Place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Courtyard Side
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower cubicle not very big ...in our room.

    Staff very friendly and helpful, position 15 to 20 minutes walk either along the promenade or through the gardens to the centre , secure free underground parking , lovely breakfast .La Rochelle a very nice place to visit.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2017

    9.2
    Really great value with excellent views
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Courtyard Side
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's an old tired building from the outside but don't let that impare your judgment. The hotel has been recently renovated inside and the views are incredible.

    Staff were all absolutely lovely. We were able to take our dog too. The view was out of this world - the best view in La Rochelle!!!!!! Plenty of free parking - all other hotels charge! We asked for a room with a bath and had a massive bath. Loved it - essential on a cold winters day!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2017

    10
    Wonderful bay side location just a few mins.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Courtyard Side
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wonderful bay side location just a few mins. from La Rochelle university and harbour centre. Great n'hood authentic brasserie just outside hotel gates to left. Wonderful town for architecture, sea breezes, walks and parks and everyone welcomes chien! We will be back. La Rochelle area just perfect.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2017

    10
    Excellent : loved it here
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had the family Seaview room which was excellent . Great view, great shower, comfy beds and quiet. Plenty of room and nice easy walk to the town. We all loved it here

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2016

    8.8
    Staff were very polite and helpful.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room - Courtyard Side
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was really quite small, I think it should be advertised as a "small room" and be less expensive than other rooms.

    Staff were very polite and helpful. Breakfast was nice.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2016

    9.6
    Lovely hotel - recommended!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing - we were very happy with our stay at Les Brises.

    Lovely room, recently upgraded to a high standard. Delicious breakfast. Lots of parking space. Friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2016

    9.6
    Lovely room with fabulous views!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Courtyard Side
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing - we were very happy with our visit.

    The bedrooms have recently been upgraded and are now very attractive. My wife said that the new shower is the best she has ever had. The breakfast was excellent, with lovely fresh bread. The staff were friendly and very helpful.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2016

    10
    The staff was very welcoming, the bedroom was just perfect...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Get a bottle of water and maybe tissues in the bedroom.

    The staff was very welcoming, the bedroom was just perfect with a great shower and an amazing seaside view. I had to leave early and had breakfast at 6am - buffet with a lot of choice (pastries, fruit, fruit salad, eggs, bread, cereals, yogurts, fresh orange juice, etc.)

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2016

    9.6
    A gem of a hotel with amazing views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn't take the breakfast as it's €13 and we don't eat a lot at breakfast. However the dining area looked lovely with views over the sea.

    We had a sea view balcony room with amazing views over the harbour. The lady at reception gave us lots of information about La Rochelle and places to eat. We walked to the town through a lovely park and it took 15 minutes. Our room was very comfortable, the tea and coffee making facility being a bonus. Free and easy parking too, always a plus!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    7.5
    Beautiful position
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air con. Buffet breakfast a little expensive at 13 euros.

    Free parking. Lovely room with balcony and sea view. Within easy walking distance of town centre.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    9.6
    It was very clean and we would go back again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Driving on the narrow streets to get there, but it's a lot better than in the downtown!

    Loved the balcony over looking the water (we could watch the sun rise and set each day) and that we could walk into town though it's a bit if a hike, we liked it.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    9.6
    Short walk along the seafront promenade to the main town,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Courtyard Side
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Short walk along the seafront promenade to the main town, looks across the estuary to the marina. Very helpful staff and clean, comfortable rooms. Private garage parking beneath the hotel.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    10
    Very friendly staff gave us good directions for a very nice...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly staff gave us good directions for a very nice restaurant

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    7.9
    Exactly what we had hoped for
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with a partial view of the coast
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    Location just what was wanted. Staff friendly and competent. Ccould order drinks from reception served at reasonable prices. ,.t

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    8.3
    A very comfortable and clean hotel, with lovely views from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with a partial view of the coast
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A very comfortable and clean hotel, with lovely views from the terrace.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    10
    Great spot,great view,easy walk to restaurants etc
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Arrived a day early and they helped ease the embarisment

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    7.1
    Ok for quick stop over.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Courtyard Side
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No water in the room, or kettle. Slow check out.

    Nothing too annoying

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    7.5
    Good B&B type hotel close enough to walk to the old town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning in rooms

    Beautiful view over marina, lovely terrace for breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    10
    the look to the ocean
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    the look to the ocean

    Stayed in September 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: