Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Lutetia 2 stars

38, Allées Léon Gambetta, 13001 Marseille, France

#95 of 104 hotels in Marseille

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 474 hotel reviews

6.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6

  • Comfort

    5.9

  • Location

    7.6

  • Facilities

    5.6

  • Staff

    7.6

  • Value for money

    6.3

  • Free WiFi

    7.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 65

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite a few minor improvements needed: the shower was too low to stand under. The WiFi/Internet was broken when I stayed. The curtains need to be upgraded to block the light and noise from the street outside.

    Sensible price compared to the others on offer. Room was ok. Probably would stay again if I was in the area.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast was very poor.Not worthy of the money.It was supposed to be a low cost room but then they told me it was an error on the website ,changed the price and charged me a double price which does not reflect the quality of the hotel.

    It is close to the center .Marcella is a beautiful city and there are lots of things to do and see.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Showers really aren't that great but they work... also very very tiny elevator - like... too small for me and my boyfriend to fit in with 2 cases, we had to go 1 at a time !

    15 min walk from St Charles Train Station & it's near quite a few hotels that don't look great so we were worried but it's gorgeous inside & super comfy beds.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hair dryer was broken; disgusting plastic shower curtain (impossible not to float the whole bathroom when showering); no protection for the duvet (since you cannot put them in the washing machine, I highly doubt that it is getting cleaned for a new guest); huge scratches on the wallpaper and broken decoration

    Not far from the metro (only two or three stations away from the historic city center) and train station (walking distance or one metro station) + nice staff that is available 24/7 + quite location/ good isolation of the windows

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was not clean. There was mound in the bathroom which could've been cleaned.

    Good location for being close to the train station which is what we needed.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    In the first room they gave me the toilet didn't have a toilet seat at all. The A/C in both rooms I had was gargling all the time.

    Close to the main station St. Charles and just a 10 minutes walk to the old harbour.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room a little small but for the price I can't complain

    Location fantastic staf very helpful and welcoming and the Cafe Mairie opposite was great with friendly staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Shower was broken , the WI FI speed was slow

    Friendly staff , Excellent location , 5 minutes walking from train station , 10 minutes walking to marseille Old port , highly recommended for 1 night stay

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lift not working. First room not cleaned; changed. Second, lights not working in bathroom. Changed. Dubious comings & goings all night in next room.

    The weekend porter was very helpful

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    After we managed to get the door open (which was extremely difficult) we walked into the room that smelt badly of cigarette smoke. The bathroom was dirty and tiny, to the point where it was actually difficult to sit on the toilet. There was an empty box of tissues just left there and dirty shower. Overall, not very nice!

    The staff were nice. Close enough to train station.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room was in a devastating state. Old and ruined furniture. Even the doorhandle was broken off. It was very noisy, too. My advice would be: If you really need a last minute and quite cheap solution, go there. Otherwise and if you actually want a NICE place to stay: do not go there!

    Staff was quite friendly and trustworthy. Hotel is located central.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Firstly the person sitting around the front desk was unprofessional and clueless. He gave us a room which was already taken. We found a coller bag and a persons belongings in the room. Inside the coller bag were two ice block that appeared to have blood piercing through the top. We were horrified!!!

    There was nothing to like about this horrible place.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    room cramped and ghastly decor. bedside light not functioning. air conditioning controls not working so too cold. no tissues in bathroom container. surly unwelcoming night staff. lift creaky and very cramped

    good breakfast

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location and the staff very helpfully.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mice and rats all night

    Staff ok

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bruits d'eau

    Good position, nice staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A normal not very expensive hotel. Very clean rooms, good choice for this money.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    noisy, you hear your neighbor too much

    good value for the price I paid

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    pay extra for breakfast :(

    everything, nice breakfast, clean, nice staff and convenient location although some walk till center

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The total lack of maintenance

    The beds were ok

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is terrible and should be avoided. It is dirty, smelly and the decor is old and worn out.

    Nothing

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    small and a bit old rom

    location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were not so clean and was very tiny also

    The staff was nice and coperative

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower wasn't working well, and was poorly covered, wet floors always!

    Wonderful staff members, always happy to greet and help.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was very basic (as we expected) and small.

    24 hour desk. Close to parking place.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea or coffee in room. Sink cracked and decor tired.

    Staff very friendly and helpful. Location very good.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Awful value for money

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Hot water in the shower was barely warm

    The hotel was a 2 minute walk from the railway station. 5 minute walk to the marina and another 5 minutes to the Old Town

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The room was dirty and the shower didn't drain. The previous guest had already pulled out some junk (still lying on the bathroom floor), but to no avail. The guy at the front desk used skype for a private chat, making wifi practically unobtainable until I sat right in front of his desk. Only then did he stop, so I could finally do my bookings for the next couple of days.

    It is close to the railway station - and around the corner from a large population of homeless people. Not recommended for women.

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very crowded and noisy. Not clean especially the bed shits

    Nice location, not far away from Vieux Port but a little noisy district with a lot of police and ambulance syrens..

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Staff is not good in English, but I managed to discuss few questions. I arrived before check-in, so didn't receive the room, i did show-up after 6 pm and received room not cleaned at all! The room was very dirty, I felt that someone is leaving. The new room has been provided, but the room needs renovation - there were bugs in my bed, mold in the bath and destroyed carpeting. Maybe it's exception as my friends who advised to stay in Lutetia had good stay....

    Location

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2015

    • Group

    The bathroom was covered in mould and the towels were covered in brown stains and specs of blood. The room has not been cleaned and there were a pair of shoes under the bed. Problem with the card machine meant we paid more money. We were doing a charity challenge and almost had to sleep on the street and finally managed to get the room sorted but paid much more and dos not feel it was worth the money we paid. Very dissatisfied with the quality.

    The tv turned on

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    i have just made a reservation and my plan has been changed and i d like to cancel it but they didnt, they have already taken the money from the card during the reservation.they request extra 1 euro to give an invoice for the night i didnt stay in the hotel.the hotel apperance was far from the pictures in the website

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel is beginning to look a bit worn and could do with some painting and decoration and updating.

    Staff were really helpful and were happy to speak english. We asked for a quiet room which we were duly given. Free wifi. Fantastic location near the railway station.

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Had to change rooms (door lock sticking) new room needed some light bulbs replaced. owner waiting to after the season to do repairs but light bulbs are fast & easy. Breakfast should be included, or described better (it's more than just continental).

    Staff was good, especially chief of reception, Johannes. Location was very good, beds comfortable, good breakfast but have to pay for it the night before. Would likely use this hotel again, no hesitation recommending it. It helps that I speak French; some of the receptionists have less English than others.

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    The reception isn't able to help for elementary questions or doesn't want to. The lift is a joke, it's possible to enter it at 2 people if you are small sized and having no luggage. That's totally insane when we talk about a hotel... At least the room was clean enough to survive. We changed the room because the cleaners hadn't done ours in the morning. And no towels in the room, they forgot to give towels!! Never saw something like this. Worst be ever. The internet was half working, really slow or not working sometimes. The reception hasn't take into account this as I got there to find a solution. In some point the mood is: if you are not happy go somewhere else. Then I would advice to go somewhere else.

    It's pretty close from the Old Port. And there is a subway station close to the hotel as well. The train station is reachable by foot.

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    wifi temperamental needed to check bed sheets every time before sleeping

    staff only helpful/ friendly depending on who was working at the desk. Some were great, others were not approachable.

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    - no receipt for breakfast payment provided - despite of the fact we were promised to receive a refund for our breakfasts we could not take, we have not been given one! - no wifi in our room

    We liked the location

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff friendly and helpful. Location central, just off the Canebière, not far from the old port and museums. Near some excellent restaurants and Carrefour food market open late. Good windows to keep out the town at night and reliable a/c.

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bathroom and room are dirty. Wi-fi don't work. Location is central, but dangerous. I have tried and tried and tried to get the Invoices, but personal don't want to contact and don't want to contact booking.com . Never again.

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There were a few hairs in the shower from the last person that stayed. And the wifi didn't work well in the rooms.

    Staff were very friendly. Good location, very close to main train station. Does the job for what it is.

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The room is small, the wifi signal is not good, the bathroom and the place in general needs maintenance and for 50e a night they should at least offer an american breakfast. I would never recommend this place unless they just need to spend the night like me.

    I only liked that it was a few blocks away from the train station, as I needed to catch a train really early.

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The lift was out of use on the first day. Though "fully booked" was written in the entrance the 2,3,4th floor was dark. The air conditioners did not function well. The shower place was small.

    the price, maybe

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    THERE WERE BED BUG BITES!! The hotel looked old and shabby. The area was abit dodgy, we felt very unsafe at night.

    The hotel was very close to the train station.it was within walking distance to the port and all the shopping streets.

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The area is horrible it smells of urine and a lot of homeless people plus huge groups of young men hanging around, only stayed here as it was 1 night near the train station, wouldn't recommend to stay in this area to anyone

    the hotel was open all night so we could check in late which we did at 11pm, the foom was clean and included a hairdryer, it is very close to the train station

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    No mirror in bathroom; nothing really wrong with anything but the bathroom & room are old and little things (broken chair; stained tiles in bathroom, etc.) speak to its age.

    The location was very convenient - walking distance to train station and old port. Room was clean and adequate.

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The room was tiny—expected in France if I'm honest—but there was not even a spot to put my small suitcase because of the odd furniture shoved into the room. There was also just one power outlet in the entire room, which required unplugging the lamp to use, not ideal if you're travelling for business with the usual array of electronics in need of a boost. The bed was ok but the pillows were awful, leaving me less than refreshed in the morning. It seems as though they're redoing some parts of the hotel, so there's a hope that it will be nicer soon.

    The wifi was very good, although it's impossible to know from the short time I stayed there whether this was a fluke or the norm.

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The closeness to every public transportation and to most important features of the city. The friendliness of the staff and their existence 24 hours a day.

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bathroom could be a little bit bigger. The WiFi was working, even though we had to refresh it sometimes.

    The breakfast is good, for 9€ you can eat whatever you want from french bread to croissants, you have Nutella, butter and cheese, milk and coffee. The room was small but it was good enough for both of us. The guy who was there in the morning, from december 31 to january 2nd was very friendly.

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    not so clean, no cover for duvet/quilt, no kettle in the room, rather run-down, tiny shower area.

    location, reasonably helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    shower would not stay fixed, could only use it hand held, shower curtain did not stay closed. staff were curt.

    comfortable and secure

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Tv was out of order... Hot water takes a long time to come

    Easy access and decent price for the area

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    I liked the location and the price. Everything was clean, but it is a very budget place.

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Staff wasn't that friendly. Location at night.

    The location is close to the Marina. But the street at night is a bit sketchy. Room is comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very basic features in room.

    Guy at risk friendly.

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The rooms were very small and the bathroom was full of mold.

    Close to St Charles train station and to city center.

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2015

    • Family with young children

    Bathroom ,elevator,room smells cigarette and no light in the hallway.

    Aircon

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Smallest lift ever :)

    Close to Vieu Port, staff helpful

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    - Bad Wi-fi Connection in Rooms.

    - Location of Hotel - Hospitality of the Staff

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Position very good 10 minutes walking to the Harbour

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Handy mid location between train station. And a short walk to the main tourist port area

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2015

    • Solo traveller

    The hotel is excellent if you are only travelling through Marseille by train, it is very close to the train station

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    My room is full of smoking smell, but my room is non-smoking room!

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Close to train station. Good coffee everywhere.

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very narrow lift, not so clean show.

    Proximity to the main railway station and metro.

There are also 28 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 65

Guests also reviewed these properties: