Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel l'Oustalet 2 stars

Avenue du Maréchal Leclerc, 66120 Font-Romeu, France

#23 of 26 hotels in Font-Romeu

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 290 hotel reviews

7.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.6

  • Comfort

    6.8

  • Location

    7.4

  • Facilities

    6.7

  • Staff

    8

  • Value for money

    7

  • Free WiFi

    5.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 20

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    5.8
    It was ok but would not go back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Balcony Southside
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff unable to help us with train timetables

    It was very quiet staff didn’t seem to want to help us find out about a train journey we wanted to do food was fine just no atmosphere or keenness to make your stay the best it could be

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    5.8
    Hotel very well placed but needs some renewal
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel cover basic needs like heating but it needs some renewal Breakfast was poor (bad coffee, no jam, no tomatoe...) Gel and shampoo was scarce

    location Heating Chimney

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    7.9
    Simple and very enjoyable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room Balcony Southside
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We found it a bit expensive for what it was, especially since this was low season. Being low season, check in times were very limited. When we arrived at 4:00pm, we could not get in and had to wait outside.

    Everything was very nice. The view and the quiet surroundings were excellent. Simple and very clean. Nice breakfast with fresh croissants and excellent coffee. The evening meals were simple but really good and with a bit of notice they even happily catered for gluten free.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    6.3
    Suited our needs very well but not luxurious
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room Balcony Southside
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi was poor quality and switched off at night. Pool was nice but unwelcoming as you had to request it be opened (insulating cover removed) before you could use it. Balcony view is of carpark Room for three was small.

    Nice balcony.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    9.6
    This hotel was ideal for my purpose
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room Balcony Southside
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It would have been nice to have somewhere dry to sit outside, but I understand this is going to be sorted.

    I thought it was very clean and the owners were helpful and friendly. The spacious parking was also a bonus, as was the view from my balcony.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2016

    6.7
    The wrong side of economical....
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Balcony Southside
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is poor if you do not have a car. The evening meal was ok but the only vegetable was one lettuce leaf and at breakfast they seem a little mean with the rations. When our toilet roll ran out they replaced it with a roll that was at best half full. Their is little sound proofing between the rooms.

    In many ways the location is good as the area is lovely but it has few local amenities. The staff were friendly and it was relatively good value.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    9.6
    Nice hotel in a nice location, don't expect a lot from the wifi.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The wifi didn't connect in our room. Sitting the lobby, it timed out every minute or two. It was also very slow.

    The staff was great. They made my husband a special vegetarian meal not on the daily menu. Pool was pleasantly cool on a hot day. We would stay here again.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    9.2
    Great staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room Balcony Southside
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great staff

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    8.8
    Very short drive to other ski resorts, Font Romeu ski bus stops literally a few yards from Hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Balcony Southside
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Little bit cold in the bar (wear a jumper).

    Rooms were very warm, so were the floors! Nice open fire in restaurant.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    5.0
    Just OK, fair price
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The wifi is not working, the room service is just OK, the advert of 15% off ski material renting does not apply anymore.

    The price is ok

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    7.5
    Bon week end
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room Balcony Southside
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Famillial

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2017

    3.8
    Memorable for the wrong reasons
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Balcony Southside
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was basic and tired.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    6.3
    One short stay in Font Romeu
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi in the room! Publish breakfast schedule!

    Very quiet!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2016

    5.8
    Nice and quiet and comfortable beds after a days on the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Limited facilities/ restaurant etc and a long way out of town. A little 'brown' and also do not like having to pay deposit for a tv remote and extra for more towels. I have stopped here twice though and it is fine.

    Nice and quiet and comfortable beds after a days on the slopes.

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2016

    2.5
    Nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    To start with the hotel is said to be in Font Romeu and its at least 5 km further down, then the rooms are a joke. We had one with a microscopic window and when i asked if we could chamge with one with balcony , by the way advertised at a lower rate that we paid, the owner told me it wasnt possible because there was no cleaning lady to do the rooms that day and that it was my problem if i made a reservation thru booking.com, that himself when he travels he checks hotel thru booking but then contacts the hotels directly to have a lower rate. So basically i paid the highest prrice for the worst room he had (carpet from the 70', probably never cleaned since then). Breakfast: 7.5€ for soluble coffee and madeleines from a hard discounter market(lidl). Nor worth to be in your website.thanx

    Nothing

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2015

    4.2
    Don't go to this hotel if you expect to park the car and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Don't go to this hotel if you expect to park the car and walk into town. It's in the old part of Font Romeu with no facilities and a 10 min drive back into town. Very small roo, tiny bed. Very noisy with screaming children.

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2016

    5.0
    Inexpensive compared to most of the other hotels.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Small room, shabby decor, unappetising breakfast, cramped bathroom

    Inexpensive compared to most of the other hotels.

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2016

    7.1
    Friendly and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Distance from Font Romeu.

    Friendly and helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2016

    6.7
    Clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Breakfast very poor. Old fruit.

    Clean. Warm.

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2015

    6.3
    Location is good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Smelly room. Dated decor. Dark bathroom.

    Location is good. Friendly staff. Coffee.Balcony views.

There are also 2 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 20

Guests also reviewed these properties: