Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel l'Orée Des Vignes

6 Route D'epernay, 21640 Gilly-lès-Cîteaux, France

#1 of 1 hotels in Gilly-lès-Cîteaux

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 402 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 65

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    5.0
    No garden with the room no coffee maker
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I traveled with my 8 year old son and my brother. We booked a family room for 3. The extra bed that was put in the room was like a camping bed. Very poor quality. The room was in a side building on the first floor. When you look at the pictures it seems like you get a great room on the ground floor with a little private seating at the front of your room overlooking the garden but Dont be fooled by these pictures! You will get a room in a new building with 80ties decoraties and no outside seating. The garden its self is nice but no playgrouns area where kids can play. There is no coffee or tea maker and no mini bar or small refrigirator. The person who checked us in was in a great hurry and not very kind. The safe didnt work and tv. Its was fixed after complain. This was a waste of money!!

    Nice garden and good double bed

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    10
    Delclos-Woollcott Family stopover on the way back to the UK
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wouldn't change anything!

    Lovely surroundings and atmosphere - so glad we didn't choose the middle of the city, i.e. Dijon. Would recommend the Courtepaille restaurant in nearby Fixin for dinner, especially if you have children - it's open until 10.30 pm during the week, 11 pm Friday and Saturday.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    8.3
    Good value rooms in charming old buildings
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    That's complaining on a high level but for me there really needs to be oatmeal (flakes and/or porridge) and fresh fruit as part of any breakfast selection. I know it's probably not eaten in France but when all breakfast choices are wheat and butter based and the only light alternative are pieces of canned fruit then I can't give full grades for the breakfast.

    The room was exactly what we needed. A clean and inviting room for one night with a decent breakfast. The real treat is the building itself. All the rooms are located in a 400 year old farmhouse of stone and wood. The beautiful buildings surround a calm courtyard where guests can launch and enjoy the silence and good air in various corners.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    6.3
    ‘ A good place to stay but fix the aircon ! ‘
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The aircon didn’t work properly - a pity otherwise my rating would have been much more positive/ higher. The weather was v hot so room not so comfortable

    It was what it said ‘ on the tin ‘ - a place to stay, most things worked well though not the aircon

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    9.6
    Good value and what I needed for an overnight stay through France
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Metal headboard - made a noise everytime I sat back in bed. I would love a kettle to make a warm drink in my room I prefer a room with a bath rather than just a shower

    Very pretty room, very clean, 5th time I've stayed, very welcoming and good with my dogs

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    7.5
    Good location for stopover to alps.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location for stopover to alps. Clean and comfortable but quite basic. There are adjoining rooms but we booked late and could only get rooms opposite on corridor. Good secure overnight patking. Great child friendly restaurant at La Cote d’Or, in Nuits - Saint-Georges.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    9.2
    The proprietors were excellent and welcoming
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were promised two double beds in the room on booking .com website but they are not available

    The proprietors were excellent and welcoming We stayed on a Monday night and they phoned to arrange a local restaurant

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    8.3
    Good Hotel in a lovely area and would use it again on a return visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The security was a little over the top but maybe it's necessary in the area!

    The Hotel was comfortable, not fussy, and allowed one to be oneself. We walked into the village and ate at a restaurant in another local village. Breakfast was good and a variety of eggs were available in addition to the usual French Buffet.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    9.2
    Great location and beautiful place
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast wasn't included

    Great location to see Burgandy and surrounds. Clean and tidy facilities, staff were friendly at helping with finding dinner.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    7.5
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have preferred one of the rooms in the main farm house which is where we have been on our two visits before. Otherwise good central location for Beaune and the local wine producing area. Good location for transiting through to the rest of Europe.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    4.2
    Don't do it!!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    An absolute rip off. All staff leave at 2030, you have to drive several miles to find a restaurant and the "wine bar" is not a bar at all, more like a communal common room. Drinks are ordered from reception if you can find a member of staff, as far as I can tell there is one on duty at any one time doing everything. No food is available at the hotel. The "suite" is actually jus one largish room and we had to pay an extra 15euros each for our three children to sleep on the converted sofa! From shoddy suite to dormatory for extr cash! The shower naturally pointed at the wall so it had to be held and no extra towels were provided for the children (that probably would have cost extra). It is also impossible to open the window that have been installed at an angle and close themselves. Oh, and to add insult to injury the lady at checkout was rude and argumentative.

    The region is lovely. The hotel is clean and pleasantly decorated.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    9.2
    Great stop-off south of Dijon
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location was good - only about 10 mins off the main A road south of Dijon. Pretty easy to find using the sat nav. Beautiful area, some had a cycle ride in the morning, seems like a lovely area to spend some more time in. Had arranged late check in via email beforehand, and called ahead to get instructions. Quite straightforward. We'd arranged a family room which was a good size, and included a double bed, a single bed, plus they'd put a cot in too. Breakfast was good - cold continental. Didn't really see any staff to comment on them! Clean, functional, no complaints.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    8.3
    Comfortable stay in the heart of Burgundy vineyards.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bread is one of the glories of France. A pity to have industrial rather than artisan bread for breakfast.

    Plenty of space in the room. Staff helpful when my beloved wanted to swap room with bath but no view for one with view but shower only.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    7.5
    Calm, pleasure, timeless
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extra bed in one double room was unconfortable the toilet and shower where separated..why?:(

    The place was like a dream. The garden beautiful and the location exelent to start many trips. The room was big but sufficient for the other characteristics

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    10
    Fourth Time Stayed here.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Charm Room - 2 persons
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is not against the hotel, they are very courteous and are always very welcoming and understanding. I always travel with my two dogs and clean up after them, there is a bin in the village to put mess. I wish other people who travel with their dogs would clean up after them if they allow them to mess in the hotel garden - it is the responsibility of the guest, not the hotel I would still love to be able to get a cup of tea on arrival, but now I've learnt to bring a flask.

    This is now the fourth time I've stayed in Hotel L'Oree des Vignes. The hotel staff are very friendly and were delighted to see me again. I upgraded the room this time, so that I could have a bath instead of a shower after my long drive and I was grateful for this. They always welcome my two cocker spaniels who can be boisterous. The hotel is located in a nice part of France, it's very quiet and the surrounding area is beautiful and there's a nice walk along a river close to the hotel. I will definitely be returning.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    10
    Beautiful location and great price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room - 4 persons
    • Stayed 1 night

    can't think of anything

    We were thrilled with our stay here. The room as awesome, view overlooking courtyard amazing. Breakfast was excellent. I definitely want to go back here.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2017

    10
    Beautiful hotel in great location
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room - 1 person
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would have been nice to have a kettle in the room to make a cup of tea or coffee

    Very welcome and great as an overnight stop for me and my dogs Very clean and comfortable Close to motorway A6

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2018

    3.3
    Very disappointing. Went without breakfast also as we didn't want to risk being disappointed there a
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bland boating modern room not part of an old inn as expected, no water available, no restaurants anywhere in the village so nondvening meal

    Nothing

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    7.9
    Comfy and clean hotel, good parking facilities, good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room a bit dated, reception closed after 8pm so no staff on hand

    Nice clean hotel, friendly staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    7.5
    Lovely quiet location.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely quiet location. Reception gave great local recommendation for dinner. Simple but good breakfast. Comfy bed.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    10
    room was nice over looking the court yard Staff very friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    room was nice over looking the court yard Staff very friendly

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    5.0
    A little bit overpriced.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was basic, clean, but small for 4 persons, The hotel looks nice and has a private prking place.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    7.9
    Very enjoyable, wish it had been longer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very enjoyable, wish it had been longer.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    8.3
    Lovely premises, garden great, breakfast also good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms require upgrading. Also no tea/coffee facilities in room

    Lovely premises, garden great, breakfast also good. Bed very comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    10
    Comfortable, love,y garden facilities
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As always, the staff made all the difference between a stay and a memorable stay. They went out of their way for us.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    4.6
    Bed bugs.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We asked for some wine glasses and even offered to pay for them, but were refused. There were bed bugs.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    5.0
    Disappointing
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room cold and basic. Overpriced breakfast for what there was. Why did they take payment in advance?

    Good secure parking and garden for dogs

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    5.4
    Basic facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Basic facilities. Fine for an overnight stop but no longer.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    9.2
    Spacious rooms, the hotel setup with courtyard, friendly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough food at breakfast for all the guests.

    Spacious rooms, the hotel setup with courtyard, friendly staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    10
    Nice Hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very Close to the Burgandy Route du Vin

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    8.8
    Very comfortable, very quiet, i will be back again next year
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extra comfortable bed and wonderful silence

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    8.8
    My first visit here and surely not my last
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extra comfortable beds and complete silence

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    9.6
    Beautiful hotel in the Cote de Nuits: RECOMMENDED!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very nice, luxurious hotel with a big garden and lots of parking space. Very big room and bathroom. Breakfast was good too and very personal.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    10
    VERY GOOD /CLEAN AND COMFORTABLE
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    All very good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    8.3
    Staff were very good and informative of local restaurants.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff were very good and informative of local restaurants.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    8.0
    Great stop over from Eurotunnel to South of France. Stayed several times.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Comfy, clean and good continental breakfast selection.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    8.8
    Convenient in mid France. Clean and tidy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No bar/ snacks in the evening

    Secure parking: quiet:

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    7.1
    convenient location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    rather poor breakfast

    good location to visit area

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    10
    Comfortable and great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A playground

    Comfortable and great location.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    10
    good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    good breakfast

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    6.3
    Nice and clean hotel with good and a
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No wine bar, no resturant

    No resturant at the hotel and expensive breakfast

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    9.2
    Staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor sound rating between rooms

    Staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    7.9
    Peaceful
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room - 3 persons
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel don't serve dinner, had to drive more than 10 km to find an open restaurant on a Sunday.

    Very quiet and dark room

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    9.6
    Good stopover and close to Nuits St George
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fried eggs and bacon on request Excellent fres bread and pastries

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    9.2
    Great hotel
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room could have been both gger

    Great location. Garden for dog. Super breakfast

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    10
    Short Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no kettle in the room to make a cup ☕️ of tea

    Staff very friendly and welcoming of my two boisterous spaniels

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    10
    consistently delivers a friendly, quality service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room - 2 persons
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly, comfortable and immaculately clean hotel. We have been using this hotel at least 4 times a for over 4 years and we will be back!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2016

    5.4
    The croissants were the smallest we have ever seen.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The 195 euro room has kettle/cups & coffee but NO milk. After 400mile trip it would be nice to make a cup of coffee. Ditto when you wake up in the morning. Rang and asked, told no room service. Hotel owner on reception told me in no uncertain terms they never put a small amount of milk in bedrooms! At 195 euros for one night disgusting. NOT a hotel just a clean b&b

    The croissants were the smallest we have ever seen.

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2015

    9.2
    Very good location in the vineyards and close to the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No negatives.

    Very good location in the vineyards and close to the autoroute, attractive courtyard and garden and well-appointed rooms. Very quiet, an excellent stop-over.

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2015

    10
    Excellent place to stay close to the lovely village of Nuit...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No complaints.

    Excellent place to stay close to the lovely village of Nuit St. Georges. Excellent facilities and staff. They even saved our smelly walking shoes that we forgot and we collected them on our way back to Paris. Highly recommended.

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2015

    6.3
    Very nice location and premisses.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our standard room was very poorly furnished and above all very small. Bed was uncomfortably hard. Wine bar was closed.

    Very nice location and premisses. Helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2015

    7.1
    A good place to stop over en route to Provence.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Surprisingly deserted for August - did not have anything going on - no place to have a drink

    A good place to stop over en route to Provence. Good vineyards and culinary restaurants nearby

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    10
    Staff were very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Nothing. All good.

    Staff were very friendly and helpful. We checked in late after driving several hundred miles from Calais (with three young children 11 months - 8 years), but the staff went out of their way to ensure we were looked after.

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2015

    9.6
    We arrived late after the gate was closed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nothing bad, the room was small but that's France. Highly recommend it.

    We arrived late after the gate was closed. Our phone didn't work so we went to the Chateau close by, they called for us and getting In was easy. The breakfast was fabulous as was the location for exploring the wine region.

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2015

    7.1
    The hotel is located in a nice and quiet little village.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The mansion has been changed into a clean and modern hotel, whereas I would have expected some more of the charm one can find in Burgundy. There's tiles everywhere, and carpeted floors. Where's the wood, where's the authenticity. It could have been anywhere.

    The hotel is located in a nice and quiet little village. The rooms are very clean and the staff is friendly.

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2016

    8.8
    Quiet location and security
    • Couple

    Breakfast a bit expensive

    Quiet location and security

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2016

    5.0
    Secure parking
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room was cold as booking.com had failed to notify the hotel we had reservations

    Secure parking

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    7.5
    Good value, very clean, good breakfast, well located.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Good value, very clean, good breakfast, well located. Quiet.

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    10
    Friendly staff and good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Friendly staff and good location

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2015

    9.2
    Fantastic hotel, great facilities, lovely staff, very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    If it had a pool it would be perfect

    Fantastic hotel, great facilities, lovely staff, very clean.

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2015

    10
    Very nice hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very nice hotel. Some nice places to visit and eat out at too...just take the time to look for them.

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    7.5
    Thought breakfast was very average.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Thought breakfast was very average. No access to wi fi in our bedroom. Very weak signal.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2015

    9.6
    Great location, comfortable rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not too much soundproof, can hear neighbors sometimes

    Great location, comfortable rooms

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2015

    6.7
    Location is good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    There is no roof at the entrance. I got wet since it was raining.

    Location is good. No stress where to go.

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2015

    10
    Very friendly and helpful staff, great accommodation and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very friendly and helpful staff, great accommodation and wonderful courtyard and gardens. Perfect for us and our pets!

There are also 15 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 65

Guests also reviewed these properties: