Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Hotel Meurice

5/7, rue Edmond Roche, 62100 Calais, France

#11 of 34 hotels in Calais

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 1973 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    7

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: July 16, 2018

    9.2
    As always a nice quiet haven in the Bustle of Calais
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Old Hotel so you expect some " quircks" . Being updated well.

    Hotel being updated ...being done well. Stayed here many times always a pleasure

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 15, 2018

    9.2
    Don't just rush through Calais.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Hotel Meurice is very well located in the heart of Calais but in a quiet road. The shops and restaurants are all in walking range. There is good car parking. Great stopover either on way to rest of Europe or before a long drive in England from Dover. Staff were very warm and helpful. Breakfast was of a high standard. Highly recommend it.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 14, 2018

    7.1
    Did what we wanted. Get across the channel late and set off early following morning for Geneva
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    tricky to spot the hotel and Calais is looking a bit sad. Think its worth driving for an hour or so before overnighting.

    10 mins from Eurotunnel and easy parking. Park nearby for dog to have a walk

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 12, 2018

    10
    Good quality stay in a central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Stylish interior. Very comfortable hotel. Underground garage was a bonus, worth the extra cost. Helpful staff. Would highly recommend and will stay here again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 11, 2018

    7.9
    It was ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    At check in we're told no secure parking on site but could see cctv images of one. Very poor noise insulation: could hear other guests TVs, talking, coughing etc. Very noisy staircase and floor boards just outside our room. Note that breakfast is 14 euros pp extra and not included in price

    Really clean. Very comfortable beds. Good size bath and shower. Really good breakfast buffet

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 10, 2018

    6.7
    Very disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Booked a superior room via booking .com and was given a disables facility room next to the garage enterance and the stairway. Noise from the stairs was terrible. Asked if we could have a different room as we had booked a superior room and was told yes but it would be 20 euros extra. Very unhappy with the hotel response and it will be the last time I use this hotel. In the past there has been no problem . I suspect as we were only staying one night the6 didn’t really care.

    Location and general hotel environment. Have stayed her twice previously

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 10, 2018

    9.2
    Stopover to catch the ferry.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was a bit smaller than I expected for the price.

    Foyer was very grand, our room was not as grand, quite small and not inexpensive. Bed was comfortable and room was clean. Male staff member when we arrived was very friendly, female staff member in the morning was not quite as friendly.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 9, 2018

    8.8
    Very cozy and quiet hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The sofa bed was not do comfortable and I think they should give the breakfast an improve, because €14 is not worth it.

    Everything was very clean and smelled very nice

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 6, 2018

    8.8
    clean rooms comfortable beds friendly staff helpful receptionist
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    asked for sausages when they arrived they were fridge cold in the middle and raw and inedible Real coffee rather than a machine would have been better.Breakfast was not comparable to previous owners However staff were biddable No wardrobe or hanging space meant that all clothes were over chairs

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 3, 2018

    10
    Calm and comfortable, ideal rest before long journeys.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing! Have stayed here on many occasions.

    Very easy to find. Quiet location but not far from town centre. Parking close by. Room very clean and comfortable. Staff very friendly and helpful. Good choice of food for breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 2, 2018

    9.6
    Very good stopover for Channel Tunnel in both directions.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very good stopover for Channel Tunnel in both directions. We have used Hotel Meurice for a number of years and there have been improvements in the last year, so even better. The private garage is small, so book the parking as early as possible. Staff very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 2, 2018

    8.8
    We like this hotel as a regular stop
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We currently have a mini and with our roof box there is only a 2 inch space above in the secure parking. Height is, however, stated on booking.

    The room we had on our third visit seemed fairly recently decorated and had a bath. Previous rooms only had showers but we had made no special request. Safe parking is good and a reasonable price.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 2, 2018

    10
    Interesting and nice hotel in the centre of Calais.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Interesting and nice hotel in the centre of Calais. Excellent for a big group of bike riders thanks to underground car park. Staff were lovely, Thank you!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 27, 2018

    8.8
    Good location near restaurants, shops and museum.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Good location near restaurants, shops and museum. Easy to get to ferry port. Helpful friendly staff, safe parking in underground garage. Very comfortable bed and delightfully sunny room overlooking garden.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 26, 2018

    10
    Another great stay at the Meurice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Another great stay at the Meurice. So close to good restaurants, easy to park outside and the recent refurbishment has really brightened up the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 23, 2018

    6.3
    Icky
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Receptionist smug on check in and hotel appears to have been decorated last in 1982. Foisty damp smell in reception area. Slept clothed on top of bed for a sharp exit next morning.

    Comfy bed

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 17, 2018

    8.8
    This couldbe a regular stop
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff are variable. Most are pleasant and helpful. Hot breakfast on our first visit was almost cold at 7.30am and not to our taste. We thought coffee and croissant or hot breakfast options in the restaurant or cold buffet in the room was odd.

    This is the second time we have stayed in this hotel. Like the old world atmosphere. Rooms are a bit tired but comfortable. Secure parking is good. Very convenient location for catching the early ferry.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 15, 2018

    9.2
    Only a single night but after 1100 Km drive from the south coast it’s was a delight.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing to dislike

    For the money this is diamond of an hotel. Room very large by modern standards and bed huge. Nice little bar and good breakfast to start the day. Pity it’s in Calais!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 12, 2018

    9.6
    Comfortable, welcoming hotel in Calais
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very welcoming hotel with large comfortable beds. Very helpful staff and secure parking for vehicles. Three choices of breakfast - good if you are dashing for the ferry or tunnel early in the morning. Also walkable to the square & beach.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 5, 2018

    6.3
    OK. Well located and clearly being refurbed. Staff need training in customer relations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel is obviously still being refurbished; corridors tired- and our bathroom was also tired, even though the bedroom area looked newly updated. Attitude of reception staff in need of some warmth.

    Décor in entrance and bedroom very tasteful. Bed comfortable. UK TV available

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 4, 2018

    8.3
    We arrived very late and reception was very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is a shower in the bath but the glass screen isn't big enough (if you're standing under the shower) so water splashes onto the floor. And the bath is slippery - bath mats are needed. The hotel is quite a long walk from the centre of Avignon but as it is located on two fairly main roads access would be easy if you have a car. Note: the hotel was formerly called Adonis and gps doesn't seem to have caught up with the name change yet.

    We arrived very late and reception was very good. Our room was enormous, very bare and stark as they have only just reopened. Our bicycles were safely looked after in a small room behind reception. Although we didn't swim, the pool looked big, clean and inviting from the breakfast room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: June 4, 2018

    7.9
    I would love to stay here again but I I had room envy of our friends who were also staying there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The reception we got on arrival from the young man could have been better. Our bathroom was a bit narrow and dark compared to the other bathrooms and we had paid for a deluxe room also the curtains were falling off their hooks.

    Beautiful hotel in a great location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 3, 2018

    9.2
    Ideally situated hotel, I like the underground car park, very useful if you hve already "stocked up"
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Have stayed in this hotel many times before. They have carried out sertain improvements since Nov last year which I consider to improve the hotel even more.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 3, 2018

    7.9
    A very friendly and comfortable place to stay especially as a stop-over to or from the Eurotunnel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was a little underwhelming (although the children's breakfast was free). We would only pay for continental if staying again.

    The staff were incredibly helpful and friendly when we arrived after midnight with children. The secure underground garage was very useful as we were staying one night on route to somewhere. The family room was very comfortable (beds were great) and we all slept well.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: June 2, 2018

    10
    Had a lovely stay after a long journey. Thank you so much!!
    • With a pet
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The lift was a little small but it was manageable, and someone helped me to bring my luggage to the room when I arrived.

    The breakfast was delicious and the room was very comfortable!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: May 31, 2018

    10
    Excellant :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We have been going to Hotel Meurice for around 6 years now and they have recently done some great improvements to the Reception /Bar area and also the Breakfast Room has been moved it is bad a great improvement to the hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 29, 2018

    7.1
    Good location from the shuttle, for overnight stay to go on to Euro Disney. Was pleasantly surprised
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Don’t think the room had been hoovered my grandson found glass on the bedroom floor. And there was loose metal hanging on the table leg and I cut my foot on it. Otherwise the room was clean.

    Beds were comfortable . So we had a good nights sleep.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 24, 2018

    7.1
    A very convenient central location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Its rooms are relatively cramped but otherwise fine. Its breakfast is more than adequate but quite expensive for what it is. We have in the past breakfasted elsewhere. We hope it continues in business.

    The main attraction of the Meurice, which we often use, is its location in easy walking distance to several good places to eat. I

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 21, 2018

    10
    we will return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    This hotel is fantastic. Very old - built late 18th C. Comfortable bed although my husband said it was too big!! Tea/coffee making facilities in the room. Magnificent old marble staircase. Near to many restaurants. Hotel parking a bonus

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 18, 2018

    8.8
    wasn’t expecting the old school style for a 3star.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    the curtains did not completely darken the room.

    wasn’t expecting the old school style for a 3star. it was pretty cool and could easily turn into a 4star with a few extras!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 16, 2018

    8.8
    Comfortable base in the very heart of Calais.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathrooms are not up to the standard of the "Grandeur" of the hotel. Water didn't drain properly. Lots of visible water pipes. Toilet cramped against the wall with toilet paper dispenser in your back (literally), first time I see that in a hotel. Bedroom carpet could have been cleaner with, upon close inspection, lots of small hair that I think was dog hair.

    Perfect location in the heart of Calais with free on-street parking. You can walk everywhere from there. Quiet peaceful location on a back street. We felt very safe. Lots to do in Calais, the council does a lot for Tourists. Pleasant, helful and efficient staff Lovely beds & nice sized family rooms. Would definitely recommend.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 13, 2018

    9.2
    Great hotel for an overstay in Calais
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is a short walk from the train station. The rooms were a reasonable size and the beds were very comfortable. We booked the deluxe room. The hotel staff were very professional and gave suggestions where to eat, as we had arrived late in the evening. The hotel had a grand staircase and the hotel foyers on each floor had antique furniture. We only stayed one night but the hotel exceeded our expectations.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 12, 2018

    7.9
    Lovely stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Walls are a bit thin so were woken by selfish people at 1 am talking loudly in the corridor.

    Clean and comfortable with friendly staff. Close to town centre but quiet street. Room nicely decorated. Great breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 10, 2018

    8.3
    Excellent value for money and a superb owner who make his guests feel very welcome!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No hot water in the morning for a shower but this was due to a power cut in the area.

    The bedroom was small but adequate and the pillows were amazing. The owner of the hotel was superb and recommended and booked a restaurant nearby which we will visit again. The overall hotel was great and a good find.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: May 9, 2018

    8.8
    very enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    Staff very friendly and helpful. room nice and comfy although decor was rather dated. breakfast was very good, plenty of choice, hot and cold.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 1, 2018

    8.8
    My sisters and I had a great stay at the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We had major problems with the hotel Wi-fi. I would recommend that this situation be rectified especially if people are staying for work purposes.

    I find this traditional and totally charming hotel a great place to stay in Calais.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 30, 2018

    9.6
    Ideal stay in Calais
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    All was good.

    Room was spacious and very clean, with large bed and BBC on the TV. Parking in underground car park. Very quiet location not far from Restaurants etc

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 23, 2018

    7.9
    Very friendly and professional staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It’s still a bit manky in places despite the renovation work. My room had a stained and tatty old carpet. There are seats, but they are old and don’t seem very clean, so they just take up space. There is a work table but it’s tiny and the seat doesn’t seem to be the right size. Same applies to the corridors. There is a lot of crap furniture around, which just gets in the way. I even had a seagull on my window ledge, apparently pretty determined to break the window. I’d recommend the hotel install deterrents. Obviously gulls are a fact of life in a seaside town but they’re not good neighbours....

    Very friendly and professional staff. Great location on a quiet side street but barely two minutes walk from the bars and restaurants of central Calais.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 21, 2018

    10
    Always a pleasure to stay here and will do again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    You cannot better it!

    I have stayed here on numerous occasions - it is never disappointing - this the first time we have had breakfast - it was excellent

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 17, 2018

    10
    very good trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The weather could have been better.

    old fashioned feel but modern comfort .Very close to town center. Staff very helpful and nothing is to much trouble.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 17, 2018

    9.6
    Great hotel near the ferry port in Calais
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The underground car park was very limited. Otherwise, it was street parking.

    The receptionist was friendly with a sense of humour and spoke good English. Although a bit expensive, breakfast provided a good range of food. The hotel is well situated within walking distance of the town and close to the ferry by car.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 13, 2018

    10
    Beautiful old hotel: interior for kings and queens
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom sink had a large crack

    We stayed just for a night's sleep as we were driving through Calais to Loire valley. Beautiful old hotel: interior for kings and queens! Extremely quick check-in and check-out, very nice staff. We arrived after midnight, and that was not a problem at all. They had arranged a separate lovely bed for our 4-year old daughter. Had all the facilities we needed. We parked on the street behind the hotel - was fine.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: April 13, 2018

    9.2
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    One thing only was the glass door on the shower. Quite difficult to open (room 121) and seemed to swing back quickly against the tiled wall and mirror.

    Hotel has been refurbished & but still in the old original style. Nice small bar area / lounge area with nice pictures and chandeliers. Lovely « grand «  staircase and first floor had Van Gogh paintings. Lots of choice for breakfast buffet. Surrounding area had a nice park where there are 2 huge statues of Churchill & De Gaulle. Not far from ferry port and Eurotunnel and the beach / centre in walking distance.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 11, 2018

    9.6
    Exceeded our expectations and great value for money would definitely use this hotel again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Thierry on reception was excellent making us very welcome and providing great service at the bar. Room was spacious and very clean with several added extras.exceeded

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 10, 2018

    10
    Surroundings gracious.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    For my purposes all was excellent. Old worldly and just right. No complaints at all.

    Surroundings gracious. Furnishing elegant and in keeping with the building. Breakfast super and better than many a higher graded establishment. No fuss, but all staff helpful, welcoming and highly professional.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 10, 2018

    8.3
    Very enjoyable. The staff very helpful and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Would have liked to dine in but appreciate that early March would not attract many customers.

    Lovely old hotel with the atmosphere of the 1930's DON'T CHANGE this!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: April 7, 2018

    9.2
    A good place to stay. Clean, comfortable and a great breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Comfy quiet room and a good selection of fresh items for breakfast. Also, breakfast was available from 6 am, so we could get an earlier start than atmany other places.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: March 31, 2018

    7.5
    An overnight stay to catch the morning ferry to England
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lugging our suitcases up the stairs to the first floor (no lift)

    Close to Calais Harbour The Calais Town Hall with its Rodin sculpture is within easy walking distance

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 31, 2018

    10
    Beautiful hotel with a refreshing nights sleep
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room a little smaller than expected but did not spoil our stay.

    Lovely hotel with quaint French style rooms. Staff went above and beyond to help with any queries we had. Room smaller than expected but it was beautiful. The bath/shower gel was an expensive brand, it was gorgeous.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 29, 2018

    9.6
    The croissants were certainly very flakey and reminiscent of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This hotel answered all our needs. No complaints.

    The croissants were certainly very flakey and reminiscent of croissants as they used to be when I first learned to love them over 60 years ago. We loved the atmosphere of yesteryear and the efficiency of a sympathetic and intelligent staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 28, 2018

    7.5
    I always stay there when I'm in Calais. Charming hotel full of character.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Wi-Fi was problematic. Their setup is elaborate and when it breaks, as it did for me for my notebook, but not my phone, they can't fix it. Just have a router and password guys, no need for the old fashioned login sheets and email rubbish.

    Great location, a charming building and lovely old-world rooms. Staff are very nice.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 17, 2018

    6.7
    Disappointing
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was no restaurant apart from a few tables for breakfast. When we arrived we were given to understand that we could book dinner. This was not the case. There were restaurants nearby but very English pub type meals.

    Friendly staff, but we were given incorrect information. There was a garage facility.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 15, 2018

    8.3
    An excellent find and good value for money
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing much

    Charmingly old fashioned building full of interesting furniture and pictures. Rooms decent with large and comfortable bed and good bathroom so all essentials are there. Good location round the corner from restaurants and bars. Friendly and helpful staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 12, 2018

    9.6
    Had a very enjoyable weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    The new owner was very friendly, renovations tastefully done look forward to seeing it when it is finished. Bed and room comfortable. Good location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 7, 2018

    10
    Excellent breakfast the room was very clean and tidy,...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Excellent breakfast the room was very clean and tidy, bottled water and coffee making facilities. Overall an excellent find. Will definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 5, 2018

    10
    Excellent value, stylish, welcoming
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Recently refurbished. Historic, 18th century building. Stylish, spacious, warm. Comfortable rooms Friendly and helpful staff. Excellent breakfast. Quiet but central location Very good VFM David

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: February 27, 2018

    10
    Very Comfortable bed, great location, and friendly and helpful staff
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very nice friendly staff and very pet friendly. Interesting building, extremely comfortable bed and linen. The small pack of French hand soap smelt beautiful and also a great location.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 27, 2018

    7.5
    we would return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast was expensive for what it was and food was cold and bread etc not very fresh We had paid for a garden view but it was covered in scaffolding

    Good sized room and comfortable bed

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 26, 2018

    7.9
    An excellent non-chain hotel in the centre of Calais, but quiet! And with very nice staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was expensive and there are maintenance issues. I had to change room because of a problem with the sink. And there was no hot water for quite a while. I know the hotel is being refurbished, but they're charging full price, so they should be providing full service. And breakfast at 14EU seems a bit steep.

    The hotel used to be a bit of a dump, going for shabby chic, but much more shabby than chic. shabby chic. I stopped going, but noticed that it was under new management and was being refurbished. And going back was a very pleasant surprise. It is much improved. The reception area has been refurbished, and now looks much nicer and cleaner, whilst retaining the hotel's period charm. There's more work being done, and I hope they'll carry on with the same theme. The staff are as friendly and professional as ever. The room seemed cleaner, but otherwise unchanged. I was in a hurry and didn't bother with breakfast, though it looked like it always used to - i.e. good - and the breakfast room is much nicer and bigger than it used to be. All in all, I'm glad to see the Meurice is back. It's great to see a well-run, charming, non-chain hotel in Calais. I look forward to going there a lot in future.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 26, 2018

    9.2
    It is a lovely place to stay and will probably do so again. Needs to be kept up to.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room smaller than expected. Spa bath not a nice thing in a hotel with many different users so didn't have a bath, though I hardly choose to shower. Bits of metal coming from hot tap when first run.

    Breakfast good value for money.Dining room very nice. Beds comfortable. Room nice and clean, but felt it needed some fresh air. Lovely staff and location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 25, 2018

    9.6
    Great location, easy to find, very welcoming staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing its all we expected

    We have stayed here on numerous occasions it a great French hotel ( but it is in France ) Currently some changes taking place and being decorated, but not disappointed. The staircase and décor is excellent

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 24, 2018

    9.6
    Great hotel great staff x
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Although the room was comfortable, and we have stayed here many times. I was not keen on this. I do appreciate we booked really late x

    Love this hotel !!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 23, 2018

    5.8
    Wouldn’t stay here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was like something out of fawlty towers. When we got there no hot water due to building works & when we did get hot water it was yellow & dirty

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 20, 2018

    10
    Comfortable relaxed and looked after
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Dressing gowns and slippers would probably turn this hotel into a four star it is reminiscent of a hotel I stay in in Venice which is a four star.

    The beds were really comfortable with spare pillows and blankets the shower and shower gel etc hot and beautiful. The hotel is relaxed and full of beautiful furniture and pictures etc The room was spacious warm and comfortable the breakfast offered masses of choice and was jolly good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: January 18, 2018

    7.5
    Dog friendly super comfy bed and love having a bathtub.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Outside window shutter broken so had no cover at the window.

    Really comfortable bed and a much better room layout. Nice big bathroom with a bath which is a big plus for me. Wifi better on second visit.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: January 9, 2018

    10
    Excellent hotel - we will definitely stay again on our next visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The heating was not very good but the hotel was about to close in order to replace the boiler and generally refurbish so this should all be fixed in future. The breakfast was quite expensive at 14 euros and a bit disappointing but we only had it on one of the two days that we were there.

    The hotel was originally 18th century but rebuilt following WW2 and internally retains great charm. The room (de luxe) was spacious and comfortable with a very large bed. The wardrobe was also very large and the bathroom acceptable. The location was excellent, and convenient for local restaurants and bars and the museum next door.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 7, 2018

    10
    Wish we had tried you before, but will certainly be coming back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing could have been better - it was excellent in all areas. Thank you

    The hotel was perfect with excellent service from all of the staff, and within easy reach of lots of restaurants.. The room was comfortable and spacious, with all amenities, and a very comfortable bed. The choice of breakfast was really good, and we much appreciated the secure garage parking. Thank you for such a pleasant and comfortable stay.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: January 5, 2018

    6.3
    Very disappointed. Have stayed twice before, but standard inferior this time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    2 bedrooms due for refurbishment, you could tell. Shutter mechanisms jammed. Wifi only worked with laptop, not ipad. Bedside table and light missing. Could have been informed that rooms due a refurb, and that superior( better) were available for 10 euros extra. Breakfast room like a morgue.

    Clean comfortable beds. Friendly reception.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 1, 2018

    7.9
    Pleasant traditional hotel - well positioned to start or end a trip to France
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Musty smell in toilet

    Well positioned hotel in central Calais with plenty of street parking in the vicinity. Pleasant ambience and comfortable bed. Receptionist friendly and had an excellent knowledge of local restaurants.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 30, 2017

    8.8
    Well located, friendly hotel that provides excellent value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We were both very pleased with the hotel and have used it several times. It met our expectations.

    Very comfortable bed, helpful staff and excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 28, 2017

    10
    Fantastic place to stay,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    that the time spent there was too short , lol

    Everything was great, second time i have stayed, shame the Diligence restaurant had closed but everything else was perfect, BED were FANTASTIC

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 27, 2017

    9.6
    A good, relaxing hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The general atmosphere in this slightly dated hotel appealed to us.. what a fabulous grand entrance hall and stairway. Although the room was needing some tlc the beds were comfy and breakfast was good. The restaurant was not open for dinner .. not a problem as the main street, rue Royale, is 2 minutes away and offers several restaurants.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 24, 2017

    10
    Exquisite hotel with secure parking in the centre of Calais.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very secure underground parking and the interior of the hotel is amazing, very clean with very comfy beds. The breakfast was fabulous, especially the scrambled eggs and mini sausages, and we recommend it to all our friends.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: December 23, 2017

    9.2
    A lovely quaint hotel in a quiet area of Calais
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A full curtain at the window instead of a non working shutter but it wasn’t a problem

    A comfy bed and a clean room. A small comfortable bar to use for a nightcap

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 23, 2017

    9.2
    Nothing to fault about this place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing.

    Beautiful building and lovely room. Not massive but not small. Nice quiet street but very close to lots of restaurants and bars. Pleasant staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Meurice Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: