Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Kyriad Hotel - Restaurant Carentan 3 stars

route d'Isigny R.N 2013 - Saint Hilaire Petitville, 50500 Carentan, France

#5 of 6 hotels in Carentan

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 182 hotel reviews

7.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    7.2

  • Location

    7.4

  • Facilities

    7.2

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.1

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 46

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The dining room was dated in décor and had breakfast items on constant display.

    Exceptional helpfulness of the owners; the friendliness of the staff, most being fluent in English. Quiet location yet minutes from local facilities.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is a well run family business with the most helpful, friendly and knowledgeable staff. The food is freshly cooked and locally sourced. I am unable to praise the Kyriad more than to say that if I have to return to Carentan I will be staying at this hotel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The outside areas and public areas were sadly neglected and scruffy. Breakfast was disappointing with "polystyrene " baguette.

    The room was small but very well equipped and spotlessly clean. The hotel was very quiet. We had a good night's sleep.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We arrived on bicycles, soaking wet, staff happy for us to put our bikes in a foyer, so they dried out. Restaurant at the Hotel, which we used as the Hotel is on the edge of town, and didn't want to get wet again going out for a meal!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy group of children and hallway and stair case lights on switches. These should be left on all night for safety. Reception area was scruffy with object scattered around.

    Comfy bed.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Restaurant was simple and not very cosy. The food was decent. No elivator.

    Nice hotel to visit the D-Day beaches. Great parking facilities and near to the highway. The rooms where ok.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    Very cycle friendly. Lovely people. Very comfortable and dinner and the dinner service was great. It's about my fourth or fifth visit and I hope to go again. I felt comfortable there.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is not in the town centre

    It is a good hotel and a very good option when travelling around Normandie by car (I'm not sure it can be reached by public transport). The room was big and comfortable, and we could have dinner and breakfast in the hotel which was very convenient.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Your company which forgot to inform this hotel that we were staying,they were excellent to ensure we were found rooms

    The concern of the staff to take the time to phone our next hotel to ensure we were book in

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Submitted via mobile

    No play facilities for the children over 2.

    Staff did an excellent job to book us into another fantastic B&B in town. After they explained mix up with booking.com

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing - it was all great

    Very easy to find, staff were super helpful and spoke English far better than we speak French..... Room was comfy and clean, meal in the restaurant was great and good value. The free wifi worked well. Would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Happy just the way it was.

    The warm welcome at this good country style hotel. Convenient easy parking. Quiet room with a window that opened to let in the cool fresh evening air. Comfortable, welcoming restaurant with friendly staff and a good menu offering excellent local seafood. Good reasonably priced wines.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Having cycled all day we found the hotel a little far out but that's only a quibble

    The staff were brilliant. Helpful and thoughtful. The food was good and overall value great.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    There is nothing about this hotel I didn't like. The place was clean, the staff bent over backwards to please ( spoilt my grandson something rotten), food was superb. if your doing the Normandy thing, this place is right in the middle of everything you'll want to see. Pay an arm and a leg if you like, you won't get a quarter of the service you get at the Kyriad. The 4th time I've stayed here, and would definitely book here again.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I thought that the service in the restaurant in the evening was first class. Great that they could accommodate my bicycle inside the hotel... Also, I discovered a cure for insomnia. the 15year old calvados served in the bar !!!!

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above.

    Useful stop over at end of holiday. A struggle to get the suitcases upstairs - no lift.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Little old fashioned

    It had a bed

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Average three star hotel near beach and resorts

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location, a distance from a small town

    Everything worked. Curtains kept the light out, sink keptvwater in, walls kept the noise out etc

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    More breakfast selections e.g. Cereal options

    Friendly staff, accomadating for our bikes

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    all superb

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    good choice of breakfast

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Breakfast is good. Well situated for access to main road running between Carentan and Normandy battle sites. Plenty of free parking.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Friendly, helpful staff and good food.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The thermostat did not work in the room.

    Decent location off the main highway. Normandy beach historical sites nearby. Staff was friendly enough.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    Restaurant not open when we stayed, luckily only 10 min drive to port and restaurants.

    Good location for Cherbourg and landing beaches.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel easy to find on main road coming into town. The restaurant was superb and good value

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The European style breakfast was not included in the price, and was a bit expensive for a simple buffet.

    The staff was friendly

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Such a relaxing hotel. Also the lady on reception was adorable and all staff so friendly.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2016

    • Couple

    Our room was on the ground floor and when getting ready for bed we were disturbed by noise in the hall. When my husband checked he found the fire exit door had been propped open and so, he closed it. I asked about this the next morning and was told that a guest had a dog! This was strange as my husband said that he definitely saw a staff member go out the door and there was a strong smell of cigarette smoke in the hallway. Upon check-in we had been instructed about how important it was to use the front door keypad code to enter after hours so why didn't the 'guest with the dog' or the staff member not leave and re-enter that way?

    The manager was very pleasant and helpful. Quiet location, plenty of parking, renovated room, comfortable beds, and dinner.

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The rooms do need an upgrade with maybe a flat TV on wall. I really cannot complain as it was not expensive and the hotel and staff very pleasant. Also no lift.

    The hotel made us very welcome. The room was clean with coffee water etc. Breakfast was very good with the hotel proprietor going around the table with hot croissants in a basket for all the guests.

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We were made to feel so welcome, the staff were very helpful. We had a lovely meal in the restaurant and the manager helped us with our first experience of oysters ! Keeping our bikes safe overnight was no trouble, definitely a good recommendation

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2015

    • Couple

    Had a four day stay here at the Kyriad and we had a very nice room with comfortable twin-beds, room was very clean and the bathroom also very clean, towels changed daily. Breakfast was continental style with cereals, toast, bread/bagette, cheeses etc etc and plenty of tea, coffee, orange juice,no hot food other than the toast but not a problem for us. We ate in the restaurant on two evenings and both evenings had a starter and main meal and we both enjoyed the meal with some of the house wine which also was very good. The staff speak English and we had a warm welcome from them and they were always helpful and friendly. There is a large car park and the hotel is just a short drive from Carentan town/village centre.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nothing

    Bicycle friendly. Room for as many as came.

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Needed more hot food for breakfast.

    Helpful staff and comfortable rooms.

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Very help full staff good on site restaurant

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Restaurant was closed. Location to the town centre.

    Staff were friendly. Room was clean and comfortable

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Hotel a little dated.

    Well positioned for touring Normandy.

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very friendly helpful staff. Nice clean comfortable room

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Some of the outside furniture could do with replacing.

    Close to N13. Clean, comfortable. Friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Very clean basic room with helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Location was good staff very helpful

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The locations is great for seeing Normandy, the staff is superb & the restaurant is very good as well.

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    safety issue, no safe to lock in room had trouble with door lock each day

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    stayed during D-Day festivals - pretty far from everywhere and wifi did not work. paid 100€ - more than in other, nicer and more active places.

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room was too warm and there was no way to control the heat/AC

    Friendly and helpful staff

There are also 6 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 46

Guests also reviewed these properties: